(2012/08) Aug 2012

i don think govt will have much in store for us this budget, i was one of the mummies in 2008 who signed petition to request we be entitled to the benefits back then.
but this yr dragon, everyone also want dragon bb so no need perks also will have high birth rate.

KJ - thanks! that will be great news for me! i will check now! i heard from my girlfriend heng only does eastshore.

anyway Mindy, always good to be honest, so they won't hold anything against you in the future, like saying you didnt declare this that etc. but like what KJ said, govt sector should be more pro-govt focus (ie increase birth rate) so hopefully all will be good for you!

Sherry:
You still pay her full for partial service? No wonder she chop chop went off the next day. I heard some others who terminated prematurely will do pro-rated pay only... good $$ for her..

AG:
I will go for my NT Scan during my next visit @ 12th week also.

I have no appetite at all. So I ask my mil cook abalone porridge for me. At least I can finish up the whole pot.

I got bleeding again this morning. Was supposed to admit today, but as my hubby I overseas, sohave to admit when he is back.i don't wanna to be alone in hospital. Baby is well. Thanks for ur concern. Today is my week10.

Yanlin, great to hear you r well. Jiayou ok. stay positive n have faith. talk to bb as much as possible. mean time, rest well n take care.

hi Yanlin, i am sure your gynae would have mentioned but bed rest would be very useful for you now, dont move around much and pls take good care!!!

Ling
sad..their website din get updated one.
I live in the east but hope to deliver at Mt A becos of the positive feedbacks from my relatives but i also scare i cannot tahan the journey to the hospital. Still contemplating to change gynae

wah abalone porridge..sounds yummy. yeah be positive and dont do anything except rest, eat and sleep. rest more.
mindy I am also a contract staff but I do get maternity leave.
btw hor, I lost a bit of weight but my stomach seems to be growing.

mahjong, redmond is in United States, I am so sad that my boss leaving cos i may not get the flexibility anymore

KJChua, is this your first one? I dont think your delivery will be that fast that you cannot tahan the journey to the hospital bah. usually your gynae will more or less tell you when you are due.
about EDD, its just a estimate and usually we wont deliver on the day itself. my EDD also changes in the scan but my gynae wont change my EDD that she has given me.

KJC, no worries on the journey, Singapore is relatively small, from your contractions till you really deliver, still need few hours, if waterbag burst, u have 4-6 hours also.. So no need worry..

yanlin, glad to hear that you n bb are alright. scare us leh..

I am so envious for those who have home cooked food. no one offered sigh.. partly also my mum seldom cook, my mil is sort of on long term medication n just dump to the maid to do everything though she can do them. but she can offer right since the maid is doing the cooking... i dont even need to think of asking them to help for confinement.. sob sob

Cathy, Sherry, when we wana have makan makan? I'm free on any Mon and Tue (i fix my lunch from wed-fri).. paiseh. any date on mon/tue i'm good.

KJ - actually i heard positive feedback on Eastshore as well, so dont worry. i have a frd who just delivered there ( says its like a boutique hotel), and another who will be delivering her 2nd one there.

i was actually thinking of switching gynae too! but i worry it is too dramatic, my next appt i am going for the NT scan and will need to commit to Heng's ante-natal package, how many weeks are you?

i used to have a good gynae too - Dr Ho at Mount A. but he is pretty expensive but very skillful and experienced. let me know if you want his contact.

Yes, now on bed rest.
My gynae really taking good care of me.
My uterus is at high position, so still ok. Bb is growing in average only.
I have to find gynae in my second trimester. Coz my gynae doesn't do delivery. Anyone got good recommendation for gynae dealing with high risk pregnancy? Thanks.

Yanlin - do take care and be positive!!
AG - huh? i dun have leh
maybe coz im under agency. my company only practise contract staff under agency lor.

AG, ET
Thanks for the advice. Yes, its my #1 so lots of things running in my mind like what happen if there is a massive jam and wat happen if the bb cannot wait...etc...hahahaha...

Ling
Glad to hear that. I will go for the maternity tour to check out the hosipital.
currently in my 11 weeks. I am also gg for the NT scan for my next appt. Its ok to change gynae so long as u haven sign the package. I always believe we must be comfortable with the gynae.

yanlin
great to hear that...take care...

Yanlin - try Dr Ho Hon Kwok at Mount Alvenia level 2. he is a very reputable gynae, and i read online before that he handled emergency situations during delivery and everything went smoothly.

kitty, I rather not have MIL do confinement for me haha. like my mum come visit me during confinement period, she will keep telling the CL to cook this herb and that herb for me but bcos I am breastfeeding, so there's a number of herbs we cannot take but she dont understand. so imagine if its my MIL, cannot even say no.
dont worry kjchua, my first one I also very kan cheong, the distance came across my mind too. somemore i just had a bit of contractions and i went hospital, so end up waited so long.
oh gleneagles price increased liao, the one-bedded is so exp now, think have to go 2bedded this time, anyway hb also cant stay with me cos I have a boy at home.

Kitty> I PM u.. then we arrange yeah
Cathy> u dun accept PM

Mahjong/Ninger> hahaha no choice.. hubby say he rather pay then to have her stay with us.. she left after working for 3 weeks.. but a bit heartache cause we paid $3k cause it was during CNY..

Yanlin> Rest well and take care.

kjchua, dun worry too much. my #1 also very kan qiong. i was supposed to admit to hospital to induce at 7am. but my contraction came in at 1am. my ku ku hb din bother abt me. he said 1st one won't be so fast one so he went back to sleep. until 4-5am i cannot tahan the contraction then i pull him up to send me to the hospital. end up reach hospital ard 6plus morning. give birth at 11am. so won't be so fast... not to worry so much ya.

ET is right, from waterbag burst till contractions about 4-6hrs....My waterbag burst at 1.10 am...no feel, reach hospital at 4.30 am, shortly after 5 am start feeling contraction.

Hi Yanlin,

My gynae who delivers only at Mt E does high risk pregnancies.He is really gd, and his machines are very hi tech. So you will be in good hands. He was able to detect that my baby had high blood pressure. I delivered my #2 at 2006. Dr Chew Shing Chai. #17-10

AG, powerwee, mahjong
Thanks for sharing ur experiences, i am sure this time round u all will be more calm and be able to handle it well.

powerwee
dun worry, ur hubby will be on his toes this time round..hee..

Yanlin >> My cousin who used Dr Charles Lim service mentioned to me before that Dr Charles will recommend you someone that my cousin say this gynea is very experienced. He delivered in Mt Alvernia & Mt E... So do not worry.. when the time comes he will refer you to the new gynea..

At the meantime, do rest well and stay positive..

Ling Im also trying to eat veggies but very difficult to get the servings recommended..so i take multivits very alternate days..

a very simple soup you can make is ABC soup..just cut veggies like celery/potatoes/carrots/tomatos/onions into bit size pieces together with some pieces of chicken or pork ribs (add boiling water) and boil for say 30-45minutes or until potatoes or veggies are soft to your liking, then off fire and season with salt. Volia! You can eat it with plain steamed brown rice for the extra fibre

Mindy i'll tell my prospective employer loh cos they might think you're honest enough not to hide and thus employ you..

Yanlin Take care and rest well..

im really craving for coffee with condensed milk...i'll be making some decaf coffee later!

Ling> agree with Chrisl.. maybe u can invest in those thermal pot.. cook in the morning when it boil then back to thermal.. when u are back at work, the soup will be ready..

hi mummies to be... new to the forum.... I just saw the gynae yesterday. made me and hubby wait for 2 hours. saw baby's tiniest heartbeat at 6 weeks. hubby was very upset with the wait but delighted at the sight of the heartbeat. unlike my #1, this one saps my energy totally. I am tired by 3pm and wish I could go for a nap. any mummies with this experience and how are you coping? thanks everyone.

Sherry do you have such thermal pot? Im thinking of getting one..is it suitable for induction glass cooking tops?

Pokkadotta welcome! Im usually tired ard afternoon too...but i can't get to sleep..like my body is switch off but my brain is still working...and if i sleep during the day i tend not able to fall asleep in the night...though waking up 2-3 times a night going to the loo tires me too...actually not much to do cos we wanna a dragon bb..just listen to your body i guess..take things easy..

Oh you can add yourself to this link if you want to

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc?key=0AoGqfrz3HFCYdGRTM0I2eTloRVNpUi1ab0haeHNGNlE#gid=0

and also, whoever did the format of EDD thanks!!

hi pokkadotta, I think 2 hours of wait is quite common.I usually try to go for the first appt so dont have to wait long. afternoon is always the worst. I am also tired for the whole day esp after lunch. just have to bear with it lor and get majority of my work done in the morning.

Chrisl> yes, I do have one.. Find it quite useful.. But ain't sure if it's suitable for induction cooking top.. My best companion when I was alone after CL left.. Just cook porridge in the morning and by noon, I will have nice and ready porridge for lunch
Oh I did the sorting.. Nothing much to do in the afternoon haha

hi chris, i have the thermal pot too. it's really handy ... next time can use to cook kid's porridge too. no need to waste electricity or look after the cooking.
and yes, u can use on induction cooking top. the inner pot for cooking of the thermal pot is made of steel. anyways, check it out with the SA before buying.
mine is thermos brand. Thermos shuttle chef.

hi everyone.... haven't chk this thread in a while.... suddenly so many new mummies! and now i seem to be the new one here. heh.
have been busy with my #1 and #2 and work (i work from home) yes.... this will be my #3!

this #3 really sap off my energy too.... by 11am, i'm tired liao (wake up t 8am). my poor 16mths old #2 always have to play by her own cos the 4yo sister is in sch, and mummy's resting on the sofa. haha.

anyone have night sickness instead of morning sickness? my mouth feels super bland at nite, no appetite for dinnner. lucky no vommiting. just dun feel good. sense of smell also very acute. can't stand the smell of my dogs' poo poo and my #2 poo poo anymore... makes me sick. hate the smell of the porridge i cook for my kiddos too esp when there's brocolli in it. soooo weird...

i haven't seen the gynae so far... taking it really relax this time round. #1 and #2 spend alot of $$ with Dr Ho at Mt A le....
btw, he's a really good gynae. very experience. used to be from KK, now still go back to give pointers to the docs there. His nurses are very experience mid-wives from kk too. so they are super good in handling any complications.
expensive, but u can trust him. really. no nonsense gynae, 100% risk free (meaning very kia si, he won't let u take any risk).

Mt A is undergoing some upgrading right now. hopefully all will be ready by aug! nice nice!

hey thanks Sherry & gloomybear for the tips..will check it out online to see reviews 1st hehe

wow...looks like Mt A is very reputable..my SIL just gave birth there not long ago too...

Morning all, today is friday, finally..

Going to see my little bun later, now feeling abit more excited.. hahaha.. Mt A still renovating? During my no.1 they are upgrading the rooms, now another round?

ET,
i think MT A is now doing reno works to their main lobby and first level... not sure if there are still works at the wards... =)

gd morn everyone it's FRIDAY!

morning
finally its fri but not a gd day for me cos my elder son down with cold n having a fever..hai..i cant zzz last night cos he was coughing n super cranky..

something gd as i be seeing my baby tonight..but after that i need to bring my elder to see PD..hai..

Good Morning Mummies,
It is friday. I only see a sac on my last visit last friday. Saw some mummies already can see full body so cool.
This year will be an exciting year cos I got to ensure my #1 get into good school close to my house just a mth before I due ,exam to sit and plan for his birthday celebration in his school for the last time. LOL

sandy,
based on scan as my menses irregular
now my #1 and #2 may share the same bday! hehe

hoi yan,

xin,
i think bb only? not v sure..hehe

welcome Hoi yan, pokkadotta!

i'm so excited to go c bb next thursday but before that need to go sch c #1 teacher.
only wk 2 in N1 and full of complains!!!

blood vessel bursting!!!