(2012/08) Aug 2012

Thanks for the joke, Rainbow! That's a nice one

Attend wedding:
I attended my friend's wedding when having #1, attended my SIL's wedding when having #2, and will be attending my brother's wedding in two weeks' time. Hospital visit, will avoid if not necessary lor, but I did go visit my SIL after her delivery in hospital when having #2.

During yesterday's gynae visit at 25 weeks, my gynae commented that I have a fat baby! He is 791g at week 25. Now worry that if baby grows too big I may not be able to go for natural birth...
Baby must have sucked most of what I consumed coz I only gained about 4kg so far..sianz... Also noticed that baby already turned heads down, though not engaged yet. But gynae said it's still early and baby may still turn back..

for 2nd time mummies, r u using back the old pump ? quite worried about the function of the pump, thinking if need to get another one ? but so far heard fr friends that medela is quite lasting shdnt be a problem. as everyday pass and date get nearer, seems like a lot of worries...wished that i can be not so anxious :p

Hahaha, no prob mummies... I told my colleagues and they were laughing like mad in the office.

I'll attending wedding and full month. Will not go hospital visit or funeral unless i'm very very close to that person.

J~A, electrical stuff diff to predict lifespan. My bestie's medela went dead after she delivered her 2nd baby and it's a month after her confinement. She was soooo desperate and bought a 2nd end medela in the end.

J~A,
I'm using back my old Medela PISA, it was used for almost 18 months for my first one. I sent the pump back to Medela service centre near Toh Guan Rd recently for maintenance. If only normal maintenance it is only sgd100. Besides that I will also buy new membranes and valves.

Aixin: regarding bringing maid to another place other than registered address was discussed before earlier. This is a grey area and if u are not careful, the maid can easily turn against you and kenna u into lawsuit as it is illegal for maid to work at other than registered workplace. IMO, if u want granny to look after than ask her if she can handle all together, then at your own home, just hire part time cleaner to do the chores. Get ur hubby help with handling the kids at night ba. Money wise, i think it's best to discuss with ur granny how much is actually enough.

On weddings: i not the pantang kind, so will still attend esp now we are already in 2nd trimester and more stable le. In fact i attended 1 before i know i was pregnant. In fact, my pri school fren attended my wedding when she's 6 months preggy last yr and she has delivered a healthy bany boy! I know my mum will object but luckily i don have any to attend as yet. But like jen, i'll try to avoid visiting hospital (unless family or very close frens) and 100% avoid funerals (before i was preggy i also try to avoid cos don deal very well very passing away).

Ninger: i'm opp of u.. My scan at 24 wks bb only 600 odd grams, i'm gaining most of the weight. Then i concluded that if bb can maintain 3kg and under, natural delivery is easier. I have heard of 2 births recently (1 my colleague and another hubby collegue wife) only 4 and 1 hour labour time respectively. Their preganancy are normal and it's both their first child.

Hi mummies, just to update this coming weekend 4 May is baby baby exhibition at suntec city not expo and not much info post on this yet. For the expo baby fair is end of May host by motherhood.

BTW, Yanlin like to check if we are still meeting to go for the baby baby exhibition at suntec and which day u plan to go sat or sun? Anyone one else interested to join also?

Has been feeling bloated easily lately. Specially after dinner. Dunno if bb growing too fast or wat. Bb also like to move to my lower tummy which making me quite uncomfort at time.

Rainbow,
Thinking to buy fr bp ready stock if really urgently need new one ..... Just can't help worrying......sigh

Aixin,
My set is USA fr spree, can bring to the service centre ??

Starfantasy,
Wow 1 & 4 hrs is consider v fast for 1st pregnancy. My Coll who delivered #2 last yr, her labour time cut by 1/2 compared to #1...I asked hb if peak hr jam how to rush to hospital ?? He say can drive on expressway road shoulder and if got police they will help to 'open' road...

can i ask ur advice - i am going to cook apple herbal drink for my husband. Inside the recipe also call for Sweet & Bitter Almonds(南北杏). Can pregnant mommy take that? If not, i will omit this from my cooking.

Aixin, u can send ur 2.5yo gal to full day childcare then have the nanny look after ur bb. Ur gal can learn more things in childcare. Then u can decide to hire maid or just get PT maid. I think sending ur maid to nanny place will have prob cos they are not suppose to work in 2 house.
For breast pump, that time my fren borrowed my ameda and spoilt within 2 days. She took it for repair and they told her its very common after not using it for a while. Before we deliver, we must warm up the pump 2 weeks prior. On it everyday for 10 min and set to the lowest frequency. If we use it immediately full pledge, it will be damaged.
My boy sick so most prob tmrw cannot go baby fair Liao

Hi starfancy and AG,

Thanks for sharing your opinion of the maid topic.
I read through mom website, and even in EOP, it was mentioned that if maid were to take care of young children at caregivers' place, it is ok, only that they cannot do full load of housework in the caregivers place. I will tell the nanny only to let the maid do things related to bbs.
If I send my big one to cc i worried that she will keep fall sick then pass it to the younger one also. At night we will have lot of headache. But I do consider sending her for 2 hrs nursery. My husband work need to OT quite often hard to rely on his help for sure. For the part time maid I thought of it but after calculating the cost for getting part time maid, it is not really worth it, and I need the daily support very much as I'll be breastfeeding and pumping for my bb, so a lot of things to wash up daily. The local part time maid charge me 12-15 per hour, and they only wanna come for min 4 hrs. The foreigner part time maid can charge 10per hour but they are very unpredictable, I got at least 4-5 of them previously, some bad service, some just suddenly disappear or said they go back. And even they requested min 4 hours each time they come.
Besides my side, for the nanny I don't think she can cope with two also, though she said she can try and she think ok cos her own kids also she bring up on herself. But now she not only need to take care of my gals but also got her own family to attend. Very risky if anytime she fell sick or her own kids fell sick.

Hi Ninger
791g should be ok..;) mine is more than yours so abit worry of no space...hope my tummy can grow big enough.. I dun mind any stretch mark..;)

Hi gals n hazel
Thks for ur wishes.. Hee... Ur hb will jump but later will realise cost higher... I am happy though..;) just pray hard they dun come out too early..;)

Anyone going to expo today? Pls update whether is it a big or small event..;)

TGIF!!! Somehow i dun mind working recently as got free aircon.. When at home, i sweat like crazy n cant rest well too...

TGIF, morning mummies.

i was so tickled by the curry 'PORK' nearly cough my teh-C out. muahahaha..

Re:maid.

i might get the yes MAM yes MAM one, agent say her engrish nt that powderful, but can answer n understand simple questions n instructions. if i were to wait for new batch of maids will b nxt thursday. reason i keep choose = change bn maid-> $600. transfer maid-> $100+ paperwrk fees. hub commented, u like choosing grapes, all look the same, u open up the box inside rotten u also LL, can only pick out n eat the good ones. *ROAR* i nw v maodun. anyone using nation maid agency?

Re: baby stuffs
i hvn got anything yet also leh, waiting to pass my 28wks than gg buy all from taobao! my list all gathered up liao. bb bed, the playpen type n stroller most prob gg buy in july when gg give birth than go kakibukit there see. other than that those bottles n pacifiers diapers milkpowder i nt buying so early also. anyone same like me so nuas.

LOL Rykiel..
yr hubby cute leh.
i think as a 2nd time mummy we can be very relaz..

but i have gotten
-diaper
-cloth diaper
-bottles
-pacifier
-towel
-hanky
-socks
-swaddle cloth
-breastmilk bag
-Desitin Cream
-lots of wipes
-shampoo n shower foam
-bottle detergent
-bb washing powder..

hahaha did i miss anything..and i think its more or less there lo..
COt i have existing one..breast pump waiting for my sister in law to return me..
baby clothes i have alot from no 1 and i need to sort n wash..(big headache cos no 1 is a boy then this is a girl)

oh ya..i need to get breast pad and some mitten..

i havent warm up my old ameda pump but i do need some new parts and a new power adapater for it though .. i think after may 12 i will test the get the new parts lor ..
i bought a new us set for the medela freestyle not yet opened haha so will test that later as well as dont feel like charging the batt soo early .. for service last heard my friend ask (3 yrs ago) is $50 for non warranty (include us set) ..

diaper - nt get yet
cloth diaper - washing existing and gg buy a pack more (wait for gss)
bottles - nt yet get (wait for gss)
pacifier - wait for gss
towel - wait for gss
hanky - also wait for gss
socks - bought (wait for gap/old navy to reach me ..) .. washing my old #1's and wait for gss lor haha
swaddle cloth - bought 2 from on pending shipment (wait for gss for more)
breastmilk bag - forgot get will buy later when gt disc (else gss)
desitin cream - bought pending shipment from drugstore
wipes - gss to stock up
shampoo and shower - bought .. pending shipment frm drugstore
bottle detergent - gss again
bb washing powder/detergent - still gss lol

clothes - washing #1s and bought some from on/gap pending shipment and see gss lor ..

playpen - cleaned #1s ..

sterilizer and food blender - will clean #1s soon

combi highchair - will clean #1s soon ..

got will get new bedsheets set for bb during gss bah and then new mattress and bedding set ..

will also wash #1s old bottles for bm storage as well ..

my #1 also boy and this gal hehe .. but just wear at home can also 1 lor ..

anyway .. i need diposable breastpads too (also gss or bp) lol

surprisingly after knowing that most likely i'm having a girl, i haven't bought a single thing for her yet!!! hahaa...

Starfantacy:
Actually I am at 24th week this week (typo).. did your gynae comment on baby's weight?

Joanne:
Congrats on the twins! If I can strike a lung feng tai, my hubby will be thousands time happier than striking TOTO! haha! I am worried of baby's size coz my #1 was c-sect (not by choice). Though I managed to have VBAC for #2, I am still worry that if baby gets too big my gynae will advise to go for c-sect again for fear that it may affect my old wound. #2 that time she already told me if baby big she will c-sect for me liao... ended up #2 was born at 3.5kg and I managed to pull it through.. *whew*... hopefully I will not pass the 3.5kg mark this time. *stressed*

Aixin:
I ever thought of this option before when having #2. But dropped the idea in the end coz I scared sekali the plan didn't tun out well I will have to leave my maid at home alone, which I didn't want to, also had no idea how much $$ to pay nanny. So, can't really advise on the $$ part as I didn't explore that far at that time. I guess this will have to be reasonable and mutually agreed between both parties.. pretty subjective though.

Rykiel:
Just hope that you don't end up picking a sour grape..

On baby stuffs:
I have been busy clearing my girl's wardrobe and chest drawers to clear space for #3. Being a shopping fanatic, I really have problem clearing the items as I have bought way too much clothings/accessories/shoes etc. over the years. I am just more than happy to pass them to my girl friends who just recently having a baby girl..
Finally get a chance to buy baby boy stuffs
I guess I have everything ready liao since this is #3, will just get the basic things like breast pads and newborn diapers.. And hopefully my Avent Duo pump will not go on strike when I need it again...

yeah being a #2 mummy made me so slack. I have not start doing anything yet. I put all my #1 baby stuff at my MIL house cos my hb still have his old room which is now our storeroom. the thought of going over and bring the things back makes me tired. even at home, I have not started clearing the cabinets to make space for my bb. gosh and we are approaching 3rd trim soon. me everyday also tired leh, then weekends always bringing my boy out.
ayukie, u know where to buy Amenda parts? I need to get a full set of the parts. you using old bottles to store breastmilk? can we still use old bottles..just wondering, i also forgot how I did it last time.

aixin, my thoughts is that there is a very fine line on full household chores. esp with nanny or elderly, the maid is bound to do some chores which they may complain and gets tricky. I encountered it before so very scared.

ag - yeah but still thinkin buy overseas myself or from bp lor .. see the amt diff bah then decide the adapter gg buy norm adapter frm those shop but if cant get will get frm infant tree lor .. i gt a pair of new breast flanges so im just getting the rubs, valves, diaphrams and btls only ..

i have some nuk bottles used to store my bm for #1 so will reuse them lor but will wash throughly and sterilize lah (i also can do likdat anot but since #1 nvr drunk frm the btls shd b ok bah)

nt gg bb fair cause tml gt ot again .. haiz another full day .. sooo tired ..
im just sooo tired these days i just wanna concuss .. having migrine as well ..

rykiel - my hub same so i vereyday or when i gt time haha to catch her mistakes then scold the maid lor .. so sian ..

ayukie, so u use the nuk bottle to store then when feeding time, transfer to the milk bottle then heat up is it? then gotta sterilize both bottles leh. I think that time I bought lots of avent bottles to store then heat up directly and feed.

BBL:
The Avent VIA storage cup can re-use so many times meh? I thought it says can only use for around 5 times only?

ag - yeah cause the milk bottles big then my boy drink the milk btls small some of the big milk btls he use already for his milk feeds lor (still using but that time i buy alot cause i prefer btls to milkbags)

haha yeah tats why i didnt use the milk cups cause small and then only 5 times nia .. v siong ... so i use those nuk 350ml bpa free milk btls to store ..

oh milk cups can only use 5 times? I also dont like milk bags cos I find it such a waste of $$. I dont have that much supply to freeze so my turnaround time very high, no point wasting the bags. hey if u use milk bottles, what caps do you use? cos I thought it needs to be those flat tight caps and not with teats?? for avent, I bought the seal tight caps to store but avent bottles so exp, not practical.

That's why I have tons of those VIA cups but never use them coz I find it very troublesome to keep track the number of times I have already used them...I used milk bags instead. Use and throw as lazy to wash and sterilize.

But I guess the cups could be useful to store snacks and fruits for toddlers..

Ag - i dont freeze as well cause mafan to deforst and then my friend smell worse than the normal bm so i nvr freeze them and they are such a waste use once must throw le ..

avent cup only can use 5x ?? i use them to give ifc to feed puree..reuse so many many times :p

storage of bm, milk bag for fbm and pigeon/medela storage bottles in the fridge

ag - i use those milk bottles lor they come with the sealer cap then the milk caps with teats .. wun leak so quite air tight then then gt the plastic cap also so haha double protection ..

nuk btls also exp haha so hopefully can re-use but those my sonny have use liao i think i wont be re-using them .. will get some more for girl girl as well ..

fbm is really v stinky, luckily my girl is ok to take, some babies reject them. i freeze due to gg back work after ML...

hee I dont plan to bf long, I plan to bf only during my maternity leave. So anyone can recommend what is the most cost saving way to store BM?

hmm i didnt know can only use 5 times..i used more than that..
i used to store BM,after that pureee for my son..n now snacks..

i just went to their website to check..its reusable...

VIA is a versatile, space-saving storage system designed to grow with your baby. It allows you to use the same cup to express, store and feed breast milk to your baby.

VIA cups are sterile, reusable and offer a convenient system as they can be reused up to when signs of wear appear.

The lifetime of the VIA cups depends on the way they are washed or domestically sterilised.

VIA cups are made from polypropylene plastic, which is the material recommended by the ‘International Guidelines for the establishment of Milk Banks’ for the storage of breast milk.

Ag,
how about latching direct ? not sure if can still get glass bottles fr hospital..brand chicken essense the bottle can reuse, now that they use plastic caps ?

BBL,
thanks for the info

went for your 4D scan already ??

J-A
4D scan this coming monday...
ahhaha i also kept also of essence bottle..but i think too small volume leh..
think avent cup still the best.

J~A,
You can contact the medela service centre at 65623008 to check whether they do service for US unit. They are opened on Saturday also till 12noon.

The service is quite fast, took about half an hour or so.

For the storage of BM, i used milk bags and glass bottles from hospital. Used to have quite a lot of glass bottles last time, but passed to a few friends. The glass bottles are very good to use, it can be connected to the teats (std NUK and pigeon) straightaway.

I stay at gleneagles and they dont have glass bottles.I think only thomson gives glass bottles rite. J-A, my #1 I didnt latch successfully so not pinning hopes this round too. Also I find latching a bit troublesome cos I cannot estimate how much bb have drank.