(2012/07) Jul 2012

btw, all of you are so good. me already started wearing nursing bra cos they are bigger and my current ones can't hold my size anymore. altho i can't fill fully but so much more comfy than my normal ones. my top tends to grow a lot a lot.

liligal: Yes.. i also seeing Chris Chong.. haha i read that you say he got act part time... HAVE MEH??? i only know he always tell me he on air with FM 97.2

LOL!!

Hello, I m back from gynae appt. Wk 32.2, baby finally turns (not sure if it is the exercise taught by the TCM physician, I only did it for few days n last 2 days I could feel the pressure at the bottom, n gynae said position is correct now.) but placenta is still low so in another 3 weeks time, he will do a vaginal scan to confirm if natural or c-sect. Baby is 1.75kg, average weight but last month I put on 3kg, the nurse asked me to slow down.

Gynae has an emergency call from A&E so I didn't get to ask a few questions. Sigh... Ask in next visit.

Hope everyone is doing fine, jia you.

LFCfan, hv.. u go ask him. last time got this ping pong show or something and some other shows. he very very "hiao" in this aspect right? btw, this is ur #1 or #2? u giving birth where?

BB, share the TCM exercise leh... mine is already down but gynae say can still chg until wk34 where it's more or less settled. now i'm wondering if she's face front or behind.

Mummydee, my hb asked me about the placenta thing. He said a company charging around $300 to make it into capsules. I dare not eat even my mother who has been eating goat placenta capsule for more than 30 bottles say no thanks. Hahaha... But it is the in thing now, my hb heard about it from his other colleagues.

Nursing bras, I don't like it, very lousy design n bad support. I use my normal bra n put nursing pads lor.

Bra or not in hospital? No, I don't wear bra in hospital. The gown is thick in front so no need to wear bra.

Nipple cream. I used it when my nipple cracks. U know hurt by the baby during the initial breastfeeding stage. Already told my hb where to buy it when I need it.

Lili gal, I don't know how to describe in words here regarding the exercise. But since baby is in correct position, the nurse told me to stop doing it. She said normally baby head down he hardly change position cos it is the most comfortable position Liao. So don't worry too much. My gynae taught me to touch the baby back (round round big lump is the back, so baby is most likely anterior position.

oh! i haven't heard of pple eating placenta now! i thought that was in the past... some old wives tale.. omg.. anyway, tanny said that it's just some waste that the baby pass right? it's good to read more about it before eating.. esp if we're bf-ing.. you'll be feeding the baby with the waste he/she pass out??

After I delivered my #1's placenta, my gynae held it up to show me...errr...i cannot imagine eating it lor eventhough it is made into capsules!

BB, do you have any website or information about the exercise please? because my bb is not turning yet so i am getting worried

Ourlovestory, I read a few websites but dare not follow. When I saw my TCM physician, she taught me the method. I m desperate that is why I did the exercise. But when I told the nurse today about it, she scares me with many things. Guess Chinese n western always contradict. I did this on the bed. Knees on the pillow, bend my body forward with elbows n arms touching the bed. So the position is like butt level is higher than the head. Stay at this position for few minutes. It is bit uncomfortable especially when my hb change my pillow to a thicker one. I receive another email requesting for the explanation of the exercise. I hope it won't make it worst for you ok?
Good luck ladies.

Qin: I get the same feelin like you....sometimes it's just the hand (or maybe leg, knee-cap perhaps??) pointing out. When I touch the pointed out part on my tummy, she will move away.

I'm not sure if the rest of you experience your baby always nudging the same spot on your tummy until it feels so sore at times -_-"

hello mummies..finally can look we can haf some rest over d weekends

anyway thanks for d info on d maternity bra:p
n thanks Marie_Ang for d info on d carter bb websites

anyway I was at jp ntuc earlier n there is a do call baby fair..
so I jot down some pricings for certain prdts

huggies newborn 24's $6.95
merries newborn 60's $18.95
Kodomo 1l refill pk detergent $7.45
Kodomo bottle wash refill pk $10.90 
tollyjoy 1l detergent refill pk $6.90
pigeon 600ml detergent refill pk $5.90
tollyjoy bottle wash 900ml $9.50/$8.90(refill)
pigeon bottle wash refill pk 700ml x 2 $18.90

Got this online

The placenta’s primary role is to ensure that oxygen is moved into your baby’s blood stream and carbon dioxide is carried away from your baby – however the waste is not limited to oxygen and also includes cleaning out other waste which is produced by your baby. In the same way that it ensures oxygen reaches your baby, it also plays a role in ensuring that some nutrients are received.

The placenta is an extremely complex piece of biological equipment. It is a little bit like an artificial kidney, it allows your blood and the baby's to come into very close contact - but without ever mixing. This enables your blood to pass across nutrients and oxygen to the baby, and waste products like carbon dioxide to go back from baby to mother. It acts as the lung, kidney and digestive system for the baby.

http://www.pregnancy-calendars.net/placenta.aspx

So hor, still wan to eat it meh? I dare not. Eat for health, for vitality, for youthfulness? Are these so called benefits even real?

Hmmm Im curious about the exercise too... doesn't sound difficult..Like curling into a ball with the butt higher raised than the head..?

Happy birthday Lili gal! HOpe u had a great day.

Joy: Yups its from UK.. you should def get your gf to buy.
I've finally written up the review on 2 Emma-Jane bras the 365 and 361. http://notsosecretmusingsofamum.blogspot.com/search/label/reviews

I've got another.. the emma-jane sleep bra - hate that.. but gonnna give it another try before i write the review

Cup wise, the bras fit cups B-F ie there is only 1 cup size. The diff is on band width ie 32,34,36,38.

I bought mine from a UK site called expressyourselfmums. You can google and pretty much find loads of sites that sell Emma Jane.

Hope that helps!

Hi everyone! It's been a while since I last posted, thread is moving really really fast. Busy week, but finally did my hospital tour yesterday. Can't wait for my checkup next week to see how heavy the lil one is now esp with everyone giving their updates.

Kalmen, any idea how Emma janes compare to Bravado? My gf swears by Bravado, i ordered 2 to try, can't wait to see how good they are haha. Really hope it's worth the price..

Ourlovestory, go get some rest pls! continue tomorrow morning when u've had some rest ok? I am still up because my boy just vomited twice, really heart pain to see him throw up

Liligal, happy belated birthday!! Sorry my wishes are a little late, but anyway, hope you had a great one celebrating with your hubby n boy

Ourlovestory,
Oh, why do u work so late? Must hv good rest today.

Cookie,
Hope ur boy is feeling better today.

It's another hot hot day!

Hi rykiel
Oh... If we install in the bedroom where bbies n maid sleep.. Is it ok? Cant wait to receive my camera today...hope i know how to install..;)

Hi maria
What forwarder u used to ship the bbies clothing from osh & kosh website & carters website? How much shd we buy then is worth it? Shipment fee expensive? Thk u...

Ourlovestory, how cum work till so late? It's not worth doing ot. Must rest well.

Joanne, the weather indeed very good. Today i change my bedsheet. Last week i wash bb clothing and store them in storage vacuum bag
wash already can shun bian pack hosp bag. Hehe...

qin: er. my rolling is he inside moving. sometimes i feel him below, sometimes on top, sometimes left sometimes right!! HAHAHA so i suppose he's rolling inside me!

joanne: bb slpin with her than shud b fine. but let her know. else wait she change in room, realized got camera than jialat liao. hahaha.

tdy sho hot! darn hot. woke up only left the room felt the humid air. boo.. was planning to bring boy dwn for an early cycle thn i can walk a lil but so scorching, wait burn butt.. wait evening thn decide again.

so where u mummies chionging sales again? heard the kiddy palace 20% off storewide has started?

I have been thinking whether to use washable or disposable breast pad. Any recommendation on the brand of breast pad?

qin,
U're fast leh. Already washed bb clothes. I still haven't go dig out #1 old clothes. Too lazy to move. Lazy me...

Feeling super duper sleepy now but cannot sleep. My boy still so awake!

Rykiel, oic...

How frequent can feel bb moving? Hmmz... Mine movement not alot and bb keep slping. In the day, i can feel bb move n kick gently esp when i eat sweet stuff. Think no space for bb to move liao or bb is in a comfortable position.

Cherish, thanks. He ate something bad for dinner n threw everything up, really hate the vomit smell! Looks like he's back to normal now

Joanne, I havent washed baby clothes yet, was planning to do that in Jun. But since you expecting twins plus have your helper already, can ask her to wash esp since weather is good

Rykiel, when will the items for this current BP arrive?

Hi Qin
Wah.. Vaccum pack!! I think i will just keep in drawer..

Hi cookie
Ya, today i start wash bbies cloth nappy use by my boy last time..;) weather gd so quickly wash.. N u r right.. I asks helper wash.. Think bbies shirt will not start yet.. Wonder when shd i start pack hospital bag... Hmm.. How abt u gals? What wk then start?

Bbies kicking
When bbies kick, i not sure is who kick.. As long as they kick or move.. I am very happy..;)

Joanne, store in vacuum bag is my hubby idea. He said put in cupboard will attract dust. And i keep buying until the whole dining table full of bb products until he see already cannot tahan, so suggest to keep in vacuum bag. Hehe...

Joanne, u bought the medela breast pump from beautyloft already?

Talking abt nappy, which brand of nappy liner is good? Gonna grab during the motherhood fair.

cookie: expecting early june! i still consolidating and building up my list while waiting for the bp to end.

talking abt vacuum bags i prefer the suction caps one. not the same opening to suck it up one. the one i got from daiso too big! n same opening for the suction i dun like. =( taobao got plentiful i still happily choosing, i cant get too big ones, cos to space occupying as im placing top of waredrobe. than too big wait diff to sort also. become one lump stuffs all in! headache. hahaha

Cookie
I went to try the bravado bras at motherworks at great world and didn't like them and yes my gf swears by them too.. I'm not sure if it's coz I'm smaller chested bout C now. But bigger chested friends seem to love them.
I did find a Singapore online seller that sold it cheaper than motherworks http://www.mummytoon.com/index.php?option=com_virtuemart&Itemid=33

The other brand I like is La Leche Wrap 'N Snap. That I bought from motherworks at $35, very comfy coz it's cotton. But super thin, def not for big chested ladies

Rykiel, if arrive by early Jun i can order hehe.. Paiseh dear, can send me the direct links for cotton pyjamas at good price? Cos I can't read Chinese at all! Those good to wear at hospital or for bfeeding? Thank you!!!

Kalmen, thanks for the link! It's cheaper than the prettymums link my gf recommended. Actually she also not big busted, maybe a c now max but she really loves the support from the bravado bras.. So perhaps it's really a very individual thing? Very gian to try the Emma Jane now hehe

Joanne, hehe, got helper can ask her to do, then u can rest!

Cookie,
yup and the lady from that online store seems pretty nice - just drop her an email if you wanna order. But I must say, Emma jane is value for money. I've added a couple more pics on my blog so u can see how it looks like.

For mums that want to track their baby movement.
this simple chart was given to me by my gyne.
Write the date on the top and essentially tick off to make sure the baby moves every hour.

You can find the chart at http://notsosecretmusingsofamum.blogspot.com/2012/05/aging-placenta.html

Any one know where I can get waterproof mattress protector for baby mattress?

Hi Qin
Havent.. But soon... How abt u? How many wks r u at now?

Hi cherish
Hmm... Not really.. Still got to supervise her so still abit tiring..;p

Me intend to leave her alone at home today as we got family function tonight and hb feels tt bring her out oso no point since she just go eat n sit there... Better tt she stay at home to do hsework... But my camera havent install leh... Sigh.. Hope she wun anyhow lor.. Later my camera will be here so wonder shd i put the camera there n trick her though i no install yet or shd i keep quiet abt having this camera first?? Sigh..

liligal, happy belated birthday!

Joanne, I will start shopping for baby things wk34, washing will also be after that, hope bb dun come out too early! heehee.

Marie Ang, my baby doesn’t move away when I touch the jutting out part of the tummy.. dun dare press too hard in case harm baby..

joy_javen, liligal, my gynae say to be on safe side, no sashimi at all, so wondering if I can eat during confinement or breastfeeding. Initially hubby will still eat sashimi in front of me while I look on drooling >(

joy_javen, my hubby also the type to buy only while I research, actually, he’s not very good at buying also. haha.

Cherish, when I ask hubby talk to baby, he will lie down & start snoring :p

Recently having backache no matter which side (left/right/back) I sleep on, even with 1 pillow for my back & 1 pillow for my tummy

Also got some hard, dark yellow lumps on one of my nipple, what could it be??? Tried googling but couldn’t find any answers

Got a question: What do mummies put in those huge diaper bags? When go out need to bring 1 diaper bag & 1 feeding bag?

Joanne,
Ya. I feel more tired wif my helper ard as also need to supervise her. Hopefully can settle down soon. But hubby this morn pre warn me e maid n mil taking care #2 may change as mil been complaining health not gd. We hv to see how things go.
Can u lock ur room or e room wif valuable things when ur all family is out? I intend to do this if not bringing helper along.

Hi Cherish
We need her to vaccum floor n mop floor (to keep her occupied) so may not lock the door.. Anyway, hb already lock valuables in the drawer... Really hope all goes well even when we r not around.. Camera is here but no time to install yet..;( ya, pp see me gd n i see pp gd.. If maid no around, i can zzzzz anytime i like but now cannot.. ;(

Hi kawaii
Wah 34wks then buy? How many wks r u now? Why wait soo
late then buy?

Joanne: I use VPost. Have been using VPost to ship my facial products for a couple of years. Sign up with VPost...it's very easy to ship. I'm shipping California Baby products at the same time. If you factor in the shipping charges, it's still cheaper than buying from the shops locally.

Have also started washing bb clothes and storing them in ziplock bags...hee hee, just to make sure dust don't settle on them and they don't have a stale smell....I put a couple of Thirsty Hippo in the cupboard as well....just to keep out the moisture

bhoo, *gasp* i can't believe ASOS has S$ now!!! I used to buy from the site every 1-2 months! geesh... jus a few mths into pregnancy and i'm so outdated!

ourlovestory & cookie, can't believe you ladies actually updating at that hour!!! actually previous night i also tempted to do so when i can't sleep till 4am. hehehee...

ourlovestory, why work so late? I assume u r working fr home right?

thanks kalmen, cookie, jo & kawaii for the birthday wishes. yesterday did not go as planned so i'm still celebrating today and tomorrow. hahahhaah... lao hiao.

LFCfan, yes yes, he's a gynae!!! hahahaha.... me also giving birth at mt A. but he prefers glen E tho slightly more ex cos he can come up and visit us often if we are there. but at mt A, he also very nice will come visit many times to see progress.

qin, you are so prepared!!! i m still thinking of starting my hospital bag! hahaha.. i've been using disposable breast pads cos can jus throw and if i'm outside and full, i'll hv fresh ones easily available. i used tollyjoy one cos it's cheapest and sticks!

jo, havent started washing. got quite a few hand me downs so my girl's clothes more or less settled. it's really nice to see pretty pretty girlie stuff finally! yours done oredi? i also jus plan to keep in drawer vs vacuum pack so i'll wash them closer to the full term date. still got 1 mth to go. btw, do call back often with new maid to check if she's in the house. you don't want her out right? also, some maids might welcome it cos they scared of being home alone in new place.

on vacuum bags, btw, i 2nd rykiel. taobao vacuum bags very cheap and good. but must choose wisely some places the bags break or leak easily. i usually tries to remedy it by finding the leak and using scotch tape but better to get better quality ones.

kalmen22 and cookie, how can you all stay so nicely breasted?!? i'm so so so so envious!!!! mine makes anna nicole smith or pam anderson seemed like cousins! and it's gross!!!

kawaii, yah sashimi not wise to eat during pregnancy. but BF time shud be ok right? i ate lots last time. i just think i'm japanese so that debunks all theory. only thing i stayed clear was alcohol. btw, ur hubby very funny!!! on the talking to bb part!!! my hubby repeats same line every time he talks to baby. very boring. #1 also like that. it's like a baby chant already.

for diaper bag, bcos i direct BF, so in my bag only has change of clothes, diapers, bibs, changing pad/mat, nappies, small towel, wipes, tissues, BF cover, small jacket or a covering for pram if aircon cold etc. eh, ur hospital bag pack liao? so fast diaper bag already?

kalmen, kiddy palace or baby kingdom all have waterproof mattress. those motherhood fairs also.

me just started my 33rd wk. 4 more wks to full term. like so so so so long way to go! looking forward to full time work from home day!

Joanne, bedrest til 34wks, so 34wks then can go shop. Got give hubby some shopping list but he only bought a fraction of the things.

Liligal, haven't pack hospital bag lah. Just that when I see diaper bag online, they are all huge, so wondering what goes inside. Thanks for the list, really a lot of things to bring out!

kawaii, hahaha.. if you are nt direct BF-ing even more things to bring e.g. thermal flask w water, normal water bottle, milk powder, milk bottle etc.

btw, ladies, i read kalmen's blog and there's this 10min prenatal pilates. i tried the youtube version online and nearly died. all my bones were cracking and lotsa places havent been moved for a long time. do give it a try! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2qo_nCKpTcM