(2012/07) Jul 2012

morning mummies: happy mummy day to all!!

Laura: yea woken up by d loud thunder n d strong wind last night..

bhoo : me too my appetite dropped but i got more cravings for tibits now.. lol..

liligal: yeah yesterday weather was damn hot n i wanted to go for a swim but end up d lazy pool at jurong west was under majntenance..whaha..
haha yea I was d 1.. so overall I think I put on 6- 8kg coz 1st trimester I lost 2kg dan gained again..
I got a silly qns..doc ask me control my weight but if I control dan my bb will gain weight ma?? haha doc say I can eat more in my 2nd n now I got to control my weight!!damn..lol

cherish: cool down!! dun feel tat way..bb sometimes can sense it..let's just talk to bb n ask them to b full term bb

I oso now feel like I walking like humpty dumpty.. n my memory is failing me!!my gf told me it will b worst after give birth..gosh..

BB: wow ur num 1 is really a blessing to u..anyway y dun u just put d delivery bag in ur car boot?? at least if u r outside u just grab d bag n hop on a cab..yea I always remember shows showing mummies screaming in pain during labor..I'm kinda afraid too.lol..

Morning mummies.
yes yes! it's a much cooling weather this morning!

joy,
thanks and i do hope i will keep my cool since mil is going to be main cargiver for #2 when she comes out. just that i cant stand her unhygiene. when she was helping to look after my #1 during 1st 3mths, i already fainted many times. one whole day can just bath once though she kept perspiring and the sweat dropped onto my son.
my memory is already failing me. sometimes, i wonder if it's because i dont make the effort to remember or i just have too many things in my mind at one go.

this time round, i also crave a lot of tibits and junk food. always munch on cookies, chocolates during office hours. :D

i'm most probably going for c-sect(as #1 also) so been telling bb to guai guai stay inside till the day to come. and i try not to remember the slaughter moment. hahah

cherish: at least u gt someone to help u..my mil will b helping me during d 1st week n I'm still thinking sld I ask my mum to help me during d 2nd week..but I guess I will b on my own with occasion sis in law to come over n help me..
anyway d older generation r like tat..to them bathe 1 time can le..waste water..I know there r pple from china who bathe 1 time every 2-3 days.n they were like less Dan 18yrs old..I was like omg how can they do it??

haha my tibits craving r more when I gt nth to do..at home alot of tibits:p lol..gyne ask me stop my cereal breakfast for time being too n dun drink too much milk..whahaha..

Buttercup n all mommies,
same to u. Happy Mother Day!!

Joy,
Are u going back to work after ml or a ftsm? I salute mommies who hv to take care their lil ones n manage e houses by themselves. Not an easy task at all. I couldn't do it.

cherish: I'm going back to work after ML..will b putting my child in infant care..tats provided I managed to get him a spot..went to ask d new infant care at my hse downstairs n they say they r full but this time round allow me to fill in interest form..n they say they only can tk care of 8 babies!!! omg I was thinking wat r d chances I can gt a spot..

Thanks gals for the info on bathtub from TMC. Have to get one soon...
Btw I went for the prenatal yoga in tanglin mall ytd. It's not bad, it made me realised how letargic I have been ever since I got pregnant. Will continue the lessons to made myself feel good.
oh wishing all mummies & mummies-to-be a happy mothers' day!

Joy, what's wrong w cereal & milk? I just ate for breakfast. Hubby just bought me snickers & toberone too :p

Yesterday I had aircon on to 18C but still felt hot. Btw, Jul is the driest month. Hot!

I am far from being excited, still so unprepared for arrival of newborn..

Haven't looked at thermometer at all, is it necessary? Cannot use the adult thermometer?

No idea abt strepsils. When in doubt, better check with gynae

Hi liligal
My friend just told me that strepsil contains some substance not so gd for pregnant ladies so better dun take them..;) i drink lots of water n take honey durect to sooth my throat..;)
Btw, how much u pay for the thermometer?

Thk u cherish..;)

Btw, i agree with what linggie say abt Sharon.. A sincere n nice lady..;)

Happy Mothers day to all mummies and mummies to be!!
Nice weather today n too hot yesterday...
Feel very touch when i wake up today, the first thing i see is my son pass a flower n card n say Happy Mothers Day to me.. Almost tear... And he really makes my day a happy one... That explains why i loves kids so much as they r so innocent n adorable.. To all mothers, we only want our kids to stay healthy and be gd boy/girl.. Lets pray hard all will hv a smooth pregnancy with healthy bb/bbies in our arms.. So tt everyone can enjoy the joy of motherhood..;)

Happy mothers day!!

This thread is moving fast.. I would like to try the muffins too! *drool... My gynae has not talk to me about the hospital package yet.. So long...

My little beanie is kicking a lot these days.. How about your babies??

Lilian, is Sharon good? How much is her charges? Can I have her contact pls? Thanks!

Happy mothers' day to everyone!

In super great mood today... must be the fantastic weather =)

Had great brekkie with HB, bought stuff for nursery at Ikea and also got some plants to spruce up my home...

bbgirl & linggie, I'm delivering at Mt A too. When is your EDD? Mine is 29 July.

Yea joy_javen, what's wrong with cereal with milk? I take that for breakfast almost everyday... I tot it's a healthy breakfast choice.

kawaii_baby, dun worry abt not being prepared. There's still time. There's motherhood fair end of this mth right? Can always just go on a buying spree then =)
WRT thermometer, I'm pretty sure any thermometer will do. Many recommend those that can take temperature from forehead or ear so will not disturb sleeping babies.

BB, why #1 so lucky with no pain and contractions? natural? what's ur #1 labour story? recently, i'm like checking out folks' labour story and wondering about the various variations.
other #2 or #3 mummies, do tell too!

anyway, from all my pals, it seemed that after water bag burst, still got lotsa time one. at least an hour plus i think. my fren even bathed, watched a show then go hospital leh. but then again, her hubby is doctor so maybe she not scared. i'd leave car at mall or wherever i am vs driving myself. scary right? wat if contractions came mid way and how to drive?

for me, my tolerance very low. and it was painful lor. even tho i was walking around the house packing, sending mails etc but it was painful. later at the hospital it was so painful that i can't go pee. but i dun think like tv so drama lah. but i do hv one fren who was so upset that she kept scolding hubby whenever the pain came. hahahhaha... saying it's his fault etc and that he had life easy etc. it was like that during the last few months of pregnancy for him, keep getting blamed. luckily he understanding and kept mum. after kid is out, he say he needs to recuperate and dun wana think of another kid already. but went on to have one 3yrs later. hehehee...

i'm also anxious abt d-day leh. but thinking that since i'm going to close shop after this, kinda looking forward to it too. it's a unique experience i think.

bbgirl, i'm mt A too.

joy, hey, anyway, good idea abt putting delivery bag in car boot! why din i think of that!!!! btw, on china it's true!!! esp in winter. they dun even change their clothes and wear them consecutive days! i buay ta han and one day talk to some of them personally on it. :p

jo, on strepsils, really ah?!?! paiseh leh... i paid $69 for the thermometer including courier.

cherish, yah... i was thinking about c-sect also since the last one like that but everything i think of the layers to be cut and sewn etc. quite scary. it doesn't help when i've seen quite a lot of videos on it. so now going VBAC first. :p suggest if u really want it, don't read up or think too much. ahhahaa..

my mum is back! and the nagging and screaming began too. but ah... at least the house is clean, hubby and i can go out for better lunches or a short break. hehehee...

hey ladies, if have time, share your labor stories k?
and yes, Happy Mother's Day to all!!!!

ourlovestory, i hvnt called sharon yet. the prices are on her site. go google and search shalom massage. i'm asking for prolonged massages from hubby for now so no immediate need yet.

Lili gal, my delivery experience with #1 was very smooth. 6am felt baby head moved down further. 9am saw a very little light show, I ignored. 12 noon saw the show, color is more obvious but still very light, I called my gynae. He asked me to go straight down to his clinic. I called hb to come home. I went shower then blew my hair with hair dryer. Waited for my hb to shower n packed his bag, reached Mt E at 2.30pm. Gynae said I was having contractions n asked if I felt the pain. I was totally painless. Thinking Ox year baby should come out after sunset, I told gynae I was hungry. My whole family went to Paragon to eat. I had a big plate of grilled salmon. 5pm Went direct to the delivery suite, the nurses r shocked to see me walk into the suite taking pictures on the way telling them I was there to deliver baby. Gynae broke my water bag then after 2 hrs my pain kicked in. Midwife asked me which part of tummy pain, I told her tummy no pain at all, my below was sore n I could feel it was dilating. My hb requested epidual before my tummy started to be painful. I had epidual at 7pm. 10pm, midwives asked me if I wanted to deliver today or tomorrow, I said today. 10.45pm, they came into the room to prepare, 11pm I started pushing. Epidual was minimal so I knew when to push. 11.30pm baby came out.

happie mother's day to mothers and mums to be

hehehe keep seeing facebook full of postings of lovely cards made by frens' kids ..so sweet

Happy Mummies Day to all mummies here

Having very bad heat rash on my big tum... the itch is making me losing slp thru the night.. any remedies to reduce the itch??n

bb, your labor (if we can call it that at all) was amazing!!!! the type that I look forward to!!! best was you were so cool and still went to eat some more. i like!!! funny why ur hubby requested for epidural when you had no pain at all? and why can choose to deliver today or tomorrow one? this is so cool! either you had super high threshold for pain or this is supernatural birth!!!

zhen, forgot to thank you for the sharon recommendation. do you know if she gives light or hard strokes? i prefer super hard massages. for itch, i usually jus pile on loads of moisturizers or oil.

sunbelle, ya lor. unfortunately my kid missed preschool so no handmade card for me. have a hubby made card tho with lotsa pics of the kid posing w the words happy mother's day. quite sweet lah but would prefer a handmade one with his own handwriting. how did you celebrate?

Lili gal, my #1 delivery was so good experience that I hv courage for #2. Guess my hb heard too many stories about epidual last minute causing more pain n traumatized both delivery woman n hb. That's why he said just get epidual n relax don't torture yourself. Yeah, I went to eat n took many pictures but cos baby head dropped very low below, I was concerned the baby anytime could fall out. Very strange feeling. It was a blessing. Each delivery is so different, I m so nervous about my #2 now. I heard so many stories about water bag burst... Scaryyyyy...

Zhen, during my pregnancies, I m allegy to cream on my tummy. Rashes. Better to stop applying anything on it for now.

Hi BB,
For my #1, my waterbag burst when I got out of bed one night to use the bathroom...suddenly I felt a gush of liquid and I was still thinking "now, did all these liquid just came from my bladder?"
My hb best, still tell me, its probably nothing and i should just go back to bed!

Morning mommies,
A new wk to start again n I already feeling very blue.

I remembered someone has e contact for baby sitter but don't know who. May I get e contact pls? I think I may hv to keep this option open. Yesterday left my mil n maid wif my son alone for 3hrs n mil totally just listened to wat maid said. =.='' n don't know if due to getting old, nil kept telling hubby she's sad n no mood to do anything recently. I don't feel comfortable lor.

Buttercup, sound scary. Heard water bag burst, contractions will follow. Did u rush to hospital immediately?

One question. Can we eat medium cooked steak? Hb mentioned Morton's before I nearing my full term.

BB: steaks! i had many of that esp during my 2nd trimester! i will usually order medium well.. but if my hubby is ard, he'll usually correct me and say well done. i think as long as you don't see any 'raw' part, it's fine. i'm leaving morton's after delivery! because isn't it nicer to have your steak medium at such place? i thought having it cooked is such a waste! besides, this places serves such good steak!

rykiel: my clinic is at glenE. you mean normally, it's the midwife that helps you deliver and not the gyn/obs?

Mrs C,
thank you so much. really appreciated it. i cant concentrate to work whenever i think abt how to arrange my kids.

Mummy lee, I also think so but hb worried after baby arrives we will have lesser time to eat together. Sigh. This Thursday is my gynae appt, will ask him about the steak.

Mummy lee, normally midwives will be with us till can see baby head then they ask doctor to come. Doctor just catch the baby n sew us up. Unless complication else this is the norm.

Good Monday Morning!

Kawaii_baby, I know what you mean. There are days when I see cute kids on the streets and I get super excited abt having a baby. Then there are days when I freaked out when I think of how my life is never going to be the same again the day the baby is born. There is just no amount of preparation you can do to prepare yourself for motherhood. I'm just keeping my fingers crossed that everything will fall into place when the time comes.

Laura, I've been feeling like a pig months ago when I start getting water retention at every possible places. You are not alone. Hehehhe...

cherish, childcare arrangement is my top headache now. I have settled for infantcare but the more horror stories I hear the more I dread sending my little one to infantcare at 16weeks old. I think govt should give us 1 year maternity leave.

BB, I think as long as the meat does not run bloody when you cut should be ok. So going for medium well should be pretty safe.

liligal,
my #1 was induced labour. went for checkup on sat morn, weight reduce so gynae check & discover water bag level has reduced, so ask if wana induce on sunday?

so check in Mt A on Sunday midnight, insert induce pill (not sure what is the correct term haha) and waited all the way till 10plus in the morn, gynae came to break waterbag. gynae estimated delivery time around 3 or 4plus.
then i requested for epidural, then waited again till 3plus, and baby finally deliver at 4plus...

was so sleepy after that as I din managed to sleep much since admitted haha. while hubby is sleeping like a log in the delivery ward haha.

morning~ monday blues with rashes still giving me problem..

liligal: when i had my massage, i was only in my week 25, and she cant to give me too hard stroke. But i told her i was having bad backache, so she focus alot more on my back massage. if you really want some hard stroke, speak to her and see what she suggest. and if you have any specific spot which you want her to focus on, also let her know
as for my rashes.. yah i am using palmer cream, but i have been using it since the start of my preg, and i only have the rash problem now

BB: i stop all my lotion usage, letting my skin breathe.. just piling up alot of prickly heat powder to temp reduce the itch...

i plan to ask Sharon to do a massage for me after my next gyna check up, back is killing me!

i am exact opposite as tummy is beginning to stretch and tighten, i m putting on cream more frequently haha kiasu!

Hi mummies, hope you gals had a wonderful Mother's Day celebration over the weekend. I have been busy stocking up on my thermal flask in preparation for the red date tea that I'm supposed to drink during confinement. Experienced leg cramps and swelling of feet though I'm going to be in Week 31. Hope things will improve....let's jiayou tgr in our last trimester.

ourlovestory, I got my nursing bras at spring maternity (needed those with padding so I grabbed 6) and I also received gd reviews about the ones at mothercare too. Do check them out and try for yourself. I have gotten the cheaper ones at JL sale as well but the cup size is too big for me though it's B

Sorry to intrude mummies

I had overstocked on baby hankies/washcloth and trying to clear them now. It's 100% Cotton Hanky/WashCloth from Korea and good for face and body. I use them for cleaning my girl's face, mouth, and also use it as a drool bib. Even my CL commented its very good as its very soft to the skin and yet very durable, withstanding frequent washing.

7033510.jpg

They come in packs of 10 at $8.90 each. If you get 3 packs and more, its $8.50. Postage is calculated separately or collection can be arranged.

Please email me at [email protected] if keen.

Do not reply to this PM as I am using my friend's account and she is on confinement now. Don't want to disturb her. Thanks

Helll Laura.. i have the same feeling like a pig whenever i look at my swollen legs too!

thanks sblbee, i will go check it out at spring & mothercare!

does your gynae provide you with a number to call when you feel pain at night? I do not have le.. so who do i call when i feel uncomfortable at night???

Hi Joanne
This thread moving too fast..

I have PM u the letter content, hopefully it will be a good backup.
Just thought it will be a good reference for HR instead of every mummy sending email to MCYS.

Can I know how many of u start to have swollen legs? Which weeks will we start to feel it?

I attended the Wong Boi boi class..and saw the delivery video..scares me off alittle...especially natural birth but its a good way to let us be prepared mentally for first time mum.

Hi E_TAN! Not so much of swollen legs for me but I had bad rashes especially on my right leg, now left with ugly scars, and nose is starting to swell and looking like a pig. My boy is really pushing against my diaphragm so heart burn feeling is getting from bad to worse.

Another 8 more weeks to go for me. *counting down*

Hi hi..
Have been a silent reader all these while.. EDD 12/7 and I just went for my dr appt this morning...
Doc said bb on low weight side.. 1.6kg for 31 wks... My amniotic fluid vol is on a low side too... Bb not getting nutrients from me.. Has gained 10 over kg since pregnancy.. Sigh!!

to all who are swelling.... I am one of those who swell like mad...especially legs and hands... my fingers are so swollen

every night reach home after work, will lie on the bed and dont feel like doing anything but stare at the ugly legs

Swelling legs. When I had #1, my legs were swollen since 5-6 mths onwards. Swollen badly. Gynae told me to monitor my urine protein n blood pressure. If both high, I hv to call him, he worried of preterm. Talk to your gynae, if he said normal then relax lah. I m having a little swollen legs but my gynae said this time very normal.

ya!my gynae was saying .... no issues... normal. jus lift up legs whenever possible.

my urine protein and blood pressure is clear - no issues. that's y i guess he is pretty cool abt it - while i get overly paranoid since its started early at abt 4mths