(2012/06) Jun 2012

<font color="aa00aa">Re: Emma Jane bras
I've just discovered that ASOS.com carries Emma Jane bras!

Just for 48 hours until 11.59pm GMT Wednesday 14th March 2012, use promo code "<blink>20OFFASOS</blink>" for 20% discount (T&amp;C applies). I've just bought some nursing bras but you must be quick as most sizes are OOS!</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Organic doesn't mean safe. Check out the ingredients to be sure. Bottom line is, if you can't pronounce the ingredients, they may be harmful.</font>

Retinol A is a lower version of AHA. cause the acidity level is too high so it's not good for pregnant woman as it can be transmitted to baby.
In some expensive skincare products you'll find AHA.
cheap ones u can't find as it is too costly.. hehe
When they have it, they will state.
Not all revitalift products have though. just see ur bottle. not some hidden ingredient.

anyone know approximately when will the baby move head down ?? I am 26 weeks and the gynae say she is sitting down. Haiz..my 1st one also sitting down and refuse to turn end up I went for C-sect.

Or can we do some exercise or posture to change the baby position? Safe?

Birth Plan

I haven't even thought abt this yet. Typically will the gynae discuss with us when the time is ripe?

Skincare

I actually use skincare products from diff brands. Don't stick to one brand. Loreal doesn't work on me cos a bit too harsh and some of the products have strong fragrance that doesn't agree with my nose.

There is this shop which I go to at Raffles Place to get my moisturizer. They sell mostly organic skincare brands. And it's the only moisturizer which work for me right now cos very mild.

Merydith

I was planning to getting use those foldable foam mattress for her to sleep on the floor cos I don't have space for a bed frame. Plus the last round when she did confinement for my SiL she also slept on the floor using a mattress so I think it's fine for her.

I saw some foldable mattresses at Giant last weekend. Prices from 40-60 bucks. Still looking around what to get.

Shopping

Still got lots of small stuff to buy, like milkbags, disp panties, etc. Gotta buy new spare parts for my pisa too

ssmilezz, I think you need to discuss with your gynae and not wait for him/her to initiate. Some may just take it for granted that you will follow the usual routine. I plan to discuss with my gynae during my next visit.

Re skincare, I also use various brands, mostly pharmacy brands as I don't find that more expensive brands like SKII or Clinique necessarily work for me :p My skin looks the same whether I use a $300 product or $30 one so might as well I save some money! Haha :p

re birth plan
it's just deciding whether to use epidural, or not, or go for c-sect. no need to think too much about it.

glass, what about whether you want to donate/store cord blood, do delayed clamping, etc? I think it's good to be detailed... Some people even want to determine whether they want the light to be dimmed, music, etc.. Don't know whether the gynae will remember everything if you don't put it down in black and white for him.

ssmilezz,
My CL request for a bed leh. She say sleep on the floor difficult to get up. Should I ignore her request? I also don't want to get a spring bed actually. It is so bulky.

nattan,
Thanks for the link! Guess I will have to crawl rather than walk at home liao.

some mummies also specify in their birth plan that they want skin-to-skin contact with the baby as soon as possible after birth. helps to calm the baby down and helps bonding.

Dear mummies

Just to share, I got some breastfeeding related stuff like milk storage bags and breast pads from these links : Very good, reliable and affordable. Bookmark these links for future needs

http://bit.ly/nZqdjL

Bed
If u want something cheap can get it at Ikea. I remember saw it at 60+ then just anyhow buy a mattress. Bed can dismantled after finish using m mattress can let baby roll

merydith, if you don't have the space for a bed, then tell your CL sorry no.. Can she sleep on the sofa instead then?

<font color="aa00aa">Re: 100% Cotton Disposable Underwear
Watson's is selling 2 packs for $5.90 (there's another type which is more paper-like selling at 2 for $3.90. In addition, there's 7% GST rebate, so I think it's quite worth it. Not sure when the promotion end though.

Do note that Watson's carries several types of disposable underwear. There's another brand called Miine (not sure of the spelling) which is also 100% cotton cloth type but more $$$. Do check the materials and prices before purchase.</font>

back from robinsons.. bought
fitflop SP:$80 RP:$119.90
playtex SP:9 RP:$12.90
nania booster SP:$49 RP:$69
and some other items non-related to baby..

Merydith

Squatting is supposed to help too. I find that going on fours to do a stretch for our backs very shiok. It helps with the tension. I do that every night before sleeping or when I feel my back a bit achy.

Aiyoh if really no space to put a bed then how? Can try talking to her again?

nattan: i think applying little is fine. it was the salesperson who told me to stop using. then when i was preg with #1 someone told me abt AHA. otherwise i also nvr really bothered abt avoiding anything in particular for skincare.

basically i just wash my face.. then when i remember, i'll apply essence. if i forget then too bad. LOL so i also nvr use expensive products. always wait for loreal or bio essence super sales then buy.. i only use these 2 brands.

how r emma janes bras? very comfy? i might buy 1 or 2 to try.

mereydith: if u have space n budget to buy, u can get 1. after all ur baby will need a single bed eventually. but if u have no space, then i'll suggest u just tell her it's not possible. maybe she's old so she might have difficulty getting up from floor. so some ppl need to sleep on bed.
u try the ikea bed as suggested as that seems to be the least bulky bedframe already that is detachable to store.

Petrina, I wear size 39
Is the pink light or hot pink? I don't mind light purple either.

I never tried Emma Jane bras but they look comfy and Jul said it's good, so I bought 3 to try out since they are much cheaper on the Asos site plus there's 20% discount. I think my boobies are not growing any further :p Unless sudden growth spurt hehe.. If you buy this model Emma Jane Maternity Soft Cup Seam Free Nursing Bra with Removable Padding (http://www.asos.com//Emma-Jane/Emma-Jane-Maternity-Soft-Cup-Seam-Free-Nursing-Bra-with-Removable-Padding/Prod/pgeproduct.aspx?iid=1462844), it can fit cup sizes B to F, so should be able to accommodate any size change.

nattan,
ya maybe I just buy the mattress and if she cant then let her sleep on the sofa.

Petrina,
I intend to buy double deck bed to save space once #2 grows bigger. If not my house will be crammed. So not really keen to buy a bed just for the CL..

Ssmlezz,
Will squatting too much cause early labour? I have a phobia lor. Last round I suppose to have epi C-sect but then waterbag burst at 37wks+ and my bb is breech so end up emergency C-sect coz I dilated 6cm upon rushing to hospital in half hr.

glass,
better to get those maids who are above 30, married with kids, more mature. Are you going to ask the maid to look after the newborn, will your inlaws oversee ? I find it's safer to have someone to watch over the maid, imo.

jul,
there's private robinsons sale today, medela spare parts have 25% discount, i bought 2 funnels, membranes and 2 bottles, about $100. If you have the card, can go down and take a look.

Chris: me getting from philippines. I've compiled a list of interview questions. If they work then i pass to you. Me haven't taken first time employer online test. A bit troublesome. Interviewed 4 maids to me. Only one seems ok. But she rushed off for another interview. Dunno whether she wants to work for me coz i saw her asking for higher pay at another agency biodata.

The others i have communication problems. One nearly cried when i interviewed her and she might have thought of her family. One had so many employers with just two or three months history. Not easy.

Nattan and adeline, re birth plan, you can tell them something, but it may not be carried out. E.g, they asked me whether i wanted to bf my baby, but i fell asleep after super long labour, and they didn't wake me up. Anyway, i'll just go for anything that gets my baby out quickly and safely.

For cord blood, i don't believe in the efficacy and the sum of money is better invested in my children's education as it is really expensive. If there is any serious illness, touch wood, wouldn't the cord blood have the same problem?

Joeey: i'm trying to get those, but those with young children tend to miss them. My friend hired 2 30 something maids married with kids, but they are a bit ding dong. First one got panadol addiction, her current one keeps breaking things.

I actually went on fb to see whether they got fb account. Right now i will be home mainly until dec, and maybe go back half a day in oct and nov, so in laws can come over if they want. After that, i see how. If not must send them over to in law house.

Today i met a maid at my son's school. She single-handledly brought her girl to school, with another baby in the stroller. And then just walked back home on her own. I want these type of independent maids. Really hope to get a good one.

I never check my medela. Dunno what spare parts i need leh.

nattan: can't rem the pink. i think it's in the middle. i bought purple. very nice n soft colour. pink abit dark but not bright/hot pink.
i also wear 39

will pop by after work as there is some discrepancy in my receipt. will get 1 pair for u if u r keen.
but how to pass to u?

merydith: ic.. u can check out ikea. some double decker beds r detachable to 2 single beds. so if u r ok with buying now then it's ok. leave the top empty for now?
if really can't then u gotta let ur CL know. otherwise later got problems..

merydith, ya squatting too much may induce labour. Since you have a history of early labour and c-sect, better not do it. You can instead try a hands and knees position for 10 minutes, twice a day, towards the end of pregnancy to help move your baby into an anterior position in the later stage of pregnancy.

glass, well think it's better to let your gynae know your preference or forever keep your peace when the time comes la.. haha.. After all, we pay a lot for our doctor's service and also the hospital stay, if it's possible to make things happen the way we want it, then why not? Of course in case of emergencies, all these can be thrown out of the window, but it's worth planning for a normal delivery.

Re cord blood storage, it's up to individual just like buying insurance esp if the family has a history of hereditary health issues. Actually cord blood is different from normal blood as it contains stem cells. Also, sometimes the cord blood is used to save the baby's sibling rather than him/herself. But like you, I am not planning to store the baby's cord blood, rather donate it.

Petrina, Ok I get purple also since i like purple. I can pick it up from you at City Hall?

Merydith

I have no idea abt that leh. Shall ask my gynae the next round.

Petrina

Not bad man, u managed to score some good deals! I didn't go into Robinson in the end and went to groom my brows instead. Felt a bit light headed after that. Sigh so went to get some smoothie to bring my sugar level up.

Petrina, if you're getting the Fitflops for me later, can I trouble you to keep till later this week as I have to OT today for an event, cannot leave early to meet you... paiseh... :p

nattan: pick up today? after work? i buy liao directly pass to u.
pm me ur #.
EDIT = just saw ur last post. ok. since we wear same size i'll keep urs in my ofc n get another pair for myself.. hehe
i try to rush there after work. if no more then i'll let u noe.

smilez: quite ok. best buys were my tracce shoe n fitflop. the others were ok. cause i managed to spend $180 got additional 15% off.

ssmilezz, my #1 not walking around the church lah.. Not allowed lor :p. She just wants to stand outside, see the surroundings, sometimes walk a bit to the front/back but we hold her hand while we're seating so she won't walk too far..

petrina, you make me want to go robinsons to buy the fitflop! That's a very good deal, some more with the 5% rebate for cardmembers!!

Thanks Petrina

BTW, I just ordered the PISA On-the-Go from Ris at Mybeautyloft. Seems like price went up.. no longer $370 but $395. Still some substantial savings compared to buying local version in dept stores. Hope everything works perfectly.

my current fitflop I wear since preggy with #1, almost 2 years old already. Hopefully can last until I deliver my baby..
Plan to buy a new one during my bday month in August in metro becoz got 20% discount for members during bday mth. But it's just so far away.. huhu..

<font color="0077aa">petrina, regarding the rocker, first one with snow globe is nicer but it prob wun last our babies for too long cos the "legs" of the rocker not the very strong type. fyi it is one of the sale items at OG members event tmr. iirc it's selling at $99 but limited to x sets. as for the second one, it is plain in comparison but can actually last into toddler years (provided they still wanna sit in it). it was actually a life saver for me during my #1 time. she could sleep overnight in the rocker when she rejected yao lan one particular night.</font>

groovy: hehe.. only 1 design.. unless u like it then muz have ur size lah.
but those regular priced fitflops also got sale. i didn't check how much though.
BTW, i calculated b4. the 5% rebate not really 5%. it's about 3-3.5% only. dunno is it muz spend certain amount to get full 5%..

Nattan: Yup have prepared my birth plan roughly but yet to go through with my gynae.

My birth plan worksheet was about:-
1.Who to be present during labor.
2.To bring music/take pictures.

Pain Relief.
1. Epidural.
2. Laughing gas.

Emergency C-section (if necessary)
1.My partner present at all times during the operation.
2.The screen lowered a bit so I can see my baby coming out.
3.The baby given to my partner as soon as he's dried (as long as he's in good health).
To breastfeed my baby in the recovery room.

Postpartum
1.All newborn procedures to take place in my presence.
2.My partner to stay with the baby at all times if I can't be there.
3.To stay in a private room.

Breastfeeding exclusively.

The following can be offered to my baby:-
1.Formula
2.Please don't offer anything to my baby at any point. To consult(the mother or father).

I'd like to breastfeed my baby:-
1.On demand
2.On a schedule

I would like my baby to :-
1.To be in the room when i am wake only.
2.My baby brought to me during feedings only.
3.To decided on the above depending on how i feel.

Anyone here planning to sign up for post-natal massage? Origins Jamu is offering a Buddy Promo with the following freebies for every sign-up with a friend:

1 x Origins Spa Baby Massage oil
1 x Premium Baby Wipes from Japan( 80pcs)
1 x Premuim Goon Diaper (Size S) 2pcs per pack
1 x Multi-use Pads®

Anybody wanna partner me and get the above?

Adeline

U definitely know what u want! Which hosp are u planning to deliver?

Nattan

I got my freestyle from Ris too. Picked up in person from her and chatted with her for awhile too.

Hospital Tour

Anyone of you gone for one yet or planning to do so ?

Sure Nattan, glad to help! Tweak it to fit your requirements. For myself it is just a rough one for now still.

Sigh i am still having troubles with deciding on PISA or Freestyle.

Must start buying stuff for myself now since baby stuff is almost settled with all the baby fairs that has passed.

Am deciding as well which milk storage bags to used? Lansinoh,Medela or Pigeon?? Any recommendations?

adeline: i also handed my birth plan to my gynae already.
mine very simple.. hehe
only got 1 option for each category. no 2nd choice.
Natural birth w/o any pain relief
Epi C-sec if all else fails
TBF only.
Baby to be in my room at all times unless he needs photo therapy for jaundice or bath time.

I bought playtex. my friend say use cable tie. cheapest option available.

actually for pump, u just need to know if u need portability. if at home u TBF, then buy PISA. if u need to carry pump home everyday then freestyle.

ssmilezz, I went for my tour at PEH very early on already.. haha...

Adeline, I was also torn between Freestyle and PISA initially, but since some mummies here say PISA is more powerful, I decided to go for it. You can also google for reviews on these 2 models and see what other mums say. Actually I also read that Ameda is a better brand compared to Medela, but not sure who carries this brand. Anyway, I already reserved my PISA and will arrange for courier delivery to save me the trouble of collection.

Oh btw, I also bought Playtex at the Taka fair. Petrina, what did you buy and how much? Just wanna compare prices...

I heard that barley can actually prevent jaundice. Hmmm...

Btw, any mommies here asking for a PUSH gift from your hubby? If so what are you asking for??

hi mommies!

robinson sale worth it to go? does it include M&amp;S too? thinking if i should ask my sis to go since she's the one with the card..

nattan: i'm going for post-natal massage but i got it thru my colleague.. she's malay and her niece just gave birth, so her niece engaged this malay jamu lady and recommended it to us (my colleague's preggy too). $50 per session. 1hr massage for mommy and bathe and massage for baby.. so adds up to about 2hr per session. include jamu wrap and the pill or smth one