(2012/06) Jun 2012

Chin,

Is yours a baby boy or girl? =)
I am also at 23 weeks...
my girl is estimated to weigh about 600 to 700g only too.

I have gained about 4 kg compared to my pre-pregnancy weight...if baby is less than a kg, hope the rest is due to the amiontic sacs only!!

I had such a bz and horrible work day with one sickening superior lecturing me for no big issue. If other companies i work in, will say i take initiative. This one micro manage,
Finally then can quickly read through the posts while giving myself a break!

ssmilezz: You are planning baptism so soon for your baby? I thought wait for mine to be 1 year old then plan for her baptism

Sunbelle: I signed up Cordlife last Saturday during their event for the 21 years. Their techonology is better than Stemcord and can extract more cells but its also dependent on how much can be collected at birth which will determine the max body weight of the child it can 100% cure. After GST its about S$6.2K. Need to put in approx $3.1k in CDA for GOVT to match the exact amount

Foldable Mattress: Any suggestions on where to buy cheap and not too think mattress for confinement lady? Is 4" ok?

RE: Cot musical mobile ... wanted to buy one but in the end got dissuaded by HB to wait and see if we receive one during Baby Full Month. I think he finds it a waste of money as we use from 2nd-6th month and that baby attention span is short. Sigh sigh .. anyway i feel this isnt the ONLY thing they outgrow fast ... don't know why cannot convince him to buy.

RE GOON Samples: Hubby requested online for samples ... very stingy they sent 1 or 2 pieces only.
Huggies temporary not giving out samples.

Buttercup
Mine is a girl. I also gain about 4-5 kg so far. :D but I'm getting more and more hungry nowadays.

baptism
I plan to baptism my gal around 1 year old. Cos my eldest nephew cry like hell when he went throu baptism at 6 mth.

Petrina

So we can expect live updates from you la on the day u pop? Haha

Fleur

I haven't decided when the baptism should take place. See how things go!

Take heart! At least the work day is almost over. So tahan abit more and it will be home sweet home. The toughest part at work is dealing with ppl.

mihoger, ya I was at PEH last Sat. You too?

Re weight gain, I don't even want to weigh myself now :p I've put on more than expected, about 10kg from pre-pregnancy weight!! Must try to cut down on my snacking :p Seems like suddenly, I like to eat sweet stuff again. During 1st trimester, the craving for sweets wasn't there..

Fleurfleur, I thnk 1 or 2 pcs of diaper samples is ok la.. just to test out. If your baby doesn't like it, you will know it with the 1st pcs.

Re cot mobile, I think it's a good idea to wait and see if you will receive a mobile during the 1st month. You can always tell your friends/relatives what you hope to receive. Besides, the newborn baby's eyesight is poor, only about 20cm.. so may not be able to see the mobile clearly if you hang it above the cot. In terms of sound, many books suggest that babies prefer white noise to music. So you can record or download sounds of the washing machine, vacuum cleaner etc for them to listen to.

Re preloved things
I prefer new things, but after having the first chikd, i think they won't appreciate new things. As long as it is in good condition, then get it. I have a lot of hand me downs. The new things that i got did not last very long.

I also rented toys like the jumperoo. Good coz it's big and takes up space. My friend has a toy rental biz. She is a mum so she knows the importance of sterilisation and having toys in excellent condition. You can search for 'singapore toy rental' on fb if you are interested.

4kg!! envy!!! I must have put on about 7kg already. =( I still feel like trying out the mcdonalds crispy chicken burger tonight. haha

My baby like suddenly growth spurt. My tummy ballooned this few weeks. Even hubby who went on a 1 week work trip also say my tummy grew bigger.
Now my boi boi's movements also more pronounced. Sometimes my belly dancing in the night. I wonder if he is doing dragon dance.

mihoger, I was seated alone at the back... hubby was not with me.

Asrias, haha.. my baby also dances at night! Very active. Even during the day now, he moves around a lot.

Asrias
No need to envy cos I'm overweight before I preg. So watching my weight very closely.

My baby also more active at night.

Hi dears,

anyone experiencing pain at their ribcage? Twice I have been woken up in the middle of the night by a sharp pain at my lower left ribcage.

petrina

My Bumbo was a gift lor!

I've never used an exersaucer or jumperoo, coz I vaguely asked my PD & he said it's not so good for their spine or something.

nattan

I'm still discussing with Hubs on how to fit 2 boys beds, wardrobes & barang into my small kids' room! Haven't finished discussing, feeling so panicky to 'get it done' before I become too whale-like to move!

smilezz

Hiaz I'm the one panicking this time coz I'm still traumatised from not being ready for #1 haha

fleur, smilezz

Try Sea Horse? Think they have foldable mattress for abt $39. I bought a foldable sofa instead, which can unfold into a single bed sized mattress. Thickness ard 7 or 8"? Can't remember. It's for my son's room actually. Guess Hubs'll be the one sleeping on it during my confinement.

cindy, they don't have the blanket in blue the last i asked. The SE say so far all stocks are in pink. Hope you can manage to get a blue one. But I intend to keep it cos its really cute with bunny ears.

Smilez, do your church do baptism for babies? I know we can have baby dedication whereby they only wet the baby's head with holy water...not sure if that is also baptism. I intend to let my son go through that as well..

Nattan, i went for WBB anenatal class..nothing mentioned about being strapped to bed leh. Y do they have to strap us anyway..its not like we will go bogus during labour...at most bite hubby only ma. Hehee..

I am also hungry all the time now..even after a heavy lunch. But feels terrible not to eat.

Any mummies in KKH? Wonder if KKH offer 4D scan service? Would love to see how my baby looks like.

i used both PISA and freestyle b4, personnal, i like PISA better. the suction is better on PISA.
my friend pass me her PISA, and now i hv both PISA and freestyle. i will use freestyle at home and then station PISA in office. haha.. but then got to get all the new spare parts.

actually for PISA pump, if you getting second hand, just make sure the motor is working with no problem and all u hv to do is remove the plastic plate on the motor/unit and clean the inside and the plate can liao. the dirty part is behind the plate only.

Asrias

Oh I wanted to try that burger too!! Let me know if it's worth the calories!! I just had BK in sat for lunch so my hub said no
More fast food.

I never liked fast food much previously and I can tahan not eating fast food for many months. But ever since I got preg, I have been eating more. So unhealthy!

Nattan

I also have been eatin alot of M n M peanuts last weekend which is really odd cos I haven't liked eating chocolates since first tri.

Jul, are you getting a double-decker bed? For me, that's the best option to fit 2 kids in a room. But depends on how old your #1 is also. Might not be safe for him if too young to sleep on the top bunk.

Adeline, you can ask Mrs Wong the next time about the strapping down part. I don't think it's like tying you down, but attaching you to the CTG monitors etc.

girlady, probably is your baby kicking you...

RedTea, guess it's ok if you get your 2nd hand pump from a reliable and trustworthy source. Books say that it's not advisable to get from strangers cos diseases like HIV, herpes and whatnot can be passed through the motor which cannot be sterilised.

nattan

Nope, my #1 is only 2.5, too young for double decker. I'll just convert his cot bed to the slightly bigger toddler bed first (the cot bed has that extension option), get my friend's 2nd hand cot (same as #1's) for the baby & convert when #2 turns abt 2 also.

After that, then consider long-term. Double-decker would be very space-saving, but not sure if #1 is ready for it yet at 4.5/5. Could still be too young.

Ssmilez: Juz finished the crispy chicken burger. So so only lei. Abit disappointed. I think Mcspicy nicer. Really waste calories lor... haha

Redtea,thanks for your input! Looks like so far PISA beats Freestyle.

Mummies, are yours a local or US set? Any difference besides the warranty,1 yr warranty for both,right?

Also which brand of storage milk bags is good,am looking into either Lansinoh,Medela or Pigeon.

Just bought 2 bras without underwire from triumph today, and a camisole, cost me over $200, when i wanted to get bra extenders in the first place.
Realised that i get breathing difficulties coz my bra too tight! Now one extender not enough, i need two.

Finally making some headway in getting a maid. Dunno why some agencies don't seem to want my biz. And got one maid $600 a month with 4 days off can get hired minutes before i made my way down to interview her on sunday. Finally found one agency that was a bit more 'on' and responded to me on the same day, plus the maids look good on paper. Going to interview 3 tomorrow. Anyone got ideas on how to interview them?

Adeline, tks for the info. No wonder they didn't ask if mine was a girl/boy. Will not make a trip down then unless along e way. The bunny ears do look v cute!

Glass

Interviewing a maid is really tough. Seems like all boils down to luck n also if she can eventually click with you n ur family.

My SIL sent her maid back after 6 weeks. Her maid was super slow poke takes her own sweet time to do things. Act blur when the baby was crying.

Hope you find the right maid soon.

I'm also using 2 extenders. Seems very tight at night when I'm getting bk from wk. doesnt help that peak hr trains so crowded.

Adeline

Mine is a US set. Got the freestyle.

Yes, I think theres baby baptism. My niece is only 2.5 mths and the father used the holy water to pour on her head. She didn't cry think she enjoys the shower. Haha

Asrias

Really ah? Okay then I'm going to save my calories and dont waste them on that burger.

Maid, basically choose the one who has kids and look after their kids themselves without any help from their parents. Who cook for her family, and has been working as a maid before not just a housewife otherwise they will act like a boss not a maid. Ask their experience, mentiOn your situation and ask they really can handle or not.

Baptism, my#1 was baptised at around 2.5 mths old. She's a bit cranky that time becoz hungry I guess. But not crying luckily just shouting and open eyes big big not like in her full mth etc she usually sleep all the way.

I'm also confused about the room arrangement now #1 sleeps herself but we accompany her before she sleeps then put her in her cot when she's asleep

Baptism
I did my #1 ard 6mths too. Can't rem exact date liao!
They dip baby in water for my church. Quite nice.. Wear diapers niah.. The change to white clothes plus gown. Kinda like brand new life.
I assume those doing baptism r catholics right?

Pain under ribcage
That's heartburn. Had that for few days in a week. Slp after 4-6hrs from last meal. Last 2wks i was dying for supper. Then i had to tahan the pain. Now i rather tahan the hunger..

Restless legs
Anyone experiencing it yet? I had it last night. Can't slp at all.

I m wearing nursing bras already. I prefer my old worn out ones compared to new ones. Cause it's softer. 1option is to remove the underwires for some bras that u dun like. So ur boobs don't feel so tight. I did that for #1. Lasted me additional 1yr b4 i disposed of them.

Glass: wah.. Ur bras so exp? Shld have waited till tmr for robinsons sale.. Or buy from taka?

Toys rental
I rented from toys rental club n rent a toy.com toys rental club is more exp IMO. But big items r worth renting. Try b4 buying. Bumbo i rented cause my son thunder legs at 4mths. So lasted 2mths only. Best thing, if within 7 days dun like the toy, can exchange with another toy at no penalty apart from rental diffence cost top up.

Dancing baby
Mine also. Daytime nighttime no difference. When we r stationery position is when the baby starts dancing. When we r on the go is when we rock them to lalaland..

Ssmilezz,any feedback to share on the freestyle?

Baptism
I was baptized at 2 months. I would probably do the same for my baby girl. Didn't know though that churches here are strict on the baptism name. I should check it out with my priest as well.

Initially I was thinking of doing the baby shower(1st month)/ baptism party together about a month after she is born but I guess it's too tiring. What are you mummies doing or have you guys started to prepare?

Fleurfleur: that one was very experienced-13 years and still only early 30s. Plus 2 of her employers wrote glowing testimonials, and she had been with one employer for many years, which shows she is stable. Yeah, but on the high side lah, expat sure don't mind paying. Those that i'm interviewing are around $450 to $500.

Smilezz: well, many maids i've personally met are ok, so i'm channelling positive thoughts to getting the right one easily.

Groovy: that's why i've tried to look for those who have actual experience looking after newborns in singapore, so that expectations are more similar. Some might have looked after their own, but they might have relac attitude whike we wend to be more kancheong. Good idea, i'll ask them more about their experience and ability to handle situations.

Petrina: got sale coming ah? Me living under a rock for the past few weeks. I bought dunno what eco bra. I also got $12 bra on sunday, but look very auntie.

Hi mummy,

I'm fm nov 2011 forum. Is anyone Looking for baby car seat "maxy-cosi cabriofix". Its only $200 + free infant chair in blue cover and extra pink cover. Message me if anyone interest.

Very brand new and only used less than 5 times.

Reminder: robinson closed door sale today... Pls remember to collect ur $30 voucher from customer svc counter b4 shopping. Happy shopping

Petrina

What does restless legs feel like? Maybe I had it but I didn't know that it's called restless legs!

That's interesting to have the baby dressed down and be baptized! I think other than Catholics, the others like Methodist, etc also have their baptism cos I have gone for a Methodist baptism before but it was for adults.

My niece was given a white bib n a
Candle. Hers was done at St Francis Xiaver.

U going to Cheong Robinson sale today?

Adeline

This is my first baby So I haven't used the freestyle before hehe. But my consideration was so the portability and also the diff sizes of breast shields that i can use for the freestyle.

I haven't thought of the full moon celebration yet. Will prob do so only after I pop! But doing the baptism and full month together will be tough.

Have a good day ladies!

Baptism.. Quite funny actually my #1 sleeps all the way in the taxi going for her baptism, then suddenly when reach the church she's wide awake.

Usually every week when we bring her to church when she's small she'll sleep all the way during mass. huehehe.. Right now is a headache, she wants to sit in aisle seat so she can walk a bit outside some more. Doesn't want to be confined. Huhu.. Got 1 time we got no aisle seat and she's very cranky my hubby needs to bring her outside a few times..

Robinsons sale, going to miss it this time. Don't have energy to go after work.. Dunno what to buy as well as I've spent lots of $$ during John Little sale in these 3 weeks.

Smilezz: http://www.babycenter.com/0_sleep-problems-restless-legs-syndrome-during-pregnancy_7549.bc
kinda like ur legs need to constantly move, need to keep flexing. can't lie still.
Going Raffles City Robinsons during lunch time.
Need to buy Loreal Youth Code
20%+20% must buy. hehe

Groovy: i'm gonna restrain buying small baby items.. already overloaded on wipes, toys and clothes. My main objective is to check prices on bouncer & exercauser. comparing with Taka & GSS for this May.
Shopping fatigue already!! Just received my OCBC bill.. Nearly $1k!! Just last month alone.

Baptism
My boy was wide awake during whole ceremony.. lying on stroller and we were clicking away on our camera.. LOL

petrina: thanks for the heads up! is there a min spend before we can use the $30 voucher?

Maybe i can top up on bras/underwear ... or find something to buy. I have been told to stop and not buy bouncer/swings/cot mobiles and wait until the baby one month hahaha So if i spend now i should spend on myself instead right? hahaha

Baptism

My #1 was baptised ard 2.5 mths. Just see which date available lol. He was just dressed in normal long sleeved pants n top with a hat. But the hat kept 'snapping' off coz his head was quite big n the hat was too tight lol

hi nattan,

my gynae oso say up to 8 years old - the cord blood amount is only enuff..so i tot 10 years plan is good enuff if we decide to store cord blood. hehe

hi adeline and fleur : thank you very much for sharing with me all the necessary costings heheehe see whether hub free to go down to take a look this weekend hehee ..but looks like this weekend fair might not have much baby tins booths ...anyone knows huh?

hi redtea,

for the PISA breastpump, what are the parts tat we need to replace huh?
i have fren whom wanted to pass to me but like what nattan mention, also worry about the bacteria tinggy..so still tinking hhehee

can some of you whom take over preloved breastpump before share your experience huh?

i was reading on delayed cord clamping.. I was wondering if i shld practise delay clamping instead of banking.
since banking there is no guarantee that it is sufficient or even usable, vs giving all the goodness to my NB baby.

Groovy

So your girl occupies herself walking up and down the aisle during mass? So cute. Haha she's like practicing to be flower girl for wedding issit?

Petrina

Oh ok ok then so far I haven't experienced the restless legs prob. But I get butt cramp. Haha one side. When I get up after sitting for a while, one side of my butt will cramp.

I may pop by raffles city Robinson later if my colleagues want to go. Wanted to get my eyebrows threaded. Has been a while. Need to groom. Look furry.

Is the Loreal Youth Code good? My skin has gone haywire since pregnancy. A lot of tiny bumps all over as big zits at times. Like a teenager all over again. Thankfully, since the second tri, skin seems to have calmed down and look abit more human.

Petrina, if you want to practise delayed cord clamping, then talk to your gynae about it and put it in your birth plan. Some doctors may not know or want to do it for whatever reason.

Is anybody writing a birth plan? Do doctors here follow birth plans?

ssmilezz, I get cramps or ligament pulls in my lower abdomen if I try to get up too fast :p

I've tried Youth Code before.. it's nice if you have normal/combination skin.. not too oily or rich and smells nice. But now I'm using Revitalift.. think my skin needs more moisturising and anti-wrinkle properties :p

smilezz: i tried youth code on counters hehe.. occasionally when i walk past. very smooth n nice. so i was waiting for it to be "open". now open liao can get discount. no longer new product. so i'll buy.
they say can rejuvenate. i'll apply diligently n see if it works.
so far loreal products work very well on me.

nattan: now cannot use revitalift leh.. got pro-retinol A. their creams. i passed all to my mom le.

I have birth plan even b4 i conceived. so my gynae knows already. just tat the delay clamping might not be within my control.. so i will speak to gynae again n try to emphasize this time.

Petrina, I didn't know that.. but anyway, http://www.babycenter.com/0_safe-skin-care-during-pregnancy_1490031.bc Says that "Retinoids have not been shown to cause problems in their topical form in pregnant women." of course to be safe, just avoid using. I only use in the day. I don't apply at night cos I'm lazy :p

Moi, thanks for the Robinson sale brochure. Looks like nothing worth buying for me. I'm planning to go back to Taka fair again this week to get more stuff that I didn't get earlier.

<font color="aa00aa">Err ... actually Loreal's products are quite toxic as they contains lots of chemicals, e.g.

L'Oréal Skin Expertise Youth Code Day Lotion Moisturizer, SPF 30
http://www.ewg.org/skindeep/product/388543/L%27Or%26%23233%3Bal_Skin_Expertise_Youth_Code_Day_Lotion_Moisturizer%2C_SPF_30/

L'Oréal Skin Expertise Revitalift Complete Anti-Wrinkle &amp; Firming Moisturizer Day Lotion, SPF 30
http://www.ewg.org/skindeep/product/388438/L%27Or%26%23233%3Bal_Skin_Expertise_Revitalift_Complete_Anti-Wrinkle_%26_Firming_Moisturizer_Day_Lotion%2C_SPF_30/

You can do a search on other products and other brands too. For products which are not in the database, you can create an account (don't worry, there's no spam mail) and key in the ingredients to find out the result.</font>

Woah.. then what can we use?? Organic products?? I bet many women don't even know about this... Are we being paranoid? :p