(2012/06) Jun 2012

Groovy, whole weekend i've been downing those fibre drinks, eating fruits and salad. Now when i have urge to go toilet i also dun dare push too hard. Wait until super pain liao then push. Bought this tube of creme from watsons supposed to be pregnancy safe so now diligently applying it lor. Hope it shrinks or go away totally.

My mom also had it, and she had it real bad. After my younger sis was born, her piles bled everyday until her haemoglobin level dropped. So scary.

If I get that yu jiao next week I will post a photo of it.

Chris
Most important is good for lungs. Me n my husband got asthma so very worry. Other then that got good skin etc is bonus lah!! Lol

Piles
I also have. Got to force myself to eat more fruits!!

AsRias: Tat time i told Dr Tham abt it and he prescribe an ointment to me. Very effective whenever I poo and i know the piles come out, immediately wash and apply onto it, and it will shrink liao.

At the seminar so many ppl, I ate super lots fruits! haha

Chin: maybe is the mosquito fish maw like the link u posted. the usual maw we eat is threadfin maw. fat ones.

y will have piles? i sometimes have constipation too but not sure how piles look/feel like.

Hi to all mummies,

hopefully every1 is fine & had a great lunch. I am munching on Mac filet o fish meal with upsized fries!

I got there pretty late on Saturday. Even scolded & demanded 1 driver to drive off when he stole the car park lot. We have been waiting ages & when the driver drove off, this man just cut & didnt stop despite my hubby honed at him furiously. I was so agitated that I just dash out from car & walked to him. In the end, he left but his MIL or mother commented, wah, never see that we have a young kid with us. So I told my hubby "So what? I am carrying 1 inside my tummy!" :/

Went Watsons & bought some stuff before baby fair. I signed up for post natal massage trial as the lady boss was very kind, telling me just try trial 1st as everyone's tolerance to pain & some might even develope rashes. They cannot refund if you decide not to continue if you encounter such problems once you sign the package. But if I feel ok after my trial, then I can sign up the package at the same price & they wont hike up the price. As for transportation fee, she told me if can take MRT & within walking distance to your house, then it's $7. If must take MRT & bus, will be $8.

I also subscribed to the magazine at the booth for 2 years & obtained the milk bottles, pacifier & teething glove or something as gifts.

petrina: piles is like a lump of flesh popped out from ur anus. Ermm... happens when u use too much force while pooing as ur stools is too hard. It can be very painful until u cannot sit

<font color="aa00aa">glass,
Got Pureen booth where they sell diaper bag ($15), Detergent, wipes, etc. and of course Madame Maternity Pads. It's not crowded though.

I think the longest Q goes to AVENT. I see people queuing with bundles of stuff.</font>

Michi: Thanks, will ask Dr Tham about it.

Petrina: Yah its like a lump of flesh. I only realised it when I was cleaning myself. If its small mabbe wun notice, but I felt something the size of a pea and a bit painful when I press on it. After that used Mirror to see lor. =(

ooh. ok. then i don't have. cause sometimes i have itchy anus. Googled n some said tat got worms! hehe
those really tiny n invisible type..

Petrina
Haha I know what you mean abt itchy anus! I get that once a while and it totally freaks me out!
My hands esp my palms just get very itchy at night occasionally without any particular reason. Can't figure out seriously.

Petrina: I used to get that itchy feeling alot when I was a kid. My mom said coz I sucked on my fingers too much and all the worms go inside me. Haha. Theres actually medication for it, cos alot of kids get it. Still remember it taste quite yummy. haha.

LOL.. so i'm not the only one.. haha
yes, ssmilezz, occasionally only.. dunno y. but i guess the worms thingy is mothers threatening their kiddos!
AsRias: worms r real? i dare not think too much anyway very seldom itchy.. hehe

I dunno if the worms are real.... hahaha.... but my mom always scare me. Anyway i think the medication does mention something about stomach worms. Comes in a bottle with very kiddy packing. Keke

Asrias,

That time when preggy #1 my blue black piles is bleeding also! It's the most terrible thing during my pregnancy period. Sit pain, walk pain, sleep pain, everything pain :S.. Luckily 2-3 weeks of medication is enough. I eat Diosper tablet prescribed by the GP I went to as well. And do sits bath (sitting on top of warm water full of salt)

I remember that time until I prefer to stand in the MRT compare to sit. Huhuhu..

My mom has it too but not during her pregnancy/ after birth. It's when she's old. Huhuhu.. I think if it's in the gene better be more careful..

Hopefully we won't get the blue black one :S..

chin > oh, its for lungs too? Y dont u tak "dong cong chao"? Also gd for lungs n ovr all wellness. I start takin tat last wkend. Boil together w red dates drink. I also gt asthma. Heard tat takin 2 apples a day durin preg cn reduce the chance.

Michi
I think so. Should be that model. Which brands or models do u have in mind? My SIL has the combi one. It's very small and compact! Bought from Kiddy Palace I think.

Dong Cong Cao
I have been taking the grinded powder form Dong Cong Cao + Ginseng. It was rec by the Chinese medical hall which my mom frequents so she sponsored me the herbs. I take it on alternate nights. One teaspoon of powder mixed into half cup of warm water. It works really well for me. I feel less tired and sleep well. Definitely worth every cent.

Chris
I have been eating dong cong cao too. Bought from eu yan sang. Reach home count them like gold. Me too started taking last week, because many said that if is a gal take after 20+ week every alternate week else baby too big. Ya indeed they are really good makes me feel less breathless. Yu jiao was thinking to add it when I make black chicken. Getting more n more things to eat. In a Few more weeks later can start bird nest too.

Thermometer
I also bought the one from Braun

Groovy: I also scared its in the genes. Pray hard and hope I it doesnt develop into the blue black kind.

Michi: THe one i bought is Braun Thermoscan. Saw pretty good reviews on it.

Chin: I also take dong cong cao coz me and hubby both got sinus, I had asthma attack when I was a kid and his dad still have asthma. The raw one very expensive. So I bought the pills one from Hock Hua, just take 2 pills everyday.

Hi mummies.. today very busy so only have time to login now.

Re "yu jiao", I believe it's referring to fish collagen? Actually, you can get the same effect eating high protein foods or shark cartilage which is available in capsule form from pharmacies right? Mainly for improving joint condition. I don't think these things really improve baby's complexion.. it's all due to genes.

Re piles, it's important to drink more water. I used to have constipation but ever since I increased my fiber intake and water, I don't have that problem much anymore.

I didn't get to go to Watson's exo sale... too crowded and tired after walking all day at the baby fair already :p

Nattan
I also think is a fish collagen thing. Nevermind just eat if it doesn't taste too yucky. But highly rave by my friends are black chicken and dong cong cao.

I cant sleep last night. Woke up at 3 and played games on my phone till 6 plus in the morning. Bought a bottle of Lanvendar essential oil, hopefully it helps and I can sleep better tonight.

Mums, do u know that Jasmime essential oil can help to reduce labour pain? Just bought a bottle of that too ;)

<font color="0077aa">mummies who were curious abt what's in the goodie bag... well, nothing fancy except probably an NUK pacifier, a pack of huggies travel-sized wipes and a pack of heinz biscuits for 7+ months. i reached there at 10:50am and the queue for the goodie bag was already so long that i didn't bother to queue. then at ard 11:30am, i saw the queue had ended but there were still quite a lot of goodie bags remaining so i went to take without having to queue. :p

re: braun thermoscan irt4520
i have a spare one bnib wanting to let go at S$80. anyone interested?</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Re: BabyCare Festival Goodie Bag
I went there at around 12.30pm on Sat - no more goodie bag liao.

Re: Bird's Nest
I've been taking bird's nest once every week since week 20. I usually leave 2/5 bowl for hubby.</font>

Reduce labour pain
I read that raspberry tea helps. Bought a big bag of organic raspberry tea that time. N should start taking now

Chin, dong cong cao or cordyceps is very expensive. I can do without it.. hah.. :p

Jolene, I also couldn't sleep last night cos baby was so active. I think I'll cut down on caffeine esp at night :p

Sapphire, you went on Sun? I went on Sat morning and Sun afternoon :p Haha.. had to take a day to deliberate before buying.

Chin, don't take the raspberry tea now unless you're going to delivery soon. Should only take during last few weeks of 3rd trimester.

i nvr tak black chicken soup leh. Only tak chicken essence.
i also started takin bird nest liao. So yummylicious! :p

Re bird nest,
I been eating bird nest since start of second trimester.
My mil cook for me every week for 1 week supply. Expect me to eat everyday. Everyday, nice also become bored. Instead of eat everyday, I eat max 3 times a wk.. The rest ask my hubby for help...

Dun eat so much birds nest.. Not too good for baby's lungs. In fact it has no nutriental value apart from having nice skin.
For nice skin, try alternative, gingko with beancurd skin.

Priscilla
My MIL has also been boiling Birds Nest for me at least once a week. However, sweet food just don't agree well with me. I need to make myself finish up and at times break into smaller portions over 2-3 days to eat. I gag very badly after having it. Sigh. Perhaps I nvr knew how to appreciate it before I was expecting so my girl also has the same tastes. Such a waste.

I drink the red dates + wolfberries + dangsheng. What is it for actually. Anyone has the info on hand?
You guy tempted me, so I am going to get my bird nest this weekend

<font color="aa00aa">I also heard that bird's nest may cause asthma in babies so I'm limiting myself to only 1 serving per week. Usually, I soak it in cooled boiled water for 8-10 hours before cooking for 1.5-2 hours. The longer you soak, the finer and easier it is to swallow. Reduce the amount of sugar if you don't want it to be too sweet. I like it a bit bland.</font>

Morning mommies

so what good deals did you all get at the fair??

hubby and i went on fri night and got quite a few rompers, baby blanket, burp towels and bibs from a stall selling all carters stuff..

and we bought a Baby Jogger Summit at 50% off! $379.. but guess it's because they're clearing stock as new model is out already. but this is good enough for my crazy hubby who keeps thinking he wanna bring baby out for jog.

went back on Sunday afternoon again with my PILs and bought charlie banana's cloth diapers! totally attracted by the bright colours. so cute! 12 set for $288.. hope it's a good deal!

<font color="0077aa">nattan, i went on fri. just realised i didn't mention. hee hee. i managed to get the huggies pack with the 1 yr mother &amp; baby subscription but i felt a bit cheated. in the feb magazine, it stated the free gifts were 2x pull up pants jumbo pack (i assume 30 pieces x 2 = 60) and 1x huggies ultra jumbo pack. however, i went home to only find 3x 10 pieces pull up pants and 1x swimmer pants pack.

re: birds's nest
i drank quite regularly when i was carrying my #1. she didn't turn out fair and skin also not so good. but now i still drink, just 1 bottle of new moon per week.</font>

Wet Wipes

What brands are good and reasonably priced? I have yet to get any.

Cotton for Cleaning

Is it better to get those cotton balls or those cotton rolls where we tear out what we need?

SSmilezz: I think kodomo is quite cheap and watsons has sale now. I saw $2 per pack, buy 10 pack free 1 pack. The cotton is just in case baby skin not used to the wet wipes and get irritated by it?

Sapphire: wah.. i also thought as per stated in magazine. so luckily for me the huggies promo was fully redeemed so i didn't sign up eventually.
But I will sign up for the motherhood magazine in June.

ssmilezz: I bought the cotton roll for #1. realised it was very messy. if u can, just wash butt whenever baby poo. otherwise, wet wipes r ur best buddies

I used alot for the cotton as it was mafun to pull and have to wet it. then some wool will stick to butt. it costs more to use those.
But u can buy the cosmetic cotton squares for the eyes, face and mouth cleaning.

Today JL have Cardmember sale. I'm gonna get tollyjoy bottle &amp; refill pack. After disc, refill pack should cost $2.50 for 100pcs.
About same as Kodomo from Watsons. But I like the roll form as I can pull like toilet paper from the bottle.

Harlow everyone

have been so, so busy.

I didn't go to the baby fair coz my back was aching like crazy. The tummy was pulled quite tight too, so I thought better not risk it &amp; cause harm to the baby.

Wasted, I wanted to buy Pureen pads &amp; Babysafe mattress protecto. But nvm, I saw NTUC has the Kotex adhesive pads at abt $6+, not that much more expensive than the Pureen pads, assuming that Pureen has 20 pads/pack too. So I'll save the trouble &amp; get that.

Think I've started the 3rd tri syndrome. The back aches, pelvis pain etc has started. Guess the baby has also grown bigger &amp; the weight has become less manageable. Hiaz! There goes the good 2nd tri time

Kodomo Wipes

I bought before. It drove me crazy! Dunno issit I dunno how to sue or what. But everytime I pull, many pcs will come out together. So I have to separate each pc, lay them out nicely before I undo the diaper. I also found it very wet, &amp; the pc is rather small.

Tollyjoy Wipes

I prefer the unscented one. The scented one smells really awful!

Pigeon Wipes

My fav brand haha.

Huggies Wipes

Got a sample pack before. The green packaging one. It was too thick, had the same sticking problem &amp; hard to separate as Kodomo. And it tore very easily. Think it's coz it's made from this cloth like material than just paper. But I din like it.

mamy Poko, J&amp;J

A bit too thick for my liking.

Wah! I used a lot of wipes hor? haha

I used to use cotton wool from the roll to wipe my son's butt with water. But it takes time &amp; effort to tear the cotton woll n pre-pack it into pcs. And a bit messy also with the cotton flying ard. Maybe this time round, I'll try the cotton pads for makeup removal hee.

Jul: same! I also used all the above b4.
my fav also pigeon, but very exp. haha

the huggies is something i hate the most. tear so easily. cause natural fibers. so it will be very soft.
but usually we r in a rush cleaning butts. so we like easy to pull type. haha
So my choice is usually Tollyjoy. the blue bottle.