(2012/06) Jun 2012

<font color="aa00aa">Ya, bit troublesome but can wash together with normal clothes, so no problem with washing. My challenge is to find enough space to hang the CDs &amp; inserts. #1 used a combination of Bumwear with traditional cloth diapers with diaper covers in the day and never get nappy rash even without using diaper cream.</font>

MoomooKow Cloth diapers: Hi, I have 7 new ones, washed, except for one used twice. - 4 button types and 3 velcro types. EAch diaper comes with 2 inserts.

I bought them cos i was into the "save the earth" mode that time, like the washable breastpads... urmmm even tried cloth pantyliners... but I got too lazy at the thought of having to do more washing and hanging.... So... it has been in my cupboard.

If interested can PM me.

Asrias: not really. I only feel more tired than usual, but other than that, quite ok. Think was quite stressed out by my in laws recently over my son's schooling

Anna: i'm enjoying the baby kicks and movements now. Hubby managed to feel them a few days ago. Had a big project this week. Other work piling up.

Petrina: i like the economical rice at my work place, so i actually eat quite a lot now compared to first three months. Only don't eat much for dinner because the food at the kopitiams near my place isn't appetitsing enough. One person hard to buy nice zi char. Living with my parents during my #1 pregnancy was better. Had more stuff to eat.

Surprisingly, i wanted to puke last night coz too hungry. Hate my hubby's relative who told me in my face she thought i super lucky to be able to eat then, whereas she kept throwing up until six months. I was still puking then. A bit pantang.

Jus back from the fair..
Nothing much.. Lots of baby clothes which we can get from exactly from online..

Looking forward to next week expo..

Felicia, my boss told me that drinking coconut water in the last few weeks of pregnancy helps with delivery. I never heard about honey water though... let us know if it works!

Perineal massage is something I read about online. It's suppose to stretch the tissue near the perineum to prepare it for birth and prevent tears. My boss said hers tore nearly 10cm, almost to her anus! I was so scared when I heard that.
kao_scared.gif
I definitely will try to do the massage to help prevent that from happening!

Jenny, originally I was also thinking that using disposables would be very un-environmentally friendly, but I think I'd be too tired to do so much washing since I won't have a confinement lady to help me. So, no choice, must use disposable diapers. I heard about Moomookow and went to enquire about it. The sales person told me need about 32 pcs to rotate cos baby will poop and pee around 8x a day, so need to wash and dry frequently. They are not cheap also... Anyway, my colleagues bought a starter pack for my boss who recently delivered. I doubt she would use it cos I asked her before and she said no cos too busy looking after newborn and #1. Sometimes people who have no kids have no idea what to get for mummies and just make their own decisions without understanding the realities of the situation! :p

Nattan: ya. Perineal massage works. But it takes lots dilligence to make it happen. Esp for #1 birth where it has never been stretched b4.
Good thing abt cutting vs tearing, sewing will be nicer and it will be tighter than b4

If tear, sewing will be ugly and it may not heal that well.
Coconut water helps baby be clean when coming out. Not so bloody.
It also causes contraction when drank in big quantities. So it kinda help in delivery process.

petrina..

I didn't receive your PM and can't add/message you in facebook either..

I'm Ixxxxe Cxxxxxa in facebook. Can you add me? Thanks!

Hope to see you at the congress

Are you going alone too?

Today I went to gynea and it's true!! I gained 6 kg from my previous checkup 1 month ago!!

He's so afraid saying how come 6 kg in 1 month and even suspect me to have diabetes (becoz my mom has diabetes - it runs in the family)..

Huhu next time checkup in 1 month later I'll need to get blood test and need to fast as well..

Btw, I get the Detail Scan result from Mt Alvernia! OMG it looks very very good!! It's on something like X-Ray film!! Some more 2 pieces of it!!

Last time in TMC for my #1 I only get 2 pieces of A4 paper. LOL

Confirmed girl girl again lah, very clearly shown in the picture. Unlike #1 I in the end very kan cheong becoz I never asked gynea after detail scan and my friend told me that her detail scan says girl girl and then after that in her 24 weeks checkup it's shown boy boy..

Dunno about the price differences between Mt A and TMC for the detail scan though. I pay $80+ for the one in Mt A..

Or maybe it's a standard to give X-Ray film now??

Thinking back poor #1 can't really show her anything when she's in my tummy. All pict are blur blur even the detail scan also. huehehe

Thanks for all the info on milk bottles.. I like NUK.. but pretty expensive. get from Germany cheaper.. Wanted to buy Avent but somehow i see some reviews avent like not that awesome like what they say : NO.1 In UK! So now thinking if i should just use pigeon instead of avent.

Anyway, which sterilizer is good? Must the sterilizer be the same brand as the milk bottles that i am getting? Or seriously i can mix and match doesn't matter?

Seems like alot of mummies having princess!! =)

Where is the next baby fair?

<font color="0000ff">Hi mummies to be,

Letting go brand new peg Perego Isofix car base as it is not compatible with our new car. Has not been used before as baby arrived only in Feb.

Bought at $278.80 in Jan 2012 from baby hypermart.

Self collect from Jurong West St 65 @ $220;
Or
Doorstep delivery @ $235

PM if keen!!!</font>

Detailed scan
I only got 2pcs A4 paper. They nvr print out the captured on xray films.
When i had #1 scan at TMC, they gave me 2xray films also. But i destroyed them 2yrs ltr as it was a hassle to keep.
For #2, i paid $250 for the detailed scan. tMC i can't remember price.

Juz came back from my monthly gynae checkup.

Baby is already 1021g at 25weeks which is way beyond normal weight. Scary, dunno why baby eat so much when the mum also nv eat so much. Gynae advise to stop maternal milk intake, bread, reduce rice/noodle intake... basically ask mi to go on diet lah.

Haiz~ sad. Already gain 8kg as compared to before pregnant. How to maintain until giving birth??!!

Michi wow.. Did the gynea asked you to check for diabetes too?

Mine the baby weight is still normal, 520 g at 23 weeks..

Actually that 6 kg is also my weight gain since before pregnant this time.. Just sudden shoot up. huehehe..

Groovy: ehhh dunno is it diabetes checkup or wat leh, something abt glucose one. But it will happen onli during next checkup. The nurse say muz fast the day before checkup, then during checkup, will let u drink one orange glucose and have to wait 2 hr.

Wah i really got scare by my baby weight leh. Imagine previous detailed scan onli 362g, suddenly shoot so high in juz 1 mth.

Just went to the Baby Expo…it's as some of you said, very small scale and mostly stalls selling baby clothes. Only 1 stall selling cots and strollers. Wait for the next one.

<font color="0077aa">groovy/Michi, I already did the glucose test at 21 wks aft my detailed scan showed an oversized baby. But result was negative. Didnt know what was baby's weight though gynae only said at 21 wks he was the size of a 23 wks. I need to go do a growth scan next month to monitor baby's size.</font>

Hi DS, received with thanks.
already replied you via email on pymt method.
collection will be either via local mail or
Suntec City / Holland Ave / Bt Panjang

Pampers Newborn

Saw an offer at NTUC. 2 packs at $8.95. I think normal price is $8.45 per pack. I grabebd 6 packs. With the pack from the hospital, it shd be enough to last till the upgrade to S size. Just hope the baby isn't too fat, or Papmers not suitable haha

Michi

8kg weight gain isn't a lot lah. But the baby weight gain is quite astounding. Got measure wrongly or not? Or maybe the baby's head is quite big so over-estimated haha

nattan

I have many people telling me that since I have a confinement lady, I shd use cloth diapers. Make use of her to wash, change, etc for the first mth.

But I figure if she's so busy washing diapers, she won't be doing a thorough job of cleaning my breast pump parts &amp; bottles, or cooking my food etc. And I dun want her to be overtired till she cannot help me at night. Decided I shall not be so ngiao haha

Besides the BF baby's gonna poo &amp; poo &amp; poo, I don't have so much space to hang cloth diapers all over the hse!

Michi
i also think 8kg is alright, i meant of course compared to many others, it's quite a weight gain.. i also gained 8.5kg at week 25, last pregnancy gained 8.8kg at 24th week, end up also managed to keep within a 12kg total weight gain.. this time round i started off with normal weight, last time slightly overweight, so i am guessing i will exceed 12kg this time but i try to maintain within 16kg..

but strange hor baby's weight seems to be heavy.. mine at 20 weeks was about 350gm+, now never measure liao... i never dare to drink maternal milk cuz last time i drank for a week and put on weight very fast..

think should let gynae measure baby's head as long as within the range, no need to worry too much..

jul
i agree with you lor, let the CL do something more impt to you and baby lah.. cloth diaper is something i will never use, even if there's CL or someone help me wash daily.. cuz baby can't sleep well with cloth diaper de.. or maybe some babies could, but my #1 will wake up once it's wet lor..

felicia

Yeah I shd be thinking of the big picture, &amp; not be so ngiao trying to pinch pennies &amp; end up losing a lot more haha

Hiaz.. last night my mum got me so mad. She kept telling me that she wants to "share her experience" with me.. started by asking me what do I feed baby with when the "milk hasn't come in". Colostrum of course right?

Then she went on to say that we shd feed the baby Fm in the hosp. This will prevent jaundice. And shd feed water too to wash out the jaundice.

Pls lor, bilirubin is removed thru the stools, not through the water. Water will cause the bay to drink less milk hence worsen the jaundice.

Then she went on to say that my #1 had jaundice coz he didn't have FM to drink the first few days. I finally told her to shut up lor. To think that she's a nurse at KKH, &amp; she can say such things. She really got on my nerves. I was still bit angry when I was trying to sleep last night.

Don't understand why my mum can be so unsupportive. And I repeat, she works at KKH! Argh!

I told myself last night, that I shall tell her to stay away from me &amp; not visit me if she wants to talk abt jaundice &amp; water &amp; FM. I may be cruel, but I will be cruel to myself &amp; baby if I let her influence me, put doubts in my mind, undermine my BF career, &amp; make me generally miserable during my confinement.

I had a bad neough time for #1; Don't wanna go through letting other people tell me what to do with my baby this time.

Waa I think my womb is a trampoline for my baby. Whole night bouncing away. Left Right Left Right Left Right... No wonder they always say bouncing baby boy. Not that i'm complaining since I feel better when my baby is active.

Went to the fair on Saturday. So disappointing. Left empty handed. Heng me and hubby never take leave to go on Friday.

Btw, any mummies taking the Prugift plan? wondering if its good. But the monthly $100 premium is quite ex huh.

Jul, ha... your mum is a nurse but doesn't know what causes jaundice? If I were you, I'd tell her to check with the doc on her facts first... But older folks are like that. They think they know more cos of their experience, forgetting that times have changed and what used to work for them may not work now. Anyway, just one ear in, one ear out la..

AsRias, same here! My baby wakes me up early in the morning with a lot of aerobics and kickboxing! Fortunately I managed to sleep most of the night.

For those of you going for this Sat's BabyCare Fair, it's good to get a copy of Mother &amp; Baby magazine as it has a list of all the bargains and their prices. I'm getting hubby to go on Fri to recce first before we go again on Sat.. hehe..

I also popped by the fair very early on Sat morning. I think the electronics fair next hall was even more crowded. there was a massive queue to get in - maybe there were some first 10 customers' offers or something!

The only stroller exhibitor was from one of the warehouse shops at Ubi. I bought my stroller from their shop one week earlier at the same price offered at the fair. So don't need to go down to the fair just to get a better deal.

Is the upcoming Mothercare sale good? What are the typical discounts like? Any idea?

Jul/Felicia

Gynae said the baby head is normal, but the tummy very big, tat's why so heavy. Jia liat leh, my baby so tum jiak. Gotta stay away from all carbo food liao

jul

Same here. Yesterday met my MIL for lunch and she keeps telling me not to TBF, muz feed some FM, if not baby wont be full. And baby will cry more often.

Haiz~ si bei sian one lor, got such unsupportive MIL. I also thinking of asking her to stay away from me and baby or rather I do confinement myself, but scare I cannot cope as first time mum

jul: hehs.. ur mom very cute.. probably pressured by the "kind" kpos in the family to ask u?
anyway baby has enough food in tummy to last 5days w/o milk. tats y we feed colostrum is sufficient. even if it's a few drops a day.
by 4th-5th day milk will be flooding in already..
so no stress ok? u do what's best for ur baby..
Ur mom's nurse? abit old school to think FM is better than BM right?

AsRias: i m getting the PruFirstGift. to me i can save on everything but not my life nor my baby's.
i already had many cases proving to me that medical insurance saved my pocket. So i won't save on this amount.
Cost of treatment for pre-existing illness is bottomless pit. if $100 a mth can help save me $$$ in future, why not?
My son just got discharged from Gleneagles last thursday after 1week stay for Gastric Flu. Bill came up to nearly $5k. I have letter of guarantee from Prudential. So upon discharge I don't have to pay a single cent.

I can get the best doctor, best medicine and not worry about the bill. All I need to worry is to cure my son.

Michi, instead of MIL, can't get your mum to do confinement for you? I always find that it's tricky to get ILs involved. If not satisfied, also find it hard to tell them off and hubby will be caught in between. That's why I prefer to do things myself.

I think a few of us in this thread are going to DIY... maybe we should form a support group

Petrina: I think the Prufirstgift dun cover medical costs =( only $100k death benefit + a non guaranteed sum which kind of acts like a savings plan. That's why i'm still considering.

Not sure if theres any plan that covers bb's medical costs from birth. Heard my friend mentioned Aviva has that but have yet to check it out.

Nattan: If you are getting it, can get it at the fair this week. They are giving a free Fisher price bouncer for signing the prufirstgift.

Petrina, hope your son is better now... Is your policy the one with basic coverage? I agree... $100 to save on potential medical expenses is not a lot.. I may consider getting it too.

nattan
impossible to ask my mum to help cos' she's a hawker, so bo bian, die die have to choose between MIL or on my own. But hubby scare i will get post-natel blue if nobody help me... somemore with the baby crying, if all come together at the same time, will go berserk

AsRias: i was giving example.. hehe
tat covers baby for life in case of any pre-existing.. then nxt time baby can't buy insurance le.
so i don't wanna take tat type of risk.
I will get from my agent.. i ain't sure if i wanna sign at fair cause i'm a loyal customer.. haha
i'll probably ask my agent to go to the fair to sell me instead.. keke

Hospital Plans
u can get it once ur baby hits 60days old. anything prior to that u can only get the free AIA coverage. but it doesn't cover pre existing too. for my #1, the moment he first mth, i went to apply for his hospitalization plan le. then once he hit 60days, the plan will auto start.

Nattan: u getting it too?

Nattan: my son still having loose bowels.. very sian. but much better le.

Michi: if u don't worry too much, actually confinement nothing much to do. It seems like a hassle for those with lots rules n regulations. otherwise it's just like any ordinary day.
My fren ordered TingKat. then she no help at all.

Petrina, I need to do a bit more reading first.. haven't looked at other policies yet. What's this AIA free coverage you mentioned? How to get it? Also, your prudential coverage can also cover your #1 for his gastric flu??

nattan: ya. shield plans cover everything that isn't cosmetic stay in hospital and cover everything except pre-existing.
read more is good.
Prudential has Letter of Guarantee. So upon discharge no need to pay anything. I have pre-existing. So I am stuck with AIA. Personally I have a very bad experience claiming. So I highly recommend Pru.

But of course there r many other companies out there. I just happened to have experience with these 2 companies.

nattan

Hiaz.. Dunno whether the sch sucks &amp; don't teach properly, or she got some of her funny ideas again. Me not stressed lah. I know BM beats Fm anytime. I just don't wanna subject my ears yo such nonsense &amp; spoil my mood.

Don't care lah. She's my mum. I shall tell her to stop saying any nonsense abt FM in the hospital. Think she's the feed baby till puke type then she feels 'shaung" haha

Michi

Oh my #1 also tummy big &amp; head big. Also over-estimated the weight due to that - think got almost 10% over-estimation. Just make sure you eat healthily lor. Maybe it's the maternal milk. Seems like that really makes the baby put on haha

Aiyah it's not that FM makes the baby full. FM gives the baby indigestion that's why they look sleepy, eat less frequently etc. Maybe u can scare your MIL by mentioning all the China milk powder scares. When I gave birth, that was gog on, so it's sort of fresh in her mind. Only thing is, she pressured me into bottle-feeding, which sabotaged my latching too. hiaz.. one mountain not flat, another mountain comes.

Sometimes hor, we can cope better ourselves. Without all these people to add salt, add vinegar. My MIL's biggest help during my confinement was cooking &amp; doing laundry. I still had to care for the baby myself at night, feed him myself, change his diaper, bathe him myself after the first week. Even eating, I ate while he napped, so really not that useful to have MIL haha

petrina

No, my mum thinks she's very clever coz she has seen a case where the baby went into hypothermia coz the mummy dunno nvr feed the baby etc. I suspect there was some other factor leading to it. Even before I had #1, she was advising me to feed FM in the hosp. Sure! feed FM! By the time I get home, I will have no more milk. Then really can use her fantastic FM liao

One of the reason's I didn't choose KKH is coz my mum is there. Really dun want her to keep popping in &amp; offering well-meaning advice. Pls lor! This is not my first kid, &amp; she never BF any of her kids. I'm sure I know more than her abt what to do *still angry*

Prugift

Does this cover the jaundice during the first mth too?

petrina
wah if really like tat hor, maybe can consider ask my MIL to cook onli then deliver to my house.

Will discuss with my hubby tonight... hehehe

AsRias
The Prufirstgift plan you mentioned, if it's like a investment link plan that only provides death benefit and some non guaranteed sum, then i will never take such a plan for kids.. for myself yes, as in i rather use that 100 to top up my own investment linked plan..

the reason is simple..
1. if anything happens to me, say touch wood lah at least i get a death benefit that my kids can take from the insurance company, which will help them no matter they are at what age.
2. if i use this 100 to get the same plan for baby, honestly speaking they have no earning power till maybe 18 years later, really anything happens to them, all i get is just a sum of death benefit, which wont help that much anyway since i can still work and support myself..

so i rather put that 100 to better use, than lock it into such a plan for kids, ex: hospitalization plan, yearly i am paying about 280+ each for myself, hubby and #1 on hospitalization, can stay in private hospital lor if anything happens, no need to worry much about the bill, but if nothing happens, which is good lah, that $$ is gone then, can't get back in any case...

guess my insurance agent is really good, he managed to convenience me to get more protection for myself first before thinking about kids.. haha

Michi, nattan

Actually DIY isn't so bad. Just the cooking, which you can get tingkat, &amp; the washing, which u can use washing machine (plus if u use disposable diapers), it's not that bad.

If u need a break, you can aws call the well-meaning mum/MIL over to just take care of the baby for a while n u go for a walk, breathe some fresh air, etc.

The thing is, if you're ngiao like me, &amp; get upset when other people trample over your plans, then better to PAY for help or not have help. If you're more easygoing, you'll be ok.

My SIL is very easygoing. Whatever MIl says, she does. From pacifier (but her daughters din want it), yaolan, method of sterilising which is just throw boiling water over the bottles.. if you don't mind, she everything also nvr go against her mum. She even uses hot water to warm BM (but think she mostly latch, so not that big a deal bah?).

Jul, ya agree.. I'm planning to get tingkat for first month. Not sure whether worth getting confinement tingkat cos it's so expensive and I don't like most of the food in the menu :p I'm definitely using disposable diapers till I know roughly how often baby needs to pee and poop, then may switch to cloth type to save some money. I'm also planning to get a part-time cleaner to come once a week to help with heavy chores. But anyway, with hubby's help, I think I can tahan 1 month of DIY confinement la..

Michi, you can do it.. it's amazing what a mum can do for her baby, so don't worry too much about going berserk!

<font color="aa00aa"><blockquote><hr size=0><!-quote-!><font size=1>quote:</font>

Pampers Newborn

Saw an offer at NTUC. 2 packs at $8.95. I think normal price is $8.45 per pack.<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>

jul_04,
How many pieces are there in a pack? NB size can wear until what weight?</font>