(2012/06) Jun 2012

Hi all, I've uploaded some PDF docs on exercising and exercises suitable for mummies. Got them from a friend who is a certified sports therapist... Feel free to access the Google Doc links and share them
:

Exercise & Pregnancy 1a:
https://docs.google.com/document/d/1cj-Z0-P4hwAAhEzbSyZeMh9NoWPqrRdk6jWfdJlnrCo/edit

Exercise & Pregnancy 1b:
https://docs.google.com/document/d/1K-bQx8CLeoiZRl_OGSnPw87H-XMGxfH8iEesW7loyIc/edit

Exercise & Pregnancy 2:
https://docs.google.com/document/d/1OuStCv5VI_qKpAJ65wNmP0IXkQC5jtcv5jAJd6tbwPU/edit

Just came back from the FA scan...baby is well and weighs at 384gm. :D

AsRias, my class starts on 18th March Sunday

Fuyutsuki, the baby expo fair starts from tomoro only.

Experience mummies,

can i know if Pigeon milk bottles are good as well compare to Avent and NUK? i know they are all BPA Free.

If anyone of u can advise which is the better brand to get and why?

hmm.. my baby weight 430gm at week 21 ~_~.. i guess is not big n heavy? i gain 4kg since...
now on my 22weeks le..

anyone going today after work? feel like going to expo baby fair..but i be alone

Pigeon bottles
it all depends on your babies. for FM babies, it's a matter of getting used to.
but a few ppl commented that for BF babies, tommy tippee is more suitable as it mimics the nipple milk flow.

Baby's weight
my baby was 350g @ 21weeks. gynae didn't comment much. so far 1kg weight gain. again gynae didn't look worried as i have alot of excess fat for baby to absorb. hehe at least additional 10kg based on the healthy BMI I need to have.

Anna: I blur, mine is the same date as you 12:30pm. Prob see each other there then. haha. Wonder if anyone here also in the same class

mummies who are gg, do share gd bargains w us hor!

nattan, which gym you head to usually? i have cali but dun bother gg anymore =(

Finally it's Friday! TGIF everyone!
Looking forward to updates from those who are going to the fair today. I should be popping by tomo morning.

Nattan
Actually my workout clothes have been getting tighter and shorter! But it helps that I do my workout at home so I'm not too particular about what I wear as long as I can still fit. :D

Morning mummies...

think I ate too much for breakfast.. feeling a bit nauseous this morning :p

hopecg, I go to the gym at my workplace. I used to go to Planet Fitness, Fitness First and California also. I think Fitness First has the best facilities.. WHy you don't bother to go anymore? Since you already paid for membership, should make full use of it.

ssmilezz, my colleague asked me to go swimming with her.. I guess I'll go shop for a swimming costume next week... Hopefully will not cost too much :p

morning mummies!!

went for my checkup yesterday, a 2 mins scan and 5 minutes talk only, haha after the full scan last month, now onward the scan will be super fast already.. everything is great..

i've put on 8.5kg at about 25 weeks now.. gynae said not to worry too much although he always advise me not to put on more than 12kg.. my 1st pregnancy also put on 8.8kg at week 24..

then i started my prenatal salsa dance (20 minutes) follow dvd at home, and by the time i deliver i gained 11.9kg in total.. so the last 4 month i gain about 1kg every month.. not sure if that exercise really helped..

so now i've started it again lor.. wanted to go for prenatal yoga at trueyoga on friday during lunch, since i have lifetime membership with them.. but been too lazy to rush down sia..

ooo, gynae very funny, measured baby penis and said it's 1cm now, some babies have too small penis will need to go through ops.. so i asked, is my boy's one consider small then? he laughed and said of course not, what do you expect? 5cm in your tummy huh.. LOL..

Felicia: haha... my gynae nvr measure penis size previously.. lol

Nattan: buy bikini.. then u dun have to worry abt price or size. if paiseh then buy 2 pc suit tat covers tummy. i bought the type tat is boy shorts. so i just wear it abit lower at waist then expose lower tummy abit. it's ok de.

Petrina,

I'm abbott member but I registered already :S. Dunno if I can register more persons. Huhuhu..

Maybe you can just register becoming abbott family rewards member? I can't remember whether need to buy abbott milk first or not..

Huhu I should have just post in this forum before register :S.. Sorry about that..

Petrina, thanks for the suggestion.. Ya, I was thinking a 2 pcs is easier to put on also. Will go and shop around and see what I can find... Boy shorts is good.. I don't want to expose too much of my cellulite! Hah...

Felicia,
1kg monthly for the last 4 months seems very moderate. I thought usually the gain will be more. Maybe the exercise helps! How long did your labour take for no 1?
Kinda funny that your dr takes your boy''s penis measurement! Haha must be very obviously sticking out during yr scan.

Nattan,
Petrina has a good point. Bikini will be more comfy and you can show off yr baby bump! Have fun swimming ! Rem to hydrate yourself.

nattan
dun worry la.. regular gym-goers shouldn't have too much cellulite! haha!.. i have been lazy and bogged down w work.. well, more of laziness that makes me reluctant to go gym.. haha! last time can everyday go.. nw, one yr dunno go once not.. and i also take preggy as excuse! =P

gonna have gynae visit next fri! can't wait to see him! wahaHahahAhaa..

pigeon bottles, i hv bn usin it for #1. No issue either changin betw nipple n teats. Tink it dpd on the bb. Chose tis ovr avent cos feel the bottle material is more hardy. Imho lar. #2 i shld b usin tommy cos its cute n has gt pink bottle for my little gal. Haha. Also heard sm gd comment fr sm of the mummies here.

bb expo fair
wil b goin alone later ard 3. I wil b happy if anyone wan2 join me. Wil also update on any gd deals if any.

hopecg, I do have cellulite lor.. argggghhh... on my thighs and butt.. no matter how much exercise I did last time, they are there...

ssmilezz, haha.. I cannot hide the bump even if I want to
Just that I don't wish to get too many stares at the pool...

Chris, where to get the tommy bottles?

BB Bottle

I am using NUK for my gal, so far I found it ok.
My nieces are using pigeon, my mum never complain about the bottle before.
I din use avent bottle for my gal as the silicone teat is too hard for her, for the first 4 months I used the rubber teat from NUK for her.

I just came back from the fair. Frankly speaking, it's not very worth going. Very small. The only big brands are Philips Avent and Cordlife. The rest are miscellaneous stalls selling baby clothes, one stall selling maternity wear, and another stall selling maternity bra. There's also another booth selling baby strollers and car seats, and another booth selling playmats, but quality doesn't seem to be the same as those LG or Parklon kinds.

I would say it might be better to wait for next weekend's babycare fair. It's organised by Mother & baby mag, and I thought i saw a full page advertisement on The New Paper or Today about it, so should be bigger than today's fair.

petrina, sadly i couldn't find huggies/pampers promo. They were promoting another brand, but since it wasn't the one I wanted so I didn't remember. But I think it's a japanese brand, but it's not GooN.

AsRias, my class starts at 3pm. Maybe we will get to see one another provided you can recognize me. I'm rounder and fatter as compared to my fb's pict. Lol.

Nattan, I also have cellulite & stretch marks on my butt and thigh too. Been applying the topicrem around this areas....hope it won't have more. I saw the tommie bottles at Mothercare too. Can go buy them during the Mothercare sales from 1st - 11 March at Harbour Front.

Yotsuba, thanks for the update. Then I dun have to go over later and waste money on the parking fee. ;)

Regarding weight gain
I'm still only about 1kg plus heavier than when I started. Sometimes yoyo, like 1.5kg, sometimes only 0.7kg heavier. At 22 weeks, I should at least 3kg heavier according to a pregnancy chart.

Only thing I can think of is I've been extremely stressed these 2 weeks, and had been walking more frequently. I actually don't feel as fat as before,except for the baby bump. I also lack sleep. Been surviving on 2-4 hours of sleep for some days.

Yotsuba, thanks for the update. I may still go and take a look since it's near my place and do some price checks ;)

Anna, yeah.. I may go for the Mothercare sales although it's a bit far for me.. I apply the Topicrem on my problem areas and noticed that they become smoother.. hopefully the marks will still improve even after pregnancy. My big boss was telling me that a friend who used some citrus-based essential oil managed to get rid of her stretch marks! I wonder if it would work for me, but can only find out after delivery as I don't feel it's safe to apply essential oil at this stage.

glass, must take time to relax ya.. Don't overwork and stress yourself out as it can also affect the baby.

Anna: Guess its a different class coz mine starts at 12:30

Glass: Baby affecting your sleep or work? Do rest more and take some time to relax.

AsRias, it will be diff class of cos but we might see one another when your class finish and before my class start. :D

Nattan, I agree with you....not to apply any unnecessary stuff on ourselves at this point of time.

Glass, I envy your weight gain....how I wish can pass some of my weight gain to you. However pls do not stress yourself due to work, for the sake of your bb. I'm trying not to stress myself with work now. Relax and enjoy your pregnancy.

glass: we r abt the same. i haven't been eating well but hopefully the maternal milk and the prenatal vits will help boost baby's health.
no appetite for this pregnancy. feel very bloated and gassy. perhaps the nausea is also causing no weight gain.
yesterday i Kenna my son's gastric flu virus, diarrhea from wed night till thurs afternoon. luckily since he sick he wasn't difficult. slept most of the day n night. so we slp together and recuperated together.

Yotsuba, baby care festival will have Goon & Huggies.
i intend to sign up for the 1yr magazine to get the Huggies freebies.

Groovy: i'll see u at the Congress 2012
pm u my contact so we can sit together.. hehe

ssmilezz
yup i gained more from 4-6 months then slow down for the last few months, hopefully this time it will be the same or else sure very soon will exceed the 12kg mark..

but gynae also told me anything less than 7kg also not good, as in not healthy for baby, but he also said it's very individual so to him it's just a guideline, no need to too particular about it as long as you are feeling good and baby is growing well..

i exercise quite a lot during my first pregnancy cuz before i was pregnant, i went for like 3 times of yoga every week and sometimes can take like 6 session in a week. thought it will help with labour so just continue exercising during my pregnancy, end up, the labour was a freaking 17 hours one lor..

gynae is funny lah he told me baby's male organ is very obvious. but i think my #1's is bigger and more obvious, LOL. maybe because my twin sis was there and she's expecting a girl again and commented that she's never seen the gugu bird (since 2 girls mah), so gynae purposely take photo and measure the size to share with us, LOL..

hullo everyone

It's finally Friday *whew*

Petrina, groovy

I'm quite interested in the seminar, but I don't wanna pay for it hahaha

yotsuba

Thanks for the update. Saves us a wasted trip.

Pigeon Bottles

Hmm.. am I the only one who finds that it leaks? Maybe I didn't screw the top tight enough?

Felicia, actually exercise doesn't really help with the labour per se, but can help make you fitter and have better stamina to withstand the rigours of labour. The fact that you could go through 17hrs of labour proves that your stamina is quite good. Some people may give up half-way and opt for c-sect, esp if there are warning signs that the mum or baby are not doing well.

Anyway, any mums here tried perineal massage to prepare for delivery? Seems like this can help prevent an episiotomy.

jul: i am keen in the IQ baby dvds. then the 900g milk i'll probably sell.. haha cause my son already 4yo. plus he drinks pediasure.

<font color="aa00aa">Re: Milk bottles &amp; teats
I used to use AVENT bottles with AVENT and NUK teats. No problem with my breastfed #1.

Re: Baby Fair
I would like to go to BabyCare Festival next week though I stay at the other end of the island. Am interested in Cloth Diapers, Wet bags, babysafe mattress, ...</font>

Michi, bumwear is already shaped to fit.
traditional cloth u need to fold and it tends to run when baby move.
u can see their website. it's good to use but ley chey to wash.

nattan
ah i see, now then i understand, haha quite true cuz i heard many friends say they can't push by the time they are fully dilated, cuz no strength already.. but for me i still had a lot of strength to push again and again, haha.. maybe the contraction pain is too scary and i just want to push baby out faster so contraction can stop.. LOL

never heard about perineal massage, but heard from some people in china saying hor, drink a glass of honey water right before delivery, will reduce the labor time, i will definitely try it this time round, kekee..