(2012/06) Jun 2012

Jul: later kena chased out if not ticket. haha

Adeline: so is it effective for your cousin? B4 I got preg whenever I go massage they will tell me i have water retention problems in my thighs and butt. Almost everytime also tell me lor =(. Now my thighs getting quite fat dunno issit fat or water retention. But I dun dare to go for the pre-natal massage cos scared not good for baby

Jul,
I will get the contact for you from my cousin and i am not sure if they make house visits as my cousin goes to their place instead but isn't it dangerous as in it might harm you and the baby if they do not press at the right pressure points?

I also thought we are not allowed to do any forms of leg massages, according to a colleague of mine. She reminded me if i am going to do mani/pedi to let them no i am pregnant and make sure they dont do any leg massages.

WTS: 2 tins of NAN HA Milk Powder @$37 each. Original price $42.50 each. Expiry date: 4 Jul 2013. Self-collection at Kovan MRT.

WTS: 6 bottles of Obimin @$18 each. Original price $28 each. Expiry date: 11 Jan 2013. Self Collection at Kovan MRT.

Pls call 96568688 to deal.

wah so many posts!
jul: nope. That place sucks in terms of admin. very pissed off with them.

petrina: haha, now I know why. My husband went to pcf, so that's why she thinks preschool not impt. But my husband can't cope with primary school!

re super overdue babies
Could it be that they didn't have proper scanning, and they could have super late ovulation, and that's why they thought they were expecting for a longer period of time?

I've only heard of super overdue babies in one chinese story (those classics or legends of having deity children)

Asrias

No lah. At the stemcord seminar, i just ticked off my name n got my goodie bag. Then walked out when the cord blood banking started. Walked ard the booths, look see, said hi to my PD, walked in again, no one stopped me

Adeline

I checked with gynae before. She said ok after the first tri. I've done massages both body n leg for #1, no probs. Aws felt so refreshed! Speaking of which, wonder if i have time to squeeze in one tomorrow or fri evening? Hmm...

Dear all, anyone know the contact number for mom? I told my boss this morning I have decided to travel n continue with work. She told mi she need to discuss with other boss cos I have wasted my first trimester the first 3 mths not traveling n thus causing work to delay n I m left wif 6 mths only n I b gg 4 mths maternity again so she have to consider n might not keep mi. End up I feel so stressed I told her I will quit then. I feel like I m forced to quit.

i register for the talk tis sat n i tink i put 2 pax attendin. Bt i wil b alone. So mayb smone cn tag along? Is it absolutely necessary to brin gynae appt card, dont knw wher i put liao.

Adeline > nt sure if thy r the same machine for if scan. Bt it was done ard the same period. So no reason for the result to b diff mah. My guess is tat gynae one nt as detail cos she nt sono mah.

jenny > dont giv in. Hold ur stand. If u quit, u gt nothing. Hold ur position n c wat the management does, if thy sack u w reason due to pregnancy u cn approach mom. Bt i dont tink thy wil do tat. Co shld hv lawyer to adv thm. Unless the HR nt doin its work. Stay calm. Watever may happen u wil stil hv ur bb standin by u.

jul: I'm waiting for the registration form from the 1.1k place, and see whether they mean what they say when they are going to send the registration form to me. I gave MMI 3 days to call me back, and they didn't, as it shows they are disorganised. I will only consider them again and call them up again if the 1.1k place doesn't send the stuff to me within a week.

Dunno why I'm having problems with getting responses back from agencies and schools lately. That maid agency didn't call me back, the admin of schools too. Sigh, I really liked this cheap and pretty good Montessori school in my area, but transport is a bugbear. The admin was quite good too, even though she forgot my name and particulars when I gave her the day before my visit.

My husband sounded my FIL out on whether he could accompany my child for a few days at the new school, and he seemed unwilling. Need to take more days off to settle this. I need to save my leave!

It's like these companies don't want my business, and I'm too busy to keep calling them back to check the status.

Jenny: how long have you been with your company?

glass, reading about your FIL's unwillingness to accompany your kid even for a few days, I wonder why ILs were always bugging us to quickly give them grandkids if they don't even want to help out a bit. It makes me glad I held out having kids earlier. I want to have kids only when I feel ready to have them and can take care of them myself and not because ILs want and then have to see their "face colour" for help. Sorry, just ranting a bit here... :p

Jenny, sorry to read about your situation.. MOM's no. is on their website. You could also consider getting legal help in the event that your boss really forces you to quit. But as far as I know, the company cannot terminate you after your 1st trimester. If they do, they will still need to compensate you for your 4 months maternity and get penalised by MOM.

nattan: haha, my ILs did not bug us to give them grandkids. I got pregnant first month after getting married. Didn't think would get so lucky. My FIL loves my son very much and constantly thinks of ways to entertain him and teach him.

In fact, they didn't want us to have our second kid so soon. They want more time with #1, but I decided to have the second one because my husband is getting old, and if I put off, I will just want to put off forever.

Well, he has some health issues, but he is just stubborn lah. Whenever we do something that he doesn't like, he will just try to insist his way.

I just started work in the company in oct last year. I m still in probation period. Actually I feel bad for my company. After joining the company for 2 weeks, I realized I m pregnant. The company did ask mi during interview if I m gg to have baby cos this job requires quite abit traveling n I say no. And I was absent from work for almost a mth in dec bcos I m always vomitting.

Glass, I wasn't pointing at your FIL per se, just felt that sometimes ILs like to pressure couples to quickly give them grandkids but then after that either don't want to help or teach them wrong things. Very frustrating. But fortunately I encounter less of such issues since my ILs are in M'sia and now left only my FIL who is quite easygoing.

Jenny, don't stress yourself out. Since you have a baby, just enjoy the journey and look forward to bringing him or her to this world. A job can always be found, but not necessarily a child
You can take your maternity leave to plan your next step.

jenny: the tricky part would be the probabtion. the company could claim that since you were under probation, and you could not travel as part of the job description, they have valid reason to let you go. Please check the MOM website to see at which stage if they make you go and they would be accountable. Now that you said you would quit, they may say you are the one who wanted out, and they did not say anything to fire you.

hope you can solve this problem quickly. other stresses that you are facing right now is bad for the baby.

Tell u sth. My Frn co. sack a pregnant lady before.. Cos she came first day of work n announce she is 3.5 mth preggy. I heard bosses were unhappy and ask her to resign.. She is unhappy and challenged them if they do that she will repot to mom. The co lawyer checked and confirmed she has no case and there they sacked her on the spot.. They can b v mean but I guess maybe they wanted to be fair to rest of the staff. If u grow with the co and get pregnant, it's ok lah. But she sounds like she knows she is pregant, how can 3 months dunno pregnant right? During interview, I heard she did not disclose. And when bosses ask her to leave, she even challenged them. My sil also was 3 mths pregnant when she looked her a new job. She was no working in her tri 1. She told the employerthe truth and the company employed her even she was 3 mths pregnant! Lucky her.

Jenny: I'm not trying to scare u. But company can be mean afterall u r a new staff and all bosses are looking for results. My case - my boss ask me to travel, I refused cos no 1- it's not part of my job description and no 2. I was ttc v hard and I dun wan anything to clash with it. End up they were unhappy and my boss say things like why are u so stubborn, or why is yr husband not understanding of u ( when I say my hubby does not approve of my traveling) I heck care all this idiotic bosses. Cant they get others to travel? To me bb is more important. Job will still have next time... Bb tome cannot wait.. I hope all goes well for u. Prioritize ok? Go temple n ask for a lot (if u believe).

Jenny

When I was having #1, I encountered 2 mummies who also got sacked by their companies.

One of them was sacked just on or the day before the 3 mths preggie period. So she asked her gynae to help by bringing forward her EDD a few days hence she got paid the full 6 mths that she was sacked plus the maternity benefits.

The 2nd one was also sacked by her co. I dunno the details of ehr case but she actually got MOM to step in, talk to the co with the MOm officer etc, then they also paid her dunno issit retrenchment benefits plus maternity or maybe just salary plus maternity. That was an MNC.

I checked the MOM website : http://www.mom.gov.sg/employment-practices/employment-rights-conditions/leave-and-holiday/Pages/maternity-leave.aspx

<font color="ff0000">Looks like you don't need lawyer or whatever. You are entitled to your maternity benefits even if you're on probation since you're after first 3 mths liao. Just DON"T quit!</font>

"As long as the employee has served her employer for at least 90 days before the birth of the child, and meets the other eligibility criteria for maternity leave under the Employment Act or the Child Development Co-Savings Act, she is eligible for paid maternity leave."

"If employer terminates the employment of a pregnant employee within six months from the date of estimated delivery or the date of her confinement without sufficient cause, the employer is required to pay the employee maternity benefits she would have otherwise been eligible for.

Employer is required to pay an eligible employee maternity benefits if she is retrenched within three months from the date of estimated delivery or the date of her confinement. "

nattan, glass

Hiaz not just PILs, but also parents. My mum kept bugging me to have kids. When I had #1, and my ILs went on hol, I was already back at work. I didn't have enough leave so I asked my mum to come help keep an eye on the maid while I worked at home. I had a maid then. All she had to do was watch over them. She just sat there &amp; sms &amp; watch TV, not too hard right?

After a couple of days, she said co called her up &amp; she needed to go back to work coz they're short of manpower. This is not the first instance of such things. Ask her to come at 9am to watch my kid, she dilly dally till 11.30am, then came with a big bag of cooked food bought from dunno where, then started to cook rice coz she didn't buy rice &amp; made a mess in the kitchen. I already told her beforehand NOT to bring any food. I didn't have a maid to clean up then.

Basically she just wanted to play with the baby then. Then when the baby grew up &amp; started being active, all she can do is stand there &amp; go "Oh my God" when he's running away &amp; in danger of falling into the drain. Even now, she hardly ever plays or interacts with him when we visit. Ironically it's my stepdad who is playing with my boy. I also dunno y she asked me to have kids.

Now she says that she'll quit &amp; look after BOTH my kids so I can go back to work after maternity. No thanks!

Jenny, u have to be with co at least 4 mths b4 u r protected from MOM regarding sacking pregnant woman. Sorry.. But if co already mentioned during interview, then its all up to goodwill. They might not keep u.

MMI different sch diff operations. Glass, if u feel tat admin not good, u might wanna reconsider. Or check out the teachers since they r e main criteria of sch enrollment.

glass

Think it's not a gd time now. All the schs are busy with starting the new sch term, admin work, getting new &amp; crying kids settled etc. Plus since the sch term has already started, chances are the vacancies would have been filled up now?

When wre u gog to start your son? Maybe you can give them a couple of weeks to settle down? But I agree that I didn't have a gd impression of the Sengkang MMI.

<font color="aa00aa">nattan,
Thanks for the info. So far, I only put 2 drops of eucalyptus on a tissue paper and place it in between the pillows before sleeping when my #1 or my nose is stuffy or he's having a flu.

I saw a recipe for Stretchmarks on this book entitled "Natural Pregnancy" and am tempted to try it but the oils are quite expensive. To save the trouble &amp; some money, I'm considering to buy the Earth Mama Angel Baby Natural Stretch Oil instead based on the safe ingredients review on Skin Deep Cosmetics Database and good reviews in iHerb.</font>

Hi any mummies suffering from motion sickness also? If yes, can tell me when will it go off? I'm in my wk 13...

My morn sickness started wk 6 till now... Sigh

Morning mummies...

Jul, your mum is so funny...

My SIL is fortunate that her mum is helpful around the house.. she is also working, some more shift work, but she is able to help look after SIL's #1 well. I guess everybody has different ways of doing things and different expectations.

Moi, yes read online reviews that Earth Mama Angel Baby products are not bad. Can get them at selected Watson's although not very cheap also. I may try them when my current creams run out. That time I bought Palmers only because there was a sale at Robinson's and could get discounts on toiletries.. haha. Also cos people told me it's effective. Now I have Palmer's and Topicrem to last me a long time...

About Eucalyptus, be sure not to let the oil get in contact with your #1's skin.. can be too irritating for children, or try to dilute it with some neutral oil (can use normal olive oil also).

Yumei, I don't suffer from motion sickness or morning sickness. But sometimes feel nauseous when too hungry or too full.

<font color="aa00aa">OK. Will check out Watsons's. If not, I'll buy from iHerb.

Ya, we don't dab eucalyptus oil directly onto skin. The smell can be bit "choking" &amp; DS doesn't like it. But I told him that it'll make him better.</font>

nattan

Looking back, it's very funny. But when those things were happening, it was very maddening lol

I nvr really thought abt it before, but my mum never stayed home with all her 4 kids. She was aws gog to work &amp; putting her kids with MIL, mum, or maid. I aws assumed that she must be good with kids/babies since she had 4, but turns out I'm actually better than her haha

Yumei: i still have motion sickness. already 16 wk.
morning sickness depends on the food i eat. too milky i'll vomit.
u need to trial n error to see what foods ur baby will accept. then just eat those foods will do.
try not to be too adventurous during pregnancy.

Hi ladies...

Haven't log on for so long.. So much to read! haha

Nattan, I've just PM u d price list for massage services.

Amy, unable to PM u d price bcos u settings doesn't accept PM.

Went for my appt dis week at 17 wks.. Can't confirm gender yet cos baby was sleeping n curled up.. Kind of disappointed
Will know during d detailed scan on 1st Feb.

Also, Dr Sim had adviced that I upgrade my 20 wks detailed scan to see Dr Chang cos I rejected d amniotic test n am considered high risk for DS.. Topped up another S$100+ on top of d original package price for OSCAR n detailed scanned.. Supposedly, Dr Chang is more detailed n will look out for indicators for DS like d eyes, fist.. She wanted me to have a peace of mind rather than worry abt DS thruout dis pregnancy.. So now I'm quite nervous abt d upcoming scan.

Jul, haha.. you kena conned by your mum... :p She had more help than you do!

Moi, even the smell of Eucalyptus is a bit strong for my liking (like concentrated medicated oil), so I prefer Peppermint which has a slightly sweet scent. Maybe can let your #1 try that. iHerb actually sells it pretty cheap. I got mine from NOW Foods brand. I also drink Peppermint tea sometimes to relieve nausea, indigestion and flu, although some sources say to use with caution as it may actually cause tummy discomfort to some people. So far, I'm ok with it.

Yumei : im in my 17weeks . but still having bad motion sickness.. vomit every morning and evening when hubby fetch me to and fro work..

already use to it ~_~ from vomiting for 4months..

<font color="aa00aa">nattan,
Great idea!

vinniesellie,
Yes, an experienced gynae or sonographer can do that.

I got a surprise call from my gynae last night regarding the Down's syndrome result. Based on the scan, everything was fine (NT, shape of head, no excess bubbles at don't know where, nose bridge, etc.) but the Trisomy 21 ratio was 1:320 which was of Intermediate risk for me based on my age. She was skeptical about the result &amp; asked the lab to check again and this time, the ratio was adjusted to 1:1775! I was elated and am very grateful to her for helping me check, based on her experience and my ultrasound scan.</font>

MOI,
Good to hear that.

Sel,
Don't worry too much, Oscar result sometime gives false alarm. My no.1 I worried for almost 2 months and she is a healthy bb.

Jenny,
You better give a call to MOM to check on your situation. See what is their advise.

Thks petrina n milhoger. Cos my workplace very far... Feel stressed when go to n fro work. Throw up in bus, mrt, car... Hope it can end.... Or if I can get used to it...

Yumei

Try not to commute on an empty stomach. It'll make you feel much worse. Even if you can't eat a full breakfast, find something that agrees with you and have a small bite first.

moi

That's gd news. I'm sure you feel much better now

nattan

hee no lah, I had my kids when I want to. No influence from parents or PILs or friends or whatever. Cannot totally push all the blame to mum haha

sel

LTNC. How's the knees?

Boys' Pants/Shorts in Bugis Area

Any idea if there are shops selling 3-4 yr old boys' pants in the Bugis area? Will be there on Sat for the Cordlife seminar, so might as well take the chance to shop ard. My boy badly needs going out shorts &amp; 3/4 pants type that can cover he knees. He has outgrown all his gog out bottoms!

Moi, good to know your test result is good. Now you can relax and not stress out too much.

Sel, I didn't receive your PM with the price list, could you resend? Anyway I'm now considering booking a package with Origins Jamu. I think I feel safer booking with a company than a freelancer la.. Re your scan, don't worry too much ok.. I'm sure things will be fine.

Yumei, maybe you can check with your doctor whether there's something you can take for motion sickness. I agree with jul that it's better not to travel on an empty stomach. Maybe you can take some light foods (congee, yoghurt, fruit?) and wait a while to let it settle before commuting.

Jul, you can check out Bugis Junction.. I'm sure there are children's clothing there or inside BHG store's children dept.

jul: I bought a few from fox. Used to be long, but now become 3/4 pants for my son. He likes the shorts to cover his knees. Dunno why.

sel: Since we cannot control the results on how are babies are going to be, at least you can control how you feel. Instead of worrying needlessly at this stage before seeing the other gynae, try to think positive and forget about the possibility. Easier said than being done, but try your best.

All the best for your results.

Hey mummies, I'm shopping for a stroller/pram.. which brand do you recommend? My boss recommends Capella and she got hers for less than $300. Any others that are good? Where to find Capella brand? I went to a few shops cannot find or else too expensive.

Jul, nothing wrong w my knee lah.. Previously, my ankle was swollen cos wore heels to a wedding.. Now ok liao

Nattan, ok sent agn ;)

Regarding d scan, I'm quite sure baby is normal but I don't want to be over-confident. Think it's best if I distract myslf n don't think abt it.. Just deal w it when it's time.

Anyway, I've just read a beautiful blog entry abt dis lady who delivered a baby girl w DS.. She didn't knw that she was carrying d girl w DS but she knew d minute she saw her baby girl.. Ultimately, our babies r god's gift n u nvr knw what god has planned for u. We can only hope n pray for d best!

Here's her blog entry if u're interested
http://www.kellehampton.com/2010/01/nella-cordelia-birth-story.html

pram depends on ur needs. i like maclaren for it's comfort n already lightweight considering it's size.
capella can only use till certain age - 3. cause length is standard. for maclaren it's umbrella so the head can move higher abit and legs and put on stroller when zzz.
best is peg prego. umbrella stroller also but it's very stable compared to maclaren.

gracco is super light weight n easiest to handle amongst all the popular brands. single hand can keep already.

Jul: i seldom shop in bugis. unless they have sale otherwise their clothes ain't too cheap.
but u can look at fox section like glass said.

Old Navy is having sale.. I just bought USD$50 worth of clothes for #1. about 4pcs.

I juz called mom. Till date I only worked for 80+ days n so I m not entitled to maternity benefits even if company sack mi. According to mom, u have to worked for 90 days. What should I do? My company is asking mi for letter of resignation n I haven submit yet.

jenny

You have only worked for 80+ days? Your company is very smart.

How many days more do you have to hold on? I don't know if this can work, but maybe you can tell them you are thinking abt whether to resign, then say you are willing to travel not that you are refusing to perform your duties... blah blah everyday drag one day, drag until you fulfill 90 days?

nattan, glass, petrina

Hiaz I quite sian ah. Seems so difficult to find bottoms for my boy. His waist is rather think, so I a lot of bottoms are too tight for him. Then if I buy a bigger size to fit the waist, they are too wide everywhere else, look so sloppy. Why ah? Made for slim kids ah? Discriminate against my son? lol

Jenny, your co is trying to shirk responsibility. So long you don't submit the resignation letter, there's nothing they can do right? So just sit and wait lor.. Don't stress..

Jul, haha.. you want to tailor make bottoms for your boy? :p Or buy bigger size than alter. Else, get bottoms in stretchy materials? I think it's fine to buy bigger sizes cos kids grow quite fast anyway.

Pram/Stroller

I have a hand me down Combi &amp; a Peg Perego Pliko P3.

The Combi is very lightweight, one-hand fold, one hand push, has a close all the way canopy but is useless for my son after he turned 2mth+. It's too short &amp; narrow so his head was bent to one side &amp; the shoulders were wedged by 3 mths. It works better after he started sitting up, coz not so restricted by the height. The basket is ridiculously small though. And it's unstable. Think can only hang a very small, lightweight handbag on it. me leaning on it can cause it to tilt. The wheels are also small, so tend to get caught on escalators, MRT gaps etc. I also find it a bit low for my height.

Peg Perego is very stable. I can stand on the platform at the back, hang kilos of stuff &amp; it's still stable. Very good to push, like power steering, won't get caught on gaps etc. But it cannot be steered by one hand &amp; is heavy. And also cannot open/close with 1 hand.

You have to decide which suits your lifestyle better. Normally, the lightweight ones are unstable &amp; vice versa. I like the Combi for gog downstairs/just walk to next blk etc - where I don't carry anything, don't go out for long. I use the Peg Perego anytime I drive out with Hubs, go shopping centre, go zoo, go anywhere where I have to bring the diaper bag, his porridge etc etc. coz need to hang the bags on the pram.

Thanks Jul for the stroller tips.

Now i'm very sianz.. just got news from hubby that have to go back to JB for reunion dinner. I think FIL wants to eat at home cos MIL's tablet is there. Why can't he just think of his 2 pregnant DILs and come into Sg instead??
Furthermore, we don't have a car anymore, so now wondering which BIL want to offer to fetch me over. Hubby is serving in church on CNY eve, so he may have to go over by himself later. Then I worry for his safety cos you know the customs and buses on CNY eve are like mad houses. Sianz... =.=

<font color="aa00aa">vinniesellie,
Can PM me the price too?

Yes, <blink>stay positive</blink>. Dr Chang may show you good results.</font>