(2012/05) May 2012

Marilyn - will not be getting the Fisher Price flask because dun think the tumbler can fit Dr Brown's bottle. Anyway I hardly bring chilled EBM out unless it's freshly pumped and I don't heat it up either before giving my gal.

My girl has also began sucking her fingers especially the thumb. I need advice on this cos my son sucked thumb for awhile and never took the pacifier

My gal also has funny drinking pattern that my nanny sometimes split one bottle of 100ml ebm into more than 3 feeds. Even while direct latching over the weekend, she will suck for less than 10 min, then refuse, and wan milk again after an hour only. I try to starve her for longer but she really cry out

Btw, I really went to enrol in this tra program ytd, now I wonder if I should start so fast. But then really feel bad cannot wear many clothing and my body really have a lot of fat. Still a bit of dillema whether I should continue or wait

Dolly should wait until 6 months to see if your body can get rid of the fats. Anyway u started working, with the stress and shuttling may take a toil on your body. Anyway for this diet do you have to follow a fixed diet plan?

Tell me abt the funny feeding pattern. Now my gal either looks for the breast or suck on her thumb to sleep. Btw since u exclusively bf, do u give pacifier? Need to check with u, let's say I normally pump at 10pm but my gal latches on before that, shd I still pump? From the time u get home until the next morning how many times does your gal latch on?

dolly: what is the tra prog about? I agree with FAAA, give your body sometime to slim down naturally..with the tough work, I think slimming down is not a problem..but cannot binge on food lah..any diet demands a good diet and fitness..

now I am back to work, running up and down in heels, and rush here and there, back home still have to take care of baby and be maid..wow, I tell you, very fast will lose weight!

Dotty - how was baby with mil? Actually for my #1 I din slim down much. But now decide to close shop must watch weight. I try not to binge also but if run eat well scared will affect supply

hehe, I am those, more stress more fat kind!

TRA is from MLM one, supposed to eat healthy and complement w supplements. haha, let's see if it works for me first...

FAAA, here's my gal pattern:
Time Latch time in min/amt pump
27-aug 0400 dunno how long
530 dunno how long
Pump 0940 amt 190ml
Pump 1530 amt 190ml
2024 8
2120 10
2215 10
2340 30
She just slept, and according to my nanny, she didn't sleep much today, so hopefully she can sleep for longer lah

FAAA and Ruhee, he did nt apply any ointment or use any sticks, just used hands to pull and adjust my wrists and fingers, could hear a click sound. Like I said, it was fine on the spot but the pain returned after I went home and carried my boy.

I just went to another chinese physician recommended by my MIL today. Apparently he is supposed to be good and has a lot of customers but rather pricey ($50 per visit). Same thing, no ointment but his diagnosis and treatment was different. He treated my back instead of my wrist because he said there's where the root cause is. He also taught me some exercises, asked me to apply cold pack and advised not to use wrist guard as it'll press on the swell. He said the pain has nothing to do with the position I used to carry but because my arms are too weak to withstand the weight and therefore exercise is important to strengthen it.

I'm not sure yet which physician is more effective as my wrist has not recovered completely yet and I've not exerted much stress. Will update again after a few more days. Btw, here's the add and tel.
Kang Liang Chinese Physician
Address : Blk 253 Jurong East St 24 #01-255 Singapore 600253
Telephone : 6562 6295

Hi dolly from the hourly latching schedule how do you determine which side of breast to give to bb? Those short timing is likely only 1 side right? Then the next feed you start from the other side?
During the first month I let my bb latch for about 1 hr (half hour each side) and many a times he still wants to continue so I'm a bit scared it's tiring that's why second month onwards I started expressing.

Thanks Dolly for the schedule. My gal was like that couple of weeks ago. Hourly latch, tiring!! Just when I going to fall asleep can hear her whining. These 2 days, she's been sleeping early. Yesterday abt 7:30pm till next feed 12:30am. Then 3am Tonight was 8:30 till 12:30. I just fed her a bottle of formula milk. Hopefully she sleeps for longer stretch.

Phyllis, for my case I usually alternate the breasts at each feeding unless she has suck quite long (more than 20 mins) I will switch sides but of course must feel if breast is soften then means she drinking milk. I'm no pro at this cos for my #1 I only express so need advise from dolly.

Btw dolly my gal dun sleep much in the day. Maybe half hr to an hr max for abt 3x. Sometimes she takes power naps like for 15mins. But she wakes up at abt 10am

Phyllis: like faaa said, I decide by how long she latch n record which side she latch, if less than 15 min, I might latch the same side again. Last night she woke one more time after midnight, so I latch once more till she sleep. N since she lat h for 15 min, the next moment she can't settle to sleep, I dun latch anymore. Pet her to sleep instead. She still dun take pacifier so a bit harder. Next she woke at 5am, then 7am for feed.
Funny thing is sometimes, though awake, she dun drink at nanny place in the morning till 11am even last latch could be 5am. I am puzzle cos she ok on weekend

FAAA: baby seems ok with mil..picked him up and he looked happy..will respond with smiles at mil when she played with him..today is the second day, hopefully everything is good! I am like, counting down to the date my helper arrives..

dolly: jiayou! weight loss takes a bit of patience and alot of determination..

Littledotty: thanks! I tried this program cos i really want to hv a healthier weight but really no time to go slimming center. I dun even hv chance to go facial regularly. Hopefully I can loose some n dun need to wear XXL or XL again!

Good that your MIL is getting along w your bb well! Actually u can request the maid to follow the baby whenever he is, then ur MIL keep watch over her while she can help out in the house work.
For my case getting maid is actually cheaper than putting both #1 and #2 w nanny, some more got someone to clean house. However I can't trust a maid to be alone w them. Sometimes I was also driven mad by my 2, can imagine what maid will do if she face them alone! So no choice cannot get maid. Anyway my nanny is really good, so I'm kinda lucky

Any ways to stop baby from sucking fingers? My gal has.been.sucking her fingers (really loud) as if its tasty. I don't use.pacifier n don't intend to use.

ak - I think now the time they realise their fingers are fun. My gal do that too and she likes to pull her hair and ears. I also dun give pacifier. But she found her thumb and sucks on it to soothe herself to go sleep.

Dolly - sometimes baby don't feel hungry. With the night latch they prob taking in a lot of milk. Like my gal's last feed score bed at 6:30, she can last till 12:30am. But will wake up abt 3:30-4am again

Dolly dun the nanny need to heat up the milk in advance? So if baby dun drink gotta throw away?

My last maid was really good with my son. She spent 1 year with him at home before I sent him to Childcare at 19 months. I think it's the mentality of the maid and how responsible they are. My current maid is hopeless though

Hi Esteelin,

Keep me posted abt ur wrist condition after u see the chinese physician. I think mine is quite serious. May have to see one soon

FAAA: My nanny will start defreeze the milk the night before, then she will warm it up when she see signs that my gal wants milk. However, she will only warm up half a bottle (like 50ml) usually cos my baby dun drink much. But there's still misses and she've to throw away after leaving out for too long (2 to 3 hours)

Dolly sounds like your girl becoming a snacker or going thru milk strike. Have u tried prolonging the duration between feeds maybe she can finish a whole bottle? My girl also drinking much lesser. Between 80-120ml.

But i noticed she never refuse the breast. What abt your gal?

marilyn,

dun think it is nipple confusion for my boy since i am on total EBM. only when i get blocked duct then i latch :p

sucking fist

strangely my boy stopped sucking fist these 2 days after he found a new entertainment, which is to try to touch hanging toys from the play gym. i had also feed him BEFORE he stays crying for milk so i guess he sucks fist because he is bored or self soothing...

milk strike

my boy is taking his milk slower and longer gap. used to finish 150 ml in less than 10 min every 3 hrs. now can take up to 20 min and sometimes he would throw tantrum abit before drinking. so i am now trying to give him more per feed and bigger amt so that his total intake in one day still stay the same.

sleeping through the night

has any of you babies stay sleeping through the night and i mean like straight 7-8 hours or more? i read some where that by 3 mths the baby can sleep 9 hrs straight. kinda worried he will get hungry so i had always dream feed him. hoping to be able to stop dream feeding so that i can get longer rest...

Ginger - my #1 slept thru the night at abt 5 months. They will only start sleeping thru the night it they have sufficient intake during the day. I tried cluster feeding for him. Works well and he could sleep from 4-5 months onwards.

Currently my girl can only sleep straight abt 4-5 hours. She still needs a feed abt 3-4am.

Sounds like your boy's intake is very good unlike some of the mummies's babies here who seems to be taking in much lesser. My girl is one of them

thanks dolly for your advice! I told my hubby that we will leave the maid with my mother for a while first too before we let her take care of baby alone..

hmm, none of the mothers here started feeding baby cereal yet? I bought the healthy times brown rice cereal and let my boy tried, he likes it!
haa..so happy to see him eat..I only buy those food meant for 4mths and up..

sleeping thru the night: my boy same as faaa's girl..need a feed at 3-4am..think I also got used to waking up at that time already..anyway he will just drink and sleep at the same time..i read that a milk strike at this stage is normal..

littledotty: When my gal went for 4th mth jab last week, PD said can start cereal, but only rice for now. Brown rice later clos harder to digest. Some more we gave rotavirus for my gal so PD advise after 2 weeks till the effect gone then start.

Ginger - I have the same situation. Total ebm. Bb easily frustrated when I try to feed him. Can soothe himself when he sucks his fingers/fist. Tried to put him under mobile/distractions but after a while he goes back to his fingers. I am thinking of letting him wear mittens for the time being till he develops a lesser liking for fingers. He does not like pacifier and I won't want him to be reliant on thumb sucking. No such prob with my #1 so abit lost now.

Mommies any advice? Keep pulling it out? Distractions?

littledotty: Quick! go take more toothless pic!

ak: My gal occasionally cross eye too! But not everytime. Thought should be ok

Marilyn: I usually will pull her fingers away. Both my #1 and #2 dun like teat, and use my boob as the soother!

Mummies, yesterday my gal went for pneumococcal jab and I also asked pd if she abit crossed-eyed. He said we can try pull the bridge of the nose so long can see the white of each eyes shd be fine.

My gal suck thumb and fist now. Hoping she get over it soon

ak - my CL ever told me that when we put baby in play gym or under moving mobile must not be too long. Especially those turning in circles, too much time spent will get crossed eyes. I dunno how true but better limit the time

Dolly not so easy to take toothless pics cos every time I see my girl smiling or laughing I take out my phone then she will focus on the phone and stop smiling/laughing.

Btw my girl needs to latch to sleep. Treating me as a smoother. How to prevent this?

Faaa: same here, my gal latching to sleep now! Tried to put her down, she cry! Try pet her to sleep but she hiccup non stop so got to latch again!

Today my baby keep waking up suddenly wailing very hard in e day and at night when carry him to sleep also suddenly break out crying hard after put him on cot.... Like got scared. This never happen before as he doesn't cry so hard even if he wakes. In e end he co sleeps with us tonight so I can pat him n make him feel safe. Hb insomnia keet fidgeting scared hit baby. Either way we can't sleep tonight...

Rabbitz
It happened to my boy too yesterday. He would suddenly wake up wailing and screaming even in the day. I tried carried him and pat him and it didnt help so I have to latch him to soothe him. In the even he would cry if we left him alone so we have to be in his sight. Dunnoe what's happening.

Sucking finger> my boy too love to suck his fingers. I tried to pull out every time I saw it last time. But now I just let him be.
I tried wearing his mittens but he will eat it too. I think the wet mitten is worst cos it take longer to dry and his fingers r all wrinkled up.

Strange! My boy woke up from his sleep lst night and wailed too! abt midnight, then I carried him upright over my shoulder, no use..in the end i cuddle him in my arms then he fell asleep..he kept putting his fist into his mouth, but didnt want milk..i put my finger and he bit hard..so I tot it is his teething pain..

rabbitz: whenever my boy gets scared, he will have this greenish patch between his eyes below his forehead and I will give him jing feng san..

Dotty can start to use Dentinox to soothe his gums. For the wailing it's prob fright.

I'm a superstitious mummy. Now 7th month I dun bring my baby out at night and will come home before 7pm

Hmm could it be 7th month? Baby cranky?

My boy latch 3min every 2-3hrs. Doesn't seem to like milk. So disappointed, he is not chubby despite I hv over supply of milk but he just doesnt drink much. He jus crossed 2x birth weight at 16w, although I read Ple say at 3mth double birth weight. He is like 3weeks overdue lor

rabbitz - the rule of thumb is baby should double birth weight at 6 months and triple birth weight at 1 yo. So your baby still on track.

Most babies drink lesser from 3rd, 4th months onwards. She is still only drinking 120ml. Just like when she was abt 5-6 weeks old. No change

Marilyn, I agree with Ginger cos licking/sucking on mittens is more unhygienic and now is the time they ate exploring their hands.

My gal sucks her left thumb and uses her right hand to pull her hair. Quite a sight. Really cute!!

Does yr baby has a stinky now? Pillow, blanket, hanky etc? I heard possession of stinky gives ten security n comfort, so will start to give my baby a stinky now... Heheh. Hoops he will sleep better holding it

Mommies thanks for advice on reducing thumb sucking. Guess the only way now is to keep pulling his fingers out. I am so torn. I am relieved that I don't have to soothe him yet I am worried he cannot give up finger sucking when he is older.

I will give him a hanky to feel in his mouth and act as a barrier between fingers and mouth. Try out and see how. Keeping fingers crossed.

Btw, anyone knows where to get affordable Avent disposable breast pads other than SMF BPs?

FAAA: oh so it's double weight at 6mtha instead of 3mths. My baby now at 16w only 5.5kg. Tryin hard to encourage him to drink but he keeps arch his back in refusal.

Had e urge to bring him to Thomson parent craft for feeding assessment but then again e does put on weight according to e guide 20g/day. Still when I see other babies so chubby I feel inadequate. My freezers are full of milk bags cos he doesn't drink much since birth. I tried bottle feed today n e took only 70ml.

Anyone has recommendation for cheap milk bags too? I'm using like 3-5 a day, my Lasinoh cost me 30cents a piece now. Any cheaper alternatives? I think I saw before someone selling OEM without box cheap but then I don't feel safe as the bags may get exposed or damaged etc naked to our eyes. Baby stuff hv to be safe to use right?

Hi Rabbitz, really envy your bm SS. I've nothing to freeze. A little worried when I return to work. I'm already taking mortilium supplements to increase bm but the SS is just enough for his day feed.

My bb is 3 mths old he's 6.8kg and 63cm, visited pd for his 3rd jab on Tue and he says he's above average. He feeds 6 times a day of 110ml - 4 times of ebm during the day and 2 times fm (12am and 6am). I give him 50ml of water mixed with 1 tsp of gripe water every morning after his shower (half hour before milk feed).

Just sharing his feeding pattern and you may take this as a reference. I'm sure if there anything pd would have highlighted to you. Don't worry too much about his weight gain as long as he's putting on weight steadily and he's on the right percentile range he's perfectly fine.

Rabbitz, do u clean your baby's mouth daily? If baby's tongue is full of milk residual they may refuse to drink milk. Also check if his tummy have wind. Your baby sounds like a very small eater for a boy.

But if he looks well then no worries. But if u are still concerned check with the pd during your next visit

Pls remember to soak the gauze in cooled boiled water. My bb only take 1 bottle of FM per day or none at all but I still make cleaning mouth part of the bathing routine so they will get used to it

the milk strike for my baby lasted for only a week. now, he cries for 150 ml milk even before 3 hrs, sometimes after 2 hours! but during nighttime, he can sleep through the night.

Im trying to take omega 3 for DHA and EPA instead of gynea's fish oil. I asked my PD and was told ok, went to google also did read nursing mum shld take omega 3. It's much cheaper than gynea's fish oil which I buy one bottle neurogain at $30+ for 30s but omega 3 cost me the same for 500 pills! I bot online so it's v v cheap.