(2012/05) May 2012

My son too would spit out a little milk hours after his milk.. It's getting more difficult to burp these days too. If I failed to burb him I'll just keep him 30-45 degree up right even if he's sleeping.

My boy too eating and licking his hand. The mitten would be wet so I have to change it frequently. I will take his mitten off only when I am watching him coz he scratches his face. W/o his mitten he finds his finger/hand even more yummy. Sucking with sound/noise. I tried stopping him but he got really angry and cried. I dunnoe if I should try to stop him or let him be.

Liangz now I put a pillow under my arm as a support and also to elevate bb up during feeding. I feel this helps the milk to go down faster as the angle is about 30 degrees. Once he's done drinking I'll stroke downwards on his chest for a few minutes, wait for a while to see his satisified and settled face then lay a nappy (fold a square) over shoulder and rest him on shoulder to burp. With this nappy cloth the milk won't be on you. You should not bring bb up immediately as any changes in angle bb will throw up. Even stretching also encourages vomitting of milk.

This approach works best for my bb. Tried various ways to burp him so far this is the fastest way to make him burp. It's a very comfortable position, with continuous patting he dozes off too.

BabySean: Thanks for the info.
I'm using Huggies Ultra Green. I also want to try the overnight one since I don't change diapers during nighttime especially when baby is too sleepy. Don't want to fully awaken him. Yeah, I just found out that the sides are garterized. And I also make sure that baby's penis is pointing down to prevent leakage. Mine also drinks Similac. His poo is greenish these past few days.

Tks, mummies for sharing ur practise.

Don't u feel v tired to wash n sterilize every pump?
Every 3hr hv to pump, feed bb, wash n sterilize. Apart
Of that hv to spend time w bb, look after bb, do hsechore,
Sum mummies still hv to cook or hv #1 or #2 to look after.
Cld imagine hw u guys did it?

I suspected my boy is goin thru colic. So helpless n heartpained to see him cry n cry almost every nite btw 7-11pm. Jus started to give him ridwind yday.

>> ngcywc
hmm no choice i guess.. for newborn need to be more particular.. for me i still have my mum to help.. so not so bad.. maybe can bring your boy to see pd?

>> groundpepper / sardonyx
my boy also likes to suck his hands.. sometimes dunno if he is hungry or just comforting himself.. but i let him be la.. i dont put mittens on him cos they say not good to put after one month.. must let bb realise he has fingers.. lol..

>> babysean
haha thanks for the top.. didnt know have to adjust his penis straight to prevent leaks! shall take note next time :p

>> littledotty
slp more good mah.. leaves you more time to do other stuff? haha mine is now slping lesser.. he is like more curious about things so i will just put him in the rocker and talk to him.. or let him sit there and look around himself.. until he is tired then he will cry for attention then i will rock him to slp..

Haha awake at this hr Yingzz & ngcywc
Pumping again?

I only sterlize the pump parts twice or three times a day. Bought extra sets of the parts.

I was told also not to let my boy wear mitten but he some how scratches his face when I'm not watching him. I guess that cos he likes to rubbed his eyes.

Yingzz good that u just need to rock ur son. I need to carry him up from rocker and pat and walk around for him to sleep. He will make noise even when I tried to sit

Ha, of course sleep more good as long as it doesnt affect his night sleep..used to sleep in another room with him, now I put him on our bed together with hubby and he sleeps really well, can go for 5-6hrs without milk.. Yingzz, I also let him sit in the cot or rocker and look around, they have those really curious eyes! sometimes I on the cartoon channel and he watches them! Lately I bought him cloth books and he is fascinated by the colours..

I had to put on his mittens at night, during the day just let him suck..ha, sometimes can really suck til very loud! he likes to rub his eyes too, esp when he just wake up from sleep..

Yingzz: I also do the pat pat, and walk around the house,esp at night..ha the moment sit down scream already..my mum says he got pointed butts! used to it so it is not so tiring now..

Good that you gals can still pump, I kept my pump already..no time to use it at all..just latch on now..

Hello mummies, I am from the July mummy and has just given birth to my bb, but I am still looking for a CL urgently... Do you have any recommendation pls if your CL is gd Anderson you have finished your confinement already? Pls pm me, thanks!!

Oh gosh! Two weeks ago, I can get away with just 1 feed which is around 4-6 am then 3 days ago, he can finally sleep through. I was so happy. Then I dont know what happen, last night my boy woke up twice for milk. Any mummy experience this with their little ones?

yingzz: bb's crying is the reason why i decided to stop pumping. it's hard when you just started pumping and he also just began crying. during the time when i decided to do it just 2x a day, i also had to take antibiotics for my pneumonia so i can't breastfeed for 2 weeks. now my milk supply is diminishing.
i used to have a hard time having baby latch on me. but surprise, after 2 weeks of no breastfeeding, he's now latching nonstop, as if he missed it! LOL. but my milk supply is not that much so i've come to accept that i'll be giving him pure formula one day.

i let my bb wear mittens only at night.

at 10 weeks, bb weighs 5.3 kg. i want him to look chubby, so i want to fatten him some more. but sometimes, instead of every 3 hours, he'll be sleeping thru his feedings. at night, he can sleep thru the night from 5-7 hours. were so happy with this though. or during the day, sometimes his feedings can be up to 4 hours. and sometimes, he won't finish his milk. so i try to let him finish it up before the next feed. he's now taking 120 ml.

lately, there are times when he won't poo in one day. but the following day, there'd be so much poo on his diaper!

Liang: I thought the midnight feeds depends on their sleep for the day? My gal just woke up once in the middle of the night for the past 2 days.

>> groundpepper
yup was pumping then.. and pumping now :p hahha mine sometimes can rock an hour and still dont want to slp lor.. eh my boy will also scratch his face sometimes.. but i let it be..

>> littledotty
hmm i never let bb watch tv.. cos scare spoil his eyes.. do you read to your bb? haha i am thinking of buying some cot mobile toys for mine.. else sometimes he is like so bored..

>> sardonyx
hahah same with the poo issue.. he can dont poo a few days.. then poo at one shot.. got ever before he poo so much it leaked all over my shorts!

hmm my mum is asking me to start dragging bb feeding from 3 hr to longer.. so can have more time to do things.. recently bb seems to take longer time to finish the same amt of milk.. have to coax and coax or let him rest a bit before feeding again.. sometimes scare he waste my ebm.. now at day 53 he is also taking 120ml..

>> latching / pumping
i think latching on is better lor! like even when you go out its easier.. pumping takes up too much time.. tried latching this morning and screwed up my timing.. cos bb latch from 7 plus to 12 plus.. he latch slp latch slp.. i also slp.. and i have no idea if he is getting enough or not.. he used to cry after 5-10min of latching and wants to be bottle fed.. but now he seems able to latch better.. but i dunno when to stop cos i have no idea when he is full.. my supply also not alot.. usually will feed formula at night..

>> liang2
mine sometimes wake.. sometimes dont.. if he cries then i feed.. but my mum is also asking me to try and wean off his night feeds..

How could we wean off night feed? I have no idea when to start. I just feed my boy when he wakes and cries for milk. His night start around 8 and would sleep for 4-5 hr then after which is 3 hr of sleep or so he'll be awake again. That's around 3-4 am.

My friend suggests to me to dilute his formula at night so that he won't be looking forward for his milk. Pls share how I could do it. Thanks

My periods return. It's only been 10 weeks

I didn't expect it to be so fast. I still pumping and yet it so soon. Hmmmm.....

My daughter coming 2 months has been able to sleep through the nigh after her last feed at 12/1am and wakes up at 6am.

Her poo poo pattern now is every alternate days with a lot. As my supply is decreasing so she should be starting FM tmr... Hope she won't get constipated.

Yingzz: I read the book I used to read when I was preggie with him.. Just a story a day.. Ha, I got a cloth book two days ago at isetan n he is very happy to see it! Think becoz it is really colourful.. Intend to buy more!

I m also trying to wean him off his night feed but his last feed is at 8-9pm n the next is at 3-4am, quite a long stretch so I let him drink.. Also drinking 120ml, but lately keeps playing w the teats n takes longer to feed..

how to wean off night feed?? any mum has any idea or tactics?

i only try to feed my boy a little more then hoep that he wont wake up so soon. ie instead of waking up in 3hrs, he will wake up 4-5hours later but it is really a hit or miss case...

My boy used to wake up only once or even none but his frequency increase 2 nights ago. Last night, he was fed and put to bed at 8.30Pm, subsequently he woke up at 12midnight, 4.30am and finally 7am for his morning feed.

He only wake up for milk and will fall back into sleep immediately. So I wonder if it's becos he sleeps too much during the day or if he is going through growth spurt.

Groundpepper: my period came when baby is around 7 weeks, light flow. Gynae said its normal as I'm not full breastfeeding.

My baby didn't pop for almost 3days Liao. Last poo was on Sunday noon.
But I only feed him fm at night for 2-3times a day. The rest is ebm.

Anyone has any idea? Need to see pd?

Mummies, when u all change baby diaper in the night, wouldn't it wake baby up n cry for milk? How to wean off the night feed under such circumstances?

Priscilla, your baby also on fm plus ebm?

Mummies, I think I going to be crazy soon. Taking care of baby alone day and night. Interrupted sleep at night and day time still need to take care of baby and do household chores. Hubby also not supportive, just picking fault on me and quarrel.

I wonder how you ladies coping alone? I felt like a single mum now. Yesterday I just cried and cried.

I hv give up breast feeding. Not much milk left and baby suddenly refuse to latch. Previously was on partial breast feeding, supplement with fm.

Hi ak,
yes, i am on ebm + fm at night. Dont know why suddenly he stop to poo. He has been on ebm + fm since day one. No prob..only these few days.
You can try to change his diaper half way thru feeding.. So u will not wake ur bb up after feed.

Pop,
I am the same as u. I was lost and crazy after my cl left. Qurrel with my hb a few times and cry too... But now i am ok. Dont over stress urself. Give urself a timetable. Like wash clothes on every wed, mop floor every thurs etc...
I believe ur bb kinda have a sleeping pattern now. For me, my bb quite ok in the morning till noon. So i try to finish most chores when he doesnr cry or sleep. So in the noon i can take nap. Just give urself some time to adjust..u can do it... My hb also hardly help me, as he work nightshift. So noon he sleeping. I am 80% alone..

AK these 2 nights I'm using Huggies size M I change at 10pm + and it can last all the way till morning 7am. Very good! Morning it will be very full and heavy.

Previously I get my hubby to change Huggies size S around 1.30/2am when bb wakes up for feeds so when he's done the fm which I make is ready for bb to drink.

Pop and Priscilla you can consider getting a part time helper to do the house chores. For me I soak bb's clothes in the day and machine wash every night. Hubby and my clothes we wash twice a week. Helper comes once a week to clean my house. I sweep and mop daily in the morning when bb is playing on his own in the rocker chair. He can sit there happily for 30mins after bath and feed - sometimes he dozes off and I make use of this time to fold his clothes.

Baby did not poo for 2 days and this morning he pooed alot (twice already). He used to poo daily or on alternate days. First time 2 days didn't poo. Morning he's on ebm and latching, night on fm. I gave him 30ml of warm water mixed with 1 teaspoon of gripe water yesterday morning. Maybe this helped as fm contains lesser water content. Perhaps you can try letting bb drink water to make bb poo.

Pop: u r not alone. I also managing my boy and household chores alone. I was also very frustrated cos simply no time to rest. Every time do household chores halfway baby cry, nap halfway baby cry. Sometimes i think a pair of hands is simply not enough. At times I get very impatient towards my husband too. Now my mum will pop over my place 2-3 days to help out but I also dun let her do most of the things.

I try to be positive as having a baby is something that we should be happy about, I only want to remember all the happy things with my baby.

So u dun be too upset k. Look at yr baby and tell yourself that it is all worthwhile.

Just to share, my boy at week 8, poo almost after every feed, i.e. ard 5-7 times a day. Drinks about 90-100ml EBM every 3-4 hrs, 7 times a day, still wakes up at night for milk. is this normal? Thought they are supposed to poo less often and drink more at this stage...

Mummies, I m glad that I m not alone. Thanks for all your advise. I must be strong like you all.

Lucky still hv this forum that we can share our woes together. Btw, how do you settle your lunch when with baby alone? Do you all bring baby out everyday to keep yourself sane? I found that everyday facing four walls with baby only is also very stressful. So far, I hv only bring baby out alone to nearby places.

Pop. Ya, facing four wall v stressful. So far didn't bring baby out alone. Only dare to bring baby out with Hubby. Too many things to bring along.

Esteelin: I think it's Normal. Although I wake my baby up these few days to change diaper as she's having diaper rash for the past 2 days, and she would cry for milk since she's
awake. If not, I think she would also sleep through the night.

Pop,

Cos my hb work at night, he only come back after 10am. He will get lunch for me from my mil. I take milk and bread for breakfast. For dinner, I try to cook myself, but abit hard. Cos need to prepare and wash. So I will wake my hb up to package. Or sometime, I just make soup.
If you really got no time and no one to get food for u, maybe u wanna order tingkat for ur lunch.

Yes Pop, you must be happy and strong k! I'm on the same boat too, alone with baby, hv to do chores n cook but in enjoying myself thou there were frequent moments when I feel hubby is not doing much n life goes on the same for him.. But, I guess as mummies, when we see the little one grow up well n smile at us, everything is worth it.. Mayb you can hv a chat w ur hubby too, let him know u r struggling n need his help..
I always tell my hubby, I hv to take care of one big n one small n I hv a dog too!
many times I just laugh things off..I also hv a cleaning lady who comes once a week, helps a lot.. U can consider..

I don't stay hm everyday, ha.. I bring baby out, take cab, bus or train also go out.. Even if just walk walk also happy, think shdnt coop at hm..some more gng bk to work soon so I really want to spend as much time w him as possible..

Hi mummies... So far is it tough getting ur little one to sleep in the day and night? My bb always need to be cuddled to sleep. And when I put him in the cot, he will wake up again. This vicious cycle just go on and on in the day. At night, I just apply Gina ford's crying down method and just let my bb cry for like an hr before he settles down. So I would like to low how all mummies out there are coping with your babies sleeping pattern...Do you fix any schedule for your bb to sleep or just let ur bb sleep whenever bb wans...

I just find it so tough to let my bb sleep in the day. If I put him on the bouncer, he will just sleep for 15 mins to alf an hr. if in the cot, he can sleep longer but always wake up intermittently to cry.

Hi mummies, sorry to disturb ur chats here but I need some help. Is hoping to get some recommendation for good massage lady. The previous massage ladies whom helped me for my previous pregnancies are fully engaged on my edd. Pls let me have the contacts if you have a good massage lady to recommend. Thanks in advance n wish everyone a happy motherhood : )

Hi Pop..u are definitely not alone. I am taking care of my baby myself. Really very tiring. Got to sterilize and pump when my baby sleeps. Wash and keep clothes as well. But I do engage part time helper to clean up my house. My hubby does help a bit, probably with one or two feeding. But seriously, not much help though. But I can't demand much from him too since he on a work. Moreover, I am a Sahm so all the more I can't get him to help that much else will affect his sleep who is the sole breadwinner now.

At times I just keep crying too, especially when I am just so tired. But I guess, we just need to be strong. Jia you ok?
I order tingkat, so lunch settled. Perhaps you can consider this as well. At least you don't have to worry about meals, which lessen your burden...

Just back to work on Tuesday, everyday very tired! And found that I can't pump 200ml anymore! Supply seems to drop a bit. Luckily has stocked up enough prior to that.

Pop: You are not alone! For me, lucky my mum came over to stay w me for the past 3 months, but she's flying back this Sat, so I'll be handling my 3yo and 3mth old without my mum's help very soon. Even when hubby free, they might not be able to help that much... somehow when he carries baby, she cries! haha... only at some occasion can help to shake the yaolan or distract my 3yo boy.

>> ak
hmm i dont wake him to change diaper.. i just use better diaper like mammy poko or merries for night use.. so far so good..

>> pop
hang in there.. when bb bigger should get better.. like what liang2 suggest.. look at bb and think of all the happy things with bb.. i m lucky that mum/dad is helping out since hubby is not at home most of the time.. and even when he is back he is so tired from work.. i dont bring bb out everyday.. for one it is a hassle to have to pack the diapers bag and make sure i have got everything.. but i do bring him out once in a while to mummies gathering etc.. but usually have to take cab cos have to take note of pumping time..

>> littledotty
agree that sometimes i feel hubby not doing enough and life goes on the same for him.. while mine changes so much.. but i am glad we have this forum / facebook to share our woes and happy moments with other mummies.. really helps a lot to make me feel i am not alone..

>> miss freedom
no fix schedule for bb.. just let him slp when he wants.. i find it hard to follow a fix schedule.. mine needs to be rock to slp in yaolan.. if he's really tired he can slp in the cot w/o rocking.. that's usually at night.. daytime definitely need to rock.. last time i used to rock him to slp soon after his feed.. now i let him stay in rocker look around/ talk & play with him if i am free.. till he cries and shows signs he wanna slp.. slping duration also heng suay.. sometimes he can slp for long.. other times he totally refuse to slp.. or wakes after like 5 min..

Yingzz, is using yaolan good? I am thinking of getting that to let my boy sleep longer.do you still carry him to the cot after he slept? Or you will let him sleep in yaolan till he wakes up?

Pop: Hang in there! 1st time parent? My hb also not very supportive when #1 was born. Somehow he dun feel connected to bb, only aft #1 can talk, then he's more involved. But now with #2, he's helping out more. Maybe you can carry bb to corridor or downstairs to walk when bb's cranky. At least u get some fresh air! I also can't bother to cook lunch, so juz stock up cup noodles or bread. Are you working mum? Look fwd to the day u go bk to work lah. At least a little bit of freedom then.

yaolan: yes, it helps to make bb sleep longer but also depend on bb. my #1 i need to station there and keep rocking. whereas #2 not so jialat. i nvr setup at hm, only my mum's hse have not. last time for #1, daytime will use yaolan, nite time will carry and pat him to sleep then put on bed.

nap: my gal also nap best in the morning. esp aft shower. then mid day more cranky. maybe weather is hot too. so i kept pester hb to bring me out so that time passes faster. else will go siao if stay at hm.

infant care: 3rd day my gal in infant care. so far so gd. hope she can sleep btr.

My 2 elder gals are both down with hfmd. Baby also suspect have thou the doc say only see 1 mouth ulcer so hard to tell yet. I think I may also have as I have one painful mouth ulcer and few red spots on my hands. Anyone here know if I can continue to breastfeed? Or shld I throw the milk away? If both mummy and baby have hfmd, does it make any difference whether I breastfeed him anot
Headache ah!!!!

miss freedom: my boy doesnt have a fix schedule too but he has his own habits..he will sleep after his morning bath at 9 plus, just knock out one..then he will be awake for abot 2hrs and sleep again..he doesnt sleep well in the cot, so I put him in his rocker, it swings while he sleeps..can sleep very well..at night, have to rock and pat pat him on my shoulder, walk ard the house and he sleeps ard 9plus nowadays..my view is that they know what is best for them so if they want to zzz, just let them zz..and I dont let him cry to sleep..cannot bear to...
Dont have yaolan also..

kris: really sorry to hear that! hmm, i rem i read that if we have flu, still also can breastfeed because baby will get the same antibodies to fight the flu, so i guess it is the same for hfmd? but it is good if you give the pd a call and check..

lots of mummies who are taking care of bb alone, let's jiayou and hang in there! I realise why every year Mother's day receive more publicity than Father's day! coz everything also done by SuperMummy!

Agree!!! mother day get more publicity coz father didn't contribute much in taking care of baby. At times they even create more trouble for the mother.

Me too also taking care of baby myself now and he is coming to 3 mth soon. Although weekend Hubby at home but he help little. So let's Jia you together and be supper mummy..

Btw how you gals do away with night feeds? Baby still getting his nite feed but time wise not fix. Shld I not feed him but when feed him can hear his stomach calling..not too sure if he is really hungry or habit.

My Baby also still wakes up at night for milk.
He will sleep abt 9pm, then wake up abt 2am, 5am then 7am. But the feed at 5am, usually half feed only becos he drink half way then sleep. Shake him also no use.

Today is the 4th day liao, he still not yet poo.. Dont know how. I massage his tummy, bicycle his legs, give him gripe water.. Also no use.. Dont know issit constipation

Ha, Priscilla, mine too..wake up half way through falls asleep, so I learn no need make too much milk..usually i just latch him on lying down n he falls asleep real fast..do you apply ru yi oil on his tummy?

jazzlyne: I am also trying to wean off his night feed by giving him full feeds in the day n before bedtime at abt 9pm..but he wakes up at abt 3plus for milk n back to sleep til 6plus..

Littledotty: same timing as you but I not sure how to wean off leh. Dun gif wait he hungry, gif afraid of habit. Have you try not to gif? Most time he can finish a full feed that I usually gif in the day. Not sure if this will go off by itself or not haizzz...

Mine nite time finish milk fall alseep without burping. Then at around 6 will wake up to burp

Can u pls share w me your bb's vaccination package & the cost, i've enquired the 6-in-1 package fm clinic and e cost is $270 but another clinic quoted $890 for basic package which include all the required vaccinations by MOH...nw i'm confuse, pls advise... tks!

My boy will also wake up once or twice for milk and can finish a full bottle. I hope to wean him off his night feed but like a few mummies here, I'm not too sure how to go about doing it. Hm...he is less than 3 months ago, is it too soon to wean off night?

Priscilla: Is yr baby cranky due to constipation? If you suspect constipation then you might want to bring yr baby to PD. I will tend to be more KS towards baby cos they are still very young.

Havent had time to logon for a long time.
Thanks for your advice, ginger.

Thinking of getting a Medela Freestyle Pump. Any reviews on this? And just to be sure, there is only 1 version of this right?

Hi mummies, rdg abt bb slp thru the nite.
Hv u tried dreamfeed ur bb? Esp bot feed bb.

What I did is:
Btw 11pm-12am (depend on wen was his previous feed)
I'll on the nite light, unswaddle him den I get ready his chging station. Chged his diaper w/o eye contact n no talking. Sumhw all tis will SLIGHTLY wake him up even thou his eye r closed.
Feed him w bottle, it's ok that bb not fully awake. BB will suck even with their eyes close.

Using This method, BB will wake up once in the nite or slp thru 7am (if lucky). Provided BB gets enuff feeding during the day. Any feeding b4 7am is considered nite feeding.

Another bonus for dreamfeed is u def won't need to chg their diaper in the mid of the nite. (unless they poo poo) Hence u won't wake them up fully, result in they might stay awake after the nite feeding.

Pls give this method sometimes to work, like 1-2wks. There r other factors that BB wake up mre than once if
1) BB didn't hv enuff during the day.
2) BB slp too much during the day. (might mix up w day n nite)
3) u hv fully wake bb up during dreamfeeding. (hence didn't slp bk immediately after feeding)
4) BB didnt drink enuff during the dreamfeed. Eg usual intake is 120ml but oni drink 30ml)

Hope this method will benefit alot of mummies n babies.
If mummies hv tried dreamfeed b4, pls share w us ur method.

Liang2

The prob is my baby isnas usual.. Never cranky and stillnfeeding well... Maybe I will try calling the pd..sigh..
Headache..

All along dream feed as baby. Have notice his eyes are close. If dun fed him then he will open eyes big to wait.
Previously did change diaper but now I stop. I even fed him while he is still swaddle in. No interaction at all, did not even on the night light anymore. So far he can finish the amount given to him. Tried to give more but he refuse to drink. After feeding he will fall back to sleep without bruping. If there is burp, he will still goes back to sleep.

So not too sure to continue or not. During day time he will take about 100ml. If more he will vomit out. The timing difference between fed is 2.5-3hrs apart. Nap wise he dun sleep much too coz easily jump up by himself. Total sleep time per day around 14hrs nia.

Check with PD he say if bb dun sleep we can't force mah. So Bo pian lor.

YHO,

I am using medela freestyle. Only one model. I would recommend it especially if you intend to continue pumping when return to work coz it is very light weight and easy to carry ard. Since I am alone at home with baby most of the time I would use the handsfree and attempt to do some housework during pump. BUT one draw back is the if you intend to do major pumping, eg exclusive pumping it is quite a hassle to charge the battery.during which you can't pump

Ginger: oh how long does the battery take to charge? U mean during charging, cannot use the pump? Can connect to power source?