(2012/05) May 2012

Vanilla, I aso saw one spree at SMHF going at $480.. u can do a search. But of cos if got lobang at $420.. better la.

I'm now searching for wallpaper or wallcolors for the baby's nursery room. Any lobang for nice baby wall decals?

Hello mummies, it's Friday, and I'm sure everyone is so-looking forward to the weekend!

Hubby is going on reservist for the next 2 weeks! hohoho... I'm gonna have a tough life!

Re: breastfeeding
I b/f my son till 29 months! Finally gave up a day before valentine's day! hahaha. I TOTALLY agree with FieDa. If you buy pump before baby is born (especially if you spent few hundred dollars on it!!!), you prob already have the mindset of winning the breastfeeding battle! Therfore, I still encourage mummies to buy a set before the child is born. What if, for certain circumstances, you couldn't latch on the baby after delivery (can be baby got very serious jaundice, needs to be hospitalised, etc etc.. touch wood of cos), then at least you still have the pump to establish your supply!

Also, mummies going back to work after maternity, if you wait till 3 or 4 months after delivery then you start to buy a pump (for work), then it'll be too late, cos your baby will be so used to latching on, and will not want bottle fed anymore! So it's best to start expressing and giving it in bottles after 2 months. Of cos, I liked the convenience of latching on, no need to wash bottles/pump, no need for sterlising, etc etc!!

Spicegal, to achieve a letdown, try stimulating your nipples with your palm. Open your palm, move in circular direction, the center of your palm touching your nipples, and stimulating it. I find this way easy to achieve a letdown! Can have a letdown couple of times during a pump session. hahaha..

So much about breastfeeding, I find that it's the most difficult task when we have baby! I guess that's why not everyone will be successful in breastfeeding. Alot of pple gave up half way, cos I felt that the mindset is not strong enough....

Nevertheless, there's nothing wrong with milk powder too! Babies grew up healthy and strong on milk powder too...

KRC, 29 months!! RESPECT~~~ Are you sahm?

Breastfeeding was really painful for me. It took me few months before the pain is gone. I'm so afraid it will be painful this time round. The fear is there. Imagine everytime i latch, i cringe my feet! Boohoo!

KRC, thanks for the tips! I will definitely try to breastfeed my 3rd baby, therefore decided to invest in a breastpump even though this will be my last kid. Failed miserably during my 1st 2 tries due to bleeding during pumping and not achieving the letdown. Will also be buying supplements like fenugeek to help improve my milk flow. Lets all 'jiayou' together!!

Fieda, i read that if you experience pain during breastfeeding then most likely the latch position is wrong. If the latch is correct, you will not feel any pain. Mummies who latch, please correct me if i am wrong.

FieDa, no, I'm a FTWM. Went back to work after 4 months of maternity. But I failed in getting my son used to bottle feed, infant care center had a tough life feeding expressed milk to my baby! And after 1 year, I failed to get him to like any formula, hence my breastfeeding journey was extended till 29months. Now, at the age of 3, he doesn't drink any formula at all.
So i do worry about his calcium intake.

I had the same common issues.. cringe my feet, clutch my hand when I latch my baby. Sore nipples (Lasinoh is the best!!), block ducts, engoregment, fever, etc etc. Not an easy journey definitely.

Spicegal, I also took fenugeek! Anything that helps with breastfeeding! hahaha.

spicegal, i checked and double checked with LC. It's not the latching! It's my tender fragile nipples with a baby boy with great sucking power! if my gynae tell me, it's a lie when ppl say bfing is painless ahhaha!

KRC, i nv let my boy drink formula milk too. After he stop bfing, i gave me full cream fresh milk. He's going to be two now, and still doing well with fresh milk. Formula milk is too horrendously sweet! My sore nipples were unforgetable. I rem even after latch i still pump to empty my breast... my husband woke up and find me crying with the pump. Gave him a fright of his life that he wanna me to drop bfing.

But it's worth the effort! =)

KRC,

Ya I face all those that you did too.
Its not an ez journey but I feel its all worth it.
And i find BF helps me lose all the weight too while i still eat regularly.
Put on the weight after i stop

Dolce, i also put on after i stop! Boohoo!! I managed to get back my pre preg weight with bfing... n it's all goneeeeeeee....

KRC, FieDa, all bf mummies: Kudos to all of you! Really need to have alot of support to encourage each other throughout this bf journey!

FieDa: what type of full cream milk did you feed him? Im also thinking of introducing cream milk to my #1 but not sure if it's too early? She's turning 17mths in a few days time. Anyway, is the nutrition value same for cream milk vs FM?

Fieda, really!! Poor thing, ya breastfeeding is not an easy process and kudos to all of you who managed to pull through the initial tough period and persevere. I lack the determination maybe because I borrowed the pumps so it does not matter whether or not I managed to breastfeed. Thus I gave up quite easily when the milk did not come in and my baby starts to demand for more milk.

Hey gals, I'm busy today. Will post when I get home on the overseas spree. Pls note the price of medela freestyle or PISA is subjected to exchange rates. When I checked for a fren in April it was going for $420. Now with stronger USD, pls be prepared for it to be more ex. But in S'pore it is going at 1K so I think its damn worth it to buy it overseas lor.

I agree with KRC and Fieda that u shd get ur pump BEFORE baby comes. Cos it makes u wanna use it and be successful in bf-ing so not to waste money.
I can post on and on abt bf-ing and I really feel there's no such thing is not enough milk. It is how determined u are to succeed that is the important tipping factor. If u are not determined, then sure will give up and say things like not enough milk.

KRC, I got very bad block ducts, fever and shivering too!! But it is completely worth it to suffer all these.

Gtg talk later.

FieDa, ya, I express 3 times in office! Each time is at least 30mins! haha.. Then when my son was 1, i reduced my pump to twice a day...

yup, agree that it's all worth it. Initially, I kind of missed the breastfeeding period!! Cos my son will come rushing to me, asking for milk milk! hahaha. When I stop breastfeeding, I salute my boy for his tolerance! He really CONTROLLED his urge for latching on for 1 week! Love him so very much!

Haha.. the pros and cons of breastfeeding.. and yes, you can eat a lot more, and still not gain weight! hahaa...

spicegal, you will succeed this time round!

Icez, i giving meiji full cream. I asked PD before, he said at this age milk is just supplement, the main nutrition should be from the daily solid meals they are taking.

I must say FM listed nutrition value is extremely attractive ba. But i don't like the sucrose content. Sugar decrease immunity! Many brands compete with each other by improving taste.

KRC, you really super leh! 3 x in office! When i drop to one pump a day.. i was like so happy! Life is so relaxing already. Your company very good hor? With this new job, i will need a super pump to extract efficiently!

piggywiggy, yup, totally agree with what you said. It's the determination power, and the support from your hubby (mil, parents, sibiling - all don't support, nevermind!). No such thing as no milk, big or small breast! It's the stimulation that baby is telling your body that he needs milk by latching on or expressing as many times during the day.

FieDa, ya, my work conditions are FANTASTIC! That's why it makes it very very difficult for me to quit my job!! (regardless of whether I'm looking for another job or I want to be a stay home mom!) Eg, for the next 2 weeks when hubby is on reservist, I'm working on 4 hours a day for 2 weeks. 1) Working from home, no need to go office. 2) spilt my hours from 10am-12pm, and from 3pm-5pm as work hours in order to adjust to my son's lifestyle, cos he goes to school in the morning, and nap in the afternoon. Superb right? Sigh.. can't find such good job elsewhere! So I count myself VERY LUCKY!

Icez, i warm it before serving. =)

KRC, i also hope to be SAHM! What job are you working as? Envy envy!

Piggywiggy, yea support fr hub very impt. My mil was the pro bf but my mum wasn't. Anyway i converted my mum n now she endorse for pro bf wahhaha

astrom i'm constantly here coz time passed so slow today!!!! My appt tom! I totally feel you! Am having my son's bdae celebration on sun too!

Fieda, wahh.. I hope i can be like you to be able to convert my mum's thinking.. seems like I'll have a very hard BF journey ahead...
will really need alot of support from hubby.

KRC, wah! Sounds like a perfect job for a mum! cool! ya lor good job hard to come by... really admire your persistentcy towards BF.. must look up to you! hehe! I hope i can do a good job this time.

Tute, Thanks alot for all the infos.

Oh yes! Happiness to max! leaving soon! today my last day at work.. going back to be a SAHM starting tml... It's just so diff being a FTWM and a SAHM.. I think i'll miss working really soon..

micteo, envy you!! Conversion involves alot of proofs! Haha bm can simply prove it! haha then give credit to her for suceeding haha

Fieda, thanks!!

KRC, wah envy your job...dun quit!! haha

micteo, congrats on being a SAHM, I also feel like quitting but financially not able to now....

Quite busy these few days plus my office comp conked out on me so I am like hopping around borrowing other people's comps.

Re: Breastfeeding
I am one of those that will also tell you that true "no milk" or "not enough milk" cases are very very rare. Most of the time, I will say its "lazy mum". If you want your uninterrupted sleep, if you don't put in the effort, you won't have enough milk.

The pump makes a world of difference too. I know friends who were worried they don't have enough milk so start with manual pump. When they converted to a good dual pump (like PISA or Freestyle or Avent), they felt world of the difference. My trusty freestyle helped me to BF my #1 for 15 mths (stopping only coz I was spotting whilst carrying #2) and about a year for #2 (stopping coz I did not have time to pump due to work committments).

I am 1 of those unlucky ones that face almost all the problems related to breastfeeding - engorgement, frequent blocked ducts and blisters. I encountered them so much that I became a regular visitor to the Lactation consultants in KK, and also learnt so much about BF and the possible problems that I could troubleshoot for friends. Nevertheless, breastfeeding is really worth it - benefits to my kids are really visible and I will ask everyone to try their best to BF their kids. If you all need advice, help, feel free to ask and those of us who have BF our older kids will definitely be willing to help you.

Here u go gals.. Leng Leng has been doing this for a very very long time. trustworthy person to get it from.. Think from her thread, seems like PISA is abt $420 and Freestyle abt $458. i think i got a few frens that got it from her too.

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/590029/3147559.html?1319596011

Seems like we are talking abt bf-ing today.. Seriously, u and ur hb need to think carefully abt this, if he is pro-bf-ing or not, if he can tahan the baby crying and if he can defend u from the stupid comments made by those aunties/ MILs/ Mothers. this gotta be something both of u agree upon.. also when to stop bf-ing etc.. to me, ur self determination is slightly (very slightly) more impt that hb's support. cos u are the one giving the milk. if u dun have the determination then however much support ur hb gives, it won't be enough.

Agree with the 2nd/3rd time mommies that its not the size of the boobs that determines milk.. its how often u latch/pump/ empty ur boobs. bf-ing was the toughest thing i did in my life. most of my frens wondered why i was torturing myself cos i was studying and working full time. i rem once i had a one week module to take. lessons were from 8.30-6pm. i had to pump twice during that time and also in the middle of the night. my exam was end of the week and i was studying with medical doctors that were already practising for 4-5 yrs.. was really crazy!! but still i continued to bf-ed.. i would have continued if not that i had to finish my PhD.. haizzz... but what i think is that if I can do it, ALL of u here can do it. U just need self belief and more importantly determination!! just so that to help u guys along, here are some tips:

1) don't buy a tin of FM to standby before baby arrives..
2) get a breastpump, a good model, so that u will have the determination to bf. make sure u get the correct pump parts (like funnel sizes or hands free sets) to ease the chore of pumping for urself.
3) tell urself u have no time for urself nor do u own ur boobs. feeding 1.5-2 hrly is NORMAL
4) buy some breastfeeding books or borrow it from the library and read. expect things like babies do cry more often than we think and sleep is a LUXURY.
5) buy milk boosters like fenugreek and milk teas. Make sure u take them regularly. Up to 9 caps of fenugreek a day.

6) seek help from lactation consultants for bf-ing prob.. be it latching or pumping. pumping is not just slapping the pump to ur boobs and expect the milk to come out. there is a technique too. of cos visits to LCs are expensive too. :p

That's all I can think now.. haha.. i used to have a few close mommies frens whom i will sms in the middle of the night when i m pumping to ease boredom and they will be up pumping too.. helps to have a support group!

Hi mommies.... Been a long while again...

Re breastfeed.. Wow, really kudos to all the mommies that can bf for so long... ESP krc.. 29 months?!?!!!! I really hope I have the determination to bf for as long as I can.. Must read up a bit.. But I really appreciate the pointers u ladies give here.. Thanks!!

Re gynae.. I just sw my gynae yday.. And beanie was sleeping wen gynae scan.. N gynae told beanie to wake up n he/ she woke up, fiddle ard, turned ard for us to see... So happy to see my beanie moving ard.. Beanie is about 5.24cm nw and I'm 12 wks today!!! Edd is also earlier...

Re CL.. I'm actually waiting for the first tri to be over so that I can Ask my frens for their CL.. Seeing u all say all fully book makes me worried tat I can't find one...

Anyway, the wkend is here ladies... Enjoy!!!!

KRC, wow admire your perseverance! Actually it's very important to have a supportive work environment. For us, we have to pump in the toilet and free time is erratic, hard to keep up with BF. But I will try to last longer than 4 months for my #2 lol!

Mummies who are interested in getting a breast pump can consider Ameda too. Cost $300end, can get from Robinsons. The con is the parts are hard to find in SG so you've to order from sprees or direct from US. It worked for me, and is quieter than Medela. Hence when I woke up at 4am to pump on the bed, my hubby was still snoring away lol. Managed to stock up 200plus packs of BM at 4 months so my girl had her supply till 6 months. Yeah I agree, must be conscientious when pumping!

micteo, wow big sacrifice! Just curious, why didnt you consider getting maternity leave benefits first before resigning? For me I can't tahan being SAHM cos dun really enjoy the child rearing duties except playing with my girl lol. Luckily I've this family maid for 8 years and she is really good else also can't work in peace. Enjoy your SAHM new lifestyle.

Confinement Lady

Any mummies planning to get from agencies? I got mine from PEM the last time round and the auntie was good, we were lucky to get a good one cos very blur with #1. So think I'll be getting from them again this time round...

hi mommies!!
seems like everyone's talking abt bfeeding!i bfed my lil boy till he hit 1 exactly n i agree with piggy wiggy on all pointers

bfed while jugglin work &studying was crazy!sometime i was just doing it out of routine, don't think anymore.

the most impt point is to be dammmmm sure that u wanna do this, for baby and yourself, the bond between child-mother is GREAT!try latching on first, only if baby can't latch on n feed well then exclusive pump.bcos i realise pumping milk doesn't clear the milk ducts as well as the baby,i went to LC X2 to clear , and even suffered fr mastitis!BUT no regrets at all
the ability to provide my child with his needs was the main driving factor.
support from hubby,friends and any colleagues who are pumping too helps a lot!
i got myself an avent electric single, should have got DUO bcos duo saves a hell lot of time pumping especially when u can pump 800ml at wrk everyday!i donated milk to mummies at my wrk place who got not enough milk and wanted exclusive bmilk.err...spare milk can use to wash hands? i didn't wanna drink my own milk.

1. pre-buy the pump, regardgless of which brand, just get a reliable good one that has service and spare parts available!
2.prepare your mindset for the challenge and joy ahead
3. mummy must eat well so that bmilk is of good, high calcium, high nutrition value

Astro:what accreditation r u going????JAI YOU!!!we are all iron lady adey, juggling so many darn balls

crystalline:aiyo,pump in toilet not v hygienic leh, possivle to ask the office for a spare room at least?

piggy: is your vommitting subsiding?hope so!

my no.1 has been on ventolin pump on 4 hourly cycle since coming home to KKH, thank God he has been making steady progress to recovery
thanks for all your concerns!!!meanwhile, i'm down with sorethroat n sever headache.....still gotta wrk on the thesis...headache even more.
my next appt is 11 nov....soooo long.. the last time was 14th oct,ARGHHH!!!getting impaitient

Crystalline, I just got a fren who bought Ameda and used less than 3 wks when the pump broke down. I also got another fren who used Ameda that had it broke down on her when her kiddo was abt 7-8 mths old. In the end she bought a freestyle. Seriously for a $150 difference I would go for a freestyle cos the spare parts are so much easier to get here.

How did u pump in the loo? did u use battery pack? For me I didnt. I lugged my adapter + PISA + ice pack + 4 bottles and 2 funnels everywhere I went!! For me I pumped in my Prof's office. Hahahah.

Esther, awww poor thing u. Pls take care!! Gd to hear that #1 is recovering!! I agree it's crazy to study and work full time but I have no choice. I forfeited my 4th mth of maternity so I can finish earlier. How long have u been doing ur thesis? Almost to the end? I also gave my milk away to other mommies and I think I threw away abt 40+L and use 6L to bath my son. Gdness, the loo stank aft the milk bath!! I agree abt latching the baby first though I was unsuccessful. I gave up latching at Day 5 and exclusively pumped all the way till 14 mths.

Thanks for ur concern. I just puked out white foamy stuff, which I consider as an improvement!! At least dinner didnt come out! My next appt is 22nd nov lor. But the gd thing is that I have booked my detailed scan!!

esther, hope your boy gets well soon! no spare room leh sighs... Yeah it's very unhygenic that's one main reason why I didn't want to continue to pump when I went back to work.

piggy, I do find Ameda more flimsy and luckily it didn't break down! Keeping my fingers crossed this time round, I hope it works well cos it has been stored in the cupboard for more than 2 years lol. We take out the plug for the hand dryer when we pump, poor thing right?!

Feida, spicegal, Crystalline.. I've been a SAHM since I was preggy with #1, recently tot of going back to work but not sure if I could commit to a long term job.. So I took up a temp assignment.. Now tat the contact ended , and preggy with #2, Bo Bian don think can look for job now. Anyway I'm happy to be able to play with my girl and start teaching her some basic stuff back home... (she's been living like a princess at my mum's place.. Tsk tsk tsk)

<font color="ff0000">Hi Mummies, I got this as a gift , its brand new and sealed, retailing at Kiddy Palace for $59.90 and I let go at $40 Pl pm me if you keen ;)</font>

6225322.jpg

6225323.jpg

6225324.jpg

Brand new Singapore set medela swing pump with warranty. Selling $250. MSG 96922155 to deal. Giving up as it is a gift from friends. Unused and unopened.

Morning mommies!
Another lazy weekend for me. Was just feeling lethargic and also had sore throat and cough. What medi did u girls take? I am trying not to eat any med but then the cough is now bad at night.

I have also recently been vomitting more than just gagging air / puking acidic gastric juice. Cant wait for second trimester!

Re: Breastfeeding
For those who had bf before, did u all take the usual pig trotters with ginger type of food during confinement? Worry ginger too harsh for bb.

(soon to be Dr) esther: it was a professional accrediation in training.

hey.. hmm.. can i say something abt bf-ing ah? :p
i think while it is gd.. and shd be encouraged.. let's not be too disturbed if we can't bf.. for whatever reason.. and everyone's reason is valid in its own way..
i remembered i felt sooo guilty abt not being able to bf my older son.. and it didn't help that the circle around me was bf-ing nazis :p.. it made me felt quite bad til i had post natel blues.. not just bfing but a couple of other issues.. i had to walk out of this myself.. and i didnt really enjoy my elder son when he was younger due to all this experience.. i managed to bf bally the second time round thru sheer determination.. and coz.. ya. i already bought the freestyle then! ha.. so my hb is like.. ' no giving up this time?'..lol...

and bf-ing has it whole series of issues.. not just blocked ducts.. but refusal of fm/bottles.. which is very traumautising for parents and bbs alike.. coz bbs.. notti bbs.. would prefer the breast and this can be of great inconvenience to working mothers.. and a big comitteement to keep latching the child.. and also latching to sleep.. my hb.. haha. lazy man. said. 'no wonder bottles and FM are considered a great invention'.. lol..

just thought while we revved up to try our very best to bf.. dun be overtly discouraged if u can't.. i think most of us aren't bf as a kid.. right?

just my two cents worth..

Yip: my gynae prescribed me Rhinithol (something) .. i forgot the spelling.. it is on sale at the pharmacy.. the yellow colour box.. u might want to consider.. cough is a prolonged affair during preg...

Good Morning mommies... it has been a long time since i drop by... i m still having terrible MS... so no mood to do anything.... yawnz so sleepy also..

Re: Breastfeeding...
Sounds scary lor...wow u all on this topics so fast... i m a first time mom so not sure if i can motivate to BF cos i m damn scared of pain also... my family call mi "TOFU" hahahah After seeing ur conversation on buying the electric pump ... if it true that buy from USA is cheaper? Cos my younger sis is there... maybe can get her to buy for mi... any1 know if shipping back is expensive? haha

now my concern is to buy bb cot or buy playpen.. ahahha so bo liao rite?

Serious morning sickness- I got over it by taking antacid, helps in controlling stomach acid. Shortly after taking, sensitivity of puking under control. The name of the brand is aromag. U can goggle it first.

Fifi: which LC did you visit at KKH? I think i might need to seek their advice soon after I gave birth.. Really hope this time round will be successful..

Lyn: Since this is your #1, i would suggest you get a bbcot instead of a playpen. At least BBcot can last you longer . Like what micteo says, get one which allows you to convert to a toddler bed.

Morning mummies! Saw my beanie on Sat.. Saw beanie swimming and waving to us! Haha! So cute! And gynae moved my edd to 20 May... Which makes me 11w1d!!! Yeah! Going for Oscar test in 2weeks time @TMC... (10Nov) anyone going on this date too? It was all fully booked was told to go at 8:30am to wait for slot to jump Q in the case tat anyone is late for their appt. Abit worry cos not sure if they will do the scan in a hurry or something since their schedule so tight.. :/

Morning all, I am zombie at work today, my young one was down with stomach flu and high fever since Thu till now, have'nt been sleeping well at night cos she will toss and turn in her sleep and I have to be vigilent to get up and give her the pail in case she wanna vomit...haiz...very tiring weekend...

micteo, dun think they will be slipshod in their scan, packed schedule usually means longer waiting time...;p

Gd morning mummies..

Yip: can try taking honey..those with umf 15 should work..nowadays I can't take coffee or tea I drink honey for some taste..cos I'm also quite sick of Milo n milk..for cough u need to spit out the phelgm..

Yip, hope u r getting better le.. speedy recovery... =D

micteo, yes.. i agree.. i wanna buy tat kinda bb cot too.. haa.,..

haa.. so excited... going to see my beanie on 3 more days.. keke... see twice somemore.. going for oscar scan too!! haa... =D