(2012/05) May 2012

hello ladies!

re: bf i was using medela PIS back then. i have recommended this to many of my gfs and i think everyone like it. or at least, no complains. i tink its impt to get a good pump. at least its a good head start for ur bf journey.

for me, i bf my #1 till she's 8mths old. wanted very much to con'd cos my ex workplace is fantastic! we have a fully equip nursing room with 5 individual rooms, hot water dispenser, wash area, fridge and even pipe in music. haa... only thing is u have to find time to go pump la. but for me, its okay cos coy issue me laptop and blackberry, so i can still work while pumping.

reason y i stop bf is bcos I went for holiday in hokkaido w/o bb. boo! it was really painful - physically and emotionally. physically, cos i shld have stop it gradually and not so aruptly. also i feel gulity for my girl cos she prefer bm and keep rejecting fm back then. i shld have bring my pump to hokkaido and keep my supply! silly me!

re: playpen/cot
okay, another silly thing i did when having #1 was to buy a playpen instead of cot. do u know tat the playpen can only tahan a certain weight and once the bb got heavier, it will start to sunk in the centre? sleeping in a sunken bed is not very good for ur bb back. so when my #1 is 3 months old, we buy a cot. wasting $$ isnt? use for 3 mths then ultimately still have to buy a cot. boo!

haiz... just sharing my silly experiences here.

just to add on. if u are looking for a proper bb bed, go for cot.
if u are looking for a temp bb bed, then go for playpen. a playpen is good for traveling, or when bb is bigger, u can put he or she inside to play in the playpen.

Hi dolcevita,
yes, nice to see you online.
how are you and your gal ? My gal attended her first day in school today.

qinyi,
you bf for 8 months, that's very good already. i think being first time mums, we all have our funny experiences.

hello.. How's everyone today? Was busy all day only hv time to login now... Phew... Was cleaning the whole house... To my horror it's super dusty even though my Part-time help just came over to clean on Sunday!! Tsk tsk tsk!

Geraldine, Fieda, ya I had the same feeling too... Looks like this baby is bigger den #1, even gynae is suprise.. Haha... He even question himself if he measured wrongly the last time we came.. :p

My mum kept saying tat #2 baby tense to be bigger... Is it true mommies of #3 or #4?

Qinyi, wow, ur work place sure very pro bf! Tats so nice!

Meeting up sounds fantastic! Heheh!

Ya lor.. A lot silly experiences and spend silly money on silly things too.. Hahah! But... Tats all fun right!

Congrtas Joeey welcome!

hello mummies, i've been an inactive reader on this thread. am expecting #2 and edd is 14 may

i was reading that some of u are thinking of buying the medela pumps from usa. no doubt much cheaper but wanna share my experience with u so that u can make an informed choice.

after buying, i had to buy a converter in singapore to step up/down (i cant rem) the voltage to fit singapore's power supply. and when it's faulty (my adaptor went ka-put after 6 mths and i had to use the battery pack as power supply and spent almost $100 on rechargeable batteries) the usa warranty is not valid in sg. there was also a contact prob with my set and it couldnt work properly. i brought it to the service centre here and they considered it a parallel imported set so warranty is void even though my set is <1yr old. each repair costs $100 and comea with 3 mth local warranty. now totally kaput already only choice is to replace the "motherboard" fpr $300 unless i buy a new set.

maybe i was unlucky with my set, but wanna share this with u so u can weigh the pros and cons!

cant wait for second tri to start!!!

re breast pump:
I've been using the medela double pump for my #1 but didn't thought that would have #2 thus gave away that. Was at KKH the other day &amp; the promoter was testing the Pigeon Silent Electric Breast Pump &amp; its really very quiet as compared to medela. Anyone have used the Pigeon one? Is it good? Now thinking which one should i buy, but the Pigeon one is only single pump...

Hi smak,
thanks for sharing your experience. i gave away my PIS pumps, and am thinking of getting a new one, shall take into consideration your views.

Hi micteo,
I think boys tend to be bigger ? My #2 is a gal and she's born smaller than #1, boy. For #2, our tummies will be more obvious at a earlier stage. What about other mummies of #3 or #4 ?

Hiyo!! Busy busy busy. How's everybody??

Re: bigger #2
my #2 also measured bigger. At 11 wks 5 days my #1 was 5.23cm long. But #2 was 5.7cm. Hehehe. My first is a boy though. :p I guess every baby is different.

Smak, did u use the medela converter or just off the shelf type? Cos I got the medela one and there were no prob. I did hear of the same prob with mommies using other types of converters leh.

Ooh baby is kicking!!

U feel baby kicking?! OMGOSH!

I just had a bad afternoon. Slept in office!
Tummy was screaming tight but yet, hungry! TMD..

Wonder what it is trying to do... =(

I think i will resign to fate that i need to take medicine already. nose dripping, coughing.. grrr.

Lyn,
Your edd very close to mine haha... my first scan shows 01/06 and last scan shows 31/05 so probably roughly there..
Wasn't sure really if I should join May/Jun thread... :p

micteo,
Not sure if baby is bigger for #2, but my sis say for her the tummy gets bigger faster for #2 as opposed to #1.

icez,
thanks - what's obimin btw? is that a multivit? my next appt is for Oscars so I guess i'll check with her then.

Re: 2nd time mummies,
Seems like there are more 2nd (or #3rd and more) mummies here

Can I ask if anyone has started a list of mummies that are in this thread? Usual info like nick, edd, gynae info etc? So far I have not seen one
Thanks !

Yip if u are really feeling bad, see a doc. There are meds we can take, even antibiotics that is safe for pregnant women. Don't self medicate. See a doc, get some rest and soon u will be feeling fine. Get better soon.

Ya I can feel my baby kicking or squirming.
gave me a big kick this morning while I was driving to work.

piggy, u can feel bb kicking so fast meh?? wah... envy envy... sometimes i felt my lower tummy got movement but i jus thk it is bowel movement ba.. haa..

I'm 1st time mummies!! =D

micteo,
yes, pro bf coy.

piggy,
u feel baby kicking!! tats very early! u must be very sensitive. for me, i couldnt def out btw gases and kicks. haa!

the only part i like abt being preggy is to be able to feel bb kicking inside. amazing feeling... i m waiting for bb to grow bigger to feel the kicks

Tute, we have a list. Let me dig it out and post it. Might wanna do another one with hps in it so that if a mommy MIA we can text to make sure they are all right. Also contact numbers are gd when we have gatherings. Easier to contact.

Vanilla, qinyi, yeah I told u guys I can feel something when I was abt 11 wks along mah. This few days the movements are more pronounced lor. Some 2nd and 3rd times mommies can feel fetal quickening too. Yes I'm very sensitive. Was telling Babypom I can feel Braxton hicks at 19 wks for my #1.

piggy! wow!!! envy! Ok I must start to observe and see if I can feel anything too =)

toot, there's already a list, but its lost somewhere in the earlier threads haha... see who have the patience to sieve thru..

Joeey,

Hw was it ? Did she manage to adapt well ?
My girl will be starting sch next mon and I think i am more panicky and anxious than her.

piggy,
ya, braxton hicks can be felt pretty early for some pple. i remember feeling it ard the period of my detail scan for #1. so shld be ard 20wks too.

Re: bb movement,

I thk if we are 1st time mummies, difficult to differentiate whether is it bb kick or gas or bowel movements...

ESP, my tummy so thick... haa.. doubt i can feel any... lol... =D

phew, been so busy recently, finally have a chance to drop by to say hi to all comrades! Hope everyone is doing well as most of us advanced into 2nd trimester. Happy for those who are alr in 2nd trimester and even went for the OSCAR scan! Envy!

Tute, my EDD is same as you! haha.. initially was 29 May, but got pushed to 31 May. So jia you! today is 9w5d, coming to double digit soon!
Was wondering if its normal not to have cramps now? I dont have my initial mild crampy feelings alr. Think its ok, but just kiasu wanna ask only

hi mommmies!
been so bz @ wrk can't seem to find time log in, waaaa!!thread moves so fast

piggy:u felt braxton hicks at wk 19?!!!n kicks now!!!so early!i dun think i can feel anything except gas?bowel movement?

Toot:the list is somewhere ...way behind,oops, someone has it?

i felt a big movement last nite too! bent down to carry #1 and felt a big gulu-gulu like rubbing against smethd solid inside my tummy. was a little worried that i squashed the bb!

must share a funny incident with u all. last week i felt pain in my pelvis region so much so i couldnt stand nor walk w/o feeling the pain so imm went to book appointment ti see gynae. then before i went to see him i went to toilet to do big biz and phew pain was gone! haha.. so in case u feel the same thing as i did, maybe can try gg to the toilet first ;)

ps any mummies feel pain in the bum? i hv been feeling this strain for weeks now.. like i injured one of the veins or smethg.. smetimes must limp limp abit.. cant wait to pass 4 mths can do massage!

Hi Smaks, ya... I'm tempted to buy the breast pump from overseas spree cos it's so much cheaper retail price for Freestyle is $800+ lei... So ex! Im also worry if the convertor will really work.. And even if it works, not sure if the pump will last.. Thanks for pointing out on tat... Gotta think twice...

Piggy... If use Medela's convertor won't hv prob?!
Seriously! Tat's so cool! Pls say hi to ur baby for me! Haha! Can't wait for mine lei... Even though it's #2, it's still pretty exciting! Hahah!

Tummy Showing.... Ya!!! Seems like my tummy is getting more obvious lei!

Astro... Ur boy super sexy can.... Weeeweeet!

Smak, I noe! I just had it this morning! I was thinking was si Liao, why so pain... Den I remember I haven poo for a few days... After I do my business the pain is gone! Haha! So the pain is to hint or remind us to go do our business! :p

ak,
*high five* yeah, counting down to week 12 now. I cannot wait to finally announce that I'm expecting

re:list
i scan through from beginning to Sep 20 archive cannot find the list... maybe it's in fb? Coz i remember someone mentioning about fb group? Maybe easier to start all over... hahaha.. lazy to go through the rest... :p

smak,
bum pain, i felt it last week! think over strain myself by walking around whole day... took me few days to recover, gotta put counterpain on my bum for 2 days before sleeping... finally recovered. i remember that i had this during late stage of preg for #1... this time it came very early

jus wanna ask those mummies who went for oscar de..

Will we be getting back any scans from e oscar or jus they scan and tell u everything alright?

Here u go:

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc?key=0AlkhAiLkfq55dG1pVmdKY3VVOFB0UVp5Wkc2NFJWcEE&amp;hl=en_US#gid=0

I think we need another one not online that has contact numbers.. haha.. just me thinking aloud. :p i m too busy to compile though.

Re: fetal quickening
U guys will all soon feel it. don't envy me! i have very sensitive uterus and tummy.. always in pain. :p not gd also.. sometimes i really do feel that i feel very stretch of the uterus cos i have this constant pulling feeling.

Vanilla, depends. my old gynae gave me back the blood test report. new gynae only showed it to me. both gave me a copy of baby's ultrasound.
as long no risk can liao.

Hi everyone, I'm a first time mum and it's great to know that there are so many May mummies, some are experienced who shared on breast feeding tips n which pump to buy, ms, what are some of the body changes and etc. Please keep the sharing flowing

I'm doing my OSCAR test on 14 Nov at TMC and I'm really looking forward to see my beanie with hubby. It's so exciting to hear mummies talking about how their beanies are growing, moving n saying hi.

I can help compile the contacts.

Kindly provide me with the following details. Don't post it here, email to my acc or PM me.. [email protected]

These details can be used for the meetup.. Trust me.. haa.. =D

Haa.. i guess my mail will be flooded... lol.. =D

Name:
Nick:
Email:
Reside:
EDD:

Oh ya... When i see the list jus now... We noe have 51 mummies who's bb will be due in MAY leh.. lol... 51!!! OMG!!! So many... haa... =D

thks for offering to compile vanilla! re the oscar scans i rem last time i get an a4 paper with all the scan diagrams to keep..one set for me one set for gynae.

micteo, hi^5!! yea, now i make it a point to poop everyday..

re medela pump converter, i got mine randomly cos till now i din noe that there's a medela one! maybr that will really help?

Ouch!!! I woke up w leg cramps!!

Smak, erm yeah there is a converter from medela. Fifi shipped it in for me for $40 I think.
Alternatively u can buy the freestyle. Apparently dun need converter for that model. I'm not sure, may be mommies using freestyle can share.

hullo all..
hur hur hur. my son's pic just for laughs. i got more.. coz the two bros are like clowns.. yesterday.. they took halves of this pink-green shape sorter (shaped like a ball kind).. then each put the half on their heads! the big bro took the pink half.. and Bally took the green half and monkey see monkey do!.. haha. but i wasn't quick enough to take photo.. coz after a whlie.. the Tornados removed their hats and went on to other parts of the house to do more damage!

i have the Free style.. brought from a spree.. dun need any converter leh..my engineering ah lao told me the voltage same as singapore one leh.. then two pins kind..

Astro, have u ever asked ur boys if they wan a Mei Mei or Di Di? Haa... I thk Jen they grow up if tis Is Mei Mei they sure dote and protect Mei Mei de lo...

That's y I wanna have boy first... Haa.. =D

Morning ladies.....
I have been feeling very terrible. All the hormones are making me emo one min, very angry the next min, happy the next min. Driving me crazy. Somemore now month end and payroll calculation &amp; uncooperative colleagues, I just feel like banging my head on my table.
Looking on the bright side, Im going to see bb this Friday. Looking forward to it!!!!
Got a que, anyone still lying on your tummy / front?

Chloie, sometimes I'll still 扒住 and play lappy.. Nv feel any discomfort.. But of e time I'm sitting on bed wif my back on e wall and play lappy..

Ohhh I'm afraid to 扒住.. even though sometimes I wanted to cos its comfortable.. so got to Ren and not 扒住 ..

Ayana.. Why.. Actually I Dun feel comfortable leh.. I mean compare wif sitting I prefer sitting.. But 扒住 I cannot tahan long de.. Like 10-15 mins den my neck starts to get tired.. Den I sit up le.. I cannot understand how pple can 扒住 and play games for hours.. Lol..

OOH! Cos I like to sleep on my sides. So when I am on my side, half of my tum will be squeezed. I was thinking bb should be ok lah, Still got another side for bb to swim ard. But I'm scare that cos of gravity, bb will slide down to the side where I am lying on. Abit confusing hor. Think no problem bah... Very soon we wont be able to even lie on our tum tum liao.

Went for gynae visit at week 13 and bb is 6.8cm!
Gynae says she can see something in between the legs so she guess it might be a boy! It is our first child so actually we wont mind gal or boy...

BB is very cute, moves around and doc said they can sense we are looking at them..but somehow I feel the bb is congested in the small space! haa...

I always sleep on my back but now after having bb, sleeping on my side feels very comfortable, and always, the moment I close my eyes, I fall asleep immediately till morning!

Re: breast pump
I wanted to buy the freestyle too, heard it is good but I am apprehensive about buying from US..tot should buy from local better..

Vanilia, no la.. cos I'm worried that if I lie on my stomach, I will squash the waterbag ahhaah ... just kiasi mentality only.

Chloie, ya I also sleep on my sides. But my reason is if I sleep on my back, my back will feel achy sometimes.

littledotty, 6.8cm already...our beanies are really growing well haha.. My visit on week 11+ shows my beanie at 5cm. I also feel that bb is congested in the small space! Gynae say the waterbag will grow with the bb though heh..

I have reading the forum for quite some time and i decided to join in the discussions
It has been very informative reading so far...

I should be in 10w1d and my EDD is 29 May
nice knowing you gals

Vanilla,

Ive just pm you my particulars.
Thanks once again =)

Seeing that some of you compare the scan with #1. And I realise I seem to have lost the whole envelop which contains the scans/receipts etc for #1 while moving house. So sad....
Must try to put in more effort to turn the house ard to dig that out, dont think I would have thrown that away bah...=(