(2012/04) Apr 2012

Pinkbunny - ya I have it thru'out the whole labour, lik having fit non-stop, although no more pain but its not a peaceful process for me. Yes must get your hb buy a few more. Usually I will buy a few and keep so don't have to make so many trips, I bought mine from ntuc, sometimes they got promotion like 3 for $2.95

Haru - pinkbunny's suggestion sounds good, get a part time cleaner, they can come twice a week to clean up your house, it will be good for your baby and you since you are not suppose to touch water and do housechores. Must rest!!!

Desperatemum - I think by walking more help in a faster labour not giving birth early, support you to walk more but don't overdo it.

Chalis - good good, have a smooth delivery. Update us soon

Mummies - my mum was asking me yesterday why I haven give birth, then she say on April fool day 1st apr, send msg to people say I have given birth, then tell them is April Fool!!! Keke evil hor

Chalis - I think no mum wants her baby to be borned on 1st Apr ba...

Yes few more hours n we r all going to be official Apr mummies!
Yesterday see gyne n she said bb not engaged yet so she dun tink i'm popping anytime. Will do ve for me next visit when i'm turning 38 weeks!
Now my mum is so upset! She been telling everyone my grandson coming out end mar as she heard so many ppl popping 2-3 wks earlier, lol now keep talking to my tummy, why u dun come out? Ah ma wan carry u leh -_-///

Desperatemum, DO NOT WALK too much, walking may trigger contraction that in turn may trigger early labour.

I just turned 36weeks. Thur, I've a false alarm contraction that sent me to the delivery ward! Gynae said he is still comfy in me, no sign of coming out yet, was given 1 weeks mc to rest at home for whole of next week and medication to calm the contraction.

You may start to walk more after 37weeks aka full term if you wish to deliver earlier.

It's going to be April tomorrow! Wheee...

Hmm...i am currently 39 weeks 2 days and used to walk a lot(including climb stairs 6x a day cos i don't live lift level) but still no signs of labour. So i give up! It's too painful to walk now anyway. :p

Other than the hospital bag, i have also trimmed my nails super short, shaped my eyebrows, spring cleaned the house, changed bedsheets and curtains, prepare baby stuff eg. fixed up cot mobile, standby cot bedding, wet wipes and diapers etc and planning to go for hair cut again tomorrow! Did i miss out anything?

lovexuan,
wow u still planning to go for a haircut? i will leave that till after delivery. i was planning to get a pedi done last week. in e end i just did a express pedi and buff nails. no polish done. will leave that for after delivery too. =P

wah lovexuan has been super busy wor!
bedsheets: hubby will change one more time just before i get discharged

high five my no-lift kaki!

meinme
high five, my staycation friend! haha

I leave all the house work to my hubby! Just like pinkbunny, will get hubby to change the bedsheet b4 i return back. Will b going over to my mum's place for confinement. Also prepared a list of to-do list for hubby when i m not ard....

haru, i was thinking of cutting after delivery but wonder if i have time for it! Haha.. I just had it cut last month but the preggy hormones made it grow so fast that my fringe is touching my eyes again and i can't stand it. :p Is it normal for our hair to grow at such a super duper rate?

pinkbunny, yup planning to change the bedsheets again before i discharge from hospital! I even bought a set of brand new bedsheets for my girl so she can have the same cute yellow bedsheets as the baby. Haha

silvery gal, hahaha.. To do list! Hubby will not be staying with you during confinement period?

Think i am one super fussy preggy woman. I used to leave all the housework to hubby but ever since i hit 2nd trimester, i became soooooo fussy. Kept thinking it's not clean enough and in the end i rather do it myself! :p

hey mummies
those who have ordered confinement food, can you share on how much you pay for 2 meals/28 days? i'm wondering how much i should give my neighbour (who is doing the marketing and cooking for me during my confinement) in her angpow!

lovexuan
mine is not growing faster than usual, but it seems to be more unruly than usual!

pinkbunny, tell me about it! I get bad hair day everyday...

As for the confinement meals, i'm not sure if you can give hongbao accordingly to those confinement tingkat cos imo it's super ex! Like $1600 for 2x 28 days. But i still took down a few for standby in case hubby cannot cope. You have such a nice neighbour! Lucky you!!

Meinme,

Thanks. I thought 36 weeks is already safe? I walked and carry heavy stuffs too but nothing happened so far. I dont mind early labor cos really lazy to go to work now but cant start leave cos i can only take 2.5 months. Another reason i dont want to wait is my bb is kind of big size, almost 2.9 kg when 35 weeks. My gynea said he is not going to induce bcos may hv complications but bcos of my size, i may hv to go thru c section if bb too big. Thats why i thought come out earlier better.

Lovexuan, pinkbunny,
Talking abt hair cut. I used to hv nice and long hair and i managed to keep it until reach 30 weeks. Then cannot tahan anymore. Hot weather, preg hormones, cant bend to wash hair, all killing me. So i went to cut it v short. Reached home hubby couldnt stop laughing when he saw me, then he said look really aunty and he even took out picture of me he took few days b4 that and said see how nice it was grrr... Cos i got curly hair, now cant rebond and when it is short its really out of shape. But nvm, the rewards is now only take 3 mins to wash hair and less hot loh...

Lovexuan, i think you will be the next one to pop. Do update us k?

Haha I wanted go cut hair on the day I had spotting! But in e end never go. Now regret Liao, can only cut after confinement!

Btw, where are u ladies gonna order full month cakes from?

Also, any reccomendation on tummy binder? My tummy still so flabby after 6 days of massage and binding.. Boohoo!!

lovexuan- ya hubby wont b staying with me cos he feel weird to b staying at a hse full of women! Only male is my dad.

Desperatemum- wow what a great courage to cut it short. As for me, i cut away my long hair but still keep it at shoulder length so that i can still tiedit up. Me also have natural curl so cannot imagine cutting it short w/o rebonding! But everyday i will straighten my hair, esp fringe.

Cayden's Mummy- i will b ordering from Swissbake. Cos me n hubby prefer w/o red eggs n ang ku kueh.

Cayden's mummy,
you just delivered so don't stress yourself out with flattening your tummy. trust me, if you BF you will get back in shape even faster! just make sure you have lots of rest ya? I remember i only started exercising again when baby was about 4 or 5 months. =P

pinkbunny,
ur neighbour is really kind! i will be ordering confinement meals from natal essential but am thinking of doing only 1 meal for 2 weeks. i will see if my mom can cook some soup and stuff for me for the remaining 2 weeks. somehow with #2, i don't see myself staying home at all during confinement! (still need to bring #1 out, etc)

silvery_gal,
won't hubby miss baby then? Oh, Swiss Bake cakes looks very nice and pretty! Good choice!

Hi... Been reading this all along...
Now I'm 35wk..... One more day will be 36wk.
My edd is on 30 April, this my #4.
all without epi.... My dr say I will deliver ard 38wk.
28wk scan bb already 2kg. Tml going for check up again.
Since 28wk, my bb been engaged and everything set, just waiting for him to arrival. The pain and aching is getting more stronger now, can't walk like normal but no choice got to fetch my child up and down from sch and do everything myself coz I dun wan maid.

Any one here with sembawang tmc dr ang? I with him... He will be doing ligation for me too.
Btw my 3 girls age 8, 6 and 4. Now accident den got boy....

Hi reborn! Wow how did u manage all deliveries without epi? Salute u leh.. Hehe!

Haru: haha okok.. It's just that really very sianz to see my flabby tummy!

Silvery_gal: oh I see! Swissbake one heard not bad! Am thinking of getting from sweetest moments.. Got dragon design box. Hehe

desperatemum, you still managed to keep it till 30 weeks! I have been snipping it off. Haha.. But it seems to grow faster instead. Can't stand my hair! Don't know when can i rebond or perm it or something. Not so soon i guess... Sure! Will update you guys after i pop. I hope it's soon.. :p

Mummies, is it necessary to give out full month cakes? Who do we give it to? I just thought of giving out vouchers instead. Totally forgot how i celebrated my girl's full month..

reborn, without epi? WOW! I can never ever manage that.

Talking about epi, i just had a nightmare last night! I dreamt that everybody refused to give me epi and i was in so much pain! It was so real.... Think i have been watching too much of discovery home and health programmes on cable tv. :p

Desperatemum - so sorry if my advice is wrong, have been walking a lot since I am still working, taking public transport to work, walking here and there, but baby never seemed to be ready to come out. Now I am 39wks 2days, baby already engaged since few weeks ago. Anyway I had also cut my hair super short but not really kind of regret coz after putting on 20kg, the face become round. Plus the super short hair, super ugly. Every photo I took, I felt so depressed. Feel like deleting all.

PInkbunny - mine is new baby confinement food, 1588 for 2 meals, 28days http://www.newbaby.com.sg/index_files/NewbabyConfinementFoodPackages.htm

Price list as per the link.

For full month, I bought Bengawang Solo's for my 1st one. Its easier and they can change the cake to something else if they don't like, just have to top up if more than the value.

However this time round, I feel like buying those very cute cupcakes, more pricier but nicer. I think not everyone give out cakes too right? I remembered not receiving cakes for some baby's shower.

desperatemum, my little man is around 2.9kg at 36 weeks check, however, I'm scheduled for cesarean on 18 Apr, therefore, gynae wasn't really concern on the size. It's more of the contraction that I've experienced that he is worried about. Since the little one is comfy in there, he is worried the contraction may rupture my previous cesarean wound though was 6 years ago, lucky I do not have any discomfort in my wound area. I'm going through cesarean, I do not mind that my baby will be big because my no.1 was 3.5kg at birth at 37.5 weeks old.

For no.1, I've ordered Bengawang Solo's cake voucher, this time, there will be no big hoo haa celebration, just keep it simple, BBQ at downstairs for small-scale gathering with closed family and friends. I'll be ordering custom-made cookies, I'll self-packed with 2 reds for them to bring home as goodie bag.

haru- hubby will b coming everyday if he do not have any late appt, so wont really miss bb. I think he more happy, dun have to slp with bb. Haha.

I like swissbake cos is beautiful. However i never try b4 hope it wont disappoint me. Will have 1 bx for myself too!
Ya i saw sweetest moment design, not bad too! Very popular.

lovexuan- is not compulsory for u to give cakes/vouchers. Is actually up to individual. But i think most ppl who never celebrate will distribute cakes/voucher to relatives toinform arrival of a new member.

Meinme - I will also be having a BBQ, for some food like stringray, it will be so much better if we can self prepared. Anonther can suggest which brand of sambal is nice or I should just ask the malay stall holder to make more and sell me some.

cayden mummy,
i did sit-up after i delivered my no 1 during confinement, faithfully everyday, by 4th week of confinement i can wear back my old jeans already. i think also bcos of breast feeding, but sit-up help the tummy a lot. dont know how i got the determination, maybe just very sian seeing the body change.

rebond hair - i did it 3 months after delivery. Just pump out my breast milk for 2 days and throw away. anyway i got a lot of milk so not sayang..

@ baby dragon.. Dun b sad over putting on weight coz now u hav e reason to eat well n think bout losing weight later after confinement.. Btw i see myself chubby n relate it to my chubby face in pri sch so think it tt way may feel beta coz we looks young haha..btw mummy who gif birth alrdy, u all got other symptom during tt week before delivery so we can sense it??

cayden mummy,
i agree with monica. don't be too anxious about losing the weight. Bf-ing and caring for baby will take lot of your energy and naturally allow you to lose weight. you can always start with exercise regime after ur body has had time to recover and recuperate. =)

Hi again! I delivered my princess on 31 march. She weighed 3.725 kg. Doctor and I were really shocked co's I didn't put on as much weight as first pregnancy and my first one was only 2.97kg. Baby wants to feed all the time! It's only day 2 and I'm doing hour long feeds and she suckles furiously the whole time! Sigh..

Cayden's mummy- I'm also interested in tummy binders. I saw a couple on bp but can't tell quality. All recommendations will be recommended. Btw, how soon after did you start your massage?

Baby dragon, I'll be ordering from http://www.mybbq.com.sg/packages.asp. This time, I go with BBQ option because those leftover, we can bring home to cook while catering, always have a lot of leftover even if everyone packed some home. Also NEA has new rule about cooked food can only be served and consumed within 3 hr.

Info i got fr massage lady:Normal birth can start after 5 or 7 days. c-sec can start 3 or 4 week later. The session is continue daily.the massage do after 1 hour take your breakfast.

Cayden’s mummy
Don’t despair. Your tummy took 9 months to grow, cannot expect it to go back to shape in one week la. Don’t worry

Desperate mum
Hehe when I had #1 I also had the same logic. CUT HAIR SHORT FOR EASY MAINTENANCE! 3 min hair wash is so shiok right? But short hair is sometimes harder to maintain than long!

Lovexuan
LOL on your dreams! Ya when preg with #1 I also watched a lot of discovery channel, the baby one. Then got a lot of dreams re labour! Now too, dreaming more and more about giving birth. Gulp

Now it seems to be liew xing to give bengawan solo vouchers then people can go claim the flavours they want at their own time. Last time for #1 we made our own packs. Bought boxes from SKP, put in cupcakes, own red eggs, and bought AKK from cantonment. Even got time to print stickers of baby + name etc and paste on box. This time I think we’ll go with the vouchers :D

Haru
Yes she’s very nice! We often help each other out
really important to have good neighbours. When I went to TMC last week in the middle of the night, my #1 stayed with her, and her husband even sent us to the hospital! Very nice folks.

Reborn
Steady la! 3 without epi!

Baby dragon
Wow you have ignited a sudden stingray craving in me!!!

Challis
Congrats! Wow 3.725kg!!! good leh, easier to carry, and not so fragile right? Rest well, rest well! Good job, mummy!!

Massage
Oooooh I cannot wait for massage…. But got to plan it during my #1’s school time :D

confinement food
thanks for sharing, mummies. Ya man it’s super ex. But my neighbour also knows it, and we both have agreed that I won’t pay the full amount (then might as well order from the confinement tingkat guys right?), just don’t know how much to give.

Chalis, congrats!! That's one unexpected chubby baby! Xin ku ni le! Rest well and eat well. ;)

babydrag0n, it's either you or me next i think! Haha.. Don't worry about weight gain! It's normal and will be gone once you pop! As for me, my weight has stabilised. Stopped gaining already. As for photos, think i did not even take any!

Already past 39 weeks. Feeling the jitters now everyday! Kept thinking about what pinkbunny said and i don't dare eat any spicy or heaty food. LOL

pinkbunny, i think it's normal for preggy mummies to get such vivid dreams? I better start watching some happy videos before i zzz or poor hubby gets kicked and punched from my nightmares for nothing. :p

Desperatemum, haru, pinkbunny: haha ok thanks for all ur advice! Hope will really slim down soon heheh..

Massage: for natural it's start 2 or 3 days after birth. I started 2 days after. Only c-sect then need at least 3 or 4 weeks. My massage lady reccomended I do 6 days (as her off day is sun so can't do straight 7 days) den can add on extra sessions before full month if i want. For the first few months, our tummy still have the chance to be binded and pulled into shape easily.

Chalis: congrats! Tell us your birth story soon k? Meanwhile must take care! Ahh I feel you, my nipples now are so raw. Maybe she's not latching well? Do buy nipple shield and put nipple cream every morning & night!

For tummy binder, my massage lady ask me to look for hook version and not Velcro type as Velcro can become loose easily. And to look out for good reviews. Still searching for a good one! Will let u know if I can find. Anw an alternative is those shape wear from triumph!

Pinkbunny: think u can ask her what type of food she will be cooking and estimate the cost from there. Like buyin e raw food plus cooking plus gas.. Really rare to find such good neighbors already! Btw what type of boxes frm SKP did u get for ur #1 full month? I did think about packing my own too but the boxes frm Skp seems to be not so nice leh..

The rain is crazy today! Took 1 day urgent leave today.. Hubby is asking me to start my ML next week when I am in 37 weeks.. But I hope to take later so that can spend more time with DD when she is born le..

Congrats Chalis!

Am also going to be 39 weeks tomorrow...like monica I also want to know whether there are any signs.

My #1 was induced, so haven't been through the "trauma" of contraction + the rush to go hospital like those we see in drama yet! :p

hi friends, I am 37 weeks..have an appt with my gynae today .. super excited ! Can't wait to see my baby !even though i know it could be another 3 weeks for that

for those who are expecting for #2, have you got the present for #1? and can share what are the present for #2?

I am looking to buy something that can keep last and still useful when the #1 grow up.

Probably somehting like big plastic coin bank.. so #1 can save money and the gift will accompany him till he grow up..

still looking for the gift, any one know where to find?

Jojay: Have gotten present for #1 but it is smthg tt he like. He has been telling didi what he wants. So at least when he got his present, he'll b happy and might tink is didi gets him all his toys and will love didi more.

Jojay, my 4 years old girl picked a combi rattle and wrapped it up herself for her baby brother. She also told him she wanted a toy bracelet so i bought according to her wishes without her knowledge yet. I also bought a set of play doh which will be my reward to her for being able to listen and follow daddy while mummy is not around. Though these are little gifts, i know she would be elated to receive them. All packed in my hospital bag! My girl packed her gift for baby brother into her own backpack.

My girl already has her own coin bank as she started saving up. I bought from mini toons.

39 weeks 4 days today! Literally counting down!! Going for my gynae appointment later. Can't wait to hear and see baby #2 on the ultrasound scan again!

silvery gal, my girl is definitely more excited than me! Haha.. She even helped me to set up the cot mobile over the weekends, clean the baby cot daily with wet wipes, tidy the shelf of baby supplies to make sure diapers etc are in place and never fails to ask baby when is he coming out every night before she sleeps! She even said diaper changing and singing lullabies will be her duties! Lol! I hope she would continue to stay this way after baby has arrived. But i would be mentally prepared to face the opposite as well! :p

i believe for the 1st few days she need to adapt to it... but dun think so much 1st. ur baby is coming out soon!!

me 38wks 4days. tmr visiting gynae, not feeling excited cos gynae told me last wk reporting to do urine test n pressure test. now hoping baby will be out on thurs so hubby will have a long wkend to acc me!!

btw, how they check cervix opening? fingers???

Cayden's mum
Hehe she gave me free rein, easier for both of us if I choose what I want to eat. So VERY little kidney and liver, and ZERO intestines! Haha.

Yes she's so nice
but I'm nice to her too! Our daughters play together

The skp boxes are very plain that's why we printed stickers to paste on them

Lovexuan
Ya trying very hard to lay off the chilis now! Think it's only safe for the electic c-sec mummies to take chili now! Hehe

Wow you are so close to 40 weeks!!! Exciting! Was #1 also 40 weeks?

Mrs kang
Take ML early also nice. Can enjoy some me-time, you'll have very little of that once ur DD is born!

Aprilbaby
Me too! Was just sharing recently that I would be so grateful for a real obvious sign of labour like my nose turning bright green or something! For #1 my water bag leaked. Just a small trickle, but if this time is contractions, I also wouldn't know what to do!!

Now every time got tummy ache I wonder "is this it??" 38 weeks liao!

Jojay
Coin bank, what a sweet idea! For me, from #1 to #2: a book that #1 loved as a baby, but chewed it thru very badly, so we're going to get a new one. From #2 to #1: 2 "you're a great big sister!"books + a t-shirt that she really likes, all wrapped up in dora wrapping paper: she loves dora!!

Pinkbunny, my mum cooked for no.1 confinement, that time market rate for live-in CL was around $1.6k, I gave her $800, she bought a $300+ ankle for my girl, dude!

This time same arrangement, she will only cook but she told me she will hand off some meals because my current helper with me for long time, and I'm getting the confinement herbal soup package for her to cook. I've bought a coach wristlet and intend to give her $300 1 week before admission for her to buy ingredient, then give her another $900 at the end of it. Market rate is $2300 this year!

My girl had wanted make-up kit for the longest time and I bought that plus 2 dresses for her, bought the Sofie giraffe and soft toy kit for didi and I've bought a mothercare bunny for her and bear for didi.

hi...
All my 3 girl weight 2.6kg, 2.9kg and 2.5kg. All feel different.
I got side effect on the epi so cannot take. I remember my 1st bb i try to take epi in kkh when I'm 5-6cm and the pain dunno why got worst and i got fever and vomit so i scare ask them to remove the epi. From that time onwards i nv ask, the pain is more painful than labour pain.

All my labour last from 16-18hours. Who say after 1st bb will be easier? Not for me at all. My 1st bb i got cut and 2nd got tear and whole groin got swell and need to put cold ice therpy for a week. my 3rd bb also scare when I'm 20+ week, dr keep on saying bb underweight too small, not growing at all. 3rd bb stop growing ard 8mths and dr want me to go opt coz too dangerous. By 8mths, I have to go kkh every week do special scan to make sure the bb do get enough blood supply.

All 3 bb got induce and never have the feel of rushing to hospital. All 3 bb is like when I got check up then dr admit me coz already abt 2-3cm. But my 2nd bb i got spotting for a week den i admit a&e kkh coz waiting for my hb to come back from oversea.

Now this accident bb hope to have the waterbag brust feeling... later going check up lo... everything is done, just waiting for his arrival.
My hb so sweet even bought a massage chair yesterday at nex shopping. Hope to delivery the chair befor i deliver then confinement can use....

This time will be at TMC not KKh liao coz the fees is the same and somemore this time i got 4beded and free upgrade to 2 beded. All my last 3 labour deliver by a group of dr and midwife, now is by my dr. But i nv been to TMC so will be scare staying there....