(2012/04) Apr 2012

El: I went thro Adrian from a babysitter website. I will post the link in FB. The forum refuse to let me post the link here.

He has a good database of bbsitters.
He found me my bbsitter within the day! Next day can go interview already. Same for my friends who looked for him. Most can confirm the bbsitter within 3 days.

Domestic helpers: ohhhh I got a lot of things to say!

think most of them go by the motto "act blur, live long!"

We got one in a hurry when our nanny option didn't work out and I didn't think that far as to quit my job yet. She lasted no more than 5 weeks with us. I couldn't tahan having someone else living in my house which is a 3 room flat, already so small. At that time my girl was still sleeping in our room and helper in my girl's room.but all the baby things were in that room so sometimes I'd need to go in to get wipes or diapers.

She sleep on the bed until shiok shiok, shirt lifted until boobies also can see. What if it had been my husband who walked in? The agent had confiscated her phone (dunno why) but I asked for it back, thinking maybe it'd be nice once in a while for her to call her a friend. Sekali always lying on bed chatting away.

Her tops were always cleavage showing and her shorts omg, shorter than my baby daughter's skirt. I so didn't want to be typical controlling singaporean marm but had to tell her to dress more appropriately.she said "my previous employer never bothered about what I wore"

She has a son apparently but has no idea what to do with babies. My girl was only about 2 months old and she tried to dress her while she (baby) in sitting position. Hello, neck not even stable yet

Bought her a phone card but she lost in and she went to ask my hubby for another. We quarelled from that cos I said I'm with her all the time, I'm her boss, she cannot undermine me and go behind my back and ask him for things. And if he gives in, how does that make me look?

In the end it made no sense for husband and wife to quarrel over outside help. So we sent her packing. I was just so tired watching over her and complaining to my hubby and he was tired of listening to me complain about "trival matters"

I was tired as heck (and super demoralised) after I became SAHM (for 17 months) but much happier than when I had a clean house

On hindsight, I prob thought I needed one cos I was a new mum and drowning in housework and baby things. As long as you delegate, you must be able to tolerate whatever nonsense whoever you choose to leave your child with (maid, sitter, childcare etc)

But like cheekyduckie, my house is also a mess. I look at the floor and if there is nothing 3D on it, I won't sweep haha.

So ms tan: no maids for me. Ever. Part time help works out perfectly for me!

Morning mummies, today need to go for detail scan again as not able to scan baby spine last week. Hope my girl will co operative. Any mummy can share how to make her turn just in case!

Pinkbunny : can see ur frastration .. So jia lak ! But getting nanny depends on luck too.. Haa unless by intro . Haven really tink of wats my nex step.. Some of my frens hav mother in laws to look after..or mothers.. Unlike me haiz.

Cheekieduckie: good for u to get a nanny near ur blk.

I agree that getting maids are solely based on luck! And if you are young employer, some maids tend to climb over u, after experiences with changing 5 maids, I have learnt not to be too soft. Must be authorative enough.

And no perfect maids around. They are human afterall. So have to learn to open and close one eye. But matters such as cleanliness and honesty, no room for negotiation! Haha

Cheekieduckie,: how u get to knw ur nanny? by intro or Is it u drop those small leaflets in letter box ?
I wonder if this will works..refer to drop leaflets..then hav to do interview n filter out those I tink not suitable ones..n finally decide on good ones. Haha I ever receive such leaflet..b4 .. but wory will I get caught :p legal anot :p

Oh yes! And it's black Friday sale! Those who know gender go shop shop shop! GAP having extra 20% till this afternoon only! And Gymboree have sale too! Sooooo cute ESP for those with gals!

CheekyDuckie, can you PM me the agent's contact? I've a fren whose baby is a few weeks old but they haven't found arrangement to take care of bb after maternity leave. Thanks so much!

ni, i've been wondering what is this black friday sale that you gals have been raving about. haha.

do you know of any other good buys which you can intro? hee... thanks!

Ms_Tan: My nanny is via the agent. Look for the link in FB.
Cos it's thro agent, higher chances of finding one that is near your house. The hours i feel are also more friendly compared to infant care/childcare. More flexibility. Just need to work things out with the bbsitter.
Actually, my bbsitter was asking why i didn't do the leaflet manner, that way she can save on the agent commission. But I told her i was worried of pranksters.
In any case, since it doesn't cost me to go thro agent, might as well lar. At least he does the screening for me, make arrangements for interviews, and i just go lor. If not good, he will find another one mah. haha...

Lilcatus, you in the FB group? u can get the contact from there.

Ni: I already bought like loads of clothes over the last 2 days! Pre-Black Friday sale! haha... Time to see if there's more to buy. hahahaha...

Ni
Ya I agree! I found it very strange to be called marm. Made me sound 50 years old!

Ms tan
High five. Same. Mother working, mil not in sg. All alone! Everything blur blur do by myself. Thank goodness for fellow mummy friends!

Black fri sale
The fri after thanksgiving in US. Always got sale

Hi gals, thanks for the advice. I smsed one of my friends to ask abt her new maid and she said she had just sent her back to the agent! Refuse to work - clothes not ironed for 2 weeks, after scolding cry for 1.5 hrs in living room, refuse to look after her daugher (who is 5 yrs old). OMG!

In comparison, my helper is so much better! Only thing is we have less friction with her now that both my kids are in full day childcare. She is quite senang. Besides usual housework, only need to help out in the morning with breakfast and getting the children ready for sch and evening when they come back (bathe them).

Don't know what will happen when she is forced to look after new baby again.

cheekyduckie
i bought a few but compared to the gals designs, sigh.. cannot make it. hahaha

EL
mine too! now gal in full day childcare, helper very free.. wonder how it will be like when baby comes along. I already know she wants us to increase her salary. But then again, i do have the intention as among her peers, she's getting very low ($370 with off day)

6357235.jpg

100% Cotton Hanky/WashCloth from Korea

1 Pack (10 pcs) - $8.90 each (Less than $1 a piece!)
Above 3 packs - $8.50 each

I want to introduce this 100% cotton hanky for babies. It's brought in from Korea and I personally use no other hankies/wash cloths but these for my 1 year old baby. Since she was born till now, I have been using these hankies as washcloth for her face and body (even my CL says its very good and she has never seen it before!).

They are also used as burp clothes and her hanky for going out. In her first 6 months, she has slight reflux and frequently threw up. I prefered to use these cloths instead of tissue paper as they are much gentler to the skin.

It's super soft, thin, washes and dries easily and very cheap too! It can be washed over and over again in the washing machine and doesn't tear easily.

They come in packs of 10 at $8.90 each. If you get 3 packs and more, its $8.50. Postage is calculated separately or collection can be arranged.

PM me if keen. Thanks

EL, I do not have in-laws and my mum is taking care of my bro's kids then. I had been depending on domestic helper 1 month before birth. My girl is 5 this year, this is my 2nd helper, she been with me for 3 years, has just renewed her for 2 years. My previous helper was ok for the 2 years, started to slack after she came back from homeleave and I've changed by the 8th month of the 3rd year. Last time, I still asked her if she is ok to take care of no.2 then I plan, initially, she told me ok, subsequently, she told me no and I respected her answer!!! After that change, I told my HB, I'll change every 2 years, I'll do the training all over again every 2 years!!! However, my current is good, therefore, I stick by her.

In my opinion, you should let her go. Have you ask her about additional chores next year?

I'm pretty "structured", she has a hourly schedule for the whole week!!!!

My expectation is straight forward, take care of my girl (MUST)and 2 dogs (MUST), household chores, cooking. We need to set our expectation and match it. I do not have CCTV at home to check her movement, I believe in mutual trust and treat her like my family member and she knows that.

My 2 cents!: it's quite hard when it comes to managing domestic help I think. Not like when you manage staff at office. Cos it's your own home and personal space and your kids are at her mercy.

Can choose to be friend-friend, or strict strict. Both have their pros and cons. Really see heng suay one hor?

Like meinme say, some people go to extent of installing cctv. I suppose their logic is that they want to ensure their kids are not being bullied and ill treated.

So, very hard to be a "boss" in this kind of situation la hor?

My parents had a wonderful helper, stayed 4 years, then had to leave cos pregnant. And now their current helper just called them after her contract ended in another country, and 10 years after she left my parents (to go to another country), she's back, and everyone loves her.

Quite funny, they also had one who tried all kinds of things to seduce my dad! Haha. And slept in my sister's bed and hugged her toys when no one was home.

Ohhhh happy friday everyone! We're going for a picnic if the weather stays this promising!

Yes tangerinez! Black Friday sale is the Friday after thanksgiving! Usually alot of discounts! For gals, I personally like gap, Gymboree, Carter's! For boys, polo Ralph is always my first choice! Very smart looking! Gap has nice casual clothes too. And old navy too.

ni, thanks! on Gap website now. can i check with you, is it they only accept US credit cards? cos on the billing information, they only allow me to select US states.

i've bought from other websites which allow me to use SG credit card but dunno why Gap different.

or i need to ship direct to SG, cannot use borderlinx or vpost?

For online shopping, I been using Borderlinx for a long long time, find that my shipment is more "track able " as compared to Vpost.

Some merchants do offer direct shipping, usually, I'll ship via USPS flat-rated shipment, filling a box at US45 or envelope US15.

gingerbreadger: www.gap.com. but i set location as US instead of SG so that i can ship via vpost or borderlinx

meinme: i have both borderlinx and vpost account and prefer bordelinx too. but now i facing the issue where i need to input billing address (credit card) and it only allows me to key in US address leh.

Tangerinez my friend order for Me one! I m an idiot when it comes to overseas shopping. I jus email my order and Pay when the loots are here! Haha.

BP ordering are easier. I jus placed orders fr the socks!

Tangerinez, I'll put my borderlinx suite address.

Everyone to note, please try not to ship during the 3-4th weeks of Dec, many workers goes on holiday, many temp workers ==> your loots maybe lost in transit. I kena 2 times. Therefore, I won't ship during that period.

oh! meinme, can use borderlinx address as credit card address? i see! cos some other websites actually perform credit card checks de.

YAY! thanks!

Yeah, black Friday sales weekend! Happy Shopping everyone! So easy to browse, click and buy rite! Trying so hard to control coz both my boy and gal has tons of new clothes to last them for the next 1 yr! All purchased whenever there's online sales hahaa... kiasu mummy! I dun even dare to buy for the 3rd one coz she can take over all my gal's clothes which are still pretty new =) OK maybe to be fair shall get a few new pcs la. Main thing is I'm running out of space to store all the clothings! ;p

Tangerinz
For those website that requires US Address, you can add your vpost/comgateway address to your credit card. I know Citibank & HSBC allows add'l US billing address but not DBS.

Re maid,
My maid has been staying with my mum for the past 2 yrs and helping with the household chores and kids. We are renewing her for another 2 yrs but will be bringing her back home going fwd. Hope she will still be as good after the renewal coz i have heard stories that they change and become more "zeng" and will try to "geng" since more seasoned already. I'm just lazy to find a new maid and train all over again. *Cross fingers*

tangerinez, u can try to use borderlinx address as credit card address, but most of the time, will get rejected. cos they do credit card checks. i think they are a lot stricter these days. cos they scared of fraud.

some sites can use paypal. =P
otherwise, i will use the borderlinx concierge service. But that one can only use when the sale period is long or buying non sale items. Cos they take a few days to place order.

I think I bought the whole of Carter's and half of Gymboree for my unborn child. Hahaha!

Hubby just warned me to stop it already.

Somehow GAP isn't that worth it I find.

LittleDd: Don't worry... u are not the only one who bought the entire Carter's. My #1 has a whole wardrobe full of carter's. i bought so much, until, there's nothing else i like to buy for a few months.

Eliz- I gave my helper a raise earlier this yr to $400 (no off day) but she does get to go out every other Sunday afternoon to go to computer class at Sultan Mosque.

I think Carter's has much nicer stuff for girls than boys. Had a quick look at the sale stuff and didn't get anything. Nothing for boys caught my fancy. If compare Old Navy and Gap, I think ON is more worth it for the price.

Cheekieduckie
Just need to add your US shipping address to yr Citibank credit card. Can just give them a call n specify that it's for online txn purpose. Make sure they add n not change else u wun get yr mthly statement lol

EL, since is no off day then you need to deduct pay for those off days that she goes, however, do be flexible if you are ok for her to go for computer class. Give and take a little will go the extra miles.

Eliz, tomorrow, I let you know if I can share the sock with you.

Cheeky, you know the gender already?

tangerinex, been ordering from ON, Oriental Trading, VS , carter, Osh and some other US scrapbooking sites, no issue. Recent 1 month ago order is ON and Oriental.

I remembered someone has ordered from egg maternity? AU site? Is the price cheaper than Mothercare? I saw a pair of capri jean at $159, am still thinking should I or should I not???

I'm still waiting!!! many have commented should be a boy but I still do not get the hang of sharp and round!!!

MeinMe- I ordered pants from Seraphine Maternity from UK. 9 pds flat shipping from UK and can pay by Paypal. Slimfit but quality is very good and comfortable. I got Size 2 which is for UK Size 10, but can probably get Size 3 given that it is slim fit.