(2012/04) Apr 2012

Eliz: Ya, my colleague said this round of sales more crowded compared to previous 1, duno where do the people come from... Normally they will have twice such warehouse sales in a year.

How does the rocker looks like? $20 very cheap ler...

tokkie> jus call n ask now lor.. if you have decided already like me. better to secure a place. rather than later on waitlist and give additional headache..

gingerbreadger : ... yah... we are planning on st James... pengz... think maybe we shld drop a note to the principal..

hi mummies, just had brunch at dempsey. apparently today no appeitite! only took half a serving of salad... dunno got enough nutrients for the lil one anot!

RE: Dragon Year
Gotta agree that dragon year very competitive. mine is #2 so probably will follow whichever school that #1 goes to. For mummies who are having #1, see if u or ur hubs come from a good pri school, go to ur alumni, chances are better!

leo_baby, probaby can meet for lunch next week. shall arrange

Woah! So fast look for preschool!!! That's crazy sia!! I think I will just take things at a time... Too kiasu Liao... Anyway ask for meeting up, we maybe should wait till most of us pass the MS? If not go eat no shiok sia...

bubuya
Its a red lucky baby rocker. Can't take pic as hubby brought it home while i'm at office.

Ni
I headache now coz #2 is a boy while #1 is going to a girls' sch. Hubby's pri sch all the way in jurong while we are at simei. I'm thinking if i shd try PV for #1 instead of do PV for #2.

eliz> we aso having headache. both our pri sch r too far. we got nan chiau downstairs, but they oni accept 10 PV a yr. and hor... nan chiau consitution is ang mo kio, and i stay less than 500m away belongs to punggol!! wana do grassroot aso canot!

Aisuhime> different ppl got different ms period so those that can come out should really come out. small group sharing is good as we can share more things. Like now if i have Meinme tel no would be good as I despaerately needed to ask her abt my boy situation. He not drinking water which is necessary to bring the heat out of his body.

gingerbreadger
headache hor.. i'm thinking to try PV for #1 at Temasek Primary so #2 can go in too.
St Hilda's but was told that even harder to get in

ASOS
Anyone organising spree?? I also wanna order..

Meinme, seems like bb passing germ to me again. My throat a bit soar liao. bb cough cannot siam and just now our lips accidentally touch felt that my soar throat will pass to him and worsen his condition.

eliz, st hilda v difficult ah! its a SAP school.
i shall see the gender of #2 before i decide whether its gonna be a mix school or all boy school,

btw asos no need minimum order, just order and ship, free international shipping. very simple

Leo, can he do ice cream? also can bring temp down. I had been doing this with my girl since she was 3. My girl is already 5, so fever time is her most happy time, can eat all the no no food!!! 100 plus, chilled jelly, ice cream. Isotonic drink helps to replenish the fluid lost too.

gingerbreadger, I got same problem. School is less than 1KM but different constituency after the recent GE. I still serve my grassroot. I've written to my MP to look into it. The last house-to-house visit, MP has updated that she is looking into it. I told her I really needs to as I won't be able to do anything as not much time left, I need to do registration by next Jun for P1.

Meinme> he also coughing leh so can give cold drinks? I just tried cold pocari and dont want too. I really very lost as to what to do now?

Haha you know, even in my Jul 08 thread we are not even talking about pri sch yet!

I would so love for my daughter to go to my old sch. But that means we prob have to move or she (and I - gasp!) have to wake up at goodness knows what time :S

Ya the st james and maris stella types are super hot. But for good reason la. St james has a lovely swimming pool and fees aren't high either. But wait list is a billion years long. A lot of parents are put on waitlist (think it costs $50 to register) and the MINUTE the child is born, papa got to rush to the kindy to show the BC to confirm the slot.

Meeting
Happy to do a lunch next week! This week is super madhouse but next week more relaxed liao

Leo baby
I forgot, how old is your son? When my daughter was very small I would put the fever patch on her forehead. After she managed to peel it off then I put on her back. They will cry at first cos it's uncomfortablycold but after a while, sayang a bit and they'll forget about it. Keep sponging but wipe dry after or else will catch a chill

Drink water: make it fun by using lots of diff cups like toy cups or those with funny straws. Can also use medicine dropper. Some people add rose hip (I think) syrup to flavour it a little. Or honey.

leobaby, want to consider give barley water? since he dun take water, give barley, slightly sweet maybe he can take.

or give yogurt, of cos not immediately out from the fridge kind. when my son had HFMD, he has no appetite for anything, cos ulcers in the throat. he only took yogurt cos its soothes the throat

hope ur son gets well soon!

put on contact in FB.

Chairman just called me to lead tonight's house-to-house visit!!!

Ni> seems like all water also push away. Milk also push away. Now waiting for papa to come back see can do wonders or not. helper is like play mate always bully her and dont eat much when under her care.

leobaby, try sponging as that will bring down fever. as for water, mayb can try adding glocose to water to sweeten it? cant remember what it is called but sell in supermarkets

leobaby : ur kid hving sore throat and fever at the same time? maybe because her throat is pain she dont wan...try giving her something cooling to soothen the sore throat like the wood's stuff... or mix in water for it....tell her drink liao not pain pain le....

Lor, good to hear that. Don't worry, he'll be fine. You better drink more before you also down, do more vit.C. Keep the germs away. If possible, wear mask. Call me if you need to listen to my grandmother's story/remedy!!!

Those in the west, please go NUH A&E because they have a children A&E section which is strictly for children.

Just to share on fever administration which I've shared with my ex-collegue not too long ago:

<font color="aa00aa">Fever, you need to record temp hourly, medicine administration, pee pee &amp; poo poo, food intake. When see doctor, just show paper, this will help with their diagnosis. Please look out for red spots on body, hands or legs, uclers in mouth = HFMD.

Wear sexy sexy clothing to bring temp down, do wear sock to keep body warm; if sponge, wet hanky with tap water then wipe hands and legs, put hanky on neck NOT head because you only bring temp down on head, body still hot, put neck then help to cool down whole body; give more water because fever make body hot, evaporate fluid, serious will cause dehydration.

My girl is bigger, I'll give her chilled mini jelly, 100plus or ice cream, cold thing goes down will help to bring temp down.

Yours still young, do with chilled juices.

If fever persist, can buy ling yang water from Chinese medical hall, mixed in milk to give.

UTI is due to not enough water intake. Must make it a habit to feed more water. She pee pee will be painful. I never kena before, that is what I heard.

Above 37.5 is fever, above 38, different medicine administration. You need to note that paracetamol got different mg, 120mg and 250mg, give correctly.

You need to take care of yourself then you got strength to look after her.

i actually think that these 2 days especially in the morning is not a good day for me. So xian at work.. people getting on my nerves and just this morning, i havent reach office yet im so angry to the core at some people in my office.. Sianzzzzzz

MeiNme
U mean those MPS house to house kind ah? Hehe enjoy! I used to do that too but the more administrative side. Stopped after moving out of my parents' place. Tried to ask if around my area need help but nobody reply to me leh. So now no time, give up liao!

(Or am I talking about something totally different?)

I totally lol at your "wear sexy sexy" comment!

Leo baby
Hope he gets better soon!!

Andreanie
Yikes. Poor you.

Am. So. Drowsy.

Meinme> Thanks for advise to take Vit C the Vit C drink is too gassy and I will throw out have to take the natural fruit. Sori I deafen you when I cough into the phone.

I also dont want to fall sick. twice in this pregnancy is enough.

U mention UTI just now but does NUH have this as their 1st procedure to chk if it's UTI? I have a client whose child had UTI and subsequently affect his kidney so I am also very concern how come KKH never chk that.

Pink, Yes. Recently, they came up with SOP. MOre structured which I prefers. I enjoy doing it too cause can see different people houses and know your neighbours.

Yes, wear minimum. This colleague of mine, all wrapped up to go clinic. I've commented on her picture and she came back to say that the clinic nurse told her exact some comment as me, too HOT for the baby!!!

My helper already automatic tuned when my girl is sick. Bring record book out and started recording. I go home from work, just look at the book, I know what to do next. I been doing that since my girl was borned, her feeding, pee, poo schedule. I see record then know what to do, very factual person. Guess you all know by now my then profession by my style!!!

Lor, from my experience since 4 years ago, they would want to collect urine sample to test. That time my girl was 7+mths old, unable to collect so they use the "cateral" to draw from bladder, also blood test. Usually, they give fever medicine and "hydrolite" similar to isotanic drink to replenish the fluid lost.

Only the 1st time at 7+month, urine and blood test together. Thereafter is usually urine test. Prior to the urine test, I always tell them that cannot by UTI cause my girl is like me, water buffalo, drinks a lot.

Don't worry as I've shared with you, if UTI, pee pee will be painful and only a bit by bit, not full bladder.

Oh crap! I feel like vomitting again!!! It become evening sickness not morning sickness anymore! I'm on the mrt summore... Gotta endure till I get off... Urg!!! >.< Past few days also vomit in the evening... What's wrong w me?!

I've been a silent reader. This my #2 pregnancy and now I am in my week 16. Went for scan today and found out I'm having another boy..

Gynae has advised detailed scan at week 22 but m wondering if it is considered late.

Dear mummies, I jus came back from the hyper baby mart in kaki bukit. Lots of display sets discount. Looking at strollers and quinny Zapp xtra and PEG PEREGO P3 compact strollers caught my attention. Anybody has experience or recommendation with these 2 models?

Aisu, plastic bag then put 2-3 pc of tissue to absorb! That time my girl vomited, I gotta "hold" in my hands in order not to dirty the bed. Since then, we always standby plastic, lay with tissue.

Summer, how much is the Quinny zapp xtra? I'm eyeing on this but waiting for the 2012 colors. You need a maxi cosi car seat for newborn till 6mths old.

leo baby - there are 2 more things tat I try when my gal got fever. So far it has worked for me... Beside alternate Ibufen and panadol (Ibufen every 6 hours for fever 38.5 above, panadol every 4 hours), I will go medical hall such as fu hua to buy zheng ling yang. Double boil w winter melon strips, and depending on how old ur kid is, can give a few teaspoon or half a cup. The second method is I closed up all the toilet window and fill up the bb bathtub w room temp water n put a lot of toys n balls and let my gal sit inside n play abt half hour or so. This help to bring down the temp very quickly.

Meimei n all mummies , thanks for all the tips next time (touch wood) if gal got fever, can those listed.

Mummies thanks for the tips to counteract rib cage pain. Somehow w more rest yesterday and sleeping on left side , I felt much better. Actually I type out a long reply to reply mummies by name , haiz but somehow didn't manage to paste the reply here.

For leave wise, I had wanted to take leave ahead of maternity leave cos feel tired n weak easily. But of course must bear w no pay, I will re assess work stress level after hong kong holiday next week and see how to proceed from there.

Btw I enjoyed my gal year end concert yesterday. Heart warming as we look back over the past year on wat had happen n how she has grown up.. Like mummies here, I am looking forward to embracing this new life n giving the 2nd bb the best that I can with the resources that I have... Let's have fun together in this journey. Side note, I felt the change in my temperament this week but somehow keep reminding myself to stay positive n smile more.

Omg wake up feeling hungry sia! That's the worse feeling if there is no food ard in e hse! I'm alrdy starting to wear maternity/nursing bras coz I cannot wear my normal 1 anymore and the people recommend non wired bra so will feel more comfortable...

Summer : I rem last time when my fever v high, my mum will soak face towel in ice water and keep changing every 5-10 mins...and of coz with the fan off and blankie on...and Panadol for at least 48 hrs.

Morning mummies from a very non morning mummy o_O

Summerbliss
Yes! My daughter loves doing that too, playing in bathtub with small cups, pour here pour there. Every shower now also must "cook soup" for me with her cups and pails haha

Aww the concert sounds nice! Pity we'll miss ours. We'll be away but also, they were asking for an exhorbitant price. $70 for her costume! And not incl tickets! Wah in the end become more ex than watching micheal buble concert

Aisu
So funny la you. Next time keep some crackers with you ok? In your room so the cats won't get to them

Aiyah had something to share with you girls but forget liao. Preggie brain ah....

Oh yes! I was looking at my daughter's baby pics the other day. A couple of months old, super chubby cheeks, pudgy fingers, blur face and saliva filled chin... And I realised gosh I really miss having a little baby! Someone told me that when she visited me and my girl. She had 2 older kids. I thought she was crazy cos the beginning was tough for me cos I was alone most of the time. But now looking back, I miss those times. Cannot wait to cuddle my #2! And ohhhh the baby smell, I miss!

Mums with older kids, when did they "lose" their baby smell? Mine was about 1 plus I think. I some more asked here "where did your baby smell go?". She gave me blur look. Haha

Happy weekend everyone! Off to work, me!

Summersky: I have both Quinny zapp extra &amp; Peg p3.

P3: I have predominantly used this when #1 was an infant. Heavy but very sturdy. The thick seat padding is definitely more comfy. The suspension on the wheels makes pushing easy &amp; the ride more comfy. I find peg easier to fold than Zapp extra. Having said that, peg needs 2 hands to close. Not possible if you are traveling alone with bb in a cab. Final verdict: I heart this when #1 was much younger &amp; have since survived several overseas trip.

Zapp extra: with the new Zapp, you can switch the seat so that your infant is facing you. Will be good from infant to abt 3-4 months. Very smooth push cos the wheels are using the ball bearing mechism. When folded, it is very compact &amp; doesnt taken much space in car boot. However, looking at the shape of the seat, I think I may need a maxi cosi infant car seat until bb is abt 4-5 months old. The basket is pretty small &amp; can't hold much stuff. The folding of the Zapp extra is more ley-cheh cos you need to remove the seat &amp; then fold the frame. I dun think I will bring this out if I am alone with the bb &amp; taking cab. Final verdict: I do heart Zapp extra now cos it is light &amp; compact &amp; easy to push my toddler around. We now using this for #1 &amp; even used in our recent trip.

Pink: I got buy food and cracker but u know la sometimes you just don't feel like eating those lor! Coz u r soooo hungry but so lazy to go down and buy food

Dear dink, thanks for the advice. another thing i sm not sure abt is whether it is useful for the child to b able to face u when we push the stroller. p3 compact cant but quinny zapp xtra can. the other thing is abt the sturdiness whether the kid feels secure to sleep in it. any comments on these 2 points?

Ahnah : lol so u will know the gender?

Oh ya wanted to ask any1 experience body ache or not? My right arm is aching and I dunno why and last nite I sleep, it become stiff!! I was not sleeping on my right side even!!! I need to clench and unclench my fist to get the feeling back... Really scares me...