(2012/04) Apr 2012

my little one measured 4.21mm when it's 6 weeks and 1 day, with a heartbeat of 105bpm. all babies grow at different rate and some seemingly slower possibly because of late ovulation or late implantation.

as long as gynae is not concerned, our little ones should be growing fine!

so dun worry cyanlily!

littledd: i'm not sure what is gastric juice but i know my stomach churns every couple of hours and feels like something is bubbling inside, like with acid. i think one way to stop that is to eat something or drink milo. think the digestive enzymes over-working and need something inside the stomach to digest. maybe at least try 2 pieces of cracker?

littledd: the gastric juice thing is called acid reflux. it is very common in 1st tri and will get worse for most in the 3rd tri.
what i do is to keep my stomach filled at most times. so constant light snacking, biscuits, milo, cereal. Try to cut down on soft drinks, coffee, tea, chocolate, citrus fruits cos they are acidic in nature, and might make the problem worse. Smoking and drinking also causes reflux.

If the reflux very bad, can eat some Antacids. Should be safe for pregnancy. If scared, go ask gynae first lar.
Else, can get ginger tea, ginger related food stuff. Ginger in general helps relieve acid reflux.

Leebabytwo and ladies> stretch mark creme must use early as the tummy stretches so that the tummy is moistured from beginning till after delivery.

I still had a little stretch mark at the end of 1st as towards 3rd trimester I got lazy and didn't apply everyday. I am afraid will happen again as after having a child I was like huang lian po no make up and been very lazy since. I have not started on the creme but tummy is already like 4 mths. The last time in the forum I had the biggest tummy so not surprise it may happen to me again.

littledd & tangerinez - I also have gassy stomach but nothing to worry abt. At this stage our food system slows everything down so tend to have more acid than usual. I always feel like burping but cannot hence feel nausea but no actual vomitting from this acid reflux. You can certainly take antacid, I already asked my gynae but I dont take anything and just wait for the gas to come out on its own. Either burping or farting haha but u have to wait for a while to burp/fart after you eat something.

cheekyduckie - I'm also not sure why my next appt is so long but I guess nothing to worry about cos on my 12th week Im gng to see my baby again during the Oscar test!

For those who visit TMC, you can also check out the price for Elancyl at the pharmacy. I remember I bought twin pack for less than $50 in April.

Leebabytwo, two common myth for having boys are faster growth of body hair (near belly button or on hand legs) and Also having a big nose! These to me made us look a bit manly.. Dun find it funny! If u see it u will know :p

My gynae arrange my next visit 6 weeks from first. I can't wait.. Going again this week.. Which is 3 weeks from my last visit.

babypom,
wow! So cheap?! Aiya! I bot too fast! I m going TMC for my gyane appt on 20th Sept. :-(

ButterPanda,
yar! come to think of it, my nose was big n red the last pregnancy. My colleague was then saying its definitely a boy n she hit the jackpot leh! Ok ok, i will start looking for my fast hair growth.

I once went to the pharmacy at KKH n there is a sales girl that told me that if this is your second pregnancy, u can get the CDAC card of your first child to purchase baby items for some discount. Is it true? Any mummies tried it or heard it before?

Morning all!
yesterday was so busy at the office that I had no time to post. I've tried to keep track of the thread though!
Had French food for lunch yesterday. Thank God, it was someone else's treat otherwise super sayang. I didn't enjoy the food because all French fare has to have garlic or onions or cheese. None of which I enjoy eating now!

Morning mummiessssssssss
My backache is really killing me. It's hurting even when i sneeze. Arggg...

Mummies who are delivering @ TMC can also get the First Born Incentive or Subsequent Born incentive card. Can get some discounts for the shops in TMC, e.g. delifrance and shops outside. Also got discount when you go do scans at the fetal assessment centre, visit the family clinic etc. Valid for 2 years. Membership $148. Quite worth it lar, especially for the scans to be done at the fetal assessment centre.

MoRnIng Ladies =)

1 more day to my 9wks!! <3 <3
And 2 more wks to my next appt...

until now.. only vomit once! but appetite still very bad for dinner...

Good morning Ying,
Good morning mummies,
Yup, i can only finish half of my noodle for dinner last night. Then cannot stuff anymore liao.
I think my MIL sure to suspect.
Anyway, my gynea appt is this Sat! Can't wait.
I should be 8 weeks, but depends on gynea's advice.
Yday, i had a nice lunch at Subway! The yummy honey mustard sauce and pickles made me happy. Hehe.
Compared to those food court food, at least it was a welcoming change =)
Have a greta day ahead, all.

ooooooooo
you are making me drool with all the subway talk! Arggg... think i will go buy subway for my dinner tonite!
sighz... i just finished a plate of beehoon for breakfast, and i am hungry AGAIN!
feeling like a baby now. hungry every 2 hours.

Hello all mommies.
I'm going for my week 10 scan later this afternoon and I'm scared! cuz I'm feeling no symptoms lately (no ms or nausea) and I wonder if baby is still inside? :x

Kimmy - Dun worry... everything gonna be fine!! later u can see ur BB HB again!!

35more mins to lunch time... and I still dunno wat to eat!! sianz.... hungry but no appetite!!

Kimmy: dun worry. no MS is good! some ppl are just blessed with no MS. update us on our scan ok.
So envy... week 10 liao. i will only be week 9+ when u finish your 1st tri. hahahahaha

Anyway, MS is said to be worst between weeks 8 to 10. So mummies, hang in there! It will be over soon!

I had my 1st visit yesterday.

baby is 29mm - 9 W 3 D,

Can see heartbeat but still need V scan.. Probably I'm too fat.. so can't view properly via tummy.

I'm with KKH and my Dr. is DR. K T Tan, She better this time round less of a rush...

I asked if I could naturally delivery my child casue i did a C sect with my last pregnancy.. she says depends on size of baby and position of baby.. I think she is ok for me to do natural.. but still end of the day depends on baby.

My MS is getting worst.. i really hope when comes to Tri 2 all will be gone.....

I have not inform office abt the pregnancy.. anyone had done so?

Hi Sunsweet, I have not told my office yet too.
I expect my lunch kaki might be 'angry' that i keep it from them. But i will just tell them its the second pregnancy, more gung-ho this time. so no need all the fuss. Hehe..
Another one of my colleague also preggy - as hers was the first child, she got more fuss. So i can camoflage and keep silent until my tummy show lor.
Anyone having stuffy/blocked nose. I tink its my hormones. I had this when i was preggy with 1st too. Can be quite disturbing to the sleep. =(

kimmy: don't worry. maybe you are the lucky one whose MS disappears by week 10. baby will be healthy. stay positive and look forward to seeing your little one later!

sunsweet: wow, 29mm. mine was 4mm at week 6, i wonder if it will grow till 29mm when i go for mine this coming Monday!

I've told my boss yesterday and asked to work from home for the rest of this week. MS getting bad and unpredictable.

Posted on Wednesday, September 07, 2011 - 11:58 am:   
How? My mil boiled chicken soup w dang gui for me again for lunch later.. How do I avoid drinkg without saying I can't take dang gui? Oh dear.. Actually, she's v learned in all these tonics stuff.. Surprises me tt she doesn't know I can't take dang gui now.. ;( I shld hv told her dang gui makes me nauseous. ;(

Wahh kimmy, 10 weeks already. I'm 1 week behind u.. This 1st tri feels like eternity to me..

Hope we can all ride out the 1st tri together! 2nd tri shld b much more comfortable! ;)

hi all mummies, i haven't been to the thread yday due to terrible MS, whole day can't do anything dun know how to survive...my mouth constantly have this bitterness, not sure if any mummy also experience the same? i have not told my boss also, but like this how to work

my next apptmt is this Sat hopefully can see bb hb by then, please help me pray...

am also envy with you all that your husbands are all thrilled with your pregnancy. mine is not happy at all. maybe i was too upset thats why 6w + already still no hb...

Ho,

John Tee did my 1st child down syndrome scan.. he's a caring doc.. from the way he speaks.. I think he is also very experience.

But I chose Dr. Tan bec I;m more comfy with lady gyne..

1x mummy,
when u are telling you office then?

I am thinking soon else I got to run around alot during F1 as my company is involved in F1..

Hi sunsweet,

thanks for your feedback. I am actually having my 2nd child. I delivered my 1st gal at TMC and my gynae was Dr. Koh Cheng Huat. Went to see him yesterday but my hubby and i was very angry with the counter nurse. Rude and unfriendly. Therefore thinking of switching to Dr. John Tee.

By the way anyone delivered at KKH hospital? How's the experience there.

Hi mtbs, I am back from my hkg shopping trip! Walked alot, eat alot too, and bought tonnes of stuff for my #1! now waiting for my next gynae appt this coming fri! hope the lil beanie has grown alot inside me!

Miumiu, u have to stay happy, cos baby can sense us if we r unhappy! Men tend to be more Bo chap! Mine is not v excited about this #2 either, have to wait for the baby to be out then they can feel the excitement!

Ho,

I have my 2 previous delivery at KKH, I stay in the B ward (4 bedder) as I do not want to tired my hubby out by choosing 1 bedder also I'm scared to be alone at hospital)

Nurses are nice and helpful, neighbours are generally ok. I think if they get too noisy, you just inform the nurse and they will do their job.

I'm going to deliver at KKH again this time round.

Somehow feels safer there. in terms of the specialist they have here for both mother and child.

Miumiu- Jia you! For me MS means constantly having a sourish taste in my mouth. It is only curbed by eating bitter or sweet stuff.

Lucinda-My gynae is Dr John Tee. Only seen him once though. He is a man of few words, but I chose him as he seemed one of the most experienced gynaes at TPS. My previous gynae left TPS for private practice.

Ho: when my SIL delivered in KKH, natural delivery, she was discharged the nx day! Amazing fast. And I heard that they never bath the baby after birth, just clean (not very clean also) and return to u. She was staying in 4 bedder, and quite noisy when we visited her. But since only staying 1 night, i guess it's ok.

In terms of parking, KKH sure win TMC hands down.

But I still prefer TMC. More convenient for me. I am opting for TMC again this round.

hi mummies, i am on my 7th week, my MS seems stop now. but still feel a bit heavy heart and some stomach pain.. not sure is my baby ok?

yesterday took lots of chillie for lunch and dinner.. now felt guilty.. anyone know is it ok to have spicy food?

jojay, dun worry, MS comes and goes. i felt 'unpregnant' for half a week in week 7 too. now week 8, MS here one day, gone next day. be positive!

Ho,

I was delivered at kkh w dr regina. And stayed at 1 bedder. Your hb can stay overnight with you. There is a toliet inside the room. And more privacy. I stay 2 night with natural delivery. The nurse there will teach you how to bath, change clothes for your bb. They are nice and friendly.

Miu miu,
Be happy and cheer up. Hope everything will be fine for u and your bb

Congrats and Hello to all April MTBs.

I am expecting a little playmate for my 20 months old son. Was at the gynae yesterday and EDD is 21 April. Funnily, when I tracked back the dates, the conception took place after I tested positive. Anyway, as long as baby is growing healthly, will not probe too much into it.

This pregnancy is pretty different from my last. I was already experiencing symptons before my menses was due. I am hungry all the time, tired and queasy from noon onwards and extra queasy in the evening. Within the couple of weeks that I tested positive, I have put on 1.6kg.

I had c-sect for my 1st and if all goes well, would like to attempt a natural birth this time. As much as I know how time will fly and I will miss being pregnant soon, I still look forward to welcoming the second trimester soon.

miumiu,
dont be upset. 6weeks is kinda early to detect hb. My gynea manage to find the hb after several attempts. u shld be able to see on your next visit.

I went for Korean food last nite.. the spicy toufu soup is the best thing i enjoy since im pregnant. Im kinda into spicy things now. Only thing is, i think i ate too much and suffer from bad throat last nite.

I think i also got cough from my #1. It is ok that i fall sick now? Should i go to the doc?

mossie: we can't control if we fall sick. If you are sick, go to the doc, any gp is fine, just let him know that you are pregnant. They will give u pregnancy safe medicine. Which is very much limited to paracetamol, the drowsy yellow flu tablet and some lozenges. But better than nothing. At least get MC to rest at home.

Cocomama: some people tested positive early and then later become negative due to chemical pregnancy. Egg is fertilised but not implanted yet. Best is to test after implantation. There is a few days difference (can be up to 1 week) between fertilisation and implantation dates. That's why best to test after miss menses.
Like you said, don't be too bothered by the dates, as long as the little one is growing.

Thanks CheekyDuckie, i think i will lun for a few more days. I try not to take medicine for the baby's sake. i just hope it wont affect the baby.

I've havent posted for a very long time.. think I only know a few of the mummies to be here...

Hope every1 will have a smooth pregnancy ahead!

Just wondering, anyone going through natural birth with no assistance (jabs) here?

Thought I'd like to give my first one this method of delivery, at least once in a lifetime.

Besides the immerse pain which I've heard so much about, what else should I be aware of?

thanks everyone for ur comforting words, i'll try though sometimes the MS was so bad that I wondering what am suffering for if husband doesn't want the bb.

littleDd, i went thru natural birth for my first one, no epidural, just used laughing gas. my water broke 5am and i gave birth ard 5pm. i think breathing rite is very imptt, it helped reduce the pain. the midwife at tmc also v experienced, instruct me push at the right time.

LittleDd, for my #1 i also aimed to go natural without assistance. I was on my own will power and tolerance (i have like super hi tolerance level), so high until i never realise i was having contractions. hahahaha... In fact, i fell asleep when i was in the delivery ward. The nurses all laughed at me.

That was until the last 45 mins before the baby was delivered. My baby had a very big head, and at the last stage, i really gave up thinking that the torture is going to last a few more hours, and asked for epidural. Within 30 mins of the epidural, the baby was delivered. For me, i think it's waste of money for the epidural. I wasn't pushing properly when the epidural was on. Once they reduced it, i could feel and push properly and baby was on in a matter of mins.

There's no need to decide now. You will most likely get some light contractions as you start going into labour. If you cannot handle, then just take epidural. Nothing wrong with it. Gas makes me super sleepy and it's useless i think. A lot got to do with the bb's size and your size. Generally, most people whom i know went thro with no assistance, have smaller size babies, (no big heads, broad shoulders, etc), or they just have a super incredible tolerance for pain.

For #2 this round, if not detected with big head, not bigger than #1, i would try no assistance again. hahaha... else... Epidural is most welcomed!

I took epidural for my 1st too. I also wanted to try no assistance at first.
But for me, epidural was the 'catalyst' becos i was too tensed and was tensing up the muscles. Cervic not opened even though waterbag already leaked. So they put me on drip. After I cannot endure the pain, i asked for epidural. As the muscle relaxed,cervic opened very fast for delivery. After 5 pushes, my small baby was out.

I also agree dun have to decide now. Experience it next year and use the pain-relief option that you find most suitable.

For those mummies who took epidural, do you experience any side effect of it?