(2012/04) Apr 2012

hi starrie,

so nice of you! saw your post on FB =)
hmm but too bad i missed the spree liao.
nvm, at least now i know which are the popular products! TQ so much!

hi cayden's mummy,
no prob! i experiencing real bad water retention too on my foot! like pig trotter now! and i'm only turning week 33 tmr lor! now waddle like penguin liao. and worst, the tummy itch come back to haunt me again..arggg
dunno whether i still can take nice maternity photoshoot next sat bo...

my bb cot not even delivered yet! oppz got to call hubby call and chase liao..alarmak.

hi monica,

i used the batiste shampoo before during my Chicken pox, personally dun like cos it make my hair even greasy.
so i bought the klorane this time.
here the link. is the first item.

http://www.klorane.com.au/

u r also buying from little dreamers? consolidated orders le? when r u ordering. i'm gonna order too for the bath and spray.

Hi fantasy,

I compiling the order via email easier to monitor... I have PM you.. alternative you can email me at [email protected]

Anyone thought of ordering Newbaby Confinement food, i have got a $50 voucher, on top of the early birth discount, got additional $50 off. Since i am not using, anyone needs can take from me
i think that ordering confinement food is cheaper than hiring CL, i am also not comfortable staying with other people. Usually its the cooking portion that takes up most of the time, coz has to buy food daily at the market to ensure the freshness, then wash, then cook for lunch and dinner, after that got to wash up. Where got time to look after baby?

Dragon
You can also consider "pethadine" (spelling?) Which can be administered by a midwife. However people say it is only useful in early stages of labour. It makes you sleepy so if administered too late, you might be too drowsy to push and baby might come out drowsy too. (I paid attention during mrs wong's prenatal class!!)

There is also a TENS machine that you can rent, which has sticky pads that go on your back and sends out electric currents to prevent pain from womb from reaching your brain. But got to check in advance if ur hospital has it avail.

Just to share on a common concern re epis: for my #1 I had an epi, and she came out very alert and curious. No vomitting or excessive backache for me though I did experience the shivers. I thought it was becos the baby and placenta (our heat source, right?) were already delivered, but now I realise it could be an after effect of epi. Lasted less than an hour. Anyway mums are usually kept in delivery suite for about an hour after observation

pinkbunny, my case i wasn't kept in delivery suite for an hour leh. i think after i was stitched up, maybe stay there only 10-15mins then went back to ward already. i delivered in tmc for my #1.

you meant tmc or mt a?

Do you all know if the nurse will help you to use the abdominal belt after you had your c-section? I will be delivering in Kandang Kerbau Hospital and I know they dont't provide the belt. So I was thinking if they can help me use it since i have bought it now. i will due in April 25th and im supposed to do the c-section at least 1 week before my due date. I've got no one to help me use it.

Thank you..

Siti, I'll be delivering at GE, my gynae told me not to buy it, his nurse aka mid-wife will buy for me as we may not get the right sizing, also, this is to be wore from day 2, not day 1.

Meinme,

Thanks but my massage lady asked me to wear it on day 1.. im not sure which is which now. I heard a lot of people wear it on day 1. I think it will be painfull to wear it on day 1 so let just see wat happen when the time comes. But really i do not know who is going to help me wrap my tummy. haiz.

Lil cactus
Was Mt A, this time TMC

Anyone notice very dry skin between fingers? Mine started today. Another weird pregnancy thing??

Tonight: ikea bathtub! Another thing to strike off list, yay!

Mums,
How many maternity pads shd we bring to hosp ah? Now the whole pack is alrd taking up 85% of my cabin bag haha

Oh and I'm bringing extra pillows to hosp too. To help with proping up baby for breastfeeding in hospital. Figured it's not a hotel and the nurses may not appreciate giving 3 extra pillows to one mum! And so cheap at ikea. $3.90 only. Putting 2 on my lap would bring baby to perfect height. Hehe. Tested out at home last night!

Hmm.. Maternity Pads. I will prob bring like 15 - 20 pieces or so. Use the vacuum bag to pack! Shrink wrap! Then won't take up a lot of space already! Can get from daiso the vacuum bags. $2 only. =)
Pinkbunny. Pillows can also vacuum pack. The $2 bags are quite good. Can reuse also. I always use to shrink wrap my #1 diapers and our clothes when we go holidays.

Siti, my gynae telling me not advisable to wear on day 1 because we are clearing out the lochia (postnatal bleeding), the binding may affect this process. I would suggest to check with you gyane on when is the appropriate day to wear.

My 1st gynae didn't tell me to wear.

Thanks Meinme. I will check with my gynae later when i go for my checkup. This is my second baby. 1st one I was not prepared with all these and this time round I need to prepare coz its just feel nice to be ready and u noe wat to do if anything happen.

Wow, all the mummies here mostly are prepared but im in the same case like a few mummies here. I have not prepare my hospital bag yet. Ive listed down wat to bring. I gather half of the items. Feel so lazy, hot, cramps and aches everywhere on my body.. haiz..

pinkbunny,
the cot i am keen on is similar just that its not the girly design (since I am expecting a boy this time)...i think most likely i will get it. it really does save a lot more space than my current cot. My current one has drop down rail which I used to carry baby with one hand and lower e rail with another (use the leg to push the rail to slide down). =P

i am bringing normal heavy/night flow pads which are extra long. I did the same for #1 and it worked fine. since its thinner, its much more comfortable. No stains at all. I only packed like less than 10 pcs but I may add on more just be safe. If not, could always ask hubby to bring from home.

Fantasy,
i tried the little dreamers warming shampoo and body wash. its ok with a lovely scent except that it does not seem to foam much. am just gonna use regular shampoo and body wash this time. Hee..

vonvon,
which package did you take with Natal essential? I am planning to order the trial meal and have it delivered to my office. I am thinking of getting the 14 days single package.. guess it depends if my mom is keen to cook a lil for me after 2 weeks!

siti,
dun worry, i am still very unprepared too. baby clothes, diapers, wipes, hospital bag and cot still not ready. hahaha...

hi and welcome siti
don't worry, i'm also kind of taking my time with preparations as this is my #2. with #1, by this stage, already most things prepared, and twiddling thumbs waiting for baby's arrival

haru
like this one? http://www.ikea.com/sg/en/catalog/products/70190214/

wah your old cot sounds very gao nan du leh! i sure panic and get stressed out wan haha

oh good idea re the maternity pads. will just bring 10 and if not enough, hubby can bring the next day
feels funny packing for a trip that only i am preparing for!

cheeky duckie
good idea re the vacuum bags for maternity pads and diapers! i've always only put clothes in them hehe. the daiso ones are very big?

ikea sale
starts next thurs, 8 mar till 25 mar. from the invite, one thing stands out: the sleeping bag at $9!

just a bit of headless chickenness: I'M DUE IN 3-5 WEEKS' TIME!!!!!!!!!!!!

haru: i also getting those normal pad for night heavy flow. I bought the Sofy 47 cm long(very kiasu right? ) because i worried will leak when i sleep..and if stained my pajamas in the hospital so maloo right :p

I think i will start to pack my hospital bag tomorrow.. how about the rest of you mummies?

Everyday I will say to myself that I will pack my hospital bag tomorrow or this weekend. End up I never did. I kept the list for almost 1 mth already. I'm worried abt baby cot. Im buying a 2nd hand one coz I don't think im gonna have baby no 3 ;-).

Ive forgotten abt the maternity pad totally. And I forgotten wat did the hospital gave me the last time. I think i need to go to the taka baby fair to buy all these. At least the baby fair is longer than da one at spore expo. A bit kianchong now after reading all ur post here...

hi pinkbunny,

ya shivers is one of the side effect from epidural.according to the pre-natal class, shivers,vomitting etc are common but not necessary applicable to everyone. some experience severe cases while some no feeling.
i hope i am the lucky one! is a risk to take but bo bian, my pain endurance level is super low.
my gyne discussed with me the options and i told her i choose epidural straight. she replied: WISE choice! haha cos she said laughing gas can't help much. no point go through everything and end up w epidural in the end.

Cheekyduckie (blue_turtle7)
did u just change your nick?? haha...
good idea to use vacumn pack the maternity pad!
my friend asked me bring 1 pack of loop and 1 pack of adhersive pack and i had change from my kate spade diaper bag to addias travel bag to accomodate!!!

hi haru,
thanks for the feedback. hmm den i shld reconsider cos i prefer foamy shampoo haha. otherwise hair is like not wash leh.

hi ms tan,
wah 47cm!! indeed very long leh. but i not used to sofy's pad it will give me rashes=(
i got handdown maternity pad from my pregnant friends so will just used their.
got myself the laurier superslimguard night use for home(30cm) when i am back.

hmm my hospital bag is like 90% packed.
tink just left 3 nursing bra (already throw in 1)& hp charger etc which can only be throw in nearer the date??

actually i'm tinking do i need 4 nursing bra and whether 1 pack of disposable panties is enough..hmm.. wat abt rest of the mummies?

i saw in FB mentioned abt this brand earth mama and there another one little dreamer. both also have the bottom spray.. which is beta?

Having difficulties sleeping for the past 3 night. Keep waking up!! Gosh I m tired n sleepy.

Half way through my hospital bag. Also packed 10 maternity pads only cos hospital will provide mah. Hee...

Me also not sure 1 packet of disposable panties is sufficient s not. Anyway in total I bought 4 packets dunno need to top up another few packets to last through confinement. Too lazy to wash...

pinkbunny,
yup! thats e one! haha, no la my current cot is not that difficult to use. It is very handy to lower e rail with child is older but also coz the cot is higher and i am short! but the ikea one is much lower hence it would prob be manageable even without e drop rail.

ohh!! I didn't get the ikea invite lei...but def worth checking out the ikea sale!

Ms Tan,
thats why i am using my regular panties that i use when i have my period. Highly recommend Sloggi as they have those meant for when you have your period as the material is easily washable in case of stains. I find that disposable undies not secure enough to keep pad in place.

Fantasy,
maybe can alternate the regular and warming shampoo? =)

talking of nursing bra, i need to get new ones coz my old ones won't fit!

silvery_gal,
me too, managed to fall asleep nicely last night but as soon as the toilet visits began had a hard time sleeping well. couldn't get comfy and hard to fall back asleep. +.+

oh pink bunny,
are you using the mattress pad for the cot? wondering if i should get it for the extra "cushioning" for the cot. i have it for my own bed and its quite shiok. =)

hi silvery_gal & Haru

as the days draw nearer, keeep thinking whether everything is enough. LOL. i think i also beta get some normal size disposable panties and a maybe 1-2 more pack of normal night use pads to standby. More is better den less right. dunno how long the "bleeding" will take and how many we need to change a day!

ya i second the night sleeping. now i bought the long bloster, it does help abit. but as soon as i need to go toilet den again hard time getting back to sleep again. =( worst is sometimes due to the bb's sleeping position pressing against my tummy, got difficulities in getting up/out of bed lor. now everyday wake up also tired... zzzz

Hi mummies, I've been MIA for a LONG time! Hope everyone is gearing up...time flies...less than two months to go!!!

Anyone happens to know a nanny who's available next month? Yes, I know, very last-minute. The story is: I'd tried to look for one the minute I tested positive but my previous nannies (this is my 3rd pregnancy) and those recommended by friends were booked. Since I live with my parents and had a maid, thought I could cope without one.

BUT, my maid left very recently and we now have a part timer coming in 3x weekly. So think I will try my luck trying to hire a nanny at such short notice. Anyone knows of one available and recommended, do let me know!

Thanks!!!!

KKH is also providing 1 pack of maternity pads so probably bring another pack there just in case. Bought it from JB. Hehe! Alternatively those super long night sanitary pads will also do..

Today saw advertisement for Scholl's compression stocking. Looks super cute! Haha! And can reduce water retention, swelling, plus it also tones ur legs! Anyone use it before? Thinking of getting it as my water retention is quite bad..

pinkbunny: ikea bathtub is the cheapest so far! $15.90 only. everywhere I see it's at least $20+ to $50+! so freaking ex!

Btw, babysafe is having 15% off at their baby department on level 3 during the taka baby fair period. Yay! Today received Mustela samples by post too~

about abdominal binder

I am 1st time in this thread.
Giving birth on 29 mar for my 3rd boy via c-section.

binder is a must especially c-sec mom, patient is advised to walk more as soon as they are allowed to get off bed, probably the next day. By the time, she will need a binder to support the tummy's weight from pressing down to the scar, it is very painful w/o putting on binder.it's true that the nurse will ask you to buy one if you dun have. thomson charges about $40 6 years ago, if you have your own binder, can bring along and save the $. fyi

Hi Cayden, i am a May2012 Mommy, and saw your question. =) Was popping by here to also read tips. hehe.

For the compression socks, I am wearing it for the past month already. it does make me feel better in the contraction and suan-ness in the calves. I have water retention and my feet size goes up by 2 notch. I cant say that it makes me doesnt have any, but then again, it might be also controlling the retention.

Overall, i think is a good buy. Cos i feel more secured and firmed with support on my calves at night. Hope that helps!

Gina
I've pm-ed u my ex CL's contact.

Cayden's mummy/yip
Where to buy the compression stockings from? And how much? My calves are aching so badly....

Yip
Does it feel tight and constricting to wear it at night?

Cayden's mummy
Yup ikea's bathtub cheap and good. I like the anti slip function below. Serves us well dunno how hubby stepped on the side and broke it!

Pinkbunny: ooh that's good to hear! Am gonna buy 1 to put at my mum's place.. Alr got 1 at my house.

Alr bought the compression stockings today, Watson sell at $46.50 and guardian for $47.10 iirc. So went to watsons and got further discount, final price around $43.

They have 1 is like above knee length socks for night use (the one I bought), another 1 is like leggings which is until e waist for night use ($50+) and stockings for day use ($20+). All looks very good!

Yip: thanks for your review! Think it will most certainly help.. Many have been asking me to wear socks saying it helps with water retention as well. So think this one will be better

I am resolved to packing my bag today. Can't believe I am still procrastinating!

Any recommendations for abdominal binder?

Fantasy: tried it last night and it really works wonders! Immediately after I took it off can feel the difference. Leg is slimmer and not as flabby. My red patch has subsided a lot as well!

Anyone gg Taka baby fair later?

Can we use the normal abdominal binder even for c-sec? I saw the ones sold at guardian but not sure if I can use it if am having a c-sec. First time mummy

Cayden's mummy
I went to the taka fair.. Very crowded but still manageable.. I have never seen such long queue during previous taka baby fairs but it's moving very fast.. not as bad as mothercare sale...

Pigeon wipes
Was at the young parents seminar yesterday and pigeon was selling the moisturizing wipes at 3 for $9... Very reasonable.. Taka is selling at 4 for $15 today if I remember correctly.. But the sales person told me yesterday that this moisturizing wipes contain paraben but the normal red one does not..

Avent bottom balm is selling fast at the taka fair..

re: compression socks

I sleep in aircon room and i feel it is ok. No need to have blanket over at times. haha. dont feel tight. there are two sizes M or L. U can ask the pharmacy salesgirl to measure ur ankle and calves to get the right size. I bought it ard $50 (cant rem actual cost) in Unity, but u can getit from Watson too.

I feel that my calves are held on when i wear it. when i take it off, feel like calves muscles are quite "loose" dunno if u can understand. hahaha. but it felt good wearing it.

If it doesnt get too loose by the time i give birth, might even wear it after preggie! hehe

Thanks cayden's mummy! I just bought the socks! HAHA

Anyone considering getting the socks can go Watson. Got further 7% till 20 mar

My hospital bag is 80% packed .. just washed my nursing bra (2 pcs to bring) today and wait for it to dry before pack them in. Anyway i don't tink milk come so early after birth, do they?
And i realize the sofy pads that i bought is 41 cm long not 47 cm..silly me.. i rembr wrongly :p

Going to 34 weeks soon, any mummies BB head engaged already? My gynae check up will be this coming Thurs

Hi lotusmum: ya the queue moves very fast luckily. But this sales is more of accessories like strollers, cots, toys etc. milk bottles only have pigeon and avent. Diapers only pampers and Huggies.. Spent on a cot mobile costing $80! Lolz.

And talking about avent bottom balm, although it does not contain zinc oxide, but I saw both bottom balm and magic cream contains paraben! Argh! So I will get from those organic brands like Gaia baby bah.. Doesn't contain zinc oxide or paraben!

Fantasy: just now go Chinatown buy things and saw that they are selling the socks for $37!! Argh!! Lolz! Nvm la buy already.. Haha! Maybe next round if I wan e daytime stockings can go there buy.. Lol..

Ms tan: ya my bb head already downwards during check up last week.. Doc says not high chance bb will turn around.. Hope he is cooperative and stay head down.. Hehe.

Wow thanks fantasy and yip re the compression stockings. Might just get at watsons then! We're starting a new sleep fashion statement :D

Chalis
So did u pack ur bag? Hehe

Ms tan
Yay congrats on getting ur bag packed!!

Meinme
I'm doing like u and "seasoning" my PJs! They'll be nice after a second wash and ready for hospital bag :D

Don't forget toileteries, everyone!

Oh question: does anyone know if TMC provides towels and hairdryer? You know la, this naughty mummy intends to have a shower!

Fantasy! Argh! Where in chinatown did u see the stockings! Quick tell me! I go get!! (Sound very auntie hor?)

Forgot to share with my fellow water retention kakis: read in a pregnancy/confinement cookbook that winter melon soup is supposed to help aid water retention mums. Cook with chicken, chicken gizzard, chicken liver, chinese mushroom, carrot, gou qi zi, snow fungues and old ginger. Enjoy! I'm going to try to make tomorrow :D

Those with #1 and no helper, don't forget to prepare food in advance for your #1 to freeze so you don't have to worry about that when you're busy with new baby! Everytime I cook for #1, I always make extra portions to freeze then will take out to defrost the night before, according to the weekly menu :D

Hi ms tan, engaged meaning ready for deliver anytime right? My neighbor delivered her bb 3 days after her gyne said her bb is engaged! I'm seeing gyne this fri, hopefully bb still in head down position but not engaged yet cos i only start wk 34 on fri!

Hi cayden's mummy,
Arggg again! Yesterday i bought braun thermometer @ taka for 140+, later on saw at first yr @ paragon on offer for 130+! Haha lesson learnt make comparsion! But again w our heavy bump now it hard la, get the item before it gone is more impt!
Congrats on your bb's position

Hi pinkbunny,
Think u r asking cayden'mummy on chinatown right? Heehee
Oya regarding the chicken gizzard, wat that?

Been a silent reader all along. I will be a 2nd time mother - EDD in early April.

Ron8129 - I used a binder ( Velcro type) after my c-section, as suggested by obstetrician. I found it more comfortable cos it gave support to my tummy.

For those who went to Taka fair, are there many carseat selection and which brands are available?

Fantasy
Chicken gizzard is the innard, other than the liver, usually sold at the chicken rice stall...very chewy.. Also known as "kian" in hokkien..

fantasy
head down doesn't mean going to deliver. when bb's head down, meaning we have chance to go for natural delivery.

SSP
i saw many carseats sold. but, didnt' see what brands 'cos not eyeing for carseats.

Everyone is getting excited to prepare all the baby essentials and stuff. Im also too but to go to the Taka fair is gonna be a headache for me. The last time i went to the expo sale wth crowds i almost fainted. I am thinking to go Taka fair but thanks to all the mummies here to share the items that they are offering. I just need to know the price range for baby cots coz I really need one for my 2nd baby.

I have the socks tat was given to me last time from KKH.. but this time round my water retention at my kakis not tat bad.. and I think im not geting any. Ive read tat we need to drink lots of water or plain water to avoid this.. Its when u don't have enuf water in ur body then u will have water retention on ur feet..

one of the auntie here told me tat my baby bump going down. I think my baby head has engaged but not too sure. I can't wait for the next scan to see my baby.

Hi ah meng,

I didn't know that the hospital encourage u to use the binder and walk after the c-sect. Its a bit scary. I bought one already coz I know im going to do c-sect this time. Im just not sure if the nurses will help me to wrap it around my belly. heheh