(2012/02) Feb 2012

chewie>hee, never been there. hope I can visit them one day.

Re:massage
can try my malay massage lady.i lkke the fact that she exerts strength and can bind really tightly. I had tried another massage lady but found her massage toolight to be useful. My massage lady charges $400 for 7 sessions, each 1 hr.
If you are interested, can contact June at 91526533

Lynn: u can try to contact mine at 98804301, Mdm Zubaidah. She charged 350 for 7 sessions in 2010, bur I forgot to ask wats her rate now haha...

Teong: I'm in my 15th week already but still when I'm tired I will puke lor. Sian...

Thanks again mummies

Think I will go for the massage.

But if we book now, then deliver thru c-sec, and they dun massage tummy area, isn't it waste? Do we have to pay deposit to book?

Teoong, good idea on the cheap single mattress, will get tat if come across a cheap one

Congrats planet, very excited hor!! I gotta wait 2 more weeks...

Chewie, can PM me the number for the massage lady?? Thanks!!

I'm still burping non-stop.. Anyone has this problem?? I check online, they say its normal, that the high level of progestrone relax the digestive tract so that the nutrients of the food can be more effectively extracted.. But it's sooooooooooooooooo xinku to burp non-stop. The burp not those normal type, it makes me feel nauseous.. I HATE it!!! AHHH.. Can eat anything to make it better???

pinkz: I'm not sure abt c-sect leh, but my massage lady did say if c-sect she'd only do it 6 weeks post delivery.

Babyfaery: I also burp non stop, esp when full or hungry. Sian right, v disgusting feeling. Try drinking fizzy drink? I find soda helps, maybe u wanna try?

Chewie: I just came back ... The baby clothes at outlet malls damn cheap! I didn't buy anything Coz I cannot confirm my gender.. Since it's almost confirm now, will get my parents to grab for me again! Not sure if they could lug the pram back too. Haha ....

Babymaking, when is your next visit to dr's Loh? I just saw him. He damn gd ok, can Asked me if I felt movements already... Which i did.. Said 2nd pregnancy faster...

He said I nv gain weight last 2 wks!! He is v nice. Said since I m scared he will see me another time before scheduled 5 mths detailed scan. Bb still in prone position. He said he cant tell gender.. Said my bb likes to lie face down.

Nana, yea my dilemma cos I also cannot cfm now. Am going to see another doc 1 day before I fly. Hopefully will get to know. Else both gender also buy! I also thought of getting pram. Almost half price there. You know, normally parents will bring the pram onboard the plane, so it actually doesn't add to your carry on weight... but I guess since I have no baby to carry, the airline will think I am siao. How was food and everything? You went for 3 weeks right?

NC, babyfaery, burp is better than fart :/

morning mummies

been busy cataloging recipes - and trying out new ones.

hazel
glad everything is well, next visit to Dr Loh is next wed, he still have not replied my emails abt the amnio, so hope he has more definitive advice then.

started feeling bb move since last week, like a fluttering, then it got progressively stronger, last night hubby could feel it too.

wondering if bb is more active in the night, does it mean that when born, it will also have a opposite day/night schedule?

my #1 was active in the day in the womb and he turned out to be a good sleeper at night.

babymaking, thats fast. So for 2nd bb we can feel bb movement earlier? Cos my #1, I only feel the movements in late 2nd trimester.
Sometime, my #1 do kick my tummy at nite when I sleep. I will wake up and have to wait till he is not so active then I can sleep. He's more active in the day time. He is still like that now. Most of the time can sleep thru the nite but sometimes do wake up and cry either for nothing or for milk.

Lynn, under Profile, Preferences, uncheck Do not send me "Private Message" e-mails from other board users - I think...

babymakingm, wow that's fun! I haven't felt anything...

Babymaking, at times he wun reply email if he feels that is better to discuss face to face. Yes, u r right, can feel fluttering much earlier this round.. Night time, I will feel it at times if I lie on my side.

I was still wOndering if I m imagine things since last round I felt at 17wks. Dr loh told me fetus most likely kicks my pelvic, n he showed me the side of the abdomen the legs are.. That's why I keep feeling the movements there. Initially, He said see me again 5 wks later after 19+ wks detailed scan. But after I told him I was monitoring my weight gain daily n tummy size, he relented knowing that I m scared. He said this round I hv gd oscars test unlike last time. I know he is assuring me.. But he is really understanding to let me see him again in 2wks time.

Yesterday, immediately after lunch, ate Yong tau Fu with lots of chilli.. I get heart burn. Painful n really uncomfortable. I didn't experience this the last round. Guess my beanie dun like chilli stuff...

Btw, how much weight u gain so far? This 2 wks though I didn't gain much, fetus grows by 3cm from last DS scan. Really Amazing!

Hopes beanie flips n turn 180 degrees face up next scan...

Morning everyone, wow I missed so much on massage! Chewie, PM me also for the contact? I live in Jurong West, not sure if the lady willing to make trip though.

Good morning ladies,

Coming to 17wk, still cannot feel bb movement le... some of you already can feel it.. but my tummy looks very big, ppl tot is 5 months. Maybe big too much water in side cannot feel bb movement

Night time after dinner about 3 hrs later anyone feel hungry? I need to eat something before bed time...if not my tummy cry for hungry

jacsmy
think normal for toddlers to cry for nothing at night - it sometimes get worse ard 24-30 mths as they get more active in the day. some call it night terrors.

#1 only felt his movements ard week 20.

hazel
gain 3kg since but it's back to pre pregnancy weight as during the cycle lost weight due to the bloatedness and puking, but tummy looks like 5 mths preggy.

good that dr loh is very accommodating to your needs. my visits are still almost 6 weeks apart. i am ok with that as i have the doppler to ease my mind, save up the consult & taxi $$ to buy more stuff for bb.

btw, did you join the FAST scheme at TPS? at delivery, they offer a $100 voucher to buy stuff at the pharmacy, good deal considering it saves time as well.

al
try drinking some cold drink, then lie down flat, and place your palm lightly on lower tummy.

Hazel, I put on a total of 5kg liao. Scary!!! I think this time I will be much more heavlier then 1st pregnancy cos still hav 10kg from last pregnancy. If I put on a total of 30kg again when I'm abt to deliver.........! SCARY!!! FAT FAT!!! Bb only 2.9cm from last weeks's OSCAR scan.

babymaking> u mean KKH FAST scheme? Yes I joined too and can get 100 pharmacy voucher after delivery.

jascmy> my also 4-5kgs... don't think fat la..after delivery will go back shape must work hard lo. my #1 also gain 30kgs 9th months, about 1year can go down max 25kgs.

Babymaking, no I didn't sign up the fast scheme. How much is the minimum amt?

Jascmy, how many wks were u when u did Oscar scan? I was 12wks 2 days. Fetus length was 56mm. Yesterday 2 wks later, it grew by 30mm to 85mm

hazel
$400 or $450, they will draw from there and top up accordingly based on cc signed up, any remaining will go towards hospital bill during delivery.

this little gal of mine loves spicy food and strong flavour foods - so been whipping up lots of spicy foods for the past 2-3 mths.

al
how did you lose that 25kg? i put on 30kg during #1, managed to lose only 10kg, am glad now is not putting on anymore weight as already plus plus sized!!

babymaking> i pay S$488 for the package le...how come your one cheaper then me? I start joined abt 14wk le.

How I lose 25kgs:
1)everyday carry bb to nanny house roud trip (walk about 500m far)then rush to work.
2)weekend go swimming...
3) most of the time not engouh sleep, cos bb night time always wake up cry for milk or want to play untill bb about 1 year old sure slim down but really stressful lo.

Good morning mummies

Wah seems like quite a number gain more than 20kg. I hope I dun gain tat much coz already gain 10kg since my wed 5years back
so regret now...

I tot gynae will control our weight gain?? Anyone knows why some gain so much while some not, purely due to food intake, like eat a lot? Or 'pu' a lot?

Ya, when do we normally start to gain weight? I now ard the same as pre preg.. Hoping to gain as late as posssible, coz understand tat weight will rocket up in 3rd tri correct....

Good to hear that some mummies already feeling the little beanie's movement. I'm also feeling my beanie fluttering movements at times, like the rest of the mummies said. 2nd pregnancy can feel the movement faster.

Hazel, majority of the wt gain shld b at the thrid tri. My gynae is the type that will control our wt gain, I know that some gynae don't control so long both mummy and baby are healthy.

Al, salute to you! so fast lost 25kgs!

Pinkz, most masseuse will still do the massage for you if you had C-sec, but will not be so fast like those who had natural birth. Probably 4wks or more onwards. I have frds still calling in the masseuse to do massage for them till abt 10mths after birth. Prob like once 1 wk/mth. hee.. but really have to set aside some $$ for it.

pinkz,
Some mummies gain a lot of weight due to water retention. I got a friend gaind 20kg+ due to water retention, lost most of it after 1 month from birth. Some mummies have a lot of amiotic fluid, tummy big, so this adds to more weight also. But main thing is both mother and baby are healthy and doing well, weight gain is secondary.
Important thing is the weight gain should be gradual and steady.Should skyrocket too much in 3rd trimester also. Like that will probably have highly likelihood to get stretch marks

Can go to the below site to get a guage of how your weight gain should be like. But it's just a guage lah, not a die die to follow thing
http://www.baby2see.com/pregnancy_weight_calculator.html

Just hoping not to gain much ;p

So nice to feel bb movement, guess I'll have to wait patiently, #1 for me.

Btw, for those sign up for tmc FBI, receive any call from insurance agent? Have u all meet the agent?

Experience mummies, wat insurance u buy for bb?

Birdbrain, thanks for the link! Just calculated, my weight gain below average... It's ok la, I feel my tummy growing thou, so hope it grows gradually.

al
eh can't remb how much, only that it;s in the range of $400 plus - lol. anyways it's like a stored value card.

was telling hubby after #2, die die must lose weight.

hazel
most weight gain ard end of 2nd tri and beg of 3rd tri as was on complete bed rest for #1, plus was downing durians like no body business from week 32 onwards as anytime can emergency c sec and to boost bb's weight. luckily it worked and bb gain almost 1 kg in the last few weeks to week 34 when he finally came out via c sec.

Al, how did u lost 25kg. I only lost 20kg leh. Still have 10kg. And now adds on liao.
Hazel, I'm 12weeks and 2days too when I did my OSCAR.
birdbrain, for me is Fat fat!! Cos I eat a lot. Can't endure my hungry sickness. So can't lost at all. I got my stretchmarks at the final mth loh. Cos tummy suddenly grew bigger.

pinkz>even if you c-sect, can still do massage. just that must wait longer to do. if u want, better book the massage lady early cos most of them v busy. normally no need pay deposit

Thanks birdbrain, this chart is very useful. I shall aim to follow it. So far i'm still on track. I gained alot in first two months, but 3rd month didn't gain any. Doc said bb is good size at 8.2cm in 15th weeks. I find her abit short. The books says 15 wks shld be 10cm already?

Pinkz> I think milk plays a big part? Esp those mummie's milk, confim gain alot of weight one. But weight can lose, baby's health hard to "bu" back! I just heard from a friend, her first child is super fragile, fall down only will fracture something, almost every year he's in cast at least once. she felt that it's because she didnt drink much milk for first child. so second boy she diligently drank 2 glasses of milk everyday and ate alot of ice cream. second boy turned out ok.

jascmy,
haha, same here. I gained 12kg for #1. Still got another 2-3kg sticking on. But the thing is all the muscle tone all gone liao =p So much flabbier than pre-kids days.
For me, it was just so hard to get the discipline and determination to go on a regular exercise regime once you have a kid. Work, household chores, look after kid, try to catch up with friends and sleep... Already no time and energy liao

planet: did ur fren have low bone density to start with? I feel that maternal milk add on unnecessary weight only. If need calcium can take supplements mah. During pregnancy the body is extra efficient in terms of absorbing nutrients, so actually you will put on weight extra fast also. Healthy eating plus a glass of skimmed milk is sufficient liao.

Thanks lsntyl, will book soon.

Planet, tats scary.. I seldom drink milk too, stop awhile after ms get worse, now ms better, better start drinking again. Everyone keep telling me must drink milk, milk good.. Haha.. My sil dun drink milk at all, and no dairy product for her, she drink soya milk and take cal pill, son 1yr, so far so gd.

I think most of you can lost weight if you work hard exercise more, that time very stressful take care my #1 she very special night time like to play made me crazy.

sometime i also think that soya milk better, easy to absord by human body and compare the price with cow milk...soya milk cheaper le.

try not to take soya milk - as it contains plant estrogen which can mimic/increase female hormones which will affect development of male fetus.

also those soya milk sold outside contains a lot of sugar as compared to milk.

if afraid of weight gain, then take calcium supplement, but must include those with VIt D.

i hate those mother's milk. tastes v artificial. rather drink fresh milk n take supplements.

babymaking>yes about the soya milk. I purposely abstained from it during #1 cos scared it would affect him. :p

birdbrain: agree with u, after birth I signed up for gym membership only to waste it. I only lost the weight thru bf. But tummy is no longer as toned as pre- preg liao...

NC> Not sure. But she was very active in sports in school. And her second boy doesnt seem to be so fragile also. I do agree calcium pills can help supplement the necessary calcium needed. And mummies milk is not a must, other forms of milk or supplements will do too. In fact, I'm also taking calcium on the days I didn't consume milk... but somehow I just feel that drawing nutrients from original sources beats popping pills. Just have to push ourselves to be more "hardworking" in consuming a variety of fresh food and drinks! =)

Babymaking> So drinking alot of soyamilk is ok if bb is girl right?

My gynae said need 2 big glasses of milk for sufficient calcium. If I take enough, then don't need to take the tablets. But a bit gelak... so I usu drink 1 glass and take the tablet every night

planet: soya milk is good! For both mummy's and baby. When I was breastfeeding, drinking soya milk also helped me with supply. Everyday must down soya milk.

My #1 I had no craving, not much appetite either. But somehow still ended up gaining 19kg. Tummy was so huge towards the end hubby had to help me wash my legs and feet and trim my toe nails haha...

NC> Gasp! Cannot reach toe nails in the last month? Wow. I can't imagine hubby trimming my nails leh. Sure cannot make it one. Haha.