(2012/02) Feb 2012

Yanyan: yes it's safe. Will be going on a family vacation at the end of August and another trip in September. I flew while I was pregnant with #1 and #2 as well.

Dear all, I'm so tired last night my girl High fever 39.9 make me so worry whole night can't sleep well. Today take childcare leave. Pray that her fever stop and won't come back again

Another baby fair in Oct?? Where? If really that's is good timing for bb stuff.

Yanyan>better wait 4th month then go, now is dangerous if take plane. Last month My company also want me go Thailand for seminar, but I really don't want take the risk.

Kwxy, leg cramps nothing to be scared. Just v painful. The way to sooth it is to reflex your toes towards you with your leg straight if you are lying down. Alternatively, straighten the leg straight while standing with the foot flat on the ground. The part of flesh may hurt thereafter when the cramp is gone. Just softly massage on it.

yanyan>don't see why you can't travel esp after 1st trimester. but good to double check with your gynae.

Al>hope your gal gets better soon. I also don't know about a fair in Oct.

KWXY, I get lower calf leg cramps in the middle of the night almost everyday! Sigh.. i heard it could be cos of the lack of calcium, but I luv my cheese and oatmeal and am eating calcium pills everyday, duno why still cramp.
But I have learnt how to relieve it, each time it starts, I will pull back my toes towards me.. slowly of course... then the cramp will stop.

I just booked a Europe Cruise in Oct yesterday at the Chan Bro fair! haha.. i told hb, it's now or no chance after bb is born. ;p

i just back from taipei only...i think it depends on the stability of the pregnancy and whether your gynae give the go ahead...

i was 11 weeks when i traveled.

Ive been reading the thread, and found really good advice here and there.

Am in my 15 weeks, Actually from 2012 jan thread, but decided to join here too, coz my EDD is late jan, so bb may come late too...which i hop so... "cross fingers"...

Lush: Good for u....to go for some holiday...b4 no time!!! u stopping over at any particular EU country?? If u need any tips on places to visit, let me know, I travelled to some EU country b4..

KWXY: make use of hubby to give u a rub/massage!! xD

Does anyone experience sharp pain at yr lower abdomen when u cough or sneezes? The pain does go away after awhile but its quite painful...

After first tri if taking long flight, better to wear compression socks on the plane, drinks lots of water n walk arOund in the plane. This will prevent swelling of blood vessel in the legs which can be dangerous. I can't remember the medical name for it now.

Check with ur dr & get a letter for ok to travel. If not customs may stop u fr boarding if tummy is obvious.

Yanyan: ok to travel during trimester 2. Double check with your gynae. I'm going to HK during sep.

Al: speedy recovery for ur gal.

Mummies: had ur tastebuds return? I craving for alot of things but no tastebud leh. Super sian...

Yan>> Short flight to BKK no need to wear compression socks. =) If you had not have any bleeding or complications so far, it's ok to air travel. Just do some homework before hand, find out the nearest hospital near your hotel and also the emergency numbers. Will be good to get some medication (approved for pregnancy) for food poisoning from the doc.

Thanks mummies. First time experience cramp on lower calf of my right leg. I was slping soundly until a sudden sharp pain!

My friends also told me maybe lack of calcium. Becoz in 1st tri, I cut down on milk as I'm feel nausea 24/7. It feels yucky! So now I slowly trying to take milk again. Hope the cramp don't look for me again (unlikely right??)

And to share I am 13 weeks tmr !! soooo happy!!

Hazel: were u referring to dvt? The condition only arised from more than 6hr flight without movement of legs.
Yanyan, u should b ok for short Asia trips, just make sure u do some leg rotation exercise while on flight to maintain blood circulation to limbs.

Kwxy: hope u r better, should avoid tapioca n sweet potatoe as well. These 2 plus kangkong causes water retention n leg cramps according to my mum.

feelingblessedprincess yup but not sure what will be available also. It's arranged by this company vivacious media

al Baby expo 21-23 October 2011, 11am - 9pm

LSnTYL my sister informed me. She alot of lobang. Also ask her to order Braun thermoscan for me 60 bucks she say almost 50% cheaper. How much are the uniqlo bras? Normally when got discount? Oh there is a spree for medela under TLL?

Recalled a sis mentioned that she is going bkk? Pls check out boots breast milk bags there. Is dirt cheap which u can't get here or at spree. u can get a few hundreds and will just cost u 2 digits. Always sold out at Boots pharmacy, which is equivalent to our guardian here n is everywhere in bkk. Goggle online u will know.

hi mummies.. had my oscar done ytd morning.. but.... very sad.. bb NT 10.5mm.. tmc din even do blood test for me.. only told me tat my gynae will explain to me.. then its a 7plus hrs wait b4 i finally see my gynae at 6pm.. going for another test -> chorionic villus sampling CVS which will be 100% accurate.. but today holiday, gynae can only book tmr.. hope to have e test soon.. asked gynae for this wk mc & told boss tat i'm not in stable condition to go work.. sianz man.. gynae din detect it when he saw bb 2 wks ago.. hope its jus some fluid drainage issue..

Claramimi, how many wks r u? Wat's your risk level for Oscar scan? Was the nasal bone detected?

CVS is not 100% accurate. It is at most 98% accurate. It carries a risk of miscarriage as high as up to 1%. even higher than amniocentesis test done usu at abt 18wks. It is even more accurate than CVS at 99% & test for even more abnormalities Did ur dr tell u that?

Actually, u dun hv to do CVS now n take the risk of miscarriage. U can go Camden To do a detailed scan at 14wks. Dr Ananda is v experienced n good. He will do a detailed scan equivalent to 5 mths scan that check every single organs of the bb, basically, he is checking for markers of abnormalities, include DS & assess the risks after that, thick NT but if no markers of abnormalities then The risk is greatly reduced. He is an expert in that. Will cost u $300 over but u will get a CD with many photos of your bb.

A few mummies I know hv high DS risk from Oscar test. Went to see him n the scan turn out gd. Bbs are born normal. My close friend has a risk of 1/16 for one of her twins as Oscar test said bb has no nasal bone. At 14wks, she went Camden, dr ananda detected nasal bone, just shorter than normal. Both twins r born healthy. Unless, dr ananda also said high risk, u can still decide to do amnoocentesis later.

I wld advice u not to take the risk now of doing CVS. Anyway, camden's details is per below. U can goggle on the web also. Must make appointment quick as the scan is to be done at 14wks n dr ananda's appointments also quite a lot.

Antenatal Diagnostic Centre and Women Clinic
#06-07/08
Tel: 6333 8621
Dr Chinnaiya Anandakumar

claramimi hope everything is ok. Dont worry k?

Re:Vitamins mummies, do you all buy vitamins from your gynae or from pharmacy? Dr prescribed calcium, obimin and fish oil... So you all get other brands? calcium I bought from outside pharmacy..

Dun overdose on vitamins n anyhow buy outside. Different brands have different content. Only your dr kniws wat r suitable. Your doc will prescribe what is necessary. Eg, Calcium is not water soluble, will not pass out as urine. Excessive get retained in the body n will give prob next time in life. Too much iron causes constipation, etc. We are already getting vitamins from the food we eat daily. Those dr prescribes r supplement. This kind of thing cannot be KS.

Outside cheaper? My mediicibes r from re-structured hospital n r definitely cheaper than outside. Anyhow, i dun see the brands i m takiing outside too, also, Dr may change all these vitamins along the way... Dun buy too much to keep also. My dr always prescribe 2 mths supply at a time.

hazel: am at 12 wks plus when i did e oscar.. jus turned 35 in may.. report din mention if nasal bone is detected..
gynae did mention cvs carries a risk of 1-2%.. another option is amniocentesis which he says can only be done at ard16wks.. which both hb & me dun wanna waste time & jus wanna get e cvs to have a better diagnosis soon..
tks for ur info on dr ananda.. will discuss w him later when he's back..

Claramimi, pls discuss with your hubby n give serious thoughts on this. U dun wan to risk ESP when the bb can be healthy. Is too early to do any drastic check. My gynae has a patient in 40s, her risk was 1/4 from Oscar test. Bb is healthy. I m older than u. Older does not mean anything. We just hv higher risks by statistics.

hazel: we're not going to take any risks for this bb.. same here tat my gynae also has a patient who detected it in her 6mths.. in e end, bb also born healthy.. they also dunno why.. its jus e miracle of life tat we also hope for in this bb..

Claramimi, Bb is very tiny now. So, some of these early checks may not be accurate. Unless we want to do invasive checks which are more comfirmative. But these tests all carry a risk of miscarriage. I was high risk too in my Oscar test for first pregnancy. I freaked out. But hubby wun let me do any of the invasive tests as our bb is v precious n is really a god sent. In the first case, My gynae nv insist that I must do Oscar then too though I was 36. He said is always my choice n Oscar tests results r just numbers.

I was ill at ease from the results. I went to see dr ananda at 14+wks. Everything was normal n bb was active. I was elated. But her heart beat stopped a few wks after. My gynae said most likely chromosome defects, eg DS. Because he said bb is stable already n heart beat win stop like this. He even think that dr ananda may hv a wrong analysis.

I doubt so, coz I hv faith in dr ananda who is v famous in this field. I requested my gynae to test my placenta which will contain bb's cells after I delivered her (we took bk our girl). Results confirmed that she is a girl (per dr Ananda) and she is perfectly normal. I tell u, even my gynae can't tell me is a girl during his scan. But dr ananda could coz he really did v detailed check.

Though till now I dunno wat really happened. But I believed that I cld hv 动了胎气 or step on something dirty when I was in Bintan. Coz I felt violent movements when I was there...

I tell u, my hubby Tells me Oscar test is not necessary. My dr also told me I dun hv to do coz end of the day my hubby will not let me take the risk of invasive checks. Hub feels that though these invasive checks is as accurate as 98-99%, it is still not 100%. He said trust in God.

Dr ananda gave me a gd lesson when I saw him. He is against termination. He told me this, we as parents can chose to terminate when the risk of DS is high or even confirmed. But those bb's who r delivered normal, later in life, they r found to be austic or other problems, can we kill the child? He asked me, a DS and a austic kid, which is better? He told me the latter is worse. DS kids r v loving n innocent. Austic kids r v hard to teach n talk sense into.

Or kids who hv hyperactive problems later in life. Can't sit still, can't concentrate, etc. He ask me how then? Dun wan the kid?

What he shared with me gave me alot if insight,

Hi Hazel

So this ard u did Oscar scan? My result turn out no good as expect coz usually age above 35, result will not be gd.. Gynae ask me go for amnio but I yet to decide..

hazel: am so sorry to hear abt e loss of ur bb.. am praying to hb's ancesters for their help to protect this bb.. cuz u know wat, we conceived this bb e mth after we 回乡扫墓 & hb said he asked for this bb fm e family's 土地公 & deities whom are very 灵 one..
i'll call dr ananda tmr morning to chk for appt.. after all scanning dun risk bb at all.. last option is cvs liao..

Huggies, I m still doing though hubby said no need. Whatever the results i want to be prepared. The risk for women above 35 is already high risk n wun pass already. It is adjusted upwards or downwards after the blood test n NT scan. FYI, To pass is 1/300.

Go see dr ananda if u wan too. Bb shld be fine.

Claramimi, yes these risky tests should be the last resort. Dr ananda will take one hr to scan u. He will tell u bb's organ one by one. U will listen to bb's heart beat loud n clear too.

hazel: for both hb & me, if confirm DS bb, we'll terminate.. maybe cuz we already have a sweet little girl.. plus i dun wan to let this poor bb suffer when her soul & body/mind dun come tgt as one.. it'll also be very tiring for our family to take care of a DS bb.. emotionally & physically, i'm a loser & cannot handle this..

claramim: I hope all goes well with your next scan. Nothing is more scary for us parents to hear that something might be wrong with our child. Let me share my story with you, I had a very smooth and easy pregnancy for my first child, she was born at full term. Scans were always normal.
After her birth we realised that she could not bf. Her suction was very weak, they took her away to special care and only 6 hours after her birth did they realise she was born with a cleft palate. Hb and I were so worried and upset, it was like a huge emotional roller coaster. She had surgery to repair her cleft at 10 months and today she's a lovely healthy 4 year old. But until today, I can still remember the doctor coming into my hospital room to tell me something wasn't right with my baby.
Go for another scan, things may not seem as bad as you think. I totally agree with Hazel, risky checks should be a last resort.

Good morning

Claramimi, hope all other checks goes well...

Today my turn for oscar... Excited but worried too... Hope everything goes well....

soul>not sure when the bras will be on sale. uniqlo is having a sale now but doesn't include the bras leh. Tan Leng leng has a lot of sprees in the spree section. She's quite reputable. Got some stuff through her sprees before. All no probs. Or you can check with Linda too. Think she also does sprees cos she mentioned she can help bring in medela pumps too.

I bought some vitamins outside cos its cheaper esp if getting from US.

Hazel>hee, I got the boots breast milk bags before too. Not bad. But I ended up using milk trays instead of milkbags cos found them easier to handle.

Wah, this Dr Ananda like v good.

claramini>hope the scan results are good. I'm sure bb will b ok.

when my boy was born, he had some probs with his foot too. It was basically bent backwards. None of the scans detected this. But luckily, there was a good physiotherapist who taught us some exercises we can do with him while he was NB and his bones were still soft. We diligently did all that and eventually his foot got better. He has no probs running and walking at all now.

morning mummies

hazel
not sure if it headache is also due to the hot weather, today is really bad, the moment step out of aircon room, headache starts.

already started on multi vits last week but still no improvements. feeling miserable as bloatedness also increased.

planet
thks for ON review - will check out some of the items. anyone doing a spree for ON stuff now?

claramimi
i had very high odds DS scores the previous pregnancy as well and went to dr ananda for 14wk genetic scan, the odds were much lowered after the scan. later in the pregnancy we also went to him to do a fetal heart and blood flow scan cos our little fellow had heartbeat issues and he's a very reassuring doc, his scans are very long and detailed. and he takes lots of pictures with a full report.

hazel: dr ananda will see me at 2pm today.. e nurse over e phone is very nice & knowledgeable.. once i told her my NT is 10.5mm, she says she'll talk to dr once he's in e clinic at 10am.. she called back for my appt at 10.02am.. hope everything is fine.. tks, hazel for your recommendation..

and thank you, mummies..

At TMC doing my Oscar. First time baby refuse to cooperate. No matter how the nurse shake n poke refuse to move, keep lying on the side. 45 min later second scan, now baby in ideal position. Heez.. So amazing the feeling of seeing it.
now waiting for blood test.

babymaking: I might be ordering some stuff from ON. So if want I can organize the spree. Will let you know again if you are keen.

Clarimimi, wow! So nice of Dr Ananda! He can understand u r worried. Honestly I feel that it shld be fine if u say 2 wks ago when ur dr scan bb next thickness is ok. Can't be suddenly increase so much one

hazel
the last i tried was last week but could only detect own abdominal pulse, think too much fats blocking :p, i can't wait to try again after OSCAR scan this fri.

btw is it normal that kkh didn;t call back with the OSCAR blood test results, we did it like 3 weeks ago.

soul108,
yes, i am keen in ON spree, hoping to order soonest possible as it take 2-3 weeks to get the stuff.