(2012/02) Feb 2012

Pearl: Hello, i still go for facials, but just let your beautician know. Most of them are chinese, they will know the taboos, things they can or cannot do.
For mine, she say cannot use machine, so she used her hands to apply serum. N usually after facial they will pat my back for me, now they dun do that.

Pearl, i still go when pregnant. Just dont use those machine. I also told the beautician not to do shoulder massage. I learnt this from one of my previous beautician. She said cannot any how press the shoulders of preg women.

suet > actually till now i still dunno what's the reason cant tap or press shoulders of preggers? until my friend told me, but she herself also do not know the reason. do you know?

HappyMomToBe (miracle_sweet) : I m glad there is this forum that helps me to meet people who understands

kwxy, sweetcorn: Jiayou... this turn getting healthy & strong baby!

I saw alot ppl talk about OSCAR scan, what is this scan? now coming to 12week... but my next appt 2more week...

Hello mummies.. haven't logged in for a few days cos i was feeling quite lousy. Guess what.. i thot i escaped MS but at 9.5 weeks I actually started to merlion for the first time. Sobz. Feeling very very tired and moody these few days too. I hope this is the so-called peak and will pass soon.

sweetcorn: I'm using make up to work still too. BB cream, light powder and blusher. Didn't know we cannot put make up.. will check with gynae at next visit. I wonder if we can have make up on during delivery.. hmm..

lol, rocco, cheers.....v r ehre to support each other! dont worry, preggy is the biggest! i don k, whatever they wanna say i jus wanna sit quietly alone n listen my radio....even at home i jus stay in my room n i jus wanna rest n relax! duno y.....the more i talk i feel pek check n like wanna fight...lol....

i think there are certain veins that u cannot press when preg which might cause miscarriage. that's what i heard.

Heard a sad news over the weekends. A friend's wife had food poisoning & had to deliver the baby at 28 wks. The baby is developing but there were some complications with the lung. The baby boy died two days later. We didnt dare to ask much but heard his wife is in depression now.

So do be careful with what u eat.

Make sure those daily skin care products like toner etc are safe to use too. My dermatologist changed a few types of products for my daily use. I only use BB cream (comes with sun block) daily for work

planet,
No make-up allowed in delivery room

Suet,
It's always heart-breaking to hear of people who lost babies. I have friends who went thru still-birth and friends who babies died after birth. it's never easy to come to terms with that.
SO we must treasure our own kids even more

Morning Mummies...

Gosh, I didn't know that skin products will affect babies too... I do not put on makeup but I use skin care products daily... Shall stop using till I check with my gynae at my next visit... Not worth risking baby for anything...

by the way, what about perfume? Is it okay?

guava: I am still contemplating if I should proceed for oscar test. Had made the initial decision of not doing but I hesitated upon hearing from my cousins that there will be another detailed scan at about 5th month... People say oscar test is to 买安心, wonder how true is this...

RE: OSCAR Test
To my knowledge, most of us will do the NT scan not OSCAR. OSCAR is more for first time mummies aged above 35.

Fees for NT-Scan:
My gynea charges bout $400 for this 12 week scan and 20th week scan. How bout urs?

to share more of what i know about the 12 week scan:
the 12 week scan measures the neck thickness of our babies; neck to check for abnormality. Though not 100% accurate but still ok as this is done in combination with blood test. The NT scan will also check on out bb's skull.

There were cases where mummies find out that the bb's skull not developing hence, have to terminate immediately. Cos even if the bb continues to grow, the bb wun survive when born. So the 12 week scan is more than just finding out if the bb has down syndrome or not.. But really, it's your choice.

Mumies with poor results will go through an intrusive test at week 16 to withdraw fluid from out womb to test again.

Oscar consist of 2 parts
- blood test &
- nt scan

If results are low ( bad), then to proceed to amniocentesis or cvs.

Google to read up more, ultimately have to decide what to do if outcome is bad, if do not intend to abort nO matter what, then going for Oscar etc may create unnecessary agony since cannot abort anyways.

Oscar need to do before 14 weeks, Cvs before 14 weeks (google to cfm). Oscar blood text result also not immediate, need a few days. So need to factor timeline yeah.

I finally found my contact for the bb heartbeat Doppler, will be doing a bp once I finalize the price, still trying to nego cheaper rate and lower order quantity so that we can save more. .

Anyone keen, pl email me at [email protected] for specs.

thank you...now i know what oscar/NT scan.
my doctor ask me twice I stil reject to do this scan. Because I want to keep the baby...for my age don't need to do this scan but most Dr adv to do prevent down syndrome baby born. but i really cannot do abortion.

Week 20 is detailed scan, not nt scan. Detailed scan to make sure all of bb is growing in the right places etc.

It's really a very personal decision but I would do as i'm in high risk category. Older mum plus previous high risk result for my #1.

Personally I cannot cope with a ds baby, plus it's also unfair to bb to bring into this cruel society where he/she will be ostracized for life.

For me,
i did 12th week scan, 20th week scan and 33/34 week scan.
20 week scan, they check on the heart. counting the no. of sections and the flow of blood in and out. kidney size, lungs and brains.

i had to do 33/34th week growth scan to check if i am suitable for natural delivery as i had a non-growing twin in my womb. they check on the position of the babies.

Morning all mummies!!

Tomorrow will be 10 weeks lor!! Nausea getting bad....
another 2 weeks to see Dr Ben Tham!

Can't wait to see how much bb grow!

babymaking: Thanks for the explanation. Do you know which is the starting age for mummies to fall into the older age category? I am 29, is a half-past six age I guess... mid air...

feelingblessedprincess>thanks. but bb come at a not v good time. Still, a bb is a blessing so we will handle any challenges that come with him/her

Suet> can I check why food poisoning will cause premature delivery? That time I call gynae the nurse say it's only a concern if I get dehydrated by the constant LS/vomit

Older mums usually start at 35, there's a chart of ds risk that goes by years, now using iPhone, when I get. Access to laptop will post.

Linda
Severe food poisoning can trigger premature contractions cos of stomach upset, in sOme cases severe food poisoinv can cause fetal death via sceptimia.

lsntyl: haha not hightech lar. just more convenient for everyone to fill up their own info instead of one person being bombarded. also, later when it comes to updating boy/girl it will be easier too!

rocco: FTWM = full time working mum.

Tay>> i dont think fever is a symptom! go and see a doc, remember to let him know u are pregnant so he can prescribe the right medication for u. take plenty of vitamin c and water. there's a nasty virus going around.

Tay: we tend to feel feverish during pregnancy. Go get a thermometer and measure see. Coz I starting also tot I fever, than results shows normal. If u don't want to see a doc, but wants some medication.. According to my nurse, take panadol (normal) is fine. Remember not to take with panadol with "extras" or "strong"...

And I feel very xin ku now.... I think I ate tooooo much for lunch and I'm bloated like a puffer fish.. So sleepy, lucky reach home from work le... Taking a quick nap first. Don't even feel like bathing before napping ... Lazy bum

Hi Rocco,
A few of my preg colleagues also didnt put make up , i find it a little pale for an office environment. i guess a lil make up is fine.
I heard that it is bad luck, will cause mc if someone hit you on the shoulder. but i dunno how true it is.

Hi HappyMomToBe
Thanks for your well wishes. ^5 on oscar test decision!

Hi Suet,
Thanks for the info, yea i think it's that ingredient which can cause fetus development defect.

Thanks Al! same here, i just can't do abortion

Hi planet,
yea even the facial foam etc, gotta ask doc better.

Hi Gin Lim,
I looked at the mirror today and realised a noticeable bump especially after dinner. next morning its back to small bump. i just told my best friend abt my preg just now on train. she told me she thought i hv a tummy bump yesterday when she saw me at lunch!

Hi feelingblessedprincess,
I guess one impt question to ask is if you found out the test result is of high risk, would you give up the pregnancy? cos you need to choose whether to abort or take care of bb whole life. For us, answer to this question is no, abortion is out of question to us. so, no point doing the test.

Hi KWXY
Congrats on your 10th week! you can see bb head, bb hand and leg developing liao
that's what i saw last night through the ultrasound. hee so happy la la la ~~

Hi LSnTYL
Congrats welcome to the thread!

Tay,
i think better go see doc. Fever and diarrhea both are not good for pregnant women, gotta be careful. Hope you recover soon, take good care!

I just had yummy KFC Zinger burger with cheese fries just now. Dunno why but feel so satisfying!
hahaha eating junk food once a while.
I also bought tapioca chips at Bee Cheng Hiang...:p

anyone feeling body temp going up? i still feel normal leh. i even ask hubby to touch me...in fact, im quite scared of cold...

Feeling real happy today because I has my OSCARa and saw bb moving lots.. Very cute, can see bb little hands and feet kicking around,. I posted earlier about seeing. Y 1st child gender during oscars. Please don't think it's the norm! I think I was just lucky den... No luck this time..

Second, its my last hormone jab! I've been bleeding since week 6, hospitalized twice, complete bed rest for a week and going to the gynae twice weekly. So I am really happy that it's over now!

Btw my gynae told me merlon syndrome peaks at 11-12 weeks so some of us like me, will have to suffer more now. But usually will be better after 13 weeks.

Omg! Peak is 11-12 weeks? No wonder my nausea getting worse...Every meal also nausea! Got to eat small meals but sometimes too hungry eat too full, then end up v v v bloated. Regretted

Hi mummies...

Cam try apply ru yi oil on tummy if feeling bloated???

I have been applying it and seems quite effective... Gases start to pop.. :p