(2012/01) Jan 2012

Hi I am new here and my EDD is 11 Jan. Think I am quite lucky as I dont have MS.. Just that my weight din really go up that much so i m kinda worried tat bb will not get enough nutrition.

Hi Jingles I'm with Dr Goh Shen Li. Was actually with Dr Irene Chua but after my first visit with her she told me she leaving KKH le...ask me if I wana follow her to Gleneagles...but my initial choice was Dr Goh actually but she was on maternity leave then. So since she is comign back so might as well stick to KK and I find KKH quite good, alot of activities for preggie ladies!

When is your EDD? First pregnancy? Prince or princess?

Welcome Jasmine! Don't worry too much i heard weight gain will be fast when u hit 7-8 mths! Me also no MS but i gain 7 kg in 1st tri! 2nd tri then slow down...so now gaining steadily...not good to gain too much in a short period but since Dr say ok means should be ok ba!

Ya Jingles you become our in-hse therapist...we shld conduct a virtual class to do the exercise everyday! hehe

Alicia- 1st CNY ya..go pai nian first then pop hehe! Then can collect back the ang paos u gave out ;p I hope I dun pop on 1st day of CNY manz...later no one will come visit me cos all will be gng to pai nian then I will be so lonely in the hospital!

I did check with gynae and she say its normal...then ask me to exercise loh! haiz..wat to do...just gota live with it till baby pop!

I think tell your baby every night that its bed time may help. I will tell my baby that it is bed time and mummy is going to sleep so don't disturb mummy ok...and she will listen and let me sleep peacefully!

hi Jasmine! my EDD also on 11 Jan.
Which hospital will you be delivering at?
at 24 wks (which was last wk), net out i only put on 2kg from pre-preggy weight. This wk, i gained 1.1kg!! But i eat as per normal leh...

haizz..no MOS for me tonight. The plc i'm going don't have MOS outlet..

hello jasmine

mrs gui
ya...KK got alot of activities...u thinking of gg for the prenatal exercise mar..but i think of travelling so far after work i already sian 1/2. Must well go home and doze off :p
are u taking calcium pills le mar??
mine is a princess lo..i am also a first time mummy
EDD - 6 Jan

babies bellies is located at golden landmark.. massage is good, but pls dun expect high-end spa ambiance.. prenatal massage is @ $55 per session or $49.50 if u sign postnatal pkg with them.. they don't have any prenatal pkg, only got postnatal pkg.. not pushy at all, so no worries.. i'm considering signing postnatal (home service) with them.. can see their website for more info -> http://www.babiesbellies.com.sg/2_pre---post-natal-massage_nfo

jingles: dun paiseh la..you deserve the title leh keke.

adeline: haha your boyboy wanna hear mummy sing songs! hehe. let us know if lullaby really helps yah!!

jasmine: welcome!
my weight did not go up much too..at my last appointment (21 weeks) i only gained 2 kgs. doctor did mention that i am not gaining enough though, but baby was growing fine
dun worry, just eat when you are hungry and it will be fine! but if you really dun feel at ease always consult your gynae

moscato: uhoh..MOS for lunch tomorrow then!! cheer up!! or maybe substitute it with mac? keke.

Alicia: already got lunch plan for tmrw. I was thinking of BK but there also no BK...argghhh..I just had mac breakfast 2 days ago..LOL

jac: no need to envy, i think i will balloon in 3rd trimester and I still have the 5kg from my #1.

and you no need to worry too. My friend put on 20kg but she is slimmer than pre-preggy now.

Jingles, Adeline & Vanessa - took sashimi when I had #1. My gynae said it's ok as long as eat at restaurant not those takeaways though I know alot of bks wrote no as it has bacterial tt mayb harmful to fetus development. I also take half boiled eggs. Think we r blessed w gd hygiene standard here so shld b safe.

Heard fr older generation prawns n crabs r 'poisonous' cos they eat rubbish! So during confinement they r no no cos they may cause our wounds to itch n take a longer recovery time. During pregnancy, I know old woman's tale says eat crab makes bb 'alot of hands n legs' as in super active like to touch this n that!! Haha!

hkbaby: i didn't eat crab during #1 but she very active and itchy-hand lor..

Jac: ya, i think she breastfeed and look after bb herself. And at the same time, she started a biz...busy busy..so shed all the extra weight.

breastfeed is good..can lose weight & tummy.

jingles: hahaha salivate hor..just now tok about black carrot cake i also salivate..haha..yah i scold my hubby and then dunt care still eat..haha while he nags..hahaha
i love melben crabs but havent been there for the longest time le..boo hoo

wah your colls like dat also wanna make fun..tell hem they super bo liao..hahaha

Adeline: I think prawns can eat in moderation bah but not too much lah cos seafood may cause allergies

I get numb at whichever side i lie on..hehe..cos long period of time in 1 position sure numb..

moscato: the only thing about burgers in MOS is that they are so small! haizz i always have to eat something else..haha

Mrs Gui: I had the gastric kinda feeling also..it felt like mild contractions so i went to check with gynae..she says it might be Braxton Hick syndrome
..she did scan for me and bb's allright.. so relieved

I didnt try pre-natal cos i dont think it will relieve any aches cos the masseuse will not be able to exert any strength on you at all cos preggie
and i like hard massage..so didnt wanna waste money..hehe..but that's just me..:p

Jasmine: Welcome!

hkbaby: my aunt ate alot of crabs when she had both my cousins and my cousins really 'itchy hands' when they were young..everything also wanna touch!! play open and close drawers game..think my aunt nearly fainted..hahaha

my gynae also say sashimi is ok.. as long as it's fresh & from reputable restaurants.. but i don't take raw food anyway..

i take quite abit of prawns & half-boiled eggs thou.. prawns & eggs are supposed to be good for us coz they're high in choline.. think SG eggs are quite safe so it's ok to be taken half-boiled..

i think everything in moderation shld be ok ba?

ladies, do you feel like ur tummy is like blocking u or something, esp at the lower abdomen area? cos usually once i sit down, i find it v difficult to get up, especially so if im sitting on the bed. tks!

liquidskye: sama sama situation as you... find difficulty getting up from the bed and chair..gotta literally use my hands to push myself off the chair, or roll off the bed..haha.. tummy's def getting in the way!

Jingles, ya bb moves everyday. But sometimes more, sometimes v gentle. But when i put on babyplus, she will start to kick tat spot. Duno if she is irritated or like tat sound. :p how abt u dear? Actually im hoping i will pop in the last week of Dec.. Then dont have to squeeze with 2012's dragon bbs. Heheheee..

Mrs Gui, Yeah, Clarins does prenatal massage. I suppose Clarins shld b more trained thus safer? Thou its markedly more expensive too. Sigh my butt itches everyday despite me puttin so much body oil n calamine lotion. V sien...

Adeline, i also ask bb to go to sleep everyday. Haha sometimes i will be a bit more stern.. "bb, ok enough kicking, mummy wans to sleep already. U wake up tomorrow then kick ok. Gdnite" :p

Moscato, huh u mean u only put on 2kg since before pregnancy? Wow! How did u do tat?? Im 25wks already put on 9kg

Lush, one good weight control is morning sickness =p I'm still puking at 22 weeks. Gained 2kg since my first gynae visit at 6 weeks. But fr experience, the weight will pile on fast and furious in the last trimester. I'm crossing my fingers and hope can keep to a nice 10-12kg weight gain

wow what a storm...walk with care ok..its raining cat and dogs!

liquidskye/vanessa
try using your thigh muscles when getting up. The thigh muscles is actually the strongest muscle in our body (that is why we always eat chicken drumstick ...kekekekeke). The right way of getting up (eg. off chair/off car/getting into car) will be legs close, edge bum towards the exit direction and using both legs muscle to rise up...cos we always have a tendency of using only 1 leg muscle when rising.

jac
yes i heard BF will help us to lose weight as well as if you are personally looking after bb. But we must always remember to nourish ourselves AFTER birth, cos we are now eating so much good stuff if suddenly stop, its also no good. Plus we must prepare for hair shedding which will norm start after 4th month from giving birth.

lush
mine is v active at night lo...at night she will like to turn around and do little kicks..but i love talking to her and singing to her la...bb plus i will also like to give a try....but after knowing how much it cost, i decide to just sing, and let her listen to classical/musical will do bah

Alicia: I was too tired that I didn't sing to my baby last night. Haha. Will try tonight. Hehe

Vanessa: I miss melben crabs too! Especially their soup! The last time I went there was when I was 13weeks. Got the urge to feel like eating it again but worry abt the old wives' tale lo. Regarding numbess on the hips, I no need to lie long leh. Once I lie down, my left hip will numb within 1min! So weird!

jingles: I walked really slow today and ended up 30mins late for work. Hehe

good morning mummies...good weather to sleep in again..but got to work..

jac/jingles: here is the pic of the washable disposable panty.
6098287.jpg
6098288.jpg

adeline
better to be late than slip lo :p
play safe bah..being first at work wont give u a medal...kekekeke

mocato
hey thats v interesting lei..i have yet to see any disposal panty like these...mummies have u seen before?? if not got to go specially TMC to buy man..

moscato, thanks for the pic!! the netted holes looks quite big woh.. muz be quite airy.. heehee.. is it only sold at TMC?

kekekek seems like no1 sees disposal undies like this :p i think it has good support for putting our maternity pads also...

it will be good if any TMC mums can ask the shop if they are selling anywhere in singapore too :p

Jac: i stretch the panty so that u can see the material.

It's comfy..not warm..and stretchable.

Not sure if only sold in TMC..i got them from the ward nurse directly.

Lush: I'm hoping for bb to be born last week of december or 1st Jan! hehe..then like u say, don't need to fight with the dragon babies! I use babyplus too, but once a day at night only..the sound so loud how to play it in office?! hehee..and bb does have more movements when I play the babyplus for him, but sometimes no movements leh.. think my bb is lazy..like to sleep..hehe

jingles: thanks for the tips! will try to do that

Adeline: your numbness sets in after a min?!~ wahhh that's fast leh..
walk slowly is better...slow and steady..hehe..like jingles says we don't get medal for coming in first to office..hehe :p

thanks moscato for the photo! I've never seen anytinng like this..only avail in TMC ah?

Good morning mummies! What a nice weather to sleep today...moreover its a Friday! TGIF gals!

Hi Jac- thanks for the info, will check it out!

Hi Vanessa- oh so that is braxton hick syndrom...ya it really feels like contractions only it is above the tummy area! So painful....aiyo when the real contractions come....duno how liao! Still thought i can do w/o epi...now duno whether can tahan or not!

Hi Jingles- yes i sign up so many activities with KK. I did my fitball exercise, currently doing aqua aerobics there and of course their antenatal class as well. My hubby say I become KK member le! My whole saturday spend in KK now. Their classes mostly fall on saturdays so no need to rush there after work. But its like I work 6 days week, saturday also must wake up early for class cos i took the 9am class so every Sat gota wake up early! Yes i do take the calcium pills cos I'm not a fan of milk, dun really like the taste, except for Meji Fresh milk! But yesterday I tried a sample pack of Anmum Choco milk...taste really good...not much milk taste but the flavour quite mild...for mummies who don't really like milk, may can try Anmum!

Hi Lush- so clarins also do pre-natal massage..but of cos Ex...cos branded mah! I think the itch is because of our skin expanding...my tummy will itch sometimes...but I just leave it scatch abit if cannot tahan...or else apply lanolin cream then it will stop. I'm using Bio Oil every day to prevent stretch marks...seem to work quite well...till now tummy still look ok and those fine lines near the boobs seem to have faded away as well! But have to dilligently apply everyday loh! Cannot be lazy if wana look pretty haha!

Wah seem like I'm one of those who gain so much till now...23 weeks and already hitting the 12kg mark! No MS during 1st tri then eat and eat! Siao liao...my Dr still tell me its ok, weight gain still normal! Seriously don't know how to lose those weight after birth! Hope the weight gain goes more to baby than stay with mummy but then hor too big also hard to come out! Haiz...seriously gota watch what i eat now!

mrs gui
hey!!! u gg for their class hur??? i am at 11am class lei...will u be going for the lecture hall 1oct??? i may see u there :p

anmum choco milk
i felt its a little sweet...suppose to put 4 scoops???? but i only put 2 scoops lo..too sweet le..

Mrs Gui: ya i also dunno how to tahan the real thing! haha..so most likely opting for epi
save the hassle! haha..but of corse there are side effects to epi...haizz..

vanessa
i think by tat time we will be driven crazy by such pain we will not go and think abt side effects liao..hohoho

mrs gui
errr uncomfy above tummy may not be hicks lei...i checked with my gynae.....he says its stretching esp we are #1 mummies..

Vanessa: ya, the numbness sets in after 1 min. So i gues it might be what jingles said - pressing on nerves. Gotta check with my gynae on my nxt visit.

(x): I think if there's any side effect, it will surface not long after u deliver. I heard from a friend that her friend suffers from numbness in spine within weeks after she deliver. So i think u're safe. Hehe

Until now, I still feel my baby moving very low leh.. Think my placenta is still low-lying. So worried now...

i had epi for #1. My back did ache quite easily for the 1st year..recently ok already. but i think it's becos i kept bending down to take care of bb since giving birth. Didn't rest well during confinment. Maybe epi is part of the causes too..but nurse & gynae said it shouldn't cause side effects. The aches is due to wrong posture.

Initially i also thought i cant tahan the contractions w/o epi but when the pain comes, i was moaning away...cant stand straight.:p

Off title a bit
Is anyone engaging part cleaner for house cleaning? Any good one to recommend? My house is accumulating dust and I really don't have the energy to do the cleaning nowadays. Thank you in advance.

moscato
ya....i heard from my experience friends..they said the pain is so pain that cant stand straight de. 1 of them somemore said, its so pain when she stood at the counter to check in, she nearly wanted to break the counter into half....kekekeke

Anyone experience week 23 placenta blocking but towards week 30+ placenta shift up?

Haiz worried that i might need c-sect if placenta keep blocking...

jingles: i totally agree! hahah! think we'll be in pain like crazy liao..just pray in time for epi shot!

wah u really very knowledgeable leh..hehehe..can advise on so many things! thank you!!

Adeline: yah maybe go check with gynae why like dat...
don't walk so much yah..now is a good time to ask pple around you to help you get stuff, run errands for you..hehehe.. Queen!!

meeiee: where do u stay?

i think whether there's gonna be side effects for epi very much depends on the person who administers the epi as well...if he/she is good at finding the right spot for the injection, then the pain relief shld be immediate and should not suffer any side effects? hehe..my thoughts lah

ya..i was trying to take a quick shower before heading to hospital..but unable to do so..quickly dry up & change.
When i reached hospital, the guard asked me if i need a wheelchair but i tolerated til i get to the labour ward but no bed!! so i was sitting at the nurse counter, hanging on to the counter top as tight as i can while she looked for a bed and my hb went to do my admission. Haha..

When i got a bed in observation ward, i was hanging tightly to the bedrail. So when the nurse came to ask if i want pain assistance, i immediately said yes..and they gave me the form to sign. But still need to wait til i got into labour ward before i got my epi.