(2012/01) Jan 2012

jkids: nowsaday i try to wear clothings that can see i am preggy..
cos sometimes if i wear normal loose tees..not too obvious..so i try to wear those bb doll kind..

Vaness: receiving blankets have those hoods to cover the head..not need to get a lot lar..hospital will give u one when check out..u probably wan to get another 1-2 pc..i bot from Pigeon..

vanessa:
oh...i thought 24 weeks(=6 mths)...lol
actually i find hoods blanket unnecessary...can replace with hat?

zhuzhu:
so far...with baby doll kind...do u get seat often?

vanessa
i think receiving blankets is not necc bah...cos i can dress in jumpers, swaddle and hat lo..if the weather is really cold...plus i think blankets u must also know how to wrap properly lest bb got tangle up :p

dressing
its good to dress so that bump is more prominent..ple will give way to u :p
cos last weekend i was having dimsum..all the ple will give u more room/way...cos of bump :p

jkids: so far so good..i do get seats..unless the train is super crowded n i cannot get to stand infront of the seats..then i probably have to stand..
even sometimes if i am standing in front of the reserved seat..ppl will be sleeping or reading books..but once they lift up their head n see me..will auto give me seats..

jingles: ya, i find it's better to dress in a way to show our bumps. Ppl willt end to keep a distance from us. Haha. Like when I stood near the door at the mrt, ppl don't dare to squeeze in front of me coz of my bump and ppl around me will try and make room for me and my bump

i am thinking of compiling a simple list (nick, hospital, EDD) here...for those who reg. chat here...
shall we?

Morning Mommies ;) Hope all of you had a great weekend! Start of the working week again! Gota count down to another weekend again!

Jingles- Nice meeting you on Sat and thanks for updating me on the talk! So you went OG to shop!
I bought the avent bottles too....new born starter kit @$49 and it includes 2 medium and 2 small milk bottles, 1 pacificer and 1 bottle brush and during this promo they throw in a baby shampoo as well. According to the salesgirl its worth to buy cos actual price is $55 for the starter kit and the shampoo is about $12.50, if i'm not wrong. So for those mummies who wants to buy, go check it out cos its while stock last!
Oh by the way will you be going to the baby fair on 21st?

Hi Echo- thanks for the link! I'm still considering whether to process into pills or not. Actually my cuz can do for me....she has the "equipment" to do....but as some mummies mentioned, abit gross to eat own placenta leh!

Vanessa- I brought the receiving blankets from OG cos they having 20% off but mine is w/o the hood. I think cotton better, softer on baby skin, those muslin type abit rough i feel. If u using the muslin type, i think can just use the baby nappy.

mrs gui
u must be glad that u escape the latter part of the talk..its really dry -.- not as good as the 1st speaker...
kekekekeke u v good lei still know tat inside got pacifier!! I dont even know inside there is one...only know about bottles and brush.
fair..i dont think i am going bah...i have got most of the item tat i aim to buy before bb arives..cos stroller and bpump i decide to buy after bb arrives...

Jingles- ya heng i left...or else maybe i will just doze off! haha! I kaypo mah...once i bot the thing...i open up to see hehe!
So you bot alot of stuff le la! I still need to go cos I wana go get the fibrelux mattress, baby quilt set and cloth diapers. See can find any good bargains! Seems like i still got alot of things to buy even though i inherited alot from all my cousins! Will you be doing cloth diapering? I bought 2 cloth diapers online...just arrived last week and they look really cute and comfy!

mrs gui
actually many animals eat their own placenta, and there are also beauty products that sell placentas of other animals. so it's really about the same. But in the end, it's up to your own comfort level. i could not cook it and eat it, but would be okay to eat it in a pill.

yest went for prenatal class.. mrs wong boh boi highly recommend getting the TMC swaddle cloth.. say is "precision cut" to right size & right thickness.. can be used as swaddle cloth/ receiving blanket/ bath towel.. she also recommend getting the TMC small towel to sponge/wipe the baby during bath.. think i might be dropping by TMC to get the "disposable" underwear, swaddle cloth & small towel ba..

morning mummies! just did some packing for my super messy office and i am panting now. -_-|| LOL.

will like to ask, what is the difference between receiving blanket and swaddle cloth..both are to wrap baby right? so 1 will do? hehe.

also, for baby mattress, which kinds are you mummies getting? a normal one will do or something anti-bacterial will be better?

thank you!!

alicia
think receiving blanket got portion to cover head, swaddle dont have lo...
i am thinking of anti bac de for mattress.

Hi Alicia- I thought of getting the fibrelux mattress, its made of coconut husk if I'm not wrong and according to the sales person, if there is pee on the mattress, just need to pour alittle water and air it...no smell unlike those foam mattress which will hold the smell there. I saw it at the taka baby fair...seems quite good and its quite firm as well.

Mommies, any other good brands of mattresses to recommend?

Cyy- yes my ears do get blocked quite easily these days and as for difficulty in breathing I got it since the first trimester! 2nd tri is on and off....i also duno what is wrong. If you have it after meals, maybe eat slower or lesser? May help?

jingles: ooh i see..then i think swaddle is fine right cos can also buy cute hats for the head hehe. thank you!

cyy: i do experience difficulty in breathing sometimes..and i find it happening when i am super hungry and eat too much or too fast lol. maybe the food's all stuck and couldnt go down, so cannot breath properly. like mrs gui says, eat slower and lesser but take more meals in between..should help

mrs gui: oohhh..ok! i will keep a lookout for it during the baby fair hehe! thanks much!

jac: hehe yah i hope during baby fair can buy cot that comes with good and free mattress too keke. mothercare sell cots but does not come with mattress. went spring maternity that day, comes with cot and mattress and bedding set and covers, $399. is it cheap? but i think it's a foam mattress.

mrs gui
fibrelux?? hmm ok i will go and look2 see2 when about time to buy cot....mummies when are you gg to buy the cot? in oct during the fair?

cyy
yes..i will feel breathless after climbing 2 flights of steps up! kekekek cos my office no lift mar...then i will also feel v pack and breathless if i sit down too long after a meal.

jac
mothercare cots all v expensive lei..after discussing with a few mummies i decide not to buy cot already, we decide to buy a play pen as its cheaper...afterall we may not know bb may not like to sleep on a bed, but prefer to sleep on floor mattress...

Mrs. Gui,

I consulted my gynea and was told the block ears was due to water retention and fluid inbalance in the ear and sadly no medication for that and it's really individual. You are right guess I will just need to eat smaller and slower meal then.

Mummies, will u all be buying a bassinet in additon to a cot? I thought of buying both as baby can sleep in the bassinet during the day in the living room and cot during night time in my room. Wonder if it's feasible.

jingles: Guess I'll be buying the cot during the oct baby fair. I haven't bought anything so far except for sterilizers, milk bottles and warmer. Will grab the rest when the fair comes. Haha

Hope all mummies had a good lunch!

Jingles- yes i should be getting the mattress during the Oct fair. I have the cot at home cos its a hand-me-down...but still cannot fix yet cos mum pantang say cannot fix so early...so i will just buy the mattress first! I think the fair should have some good deals. I am going on the first day, if there are really things worth to buy, I will update you so you can pop by during the weekend.

Oh how are you going to compile the list you mentioned? Shall we just input in a spreadsheet or?? I think its a great idea so we know who's gng to pop first! hehe ;) Maybe can add the name of our gynae too?

Jac- thanks for the link.Wah really not cheap leh...the one i saw during the taka fair is about $127. I think foam ones are cheaper, maybe $60+ can get le. But i tink it won't last that long cos after while it will "sink" so i guess spend abit more get a better one, at least can use for a few years! Wonder if those at Ikea is good? But I tink also foam type.

Cyy- thanks for the info. I guess so cos my water retention quite serious! My feet expanded 2 size up and my hands get numb very easily. The blockage of the ear only came these 2 days! Haiz...3 more mths to go before we can get rid of all these symptoms! Just haf to hang'in there!

Adeline: me same as you, only got those items. waiting for the fair to grab most items.Hopefully there are good bargains. Which day will u be going? Fri, Sat or Sun? i wanna go on Fri leh but my hubby cannot go with me..haizz..now am figuring out how to carry all the barang barang...

receiving blanket: thanks for highlighting the difference between receiving blanket and swaddle..in this case, maybe I'll just get the swaddles and hat lo..

Mrs Gui: how much were the receiving blankets you got from OG?

cyy: sometimes feel breathless all of a sudden..dunno why..

Jac: when you get the items from TMC, can let me know how much? so highly recommended, guess should not be cheap leh.. but if it's really good then I guess worth investing

adeline: i think i will just get a cot 1st then see how it goes. will be getting those cots with wheels so in the day can wheel the cot to the living room..haha.

vanessa: lol to date i havent got any single thing yet! my hubby keeps saying "dont worry end of year will have more discounts" -_-|| probably will whack during the baby fair too. i think it's best if you dun go by yourself..those things may get quite heavy if you buy a lot! or maybe you can ask a friend or your mum?

just had my lunch and a fruit serving. today is a healthy day :D

Vanessa: Think you better don't go on your own. Is ur hubby free on sat? I'm still deciding whether to go on fri or sat leh. I'm worried it'll be very crowded on sat and am afraid most of the things will be sold out leh. If going on fri, then I'll have to apply leave and I'm only left with 1.5days of annual leave for the rest of the year. Haha!

Alicia: I think juz wack everything at baby fair. I don'think we'll have the energy to go out and source for baby stuffs in our later stage of pregnancy. Unless u can rely on ur hubby to get the stuffs. Hehe

mrs gui
v good!!! eh ur mum say pantang did she say when its a good time hur??
let me know
cos i wan know when its best time lei

i dont mind inputting to a sheet lei...but so far only u and me are keen niah :p

alicia
make sure u measure the cot can pass through the door..may seems common sense but alot of mummies forgotten about this point!! :p
i just had an unhealthy week last week, last thurs- mac, fri - MOS, sat - big b/f

Alicia: your hubby and mine from the same school of thoughts ah..my hubby also keep telling me dun kiasu and worry, end of year got more sales and discounts..so will whack at babyfair too
expo abit far for my mom none of my friends taking leave that day..haizz will see how bah...

Adeline: same lor..i worried things will get sold out so am thinking of taking leave on Fri..afraid of crowds on Sat and Sun too...

Vanessa- hmm cannot really remember but its less than $20 cos there was a 20% discount going on in OG. Its quite worth to buy now!

Seem like alot of Jan mommies going to the baby fair huh! I think the fair should have some good bargains! If not we gota wait for the Christmas sale in Nov/Dec in the major shopping malls to buy whatever we need to buy! But by then we may be too big to move around!

Alicia- good for you....me too had fruits today but had a sinful lunch...lontong! So now eating fruits to get back some vitamins! I read somewhere that kiwi fruit is good for preggie women cos it cotains folate!

mrs gui
kekekeke ehhh i think we pass the stage where we need folate..we will need calcium more at this stage ...

must rem help me ask ur mummy hor..when good time to set up cot

adeline: there's always MC!! >_< HAHA. but maybe everyone thinks like us and ends up Fri is the most crowded of all 3 days lol! i think i rather get the stuffs myself..not that i dun trust hubby but 1st baby ma..excited. hehe!

vanessa: oh man high 5! i think it's a guys thing lor haha. dun fret maybe got better deals on last 2 days, just like the IT fair? lol.

jingles: i just had MOS on Sat! haha so today decided to be healthier lol. hmm yah hor i better measure the door too. my common sense has left me ever since i got preggie..so has my memory. haha! anyway i am okay with inputting the info into a sheet too!

mrs gui: yeah i think kiwi's good! i had a fruit cup which had abit of all kinds of fruits..skip the pineapple though. gave my colleague the pineapples hehe.

Vanessa: Or you have any gfs who can go with u to the fair on fri? U can ask maybe 2 of ur gfs along? At least they can help u carry the items.

jingles: I have mac bfast at least twice a week leh. Usually sausage mcmuffin meal on wkdays and the supreme bfast on wkends. Hehe.

vanessa, yep ok, i'll be dropping by TMC tmr before my prenatal class (dr's talk at SCGS).. think the TMC one shld be cheaper than those selling outside leh.. coz it's juz plain white cloths.. no design at all.. used in the hospital itself.. hubby say baby's stuff no need nice.. functional can liao.. sigh..

mrs gui, thanks! i'll keep a look out for the fibrelux mattress then.. 1/2 price compared to babysafe woh.. sounds like really good deal.. btw, try drink more water &amp; exercise to ease the water retention.. take care.. jiayou jiayou!

jingles, i'll be getting both cot &amp; play pen (with bassinet).. cot for my house, play pen for mum's house.. this way can also see which one my baby prefers to sleep in.. but scarly he both also dun like.. waste my $$.. hahah..

alicia, i went mothercare &amp; spring b4.. mothercare cots are super ex! spring ones look quite reasonable but mattress is juz normal foam kind.. think wait for the baby fair to compare prices &amp; see how ba.. mabbe got better deals..

today is my super unhealthy day!! had chicken redang rice &amp; brownie ice-cream for lunch!! super shiok.. chase away the mon blues!! hahaha..

Jingles- I may fix it maybe in Dec. One mth before shld be ok but then u cannot be in the house loh. So i'm asking my hubby to fix while I'm at work. The same goes for the cupboard. I buying in Nov but only hubby can fix and I cannot be at home to supervise! Have you bot the cot and cupboard for ur princess?

haha only me and you onz about compiling the list? Other mommies leh??? Everyone more interested in the comin Expo baby fair! hehe ;p

Good point about knowing the measurement of the cot cos some cot may be too wide to move out of the room door! I think i will just get another mattress in case I wana put baby in the living room to nap in the afternoon! Moving the cot seems alot of work, may be too heavy to push around also! Unless yours is a playpen then maybe lighter to push around!

Vanessa- I think most hubbies will think the wives super kiasu. Mine too....he keep asking me why buy so many things le...still early mah! Guys are mostly last min one and mummies prefer to get every thing ready cos we know by the time we hit the last stage...we won't want to go out to squeeze with people and we will be too tired to shop also!

I will be going on Fri, take half day leave since the fair only start at 11am. I think Fri should be less crowded cos I went to the last baby fair at expo in June, super crowded during weekends! These days i hate to squeeze with people so better go early to avoid the weekend crowd. Those mommies who are going on Fri...maybe we can meet there hehe ;)

alicia
u v funny lei "like IT fair" :p
ya i also skip pineapples and starfruits though the dr always no scientific evidence

adeline
WOOOHHHH twice a week...i think i cannot lei...kekekeke if i eat like these plus all the essence of chix and iron tablets i will nose bleed le

mrs gui/alicia
ok let me have your details:

- EDD
- hospital
- name of gynae

i will compile and we start from there bah

i use playpen for my #1. It comes with a bassinet which u can use til bb starts to climb out. then u have to remove the bassinet. Either let bb sleep in the playpen (but it will mean u have to bend low to carry bb in &amp; out) or sleep on floor or bed. I bought Lucky Baby high density foam mattress for the playpen. think abt $40..didnt sink leh. still in gd condition.

usually set up the bed when u are abt to due. Maybe ard 37 wks..that's considered full term. Or maybe after u have give birth??

moscato
kekekekeke
i scared after birth set up, legs like hand, hands like legs lei :p

mrs gui
i have yet to buy the cupboard lei...can let me know wat cupboard u buy? from where hur? isit like chest of drawers?

Alicia: Oh ya! There's still mc! I've forgotten about it. Guess my common sense left me after i got pregnant too :p

jingles: Haha! Maybe drink more barley? Iron tabs very "hot" leh. Gotta drink more water. So far my gynae didn't prescribe any iron tabs or calcium pills for me leh.
Maybe you can get ur hubby to set up the cot while u're still in the hospital after u gave birth?

Jac- thanks for the tip! I drink alot of water leh...but still water retention ;( I drink about 2 litres during office hrs and after work go home still drink leh...duno why still swollen! Ya the firbrelux mattress quite a good buy. I hope they have it at the fair leh...cos the last time i went in June, never really see it, only saw it at the taka fair.

Jingles- ok here are my details:
EDD: 26 Jan 2012
Hospital: KKH
Gynae: Dr Goh Shen Li

Moscato: Oh can only fix at 37 weeks ahh? Cannot fix earlier? if we leave the house dun see can or not ah? I dun wana wait till so late then fix cos actually i need the cupboard to keep the baby stuff I bot as they are hogging my storeroom space le and my hubby complaining the storeroom cannot walk in to take things liao haha!

jingles: ask your hb to set up?
i only set up my playpen after i gave birth cos didnt expect to give birth early. When i got back home, my bro still havent figure out how to set up the bassinet portion..haha..

mrs gui: another old wives' tales ba..if set up early, will give birth early?..u can fix up the cupboard..just dont fix the bed.

Jingles- I'm getting the cupboard from Ikea. Not those for kids for i think its super small, cannot put much. I'm getting those chest of drawers, 4 drawers and on top still can put things. Cost bot $ 149 if i never remember wrongly. You may wana go take a look. They have quite a good selection of drawers there.

Adeline- ya i think once preggie, we become more forgetful, these days i have to write down whatever things i need to remember or else will forget to do! And will become more clumsy also...maybe too big and heavy le ;p

Moscato- thanks for the reminder, then in that case i better dun fix the bed first, better believe in the old wives tales sometimes it is quite true also. Although Pantang but better be safe than sorry!

jac: i think everything in mothercare is more expensive lor. i bought a nursing bra at at mothercare for $49, then at spring they only selling for $30. designs for both are boring and the spring one is comfy enough! and your brownie icecream is making me droooool! hehehe.

jingles: thanks for compiling!

EDD - 26 Jan 2012
Hospital - TMC
Gynae - Dr Caroline Khi

adeline: lol i used to think it was an easy excuse but now we know it is true that preggies are really just more forgetful! haha.

moscato
kekekeke ya...so i also duno when its the best time to set up :p but thanks for letting me know the rough idea

mrs gui
same here.i also rather believe...no harm believing in some tales unless too absurd bah

eh the cupboard u set up urself ah? or self carry home or they deliver in one piece?

alicia
wat brownie icecream hur? :p

mrs gui,

i was telling my colleague I feel stuck with the pregnancy, we cannot get the pregnancy to pause for a few days or a while and aleady halfway there..Just gotta endure through the balance months.

every pregnance is different and it all comes with little symtoms that cannot be diagnos and we can only look forward for the delivery day and just think glad we all have a healthy baby thats most important.

Jingles,

Mine is 5Feb2012, SF Loh. KKH.

Wah Jingles you are fast! Got the table set up le ;) Thanks!
I think Ikea stuff gota DIY one...so will go buy with my hubby then ask him to set up when I'm at work loh! I hope i can set it up myself cos i like to fix all these stuff but i think better believe in old wives tales again...dun anyhow fix things when preggie!

Alicia- ya i totally agree...mothercare stuff is really expensive. I wanted to buy a baby cap...super cute but cost $18 i think. But the quality is there i suppose. I got most of my stuff from OG which i think is quite decent and affortable.

Any idea where to buy nice new born caps? Those i see super plain and not very nice leh!

alicia, the nursing bra u bought at mothercare is it the "Nursing T-shirt Bra"? I'm thinking of getting this one -> http://www.mothercare.com.sg/productdetail.asp?pid=204251 .. prefer getting t-shirt bra (seamless cup).. but don't see any at spring leh.. do they let us try on before buying ah?

jingles, can add me too? thanks for compiling! think most mummies are on fb.. so not compiling over here liao..
EDD - 10 Jan 2012
Hospital - Mt. A (not booked yet)
Gynae - Dr Chen Chern Yi

mrs gui
kekekekee do thing chop chop mar...so at least when we talk to each other, we will know roughly who/when is EDD lo...if not keep forgetting lei...since all our memories so short span now :p

i bot bb cap from mothercare, i think NB cap is norm more plain de...v hard to find fanciful one..i just bot a pink one so can match with most of bb clothes

cyy
i agree....the thing we prioritise most is a healthy and happy bb

6109128.jpg

Mrs Gui: Thanks..will go OG to check it out!

and i totally agree with you about hubbies! hahaha..they are the super last min ones..then if last min cannot find the items they will find excuse to say not their fault..haha..

Alicia: yupzz maybe so but the good bargains maybe sold out le! hehe..cham ah me becoming more aunty liao..hahaha :p

Adeline: yupzz asking around and hopefully someone's able to go with me..hehe..otherwise bo bian have to go on Sat

Jac: Thanks yah! aiyah guys all grad from same school lah..functional can liao no need nice...hahaa..

jingles: u very funni leh..legs like hands, hands like legs.. hokkien right? hhehehehe
i'm getting a cupboard and chest of drawers from ikea..for both baby and MIL..quite reasonably priced

Thanks for compiling the list! here's my details:-
EDD - 15 Jan 2012
Hospital - Mt. Alvernia
Gynae - Dr Watt Wing Fong