(2012/01) Jan 2012

Hey Jingles- yes tomorrow's lesson is at the auditorium, I think it should be at 9am ba? Oh you join the 11am one ahh? Ya i may see you leh...cos I will be hanging around till 1pm for my aqua aerobics class!

As for the pain...ya i can feel my tummy stretching these 2 days..its like people pulling ur skin sideways..abit uncomfortable but I guess baby is enjoyin her stretching exercise in my tummy which means she is growing bigger as days goes by!

Wah need to put 4 scoops ahh? Mine is the sample pack so i drank half a pack yesterday nite and finish the balance this morning. I think cos i put very little that's why the taste so mild haha!

Vanessa- so you gng for epi la! Hmm...i'm so afraid of the side effects...cos i got very bad backache before preggie scare the epi cause more pain after delivery. I also heard from my cuz that she vomitted straight after she delivered and she was shivering like mad! Aiyo hear liao also dun dare to use le!

Adeline- i think the muscles near your hip is very tight that is why it gets numb so easily! maybe can do some hip rotation or the gymball exercise might help! I just did the hip rotation exercise with the gymball ystd and it help to ease my backache alittle too!

moscato: wahh your tolerance level for pain quite high leh..if it's me i'll be screaming liao..hahahhaa..

meeiee: ya using one now..you prefer weekends is it? i'll have to check her schedule if can fit u in..

Mrs Gui: but just thinking of the labour pain and need to be in that kinda pain for quite long leh, depending on how fast u dilate...think i cannot tahan lah..those side effects will appear as secondary at that time i guess..hheeheh..

meeiee: she's taken for sat morn by me..hehe..let me check which other timeslot she has then let u know..
how far away from buangkok mrt is your house? walkable?

Vanessa, Yes, it is about 7-10 minutes walk.

But too bad leh, coz normally I will not at home by the afternoon and Sunday. Hmm... She got any fren to recommend? sorry to bother you leh

vanessa
no la..i also learn from my medic friends...and some from retired nurses..so learn here and there lo. And u are right..alot of time also depends on the skill of the administrator, if he did the right position, right timing, right dose, there should not be a side effect, provided the effect doesnt arise from ur own body resistance la.

moscato
i think i will be like you..i will be clinging everywhere too

mrs gui
yes!! tmr lesson will be on parenting and drugs usage and its in the auditorium lo....kekekeeke eh if we plan what to wear and all we may meet up lei

Adeline- hip rotation is just like drawing circle with ur bum. If you use the gymball, just sit on the ball and rotate ur waist but becareful to sit steadily on the ball before u start ur exercise, better to be near a wall or something that you can hold on to.

Vanessa- yup i guess when the contractions come, u will want to ask for relief and forgot all about the side effects! Any idea when we must decide whether we want epi or not?

Mrs Gui: Oh i see. But my lower half of my body very stiff now leh.. I think very difficult for me to draw circle with bum lo. Nvm, I'll give it a try. Maybe do very slowly lo. Thanks!

mrs gui: annmum is 4 scoops for 200ml of water. If too much for u, take 3 scoops.

i also vomitted & shivered after delivery like your friend. Even though my stomach was empty.

vanessa: my tolerance not that high ah..so fast give in to epi. But luckily i didnt delay or else too late to administer. Already 5-6cm dilated then, within 3 hrs from i realised i'm having contractions.

Adeline- ya i suggest u start slow do 2-3 times each side then slowly increase. Normally I do it in the morning when I wake up. To wake the body up cos after a night sleep, our muscles tend to be a little lazy ...so its good to do some rotation to loosen those lazy muscles!

Jingles- hmm...32 weeks onwards ahh...was wondering if we can tell on the spot...want to see if can tahan or not! If really cannot then ask for the jab!

Moscato- thanks for the tip...but hor where to find Anmum milk powder ahh? Just now went to NTUC cannot find leh? Not all NTUC sells? Maybe should just drink meji fresh milk...easier to find hehe ;p

moscato
err cos i ask before..they were saying book ward, choose package and discuss the pain relief all on 32 weeks onwards. I guess its just to tell gynae a picture how u wan it bah...cos some mummies wan go through raw and brave..tat maens no epi and no relief at all :p
this is for KK case..not sure about pte hospitals though, may differs

you can find annmum easily in NTUC..i bought it from there...did you take a look at the baby milk powder section? It should be there ard that section.

jingles: oh..maybe diff from KK. I didn't tell my gynae whether i want epi or not. Only decided on that day.

Didn't discuss any birth plan with him too..only informed him i'm donating cord blood.

moscato
oh ya!! thanks for reminding me....the other time i was asking my friends if they wan to save their kid cord blood....they were all asking me why i wan save it in the bank lei..they were telling me if wan save the cord, the delivery procedure will be diff.??? wats the diff hur?

hmm..not sure how different is the procedure leh.
think i read somewhere some ppl said the doc will cut the cord earlier, instead of waiting for the cord to stop pulsating so not good for bb.
but my hb still cut my #1's cord..after that the gynae will do the necessary procedure to collect the blood. Very fast i think. just need to submit the documents during admission.

meeiee: ok i help u to ask

think i will discuss with my gynae and let her know 90% possibility that I will wanna take epi..hehe.. unless not in time for it...

i'll also donate my baby's cord blood.. cos it's kinda ex keeping it..and by donating i think there's priority in case need to source from the cordblood bank..

jingles: i extracted from the website this:-
"Immediately after the delivery of a baby, the cord is clamped and baby separated from the cord and moved from the birthing area. The doctor then collects the umbilical cord blood by inserting a needle into the cord vein, and draining the blood into either a blood bag or a syringe. CordLife uses only the blood bag method of collection, which minimises contamination risks.

This procedure is painless and risk-free to both mother and baby. It takes about 3 minutes and does not alter the birthing process in any way. However, the final decision whether the cord blood collection should continue will always reside with your caregiver whose first priority is the safety of mother and baby."

Yes jingles mummy....I better be good and go find the milk powder...aiyo i hope my princess like milk manz....cos my mum told me i stop drinking milk at a very young age! Baby better dun be like me! hehe! Will go find the milk powder this weekend.

Ya talking about the class tomorrow...hey what are u gng to wear ah? how to meet up? Are they combining the 9am and 11am class tgt ahh? The 9am class normally ends ard 1045am, will u be there around that time? Maybe i can see u outside the auditorium? I still cannot decide what to wear yet haha!

Moscato- ya i was at the baby milk powder section leh...cannot find...i think too many milk powder le..see unless eyes blur! Will go hunt for it again! Thanks!

moscato/vanessa
thanks for sharing....hmm i am wondering abt this last sentence...

"However, the final decision whether the cord blood collection should continue will always reside with your caregiver whose first priority is the safety of mother and baby."

so if safety reasons cannot proceed, duno if cordlife will refund us the 2k bo....

mrs gui: maybe out of stock when u were there? You will also find other brands of maternal milk. Should be displayed together, at least for the NTUC i went to.

Moscato- ya maybe i overlook cos I just took a quick glance and all i can see is the different brands of milk powder for baby! Should go other NTUC to check out!

Talking about cord blood banking...I think I will just donate to the public blood bank. But i heard from the nurse during the antenatal class that they would need to interview you first and ask you to fill a series of forms to declare that you are 100% healthy before they take your cord blood. Then they will also test the blood once they get it, if something is wrong think they will just discard it. If you want to donate to the public blood bank, just need to tell the gynae and they will inform the blood bank folks to contact you. This is for KKH patients, i think it should be the same for other hospitals ba.

Oh have you gals heard about processing the plcenta into pills and consuming it after delivery. Suppose to be very good for mummy? What do you gals think? I read from the web, some mummys even slice it and stir fry! Yucks....duno how they can swallow also! Wonder if it is really true that if the help to heal the body faster and even prevent post-natal depression! What do u all think?

jingles: maybe u can check with cordlife about your query
i think they should refund bah..

Mrs Gui: the placenta pills thingy is utterly gross! i cannot imagine eating that! aiyo... i believe confinement food is sufficient.. also dunno if it's scientifically proven to heal the body faster and prevent post-natal depression.. PND is an emotion thingy leh..how does eating placenta help with that?! eeee..cannot imagine eating placenta...yucky! shuddering at the thought of it..hehe :p

i donated the cord blood too. there is only one in singapore and located at KKH.

you need to call to make appt with them
they will interview you
they will pass you a bag to bring along delivery to collect the cord blood
you have to pass to hospital, they know what to do
they will call u after 2 weeks to let you know if the cord blood is good to be keep.
only troublesome if u are not a kkh patient cos have to make a trip there to collect the bag

mrs gui
err...tmr class is from 9 to 2pm lei! not sure if its so long for urs...but its so v long for mine lo...
i tried pte mesg u lei....u turn on ur pte mesg can? then we can see how we gg to meet up?

err...ya the topic of placenta was brought up previously also..alot of mummies also feel eating placenta a little unnerving!! (me too!) but i think its v nutritious lei...

serene123: the cordblood officer came to meet me at TMC..no need to go to KKH to collect.

Just call, make appt, they will send the officer down to meet, interview, sign form and pass me the stuff required.

unless there is a change in procedure from 2 years ago.

Jingles- I tried to turn on the pte msg le...can you try again?

Wah tomorrow lesson so long one ahh? Aiyo I think i will go off by 1pm cos got my exercise class! Then I think its a combined session for the 9am and 11am class since its until 2pm. Are you staying thru out? Maybe i u can let me know what I've missed out hehe!

mrs gui
u've got a mesg!!
u can sms me your mobile later...then we will keep in contact lo

no prob la..u can go off then i will share with u from there... :p

Hi Jingles ok got it! Will text you later!
Knocking off le!

To all mummies, have a good weekend, rest well and eat well too! Chat again next Monday!

isit necessary to drink milk esp made for pregnant woman? if i drink packet milk or those that non-pregnant can drink, isit enough?

i juz came back from JL sales, bought quite a no of bb items and saved alot. if you are a member, it will be worth the buy!

mrs gui/echo..
me is interested in placenta encapsulation too.. i think i will try.. i am not worried abt the gross part..more worried abt the hygiene of it.. i wonder how they process the placenta..

jkids, my gynae actually recommends taking normal low-fat milk (which gives same amt of calcium compared to maternal milk) & supplements (e.g. iron, fish oil, etc.. those essential nutrients missing in normal milk) instead of taking maternal milk.. coz maternal milk is actually quite fattening.. only necessary if you are not eating well.. if u are not eating well or not putting on enough weight, then maternal milk will be highly recommended! i'm taking maternal milk on & off (since got lot of sample pkts so dun waste) & HL with cereal for breakfast on weekends.. i'm not so worried abt my calcium intake as i'm also on calcium tablets.. what did u buy at the JL sale? any good deals?

today is so quiet...where's everyone? out shopping

hi Jac:
good to know i can drink the normal type, but do we need to drink everyday? my denist "blamed" me for not drinking enuff milk during my last pregnancy coz my kid has teeth decay

i dun take calcium or fish oil tablet, is it ok? coz i cannot swallow big tablets...

the JL sales huh....20% on mos items...avent, pigeon, bb clothes. its worth to take this chance to buy fr sales if u haven't bought mos items. but its only till tomorrow hor.

jkids,
i cannot swallow tablets too!! i cant even think about swallowing them.. id vomit.. feels so guilty not giving my baby enough nutrients leh.. but if i vomit even worse mah.. if the food that i eat comes out too, then totally no nutrients..

ladies... some updates from my gynae...

it is ok to use medicated plaster or deep heat muscle rub during our pregnancy... doesnt affect our BB at all. so if u having back aches or body aches ... can use these to relieve the pain and aches.

hope it helps. =)

jkids, the calcium tablet is supposed to be taken daily.. since u r not taking calcium tablet, then it's recommended to drink milk everyday.. probably 2 cups a day, same as the recommended serving for maternal milk.. alternatively, u can get calcium from other food sources such as cheese & sardines, etc.. can read here for more info on other food sources of calcium -> http://www.babycenter.com/0_calcium-in-your-pregnancy-diet_665.bc .. i haven't bought any baby stuff yet.. but hubby say don't kan jiong, wait for the baby fair in oct.. have already taken leave on the fri (21 oct) of the fair..

serene, i only hear old wife's tale say cannot do sewing & cutting (assume its threads for sewing) on the bed.. never hear cannot cut nails on bed before leh.. dun worry too much..

i juz confirmed my maid today!! fresh maid from indo.. will reach ard early dec.. praying real hard that she'll be good.. keeping fingers crossed!!

Sorry to interrupt...

I have a almost brand new Medela Mini Electric (dual pump) to let go; still under warranty
since early July 2011 and have only used it less than 5 times cos my girlfriend lent me her Medela Pump In Style.

I bought it at Mums & Babes at S$299 which includes the motor, pump accessories,
citystyle bag with cooler bag, ice pack and 4 storage bottles.

Can also throw in some pre-loved maternity clothes...

Please PM me if you are keen.

Silsilly:
hi-5! i used to eat calcium tablet last time for my previous pregnancy, but it always stressed me out...
till i gave up eating. it was a struggle trying to eat everytime, i oso vomitted out as i couldnt suceed on every try.

serene:
bb already 2nd trim...should not "affect" already. its juz a old tales. dun worry.

jac:
will yr maid be looking after your bb next time or juz the housework?

21 oct...can look forward...

jkids, i'll be putting baby & maid at my mum's place after i return to work.. maid will mainly do housework if mum is ard.. but will need the maid to look after baby if mum needs to go out to work once in awhile (flexi timing).. hopefully maid can take care of baby & wont abuse the baby.. sigh..

jkids
ya....i went shopping last weekend
kkkekekeke saw some good deals last weekend in OG, they are also having 20% sales...so bot the bottles set there last weekend...(avent starter kid, steriliser set, bottle warmer). Good deals la...and no need to squeeze in baby fair

try drinking milk bah...if pills are not workable for you..better start building on calcium before bb "borrows" calcium from you ah!

liquidskye
thanks for the update! now we know we can use medical plaster

jac
i also agree - drinking maternity milk will get fat easily :p but will still drink occasionally (as already on calcium pills) as already bot le...dont waste bah...

good morning mummies..

serene: no worries, i have been trimming my girl's nails on the bed while she is sleeping. Totally forgot abt it. Not cutting our own nails, should be ok. Anyway old wives' tales, don't scare ourselves.

jingles:
how much is your avent steriliser set? this one i havnt bought coz it was not on the JL sales...

jac:
lets hope your maid is a responsiblse one
unless u wan to put a camera at home....

1.some of you should be in the 3rd trim already rite...very fast hor...

2.these days, i dun like going to work becoz i dun like to take the mrt, esp when there is no seat. do u feel the same way? our tummy are begining to show...

3.i am starting to do the list of jobs for my coverer...already feel kacheong i cannot finish it coz i am busy with other work at the same time...

good morning mommies! Start of work week again..hope everyone has a great week ahead!

wanna check with you all if receiving blankets are a must? and which brands is good? material wise..cotton and muslin which is better?

jkids: i'm also planning training for my colleague who will cover me during my maternity leave...so kancheong le.. scared not enought time to finish training, esp now nearer year end alot of people wanna clear leave...haizz..

actually 3rd trimester starts Week 24 or Week 28 ah? i saw some books say Week 24, some states as Week 28...