(2012/01) Jan 2012

<font color="0077aa">hey Tiny Bubu!! Congrats to you too! Thanks for the PM on FB. Fancy meeting u here! I thought it will be a whole lot of getting to know more new mummies, didn't expect to bump into anyone.

ktcc, sorry to hear that. Hope u have a speedy recovery and dont lose hope k!

echo,
how frequent are u bf-ing ur child? mine is coming to 2 years and the thing is she never drink from the bottle teat at all at home - only at childcare. Sometimes i can coerce her to drink milo from straw bottle or from the mini 120ml pack. Now, still breastfeeding at night for bedtime and sometimes throughout the night. Weekends in the day too, esp to nap. During our month-long holiday, she gets in the day too.

ttcx, ya.. there are some mums who bf throughout their pregnancy and then both after delivery. My SIL ever did for her no. 2&amp;3 and also her 4&amp;5th. &amp; also colleague who had same age children as me. Prefer not to bf during pregnancy coz it tats when u need to load on all the vits &amp; minerals, but now it seems like no choice. Especially during time when ur breast starts to produce colostrum just before and after delivery, the newborn shd benefit more.

Just saw the MTB Jan 2012 list... many expecting no. 2! </font>

styliciously - jus very curious, since you're bf-ing, when your #3 is born ,will the milk be milk or colostrum on its very 1st few days? cos ur breasts will still have the milk in them cos uve been bf-ing previously rite?. if its colostrum, thereafter ur milk will come in very fast cos uve been bf-ing all the while, right? the body anatomy works in mysterious n wonderful ways!

dreamy, coyote - im very sure they'll dote on the lil one...you as the mother will be pampered too...

styliciously
i nurse her about 2-3x a day - before she sleeps, when she first wakes up at 5am and again at 7am. She still wakes up at 2am looking for milk, but I've been trying to night-wean her, so not giving her any milk at 2am. she does not drink from bottle at all, does not take any other milk other than BM.

but you shouldn't worry about supply for colostrum. there will definitely be enough for bb. if your girl is still nursing when you deliver, just make sure that bb gets to nurse first before your girl gets her turn. if you are tandem nursing, you will probably have a good supply of milk and your mature milk will come in much more quickly.

blue_y
actually your body will already start making colostrum during the pregnancy. since i am a bfg mother, it means that my milk production is switching from normal milk to colostrum.

JTML- Only once, took a cab home after work to rest. Dare not go n squeeze standing an hr inside mrt.

Pinko- u still can setup stall? Peifu, try to sit more often ok.

juz wondering whenever u visit your gynae, do u ask him to give you mc? esp when your co dun allow time off during working hr?

jkids
i usually get MC from the gynae when I visit. But my company allows me to take half-day MC, so I can stretch out my MC days a bit more.

Coyote - Im at my 6wks now. Was taking a long break from work and has not work for 6mths now. Suddenly found out im preggy no choice need to have some income for bb now.

Alot of stuff very new lying around at home very waste. So set up flea to sell off for some cash.

Come support ok! =)

echo - ouh..i c..thts how it works ehh.....but if ur still breastfeeding till the day you give birth....will ur child drink milk or colostrum..? sorry...very curious..

blue_y
all mummies start making colostrum in their pregnancy, so all newborns will get to drink colostrum when they are born. in fact, my milk is already starting to turn to colostrum, and is causing my girl to have loose stool. this is because colostrum is a natural laxative, which helps newborns pass out the meconium easily after they are born.

Morning..

My nausea seems to have extended itself to throughout the day.

After each consumption of food, the food seems to back tracks itself back into the mouth.
have alr been eating small meals.

Getting kinda tired of thinking what meals should I have next. And I'm so picky cuz of smell, oil, spicy etc. Pain.

Does anyone experience the same?

Good morning all

Pinko - all the best to your business, I won't be able to go and support you. Traveling has become very strenuous for me. I mentally support you ok

Veronica - saw article saying ginger-related food is gd for easing ms. Like ginger sweet/biscuit. U might want to try.

My appetite is changing again. Now I can eat full meal already, lesser hunger pangs in between meals.

Veron,
How abt trying to eat bread? Or drink milk, milo?

Or try eating things that u used to dislike. My #1 made me fall in love with Soya Bean. Now #2, i seem to gravitate towards bread! Funny how our taste buds and craving change.

Hugs to mommies having MS - hang in there, just one more month to go before most MS will stop ya? And yes, Veronica - try anything ginger - tea/biscuits/sweets, that should help. How about preserved sour fruits?

Btw have you gals started shortlisting baby names yet? Hah, yes, I know its way way too early...but its still nice to start considering some

Speaking of travelling - have to plan final holidays before we get too big!

We are most prob gonna make a trip to Perth with Kieran in Sept/Oct. Also made a last minute booking for 2D1N at Batam this Fri/Sat....and I still have to tell my boss &amp; teammates that I can't make it for work travels in Oct/Nov (I have 2 trips to India &amp; one to Bali)...argh...such bad timing.

haha. MayC, my #1 MS lasted me 5 months. Perhaps it genetic, cos my mum also around 5 months of puking. I had my 1st puke yesterday.

I also thinking of perth in Sept. Wonder if can go anot. HB not interested in travelling especially when i m preggy

Veronica, you are not alone. I am still trying out what i can eat. Those that i thought i want to eat, i ordered. Once i taste, i reject.

I love milo. yesterday i puke all milo out.. sigh.

Hi echo, really. I din know that too. So you intend to stop BF #1 already?

mayC
I am also starting to think about names. I just went to dig up the list of girls names that I shortlisted for #1. Now must compile a list of boys names. Keep options open, although I am hoping for a boy!

jowin
sigh I am hoping to stop but very hard to wean her off. so far, managed to reduce the frequency of nursing, but i cannot get her to take any other milk. she is willing to take a bit of fresh milk, but only takes a few sips. now i'm thinking of trying powdered milk like fernleaf or nespray. last resort is FM, cos very ex la, somemore if i buy one tin, cannot guarantee that she will like it.

Hey speaking of names, wonder what are good resource for coming up with mandarin names? Right now still too early, but just want to find resources for reference later.

jowin - wow, 5 months of MS? That sucks...but on the bright side, you won't be one of those mommies gaining 20+kg &amp; having to lose it all after delivery!

Travelling when preggy - better go, else we won't get a chance to make a family trip for a long long time. Its a pain having to travel when you are nursing &amp; needing to express milk every few hours (plus throw it away if baby is not travelling together)! Convince your hubby

Names - hah, am jumping ahead of the curve here since we are just in the 2nd month, but still...its nice to have some ideas of what baby's name would be
I just helped my sister pick out one for her son due in Sept/Oct, didn't realize we would need to pick out one for ourselves soon too. We already have loads in mind for a girl, but am still hoping for a boy.

mscarpediem - I guess when it comes to chinese names, the best resource is still the older folks? Plus have to make sure there are no repeats amongst relatives/rules to follow (e.g. same middle name, etc)

travelling
actually i feel that taking a family trip when bb is small is easy, because all they do is drink milk and sleep. of course, depends on the kind of trip that you want to do, but it can be doable. in fact, if you travel when bb is onto solid foods, it is even worse cos have to pack food for them.

Afternoon ladies!

Echo- i travelled to the states last year with my then 8mth old gal. Impt is fm must stock cos overseas very hard to get any. Even in states, diapers, i tried 3 brands n still cant find one that can last the night. The diapers there super thin! Even brand names like pampers.
During pregnancy, if planning to travel, must note for younger babies, not easy for juz one parent to keep carrying for long haul flight but think doable... I think toddlers food are wee bit harder cos they r neither here nor there n even if they can eat, their tummy might later on don agree..

X - try drinking yakult daily n prune juice once every few days. Might help..
if not buy 'Lactul' from pharmacy. It help loosen the stools. It helped me alot... Wont affect bb

Coyote, mine is constipate lor

For travelling, i had not tried long travelling. So far with baby is to Genting or local staycation. Her 1st travel is at 10th month old. Lots of things to carry, like her meals, milk, diaper and my breast pump etc etc.. like going a long war. Lucky we took flight i can check in some. I think with #2, in future, more things!!

Now, when i just plan for my taiwan farm stay / perth farm stay.. i tested positive and had to postpone the trip.

Yes, toddler food are harder to prepare. Till today, i still cook every of her meals. Still have not really let her take outside food. except to tips here n there.

Hi (X), perhaps fybogel helps? I have not take it yet though. My gynae used to prescribe to me.

jowin
wow you are so disciplined to still cook food for your girl. by the time emma was 1+, i already let her eat table food when we go out.

X
you can try eating yoghurt or more high fibre fruit like papaya and prunes.

blue_y
yeah if you have to buy FM it can be troublesome to stock up. i took my first staycation when my girl was 5 months, but was easy for me cos i bf her directly, so didn't need to pack any 'equipment'.

X - I am also quite constipated, but prunes &amp; prune juice helps :p

echo - the good thing about travelling before 2 is that the airtixt is just 10% of adult fare! But its quite restricting travelling with a baby if you want to be out &amp; about &amp; sightsee. We brought Kieran to nearby places that didn't require a flight(e.g. Bintan) &amp; didn't take him on his first flight till 2! And yes, loads to pack - milk powder, snacks, nite diapers, lots of change of clothes etc!

Cooking for #1 - I am still doing that - he eats lunch at the childcare but I pass his dinner meals to my MIL to feed before we bring him home on weekday nites. On days we are out, I still pack his food but supplement with whatever we eat while outside. The exception would be when we are travelling overseas.

echo- yeah.. thts one of the reason i wanna bf fully this time round... easier, better for bb n wif the past painful bf experience, i think i can do better...

i think if travelling wif no, must travel when still fully on liquid diet.. easier for both parents.. imagine both so gungho, got two highchairs, two kind of messes,,,* shudders*

i took #1 to Taiwan when he was 7mth old.
Fully on BF and semi-solid. Just just brought diapers and lots of jar food and baby biscuits.

It was FUN! I thinking of going HK disneyland for his 3rd b'day in Sep. Shd i or shd i not?

x - if u both can manage, why not..
for me to travel then, i will think about toilets or loos first..cos the last pregnancy ard 6 to 7mths, i have frequent need to go to pee.. very irritating..hehe

MayC: Yupz, our parents are an option. Still it'll be nice to hv an encyclopedia of Chinese names, hee.

I'm also pickier abt food now, but find that spicy food (e.g Tom yum, mee Siam, kimchi,fish curry etc) are generally acceptable for me. Also, I find that half an apple after a meal is helping me with my constipation.

I'm 9w+ now and my breasts are getting more tender, think they may also be getting a little bigger (although currently I can still fit my bras)

echo, i wish for a total BF too. But my girl dun want to latch after 6 months. I have to go all the way pumping till she blew off her 1st yr old candle.. haha.

haha. I thought its better to eat home-cook food and let her tips and there outside.. Its tough too, cos i have to make sure i rush back in time to cook or before going out, i cook and put in thermos. Shack and i m beginning to be lazy cos She started to reject and want to eat table food. Sometimes, my effort gone to waste. Angry but dun blame her la.

MayC, i still cook for her overseas. At phuket, we booked an apartment type with kitchen, so that i can cook for her lor. Troublesome hor. Especially at thailand, i am more afraid she take outside food.

Blue, talk about painful bf experience. I am prone to block ducts and it can " jam" up the system. The whole breast like rock n so so so so painful that, a few times, i had to the specialist to massage and clear the block for me.. ** cried** Surrender!!

Cannot eat bu in first trimester but she is not a general TCM. She is the one who help us to conceive, we took her herbs for 1 yr ;) So I shld inform her abt this gd news loh.

coyote
if you are under the care of a physician, you should be safe taking the herbs that they prescribe. especially since you have been under her care for so long, she should be able to prescribe you herbs that are appropriate for your condition.

echo - i think so, she is very famous actually.

Just surfing on Mozart effect CD for Mum-2-be, anyone knows where is selling cheap?

Coyote, hi five! Me also on TCM.. As I had history of 2 MC..I see my sinseh once tested positive. I also took her medicine before when I had my #1

Hello there! I am new here. Just tested positive on Sunday. Super inexperienced. So any advice for me? I booked an appointment with gynae next tues. Am I too gan jiong?

I'm due 7 Jan 2012, 8weeks plus now. Can I join this thread.

My first child is 14 months and I'm still bf her at home while she takes bottle at IFC. Supply is dropping drastically and am desperately trying to bottle train at home n try FM.

Welcome Maddie, we have many #2 mummies over here. Enjoy your stay here.

Gd morning ladies! Just read this from a book "Bonding before Birth" on pregnancy rest:
"If u can sit, do not stand. If you can lie down, do not sit". Thumb of the rule: rest as much as you can ;)

Hi Green4life &amp; Maddie

coyote - Argh...I don't think I can sit &amp; do nothing! Am the type that always has to be on the go. For instance, for my 1st pregnancy, I was walking up all the MRT staircases in low heels all the way up till the day before I delivered. If the pregnancy is a low risk one, I think it helps to ensure that you get some light exercise.

TCM - wow, looks like alot of mommies here benefitted from TCM! My BIL &amp; SIL who tried for kids for years also managed to conceive after using TCM!

Thanks, coyote, X n MayC.

I was doing the resting quite well at my first preg. Even kana 1 week mc to rest in bed. now with #1, really no rest lo. some more older and more tired. yawn.

Welcome Maddy and Green4life!

Wondering if any of you have drank our local Hay's Dairies goat's milk during your pregnancy and that it is safe for pregnant ladies to drink?

Their brochure and their facebook page had indicated they are pasteurized and thus safe for pregnant ladies. But it will be even more reassuring if there are real life cases of mommies who had drank it and still have a successful pregnancies.

Coyote: I'd just went for the last of my cardio Latin dance gym class yesterday evening although I had taken care not to overstretch myself especially in the upper body and hip isolations. It had felt good to stretch especially underused muscles like those along our hip and thigh.

My gynae had advised (for me) to half my exercise intensity during this first trimester yet to maintain a minimum level of physical activity. For my cousin who's bleeding right after her first trimester though, she had been prescribed total bed rest so she wasn't able to work. So my thinking is the level of physical activity is determined by the fitness of the mother and the stability of the pregnancy?