(2012/01) Jan 2012

Moscato/Bluecryst,
Ya lor it's so frustrating and tiring..she's been doing it for 2 nights already and all my pent-up emotions just burst..my hb needs to work so he's also having a hard time and at that point in time, i really wish i have a wand that can make any wish come true hahaha

today i also told my bb i didn't mean to be so fierce last night haha..somehow felt guilty that i lost my patience..

Yi Chin: lol, yah. I told her "sorry lah, mummy didn't mean to scold you.." or "ok lah ok lah, not talking about you.." haha.

Medory: during the day time, I look at her so cute and sweet, i tell myself cannot lose temper at night. Then come night time sometimes cannot take it. But I tried to tell myself not to do it lah.. My hubby is more patient than me. He tried to wake up and help whenever possible even though he has work next morning. Sometimes I felt bad.

Btw does anyone knows if it's normal to have green stools? My gal has been having green stool this two days. Only once this morning did she pass out normal yellow seedy stools. I read about foremilk hindmilk imbalance, allergic to certain food that mummy ate but not sure what is the actual cause. I'm doing exclusive pumping so not sure if milk imbalance can happen.

moscato, valteen, yi chin: Thanks!

Medory: Im experiencing the same situation as you. When my baby boy gets too fussy, I will also lose control and talk to him in a harsh tone. Sometimes will get angry with him and dont want to talk to him. But after a very short while, I will regret it and apologise to him and sayang sayang him again. Ha... guess it's normal!

Serene: I have stopped taking fenugreek quite some time ago.. My mil was saying it could be due to the green leafy veg that I have been eating lately. Could it be the case?

Blu: my bb girl also had green stools a couple of weeks back. Mine was due to foremilk hindmilk imbalance cos she is a small eater and I latch on exclusively. Was wondering perhaps when u pump, did u empty your breasts? Cos when u do not empty, the hindmilk will not be pumped out and bb will be drinking alot of foremilk.

Jac, are still you feeding your boy 150ml every 3 hrs? How many weeks is he now? Mine 7 weeks, weighing about 5 kg, think i overfed him, 150ml according to his fm tin should be evety 4 hrs, somemore im staying w my parents, my dad kept imsisting on feeding him water, so cant imagine exactly how much he is taking every 3 hrs. He weigh like a bag of rice now.

RitzC: ur bb drinking 150ml already? I want to increase 130ml, worry he will merlion. Dont follow what is indicated on the fm tin. I find it's too much. Haa.. How can a bb drink 240ml by 6 mths old?? The formula shld be ard 150 x weight of bb divided by no. of feeds per day.

Moscato, my greedy boy will juz gulp up whatever is in the bottle. Think my kkh pd calculate wrongly, told me it is alright juz burp him between feeds. He has slight reflux coz we usually carry him upright for 15 to 30 mins. But i think i will cut down his feed to 120ml every 3 hrs or give him 150ml if he can hold on til 4 hrs.. difficult...

Xinyi: I pumped till there is no milk flowing out. That should be the way right? She still has yellow stools but once yesterday and once this morning. The next batch of stool is green again.

ritzc, my boy's 10wks now. feeding him 120ml every 2.5-3hrs (8-9 feeds a day), extra 30ml (total 150ml) if he's still hungry after that. he seems to be hungrier in the evening, maybe wanna eat more then go sleep ba. he weighs 5.64kg @ 7wks. PD says abit heavy but not overweight (@ 75th percentile), & told me to keep his feeding amt to 120ml, max 150ml, if he still eats 8-9 feeds a day. i also give my boy water to quench his thirst & curb his appetite. PD also says its ok to feed water, juz not more than 150-200ml a day.

mummies, details on taka fair -> http://singapore-promotions.com/baby/takashimaya-baby-fair-takashimaya-square-4-25-mar-2012-27009/

moscato, my boy eats more than what's indicated on the tin. hahah.

ritzc, same same. my boy will definitely finish whatever is in the bottle. i'm also worried abt overfeeding so initially I'll carry him, try distract him & let him cry till its 2.5-3h, time for his feed. nowadays i'll feed him whenever he's hungry instead of letting him cry coz I find that it makes him a happier bb leh. but I'll control the amt he takes lo, e.g. 60ml if 1hr, 90ml if 2hrs, 120ml if more than 2.5hrs from his last feed, & topup with 30ml if he's still hungry.

Jac: same here. in the day, I will give baby ebm whenever he cries for milk. couldn't bear to see him cry. he can cry real loud in fact! maybe that's the trait of dragon baby. ha..

however after 7pm. we try to stick to 3 Hr feeding so that I can have some sleep at night. now with pumping and night feeding, I only manage to get abt 1.5th continuous sleep in between his night feeds. hope can stretch longer when he's older.

has anyone tried to stretch the night feeds for baby to sleep longer? if so, can share how you do that?

Hi Serene123.. I was recommended fenugreek... and bought a bottle from GNC is JB..

may i know what are the supposedly side effects?

Our son is about 9 weeks old and i have been feeding him about 180ml... 4 hr feeding..

Is this normal..?

Our first child..

thanks for any advise

victorial, side effect of fenugreek: mummy will smell like curry.

It's a herb that Indian use for cooking curry.

Mummies who latch bb directly. Do ur kiddos drink hrly ah?? Mine will want milk every hr unless she slps over the time. And also recently she hardly cries for milk middle of nite, some even up to 4 hrs but when i open my eyes, she will be sucking her fingers! So i feed her lor. Any of ur bbs like that leh?

moscato, I mean for my boy's age, the tin states 180ml x 5 feeds, but my boy's taking 120ml x 8-9 feeds, so my boy's taking more than what's indicated on the tin in terms of total amount. & yes, he's very round & chubby now. but I'm thinking of beefing him up alittle coz scared he'll fall sick & lose weight when he goes to IFC. so he wan eat then give him eat lo.

valteen, my boy also starting to sleep more at night. finally!! but at most 4hrs at a stretch nia.

Jac
How bigz ur boy?
Wonder if itz fine since his intake seems to lessen in the wee hours. Even sucking also lesser than other times.

valteen, my boy's 10wks+1day today. for past 2-3 nites he sleep ~4hrs then wake up for a quick feed (drink & immed go back to sleep) then sleep for another ~3.5hrs then wake up for feed again (play for abt half hr then fuss & needs to be carried to sleep) then go back to sleep for another ~2.5-3hrs. for me it's a significant improvement liao coz last time he always sleep for 2.5-3hrs then cry for milk & needs to be carried to sleep after every feed. I hope it gets better & better!

Jac
My gal is 11.5 weeks, so quite close to ur son. Yah i do hope things get better and predictable. Does ur son suck his fingers ah? U give pacifiers? My gal doesnt want pacifier and lately she is almost been obsessed wif sucking her hand. Sighz

Blu, shd not bE the green veg. If u can disgest bb should be able too. If not due to any supplement , give a call to pd see they advice need to go for check up.

Vic, fenugreek if effective will givE a maple smell both sweat and urine. I took a lot but still don hv.

Vic, can go website to look.
Possible side effects and cautions
Sweat and urine smells like maple syrup; milk and/or breastfed baby may smell like maple syrup.
Occasionally causes loose stools, which go away when fenugreek is discontinued.
Use of more than 100 grams of fenugreek seeds daily can cause intestinal distress and nausea (recommended dose is less than 8 grams per day).
Repeated external applications can result in undesirable skin reactions [Wichtl 1994].
Ingestion of fenugreek seeds or tea in infants or late-term pregnant women can lead to false diagnosis of maple syrup urine disease in the infant due to presence of sotolone in the urine. See [Korman 2001] and other studies on fenugreek and maple syrup urine smell.

http://www.kellymom.com/herbal/milksupply/fenugreek.html

valteen, I give my boy pacifier but he doesn't like it. he prefers sucking his mittens/ hand. think they r at the age of putting stuff into their mouth?

jac n valteen:
hee...somtimes they are hungry. i usually let bb cry awhile b4 i attend to him. when he becomes quiet, i noe he is sucking his thumb :p

Yi Chin: thanks for the links, they sure are useful. My bb's poo is like the normal yellow seedy poo, just that they are green. But they are not bright green. I think it's normal?

Serene: I will monitor her poo for a while more.. According to one of the link that Yi Chin has provided, it may be normal..

blu,

if its foremilk hindmilk imbalance, ur bb will poo green seedy stools that are acidic.. see if the skin is red.. if not, no issue..

<font color="green"><font size="-1">Morning mummies, any one with confinement tingkat? can shareshare with me? is the food nice? food portion enf? salty? which caterer u using n abt hw much?</font></font>

Blu: the occasional green stools should be fine. Went to see pd on this before, she said it's not so much of an issue as long as bb is gaining a proportional amt of weight.

Jkids
Hahaha now they r into hand sucking. On one hand i dont want them to suck (her thumb a bit sore from sucking) but it does keep them occupied thus dont cry that fast!

Just registered gal for ifc. Start next wk. Just nw at the ctr saw the kiddos cry, i almost cried out cos very bu she de leave my gal there.

Vic, thanks,

Most mummies take 2 cap 3 times daily, I taking 3 cap 3 times daily cos milk supply still not hit 100ml.

U can adjust dosage accordingly.

I been advised 1 cap a day for 1 week. Then 2 caps daily.
Rm 69.90 a bottle. Eat about 1 hr before food.

Average 120 to 150 daily.

valteen, starting IFC so soon? when r u going back to work? I also very bu she de.. not looking forward to going back to work.. will miss my boy badly..

Valteen, im also staying at amk,may be looking for infantcare too in the near future depending on my mum's health. So only bishan infantcare have vacancy? Bb crying will the trs carry or juz leave bbs to cry? Heard from an relative working in infantcare that they r usually short of staff. Ay, if i bring my bb down and see other bb left to cry i will be v 不舍得, and U-turn back home...haiz

Poseidon, my boy not easy to take care coz he is quite cranky. I worry too much, scared nanny no patience w him. I see how my mum's health checkup goes then decide...

Ritz, depends on ifc, not necc all amk ones full. At least the two near my place are. U can call and check. One ofthe two on my waitlist are short of staff hence can run addl classes. If bb cry louder i will go pat pat her and try to feed her, change her nappy. If these cant work then i will arry her to soothe her. Can bear let her cont cry if itz getting more intense.

Yah lor that day i was at the ifc, saw the kiddos cry in there, i imagine my gal there, i almost teared on the spot! Even before my gal is in! Parents ah!

Xinyi: thanks for the info. My gal is still having green stools but there are a few times when it's yellow too. Hoping that it's fine.

Btw what is the no. Of feeds that a 6 wk baby should have? I'm afraid mine don't meet the minimum no. Of feed.