(2012/01) Jan 2012

Haha Medory
My gal has reached that level liao also ah! Tired!

Just had a tiring time wif gal earlier. She kept crying and screaming on top of her voice. Nothing can pacify her.

It's encouraging to know Tht I am not alone. My baby scared me so much just now.He is so cranky Tht he just cried till the whole face is dark red n I tot he is gonna burst.

Valteen, hi-five haha! Really tiring to keep on walking around..

Mine also refuse to sleep yet..despite rocking her n walking around..does your gal tend to have more frequent feedings in the daytime huh?

Green4life, my gal also always like to cry n struggle till her face red red and sometimes start coughing..don't worry u are not alone

Moscato, mine is clear colored bottle.

Valteen, green4life, medory, my boy nowadays howls whenevrr he is comfortable, tired, wet diaper or hungry. I always try to hold him vertically n hug him to my chest n walk yo a quiet room to coo n calm him w his face either above my left or right shoulder. One side will eventually work. I sing or hum softly to him until he calms down then carry him in the normal cradle position to let him sleep. It is definitely exhausting to keep going through the same routine of dealing with a wailing bb after every feed or disrupted sleep, but guess most of us r all going thru the same.. hang on n bb will most prob be calmer in a few months time.

Wow itz a relief to knw bbs behave almost similarly at this stage. Sometimes i feel like i am going to peng san. More depressing at nite if bb doesnt, and hubby needs to slp cos of work, and i am the only one entertaining bb. Physically and mentally strained indeed.

Medory
I am totally lost wif her feeding schedule, esp since i latch on abt 2 weeks ago. She can cry for hrly, two hrly or three hrly! But this afternn, she was cranky and keep crying and a few times feed her less than one and half hr, even less than an hr. But i do notice if she doesnt slp in the day, she tend to want to eat more.

I am terribly scared if she wants to eat and poo at the sme time when she cant focus on any one of them and gets irritated.

Ritz
I am stilk learning how to carry her in upright position without hurting her. Yah i will also quietly talk to her, shhh shhh her to soothe her.

Oh dear, she is wakinh up again. Cant slp tight this afternn. Haiz

maybe we should start counting by the week and get some sweet surprises. bb may start to sleep thro the nite by week 10-12...

moscato:
honey one...those uncleared type. weird that yours dun have the ring leh..

Moscato, I have 2 types of avent bottles. Honey coloured ones dun have rings, those white translucent ones have rings. I find them working well.. Once or twice got leaks cos I din screw it properly.

Valteen, no need to force urself to carry bb upright if u r not comfortable, just tilt bb a bit in cradle position to hold bb close to ur chest. Mine swing his fists n kicks his legs at me whn he is in cradle position when he is angry. Most important is to carry bb safely

Ritz
Yes i am doing that sometimes, tiltong her upright. Sigh tdy see her so heartpain.

Jkids
Really! I will count dwn boy! Desperately waiting for days they can really slp thru and can be less cranky when they are awake.

Silsilly
I jz now xry wif bb too.

Hw do u bf outside?

Hi Silsilly,

You are not alone, i turned cranky too when my bb just won't stop crying. hiaz......she used to my CL way of carrying and rocking her liao.... my CL leaving on Friday, so left with me alone with bb ah.... Faintz siah....

Dear mummies,I have 7 tins of Dumex Mamil Gold Step 2 900g (For babies after 6 months) and the retail price is $38.50. I'm selling at $20 per tin and $19 per tin if purchase of all 7 tins. The expiry date is 05 jun 2013. Please let me know if you are interested.

Hi all, been a silent reader

Mummies don't stress yourself ok? Babies can also sense our mood so try to make urself happy and tell yourself u can do it! I was also scared when my CL left when I had #1 and my mum and mil were also very doubtful if I can handle baby alone. So maybe I was trying to proof them wrong or tt if u are really alone with baby, u die die also must be able to handle cos if not no one can help so with tt mindset everything is ok. Just let bb cry a bit longer or lower your standard for house cleanliness will help. And go out for a breather! I love gg out with by #1 and 2 and #2 is 8 wks old and I have been bringing her out since wk 5. Got to put up with strangers' comments abt bringing small babies out but it is my way of relaxing and enjoying ML and motherhood! Get a carrier or sling and it will be a breeze!

If babies can't sleep for long maybe can try to but them in sling or bb carrier? Mine will sleep whenever I sling her out or even if at home, slinging can make u handsfree and not so tiring. My other method is to let her sleep on her stomach hehe! Not recommended but this saves my day since #1. But must be watchful.

I also bf in public, but a bit shy to do in bus or mrt cos ppl will stare and also becos sitting in such close proximity. Did bf in mrt station though with nursing cover. If not hang ard malls with great nursing rooms like taka, isetan scotts, great world, vivo so tt u can bf in peace.

Today finally squeezed time out for yoga and left bb w my mum. Felt really gd for the me time and I feel tt happy mummy will make our babies happy so if there is help at hand try to have some me time to save our sanity

Enjoy motherhood!

I think our bb r really good at making us exhausted.. I rem reading a bb book before n it says we are so stressed because we r trying to b perfect mums n we hv the mentality that since we r the mummy, we shod know what to do. But there's no perfection or competition here, so must always remind ourselves we r only humans, we need to slooowww down n breathe! I find it v true so far..

My gal is showing her true colours already. Breathing fire at me today.. Also been latching her constantly as if she's attached to my breast. I'm trying not to rock or hold her too much..

For my baby, he will sleep immediately once i put him into his pram and push him out of the house. hehehe.. you can try it if your baby just cant stop crying. hehe...

Swaddling do help to soothe a crying baby. My baby gets startled v easily during his sleep (ie throw his hands and legs into the air.. looks like having nightmares) and will suddenly cry. to solve the problem, i just swaddle him and he can sleep much better.

Or else, if he still cry, hug him vertically upright towards your chest. he will feel more secure. Pacifier do help alot in stopping the baby from crying too.

For stomach wind, i just use rid wind and give him baby massage.. nowadays he seldom cry due to stomach pain liao. but he always fart. Super smelly. end up my mum ask me whether insurance cover "Death causing by smelly poisonous gas". hohoho...

Catherine,
did u buy ridwind on ur own or by pd prescription?at wat week u strt givin bb ridwind? im exhausted with his tummy pain..

Silsilly
My bb also hv tummy. Itz really tiring on her and us when it happens. I brought her to see gp and was given med. U can use gripe water. And i will also apply ruyi oil on her tummy to keep warm. Yhen itz really jz a waiting game for her pain to ease up.

Do all ur babies hv the kek sai habit? My gal sometimes takes lots of effort to try to poo and pass gas and she gets v irritated when it doesnt come out.

Cookiezz
The nursing cover u use covers the front only type issit? Is it really secure? I bought a breastfeed blanket from kiddy palace and the front is just hook on only. Itz tiring to carry bb that low hor?
Anyway i supp we hv to wear front button kind of clothings yah?

Hi valteen, my boy also have the kek sai habit, his face will go super red as if he is going to burst. And worse is that sometimes he does it whilst drinking milk! He will stop and the milk tends to flow all over his face.

I have been using ru yi oil on my baby boy, applying on his ankles and stomach daily after bath and before bedtime for 3 days now, and I find that my boy can sleep better especially at night. Maybe it does help get rid of the wind in the stomach. Try to get hubby to do it though as one should not wash hands immediately after applying. Makes things hard for mums if u need to breastfeed soon after applying

Pamela
Hi 5! Struggling wif feeding and kek sai at the same time is really no joke. She din want suck when she kek sai but when she unlatched she screams! Wah....they keep kek sai but at the end there is poo, is this considered constipated ah. They sometimes get fidgety for sometime before poo comes out.

Pamela
My CL told me abt the washing hand part too but i cannot be bothered anymore cos bb doesnt wait for anything and things hv to move so i wash anyway.

Valteen: my son also need to strain v hard during poo time. he will move alot and make his face like red lobster. I ever ask PD before is it constipation since he seems to squeeze v hard. PD say it's normal, as long as he poo everyday. Constipation means nv poo for 3-4 days?

Silsilly: I got the ridwind after visiting PD. But this medicine harmless and can buy at any pharmacy without any prescription. Another alternative is gripe water. Also same effect.
PD say 3 times a day. But I only give him once a day and it still works fine

Wonder anyone had any idea abt polyp apparently my viginal heaviness where I feel like something is dropping out is due to polyp as describe by gynae like a lump which he say is very common, in fact he manage to tweet a small piece out n give me e option to laser it off if still unbearable but need to wait till after bb's first month mayb cos I'm still bleeding.

Much as I hope none of u experience it but in case u known or heard abt it can share ur knowledge wif me? Now gg xtremely uncomfortable again whenever I carry things or bb fm cot... Yet hv 2 bear till next month

As long as there is poo, don't think they are constipated. Guess babies can't multi-task, must concentrate on pooing so cannot drink milk, ESP since they have a hard time with wind in their stomach.

I am into my second week of confinement. And the baby is tWo weeks old. There was two nites I looked after him without his dad. I cried so badly after that. When I look at him, I felt like killing him and then I kill myself. After I told his dad abt it, they did not let me take care of him in the nite. And I am happier now.

I lost 14kg of weight in 2 weeks. Think I am too stressed up with him.

Valteen
Yes it covers the front only. But very big right? So shld be ok. Practice at home and ask hub to help u check haha! I carry bb in normal position, not low leh. Yes u can wear button front tops or get nursing wear. Personally I dun like button front cos by the time my clumsy fingers (1handed since other hand carry bb) open up e buttons, bb very angry Liao. And there will be more exposed area if nursing cover is not adjusted properly

Ruyi oil is gd. My #1 sch even the non Chinese teachers recommend! So we put everyday. Also hub and all like the smell too so I am 'forced' to put

Catherine
Thanks! Relief to hear that.

Pam
Haha yah, they try to multitask but cannot be successful.

Marie
Yah do find time to come in and chat as many things that we face are not umcommon. At least we know we are not alone. Lets share here! Letz jiayou ok? Consolation is, the phase will pass.

Cookiezz

The nursing blanket i bought covers the back too. But wonder how the hook in front can make it private. Yah i wanna try but everytime i feel so hot that the blanket irks me. Hahaha

So sad...i think my bm is not sufficient to satisfy my gal's hunger these two days. But after she suck, i press nipple, still got milk leh. Maybe not coming out fast enuff or liw volume ba.
Anyone encounter this?

tks catherine..

valteen, how do u know ur bb not satisfied? she scream for more or she wants more frequent feeding? i think ur bm should b suffiecient if u have been latching her all this while..

chris, we share the same feeling.. but if we look on the bright side, we have finally achieved wat we have been waiting for these years and that is a baby.. we went thru so much to get this bb.. but sometimes the stress n pressure can get to us.. like what the other mommies say, this phase will pass.. ur bb will get over ur CL n will get used to u.. I think its ok to cry n get cranky too.. we r humans after all..

hi marie, take things easy k, if not, might get post-natal depression...

i have been looking after my son alone as well, especially at night, with my hubby sleeping in the next room cause he needs to work. Sometimes when my boy refuses to sleep (there was one night he refuse to sleep till 3+am) and cries all night long, i get very frustrated too, but like Silsilly said, look at the bright side. This phase will pass and you might actually miss your child being a baby cause they grow up so fast.

At least your hubby and family members are there to help! Sometimes i wonder if my hubby is deaf. He can sleep through the night though baby is crying. But then again, my hubby and my pil always try to help throughout the day and ensure that i do have rest whenever i can.

Silsilly
Every less than an hour she will start to cry and want milk. When i latched her she will suck desperately. When i offered her the other side, she din want. Just nw i latched her, again she finished. 15 min later she cried. I latched again she continued to cry. I gave her fm, she sctually finished. Now i am stressed. Sigh

Marie, looks like we are almost in the same boat. Although my hubby does sleep with me, but he has to work, and i will always try not to disturb him. My bb have been sleeping with us since week 2, thats the time when i realise my CL is a smoker, and i refuse to allow bb to sleep with her at night. My CL secretly squat and smokes in my service yard with my bb clothes hanging on top. We had discontinued the CL service after two weeks. My girl is coming to full month next tue.

Recently, she gets really cranky at night. As advised by my sister, give bb last feed 120ml formula at 11-1130pm, hoping to last her till early dawn, however, she gets up seeking attention at 2.30am again. Hubby got woken up by her, and always attend to her. I told hubby, sometimes, bb only want to seek attention, if she's not crying, just ignore. But hubby always ended up carrying her and ask me to give her more milk, but i thought the formula should be able to last her for quite some time. I do not wish to over feed her, as she always puke after that. But, with no choice, after all the pacifying, singing, walking around etc, only milk can calm her down. I latch her on and she can continue her sleep. But after i latch her on one side, i will have to pump out the other side of milk, and i can only do it after she falls asleep. By the time i finish pumping, and can get to bed, i need some time before i could fall asleep, and she wakes up again at 5am. I've to repeat the above and by the time i can get to sleep at 6plus am.

Could anyone please advise how can i have my bb to sleep longer? Really desperate and worn out. Woke up with heavy migraine for few days. Kept rubbing medicated oil as i refuse to take medication cos i'm breast feeding. With this carry on, i'll go crazy. Sometimes, i really feel like giving up.

Hi Valteen, Mknwt,Silsilly,

Wow we are all experiencing the same stuff.... My time will come this friday evening when CL leave, then me and hb will have to handle nite feeds. We have discussed to try give my gal 120ml FM at her last feed around 12am and see how long it lasts. Cos my CL norm gives her 90ml FM from 12am, and she wakes up around 3am+ then wants to carry around then drinks another 60-90ml then sleeps till 6am+. I'm now trying desperate to pick up skills from CL. Yup my bb loves seeking attention even in the day was very cranky and crying alot yesterday. She wants to be carried around ah..Today slightly better...Now my hb back from work so i leave my gal with him to carry haha

Yah we all face the same problem. I am afraid that if I feed him more than his 90ml, it is not good for his stomach. Cause afraid of overfeeding. You ladies know what I meant, waking up at 2am and 5am, feed for 30 mins, Somemore he dun want to sleep straight after feeding. Sometimes between 2am till 5am I didnt sleep and I felt so fustrated. I kept crying the whole day.

Life is so miserable. I really dun know what to do. Its two weeks confinement, and I already feel like in jail with the baby, changing diapers, feeding him. Is my life really going to be this way?

Where are the days we gone to fine dinings, catch a movie, drinking all the night, going to casino, watching hongkong drama serials in peace. ... the more I think, the more I want to cry.

Chris
Pls dun feed bb more than needed. My gal had tummy prb and we told gp she drank 90ml two hrly. Gp say too much for two hr feed. Three hr still ok. So gist is, dun overfeed cos may cause tummy prb

Hi Marie,
I also encountered your frustrations in the first week, especially one night when I didn't get any sleep at all cos bb was very cranky and kept crying..hb wasn't home so I was alone to deal with bb..she cried I also cried but after a while I told myself I still have to look after her no matter what. So just be strong, u will soon get used to bb habits. When u see your baby's smile u would feel its all worth it, jia you!

I agree having a bb is a big lifestyle change and I sometimes also wonder when can I do the things that I used to do? Guess we need some patience till bb is bigger before life is back to normal.

Hi valteen,

We will take note of her feeding, we normally give her 90ml-120ml which will last her 3hrs. okie will tell hb to take note not to overfeed her ah.
6682272.gif

Marie, if u r feeling so depressed then dun stick to confinement rules, get some people to take care of ur bb n go out for a breather. That's what i start to do by week 3 of my confinement, i went for haircut, trim my eyebrows n shop for new clothes. Though there is nagging guilt about leaving my bb w my parents but i really feel much better after that. This week i finally finished my confinement n booked my hubby for a dinner date, juz 2 of us, while leaving my bb w my parents again. When bb is slightly bigger like 2 mths old i will most prob bring him out too. Bb is precious, do treasure him n at the same time keep yourself physically n emotionally healthy for his well being. U will still get to do fine dining, juz work around ur schedule. Take care

I've the following to let go:

- BN Playskool busy balls patterns & colours $15
- BN Pigeon breastmilk storage bottles (3pcs) $10
- BN Pigeon S sized teat (standard neck) $2.50
- BN Pigeon M sized teat (wide neck) $3.00
- BN Nuk Anti colic wide neck teat 1 0-6m $5
- Tiny Love Musical Mobile $65
- 2 tins of NAN 2 400g (exp Oct'12) $10 each
- 2 tins of Similac 400g (exp May'12) $10 each
- 2 btl Gerber puffs (strawberry apple and peach, exp Sep'12) $7
- Avent twin electronic breast pump full set $350
- Avent refill 10 cups (240ml) $18

Kindly PM me if keen/ for pics, thanks!

Hi Marie,
Understand ur sadness I cry a couple of times too when i fail to latch on n fail to pump much bm, feel so depress n 'used' as milk machine totally lost all individuality n seems so out of control.

More over I hv a confinement lady arnd so u hv been great n doing a wonderful job caring for ur bb alone as far, don't b too hard on urself, if u able to try enlist some help at least for 1 nite n dine out with hb for a breather, it helps me lots n feel more re-charge. So keep it up, I'm juz hoping I can cope like u once CL leaves 2 weeks later

Hi Moms,
Sorry to disturb...

Free baby Insurance Coverage for mummies who can help me complete a short survey. Looking for 10 mummies with babies 6months & below this round.
Interested, pls PM me your name, contact & email add.

Guess most of us are feeling the same now.. On one hand,I'm glad my confinement is going to be over, on the other hand I'm also worried abt caring for baby. My husband is also trying to help out but like the rest of the husband here, he needs to work so he really needs his rest and moreover, he is unable to read baby's cue (if she is wet,hungry or just tired). So end up, I have to come in again.

But when i think of leaving baby with someone else, I feel guilty. Like forsaking baby
and on top of that, the stress of breast feeding. To the extent, i feel like giving up. And even self doubt if i really don't have enough for baby to eat.

my boy is 7 wks old & he still wakes up every 2-3hrs for his night feeds. read from babycenter tat it's normal for MOST babies to still wake up several times during the night at this stage. they'll start to sleep longer when they reach 3-4mths. so mummies pls don't overfeed yr baby hoping that they'll sleep thro the night. I know it's tough to wake up several times every night. I've been doing nite shift by myself since I delivered (no CL). but hang in there! things will get easier as day goes. baby will get less cranky & sleep better. u'll also learn to manage with less/ interrupted sleep. jiayou jiayou!!

btw, once my boy cross 1st mth (coz dad pantang say baby muz stay my home b4 1mth), I put him at my parents place anytime I feel I can't take it anymore. thou feel guilty abt dumping baby there, but it really helps to have a good night rest once in a while. thank god for my parents!

juz brought my boy to PD for checkup & jab yest. he's 5.64kg @ 7wks!! really heavy!! no wonder my arms & fingers r cramping. hahah. doc says he shld feel lethargic after the jab. but nope, he still wakes up every 2-3hrs & even more cranky than usual. feel conned. hahah.

Sorry to barge in... I have many new packs of s size pet pet diapers for sale. My baby is overweight n cannot fit into s size. Please pm me if you r interested.

Hi ladies, does anyone let her baby sleep on his tummy instead of flat on the back?
My 24 days old baby has a mild reflux issue so when I put him to sleep on his back he seems to have trouble breathing or may choke on the milk that he regurgitate. Besides he never seem to be able to sleep well n for a long time when he sleeps on his back.
Up till now his favourite position will be on his tummy on either my husband or my tummy. He can sleep longer.
I am trying out to let him sleep on his tummy in his cot. N I am keeping a close eye. I realise Tht he is able to turn hos head and shift from the right to the left.
Any experience and advise?

All mummies, jiayou! My arms also aching from carrying bb, panda eyes from deprive of sleep. Same like some of your bb, mine also need to walk while crying, cried til face red red, hard to pacify.

Green4life: i don't dare to let bb sleep on tummy cos worried he will puke milk leh.

Jac: how heavy is your bb at birth? U took 6-in-1 jab? Any fever?