(2011) TTC 2011 Mums!!!

nb01, hao chi saves a lot of time.. cuz it has most of the seasoning inside...

thanks for ur tip for soup base! i am still at a lost of perfecting soup base. i always thought just put in ingredients will do... end up kena laughed at by hubby.. cuz soup tasteless........ fainted...

lynzi,

my comfort food is chicken porridge... my mom taught me... just use two pieces of chicken, bring to boil with rice, then take out chicken to shred, slow boil and add maggi chicken stock for flavor...

how do u make ur mee sua soup? cuz i love mee sua too... but nowadays, i will try to cut back... creates a lot of wind and hence gastric probs for me

I only use mixes for adult food.

If not i will just use chopped onion, garlic, chilli stir fry with soaked dried shrimps, salt n add vege. Depending on what i want to cook then will sometimes add abalone sauce, oyster sauce or stock to it.

lynzi,

next time i have kids liao, i must definitely ask you how to cook for them.... hahahaha.... my mom is hokkein hence the food a lot of spice and strong flavoring... my dad is teochew hence my granny used to cook with lots of sour stuff....

now, my taste buds is need either strong flavor, or sour things... horrible!!!

peapea, yea... I know those saves time but has a lot of other "things" inside and hubby doesn't like those. We are quite health conscious and try to make our cooking at home as healthy as possible else no difference to eating outside food. And if we want to eat nice food, can always go outside to eat.

lynzi, I also like mee sua and macaroni soup! Easy to cook too!

Peapea, you might want to try making your own chicken soup and then using it to make mee sua or macaroni. Btw, for chicken soup, to make it more tasty without adding soy sauce or anything else, you can put 2-3 pieces of dried scallops. Helps to enhance the taste of the soup and it is not so "chicken" tasting.

peapea, another way of making chicken porridge. You can use the chicken stock I mentioned above (kampong chicken + dried scallops) and boil with the rice. If you want, can add 1-2 more pieces of dried scallop when cooking the rice. Then the rice will be very tasty and then add in the chicken separately. The chicken can be any type of chicken, like breast meat, leg etc... And if you don't want to use it for chicken porridge, you already have a pot of nice tasty porridge that you can use to eat with other ingredients. I also use this method to cook fish porridge but instead of using chicken stock, I use the yellow beans and ikan bilis and shark bone stock.

I normally make a big pot of chicken/"fish" stock and use for my different cooking, like porridge and mee sua and various noodle soups.

The easy mee sua for sick times is fry garlic with chilli, add in soaked dried shrimps, some dry mushrooms then add in water or stock to boil. Once water is boiling, add salt to taste then put in mee sua. Can break in one egg if u like. Add in chye sim or pok choy. Once cooked, can serve.

I am not sure abt the bowl size coz I don't normally pour everything out into bowls but into my containers so I can keep/freeze any excess that I am not using on the day. My container size is abt 700ml and I normally can fill 2.5 containers so abt 2+ litres. My stockpot is a super big one, abt 4 litres that can fit 1 whole kampong chicken chopped up. And the stock/soup that will come out is very dense so I will normally use 1 container and dilute it with a bit of water if I am cooking other things but if I am not, then drink direct. Very "potent"...

Btw, another tip, you can freeze some of the stock into your ice cube trays so that when you want to cook, you can just pop out 1-2 ice cubes into your food like veggies etc and voila, you have your own chicken stock inside and no need to use Maggi. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Nb01,

same! I always make my stock in advance.

Once cool, i will separate into smaller portion, pack n freeze the stock.

When i need the stock will come in handy.

Wah... Got a lot of catching up to do on the thread, and it's all abt cooking! Great! Hope can pick up cooking and baking tips here to make myself a better wife! =)

Gals, am getting myself all excited over gg to try gowns tonite after work! Hee.. ^_^

great!! thanks for all your tips!! esp the chicken stock... hubby is keen to try out... but i wasnt cuz i am worried it will be troublesome...

so use a whole chicken, and fill how much water??

lynzi,

my pressure cooker is also from wmf... 6.5L... should be big enough right.. i think if i filled to 2/3 of the pot with the chicken should be enough to boil chicken stock right??

by the way, do u guys remove the skin of the chicken? worried it will be oily.. and boil low heat is it? for how long?

lynzi>> Not gg for those famous bridal shops, but one recommended by nb01. Bridal Closet - saw rather good reviews online. Makeup will be done by a close fren of mine, prob hair too, if she is able to handle the veil. =)

lynzi, high 5! I like freezing my stock too so it will come in handy when I need it. I think your cooking is more Singaporean style with a lot of chilli. I dun take chilli so my cooking doesn't have much of it. Mine is more Cantonese style.

And if anyone wants to have a dry style mee sua (sesame oil mee sua Taiwanese style), I can share. But like I said, it is Taiwanese style and they eat it during winter only since it is quite heaty so not sure if you pple want to eat it in SG.

peapea, as I mentioned, my stockpot is 4+ litres so after putting the whole chicken in, I just fill to the brim and I get 2+ litres at the end. So not sure exactly how much water to use but just fill to the brim of your pressure cooker. If too dense, as I said, you can dilute with water when you are cooking.

Do try it out and it is not troublesome. I buy my chicken at the supermarket and get them to chop up for me so super convenient.

Peapea,

your pressure cooker is big!!

Yes 2/3 of water covering the chicken should be enuf.

I do try to remove some of the skin.

Amy, so excited for you! Good luck for your gown trying! Do let me know if you need more help! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Nb01,

when i stirfry my chilli only one stalk.

Put in to add colour..haha

My mil is like u..she stirfry never use chilli.

How to make the dry mee sua?? Share leh.

lynzi,

my hubby is kiasu...... great! now i can do it... i have wmf pot too... but i think the biggest i have is like... 2.5 or 3L..

the pressure cooker comes with another 3L pot as well... but only one pressure cooker lid... so troublesome...

will try and see if using the pressure cooker got same effect or not... wahahahahaahah

How much does a kampong chicken cost at supermarket?

My house is near a market n 2 supermarkets so quite easy for me to find things.

peapea, wow! Your pressure cooker is really big! Yea, just use 2/3 should be ok. I also try to remove the skin to make it less oily.

Btw, I also strain the stock after cooking so as to get a clearer soup coz if you put everything in without blanching (blanching = scalding the meat/bones with hot water to get rid of any impurities), then the soup might have a lot of "cloudy bits". And there is this oil remover thingy you can buy from Sheng Siong that can help you further remove the layer of oil off the soup after you have finished cooking. Very useful and really works. I see if I can take a pic of it and upload here.

nb01,

i know what strainer u referring to. saw before... i have just copied down various tips u guys gave me into a word doc... hahah... will try this soon...

thank you nb01 and lynzi very much! you can tell, i am all new to cooking! =) before i got married, i only know how to make instant maggi porridge! hahahahaha

Oh, as to boiling, I am not sure for pressure cooker. You might need to check with someone else. But normally, you boil on high heat first to get the water boiling and then on low heat to simmer for a few hours. I use crockpot which is electric so I can't help you. Sorry...

lynzi, at supermarket, it costs $7.50. I buy from Cold Storage. And you can also get them to chop up and separate into different bags for you.

nb01,

its ok. pressure cooker got indication to switch from high heat to low heat.... so may be able to do it... will experiment and feedback! if it works, save a lot of gas too

Nb01,

oh ok..at my market it cost around $5 to $6 for a kampong chicken.

All this talk on chicken making me feel like making mee soto.

Dear ladies...the weather is good...was about to change in swim suit and dip in the pool...and i saw EWCM!!!

Got me so excited...hahah...like i never see before!

peapea, strainer is different from the oil remover thingy. Strainer is the one you also use in baking to dust things. Maybe you call it a siever?

Good luck in trying out. Do let me know how it goes!

lynzi, then your market is cheaper. Coz the market near my MIL's place is more ex than Cold Storage so I still buy from Cold Storage.

KWXY, good luck BD-ing! Do you have opks? Maybe you want to take out and test! Jia you!

peapea, will try to post a pic later. need to go out for my facial.

lynzi, will share the recipe later.

To everyone else, have a good long weekend! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

wah reading this thread is making me hungry!

peapea>> I've got my eye on the sharp healsio oven! How is it so far - good to use?

Amy >> I got my gown from Bridal Closet too! Her service is good and she has very nice selection... better than a lot of bridal studios!

tethysea>> Izzit? Wat a conincidence! =) But I will be taking the cheapest package, so hopefully she will also have some nice gowns for tat package too. =)

tethysea, i love it. can do quite a lot of things... very convenient... i can bake cookies, roast chicken, microwave, make grilled stuff etc... can share with u a webbie where i get some cooking ideas from...

my only complain, is that it use quite a bit of electricity...

Amy >> I didn't even take a package, I just took a gown :p But that was before she had a shopfront lar.. used to be at her hdb flat [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

peapea >> that sounds great! Ok, gonna save up and buy one! What's the webbie?

Thanks ladies...!! Happy its long weekends....so no stress for hubby to work next day [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

My OPK was slightly darker than faint today...hopefully i can see dark line next 1-2 days...hope to see [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] on my clearblue opk...

waoh.. the thread is moving fast and furious! can;t really catch up with all your speed.

anyway, i'm leaving for a long weekend holiday tomorrow. gonna relax myself, maybe af will comes or if heng heng, can hit my O. HAHAHA!

more cm today so maybe af is really on her way.

will catch up with you gals after i'm back! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] hopefully some bfp good news by then.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/kao_babydust.gif]

Missus BL >> enjoy your trip! :D

kwxy >> cool [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] yeah and long weekend somemore!

My af coming more le. Cramp cramp. At least is a long holiday staying at home rest.[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mumwannabe,

I go unity buy cheaper den guardian not sure about bottle I buy from unity is they put in a box.

Bearge,

Have a good rest during the weekend!

have a great long weekend ahead gers!!

will be off to KL..hopefully AF don't come... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]