(2011/12) Dec 2011

Curry: Usually i will pull his hand away, but he quickly pops another fist into his mouth again. Sometimes i close one eye and let him enjoy~

Yuet Sim: Where is the tooth emerging from? Im not sure if my baby is teething, saw 2 raised white bumps on each side of his lower jaw.. I find that he sucks harder while latching nowadays. Could this be a sign that he's already teething? He also moves his mouth, as if wanting to chew when he sees us having meals..

Yuet sim, when my girl bit me last time, I unlatched, looked at her in the eyes and told her sternly, no. Can try gently smack on the cheek with thumb and index finger. Worked well for me. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Curry, when my girl sucked her fist, I put the back of her other fist in my mouth and sucked like her. Then she looked at me and laughed. Quite fun leh. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I'll normally let her suck for her to sooth herself and entertain herself.

Girltradester, the bottom 2 front teeth will come out first. If u want to confirm the white bumps, wash ur hands and use your index finger to feel them. If they feel hard and sharp like ur teeth, should be cutting teeth already.

The chewing is starting to show interests in food. If u want, can start rice cereal at 5 or 5.5 months.

wah..now start teething liao..that's pretty early..

i am suppose to go back work today..end up my ds kena stomach flu..need to extend my ML for another wk..i think my colleagues hate me..everyone in office are super busy.. hengz ds is getting better but making him drink his mediciation is a big big challenge..maciam want his life like that..

Yi Chin: thanks for tip. Will try to be more stern next time he bites.

It's bottom two front teeth that have started emerging. He has been sucking his fingers more vigorously, cannot stop him le. So now give him teether and he sucks that instead some times.

Poseidon, try hiding the medicine in his milk? Poor boy! Diarrhoea or vomiting?

Yuet sim, there's a mummy I met at my #2 SMH forum, her boy, 4 teeth came out within 1 week! Can be very fast for some babies!

Poseidon_gal: Aiyo poorthing, how is your baby doing now?

Yuet_Sim: Woohoo, thats fast! Did your baby fuss during these period? Or just chew and drool more? Im so curious!

Mommies:

Is it true that babies will become grumpy when teething? Do we need to apply teething gel when teething?

Always heard ppl say that when the teeth about to emerge baby will have fever one, will or not ah?

Yi Chin: I always thought babies teeth comes out one by one leh hahaha. So bottom two will come out together izzi? After that need to wait for how long before another emerge?

Not sure whether he extra fussy. But have resorted to carry and pat to sleep for day nap. No fever for him so far. There was one day where he napped longer than usual and only had 4 feeds instead of 6.

Ejunko, it can be uncomfortable during teething. I remembered when my wisdom tooth grew during my uni days, my gum was aching all the time. That was only 1 tooth, imagine a whole mouth of teeth!

All babies different lah, for my girls, the teeth came one by one. The bottom 2 front teeth will come out first, followed by the top 2 front teeth i think.

Not all will have fever. My #2 had fever when her molar was coming out. #1 didn't have fever.

If u find baby crying more, kept gumming, u can put the teether in the fridge/ freezer to cool it before giving to baby. Heard of teething gel but I've not tried it.

So still a few more months to go for first tooth to appear! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

慢慢等啦!

Sorry to interrupt your thread. I am a May’2010 mum.

Are you feeling tired always? Baby, work and home are draining you? Feel the need for some effective energy booster?

I was in the exact same position as you! I am a SAHM with a hyperactive 2 year old. I am a traditional cook, clean and take care of baby wife. I also handle my online businesses. I am always sitting and needed some energy boost (and REDBULL was always the option)… BUT NOT ANYMORE!

My best friend introduced me to this revolutionary product!- The Bio Slim E. (Yes, it’s an MLM product but highly effective and strongly recommended by doctors).

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/6874541.jpg]

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/6874542.jpg]

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/6874543.jpg]

Its tasty! Nutritious and most importantly gives you the energy boost! With my activity level increased, I am more active, feeling less tired and have actually even lost some weight!

Do visit our BP thread to learn more- http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/6869325.html?1333509402

Mommies, still swaddle bbs when they sleep, regardless day or night time sleep? I still do, wondering wat abt the rest of u?

Stopped swaddling after 1 month cos too hot. Will still do that once in a while when baby is overly stimulated, keeps thrashing her hands and legs and has difficulty falling asleep. But need to on air con or blow the fan at her.

I use a sleep bag now. It has detachable wings do can choose to free the arms or keep them in. But sometimes it doesn't dry in time after washing, I'll swaddle using muslin cloth.

woohoo! Thanks Yi Chin for the info! I cant recall but i dont remember being in pain during my growth of wisdom tooth leh...then again i only grew ONE lol. See, no wisdom thats why.

Anyway, brought bb to PD for the jabs today.

At 16weeks, he is only 6.7kg and 64cm. Not fat enough. Will introduce rice cereal in 2-3weeks time! Woooo hopefully he likes it man.

Yoyosan: We only swaddle him for the first 2 weeks, he hates it lol

OH! Yi Chin, Kiddy Palace at CCK re-opened today! They are still organising the stuffs - its pink and yellow now! Bright yellow i mean.........

Yoyosan, I didn't swaddle my baby after we came back from the hospital. He didn't like it and it is quite warm in our kind of weather. Heard too much swaddling will restrict baby's growth.

Ejunko, i will also be starting my boy on cereal soon. How do you go to the washroom when you use manduca?

I half-swaddle him, below the arms cos we slp in air-con room.

Btw anyone heard that taking gripe water can make baby's teething process easier? My aunt swear that it works. She said will not cause the gum to be too swollen.. I not sure but gg to try bah.

Ejunko, ur boy is growing big! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] mix the rice cereal with ur ebm so that it tastes more familiar to ur boy. More nutritional than water too!

SQin, I guess no harm trying since gripe water can make the tummy feels more comfortable.

Snowyotaru: Erm...pass bb to hubby? Lol. I never go out with bb alone, too lazy to handle him all by myself. I think it should be the same as going toilet with baby in a sling bah...just go? o_O

SQin: Really?? Never heard before leh, but i also think theres no harm trying, but gripe water is quite sweet and contains bicarbonate, so give moderately if baby is not gassy.

Yi Chin: Yup, PD also say mix with ebm. Ouh no leh, because bb not big thats why intro cereal hahaha!

Yoyosan: use sleep bag and also semi swaddle (arms out) at night only as we sleep in air cond room. He moves so much not possible to use blanket.

Ejunko: starting cereal so soon? Which brand you intend to try? My PD gave us lots of Cerelac samples. It'll be lots of fun watching his reaction. Looking forward to it.

Hmm seems I m the only one doing full swaddle. But with hands out,she thrash like crazy then wake herself up.

Ejunko, u mean pd says to intro rice cereal bcos bb not fat? Dunno y but my pd not concern of wt n ht, as long within normal percentile and bb poo, pee, happy, active, then pd not concern.

Yi chin, how's ur bb project getting along?

Ejunko: hm thought 6.7 is decent weight at 16 weeks. Think Rhonda likes to see babies well fed! Last 2 visits I always asked her if my boy was eating too much and getting too heavy but she always assured me it's good to grow well in the first few months. Well will see what she says next week!

yuet_sim: Yup same, my PD also gave us Cerelac samples lol. Ya think it'll be fun...minus the mess lah lolx

Yoyosan & Tangerine:

No lah not because not fat lol, but slow weight gain. 6.7kg is ok, but his milk intake is 140-180ml.

Plus he moves alot - all the activities (45-60mins before feeds) is using up too much energy.

So milk may not be sufficient for his growth. We'll try to increase his feeds, but if still same then will proceed to give him cereal loh.

Yoyosan ah, your PD never check bb milk intake to gauge his weight meh? I thought what you drink must tally with how much you grow - what if bb drinks 240ml per feeds but still only hits 50percentile?

Ejunko, ur boy more than 1kg heavier than my girl already.

Cerelac is good. My 2 girls had been taking them, after that can go onto the bottled puréed fruits. Unless u got time to make from fresh ones yourself. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Yoyosan, I've been trying to eat more nuts. Btw, tong garden nuts taste better than the camel ones!

Baby the most will only take 60ml of the pd recommended bitter fm. Yesterday, she took 110ml of ebm, the highest record ever. Will know whether she hits 6kg in 5 days time when we visit the pd again.

Yi Chin: Boy should be heavier than girl mah~ plus from birth till now only gained 3.3kg...very slow ah.

I really wanna make fresh ones leh, BUT i doubt i'll be so hardworking hahaha.

Ejunko, I total latching, so can't gauge lor.

Yi chin, lol. Eat so many nuts. Try walnuts, it's supposedly good for us too.

Ejunko, pureed fruits v easy. Just steam n mash. Harder is when diet change to porridge, more time n effort needed.

Questions:

1. Mommies, do u feed ur bb cos schedule/routine says it's time for feeding (ie 3hr, 4hr..) or u see that bb is showing hunger signs so will feed, regardless if it's time's up?

2. Does bb finish all the milk at one go or split up feeding? Wat abt mummies who latch? Do u latch for a while n bb dun wan to continue then got to wait for maybe half hr then re-latch again for that 'one' feed?

Tangerine, some fruits like apple, pear..too hard, steam slightly easier to mash n for young bb to consume. Banana, papaya...the softer fruits then ok, no need to steam. But no citrus fruits till after a yr, I think.

I feed on demand, but i try to drag the intervals to at least 3h. If he seems to want milk before 3h, I'll distract him with pacifier, activities or a walk outside. If he's still not asking by 3h, I'll not feed till he wants. I also latch fully like u. The timing is usually abt 25-30min. Sometimes he's done after 10-15min, but I won't try to feed again.

I also feed on demand. Will latch one side until her suckling is slower or until she fuss. Then I'll switch side. If she's hungry, she'll latch longer on the other side, if she had enough, she'll get angry with the let-down and I'll stop feeding. Then wait till the next feeding already lor. Now she can stretch 3 to 4 hours between feeds.

Tangerine, better to steam the hard fruits. I'm planning to get the avent steamer cum blender. Looks quite easy to use.

Yi chin, tangerine, thanks. Mine get angry at the letdown n she can just refuse to drink when letdown comes. For few days liao. Just barely essential drinking. I guess not even 30ml by bottle measurement each time. Argh

Hi mummies, if I express milk and bring it out, do I have to store it in an ice pack, if I'm going to use it within the next 3hr?

Everything I read on the Internet says can let ebm stay out at room temp for up to 6hr, but their room temp is 25deg. What about in our climate?

Tangerine, my ang mo colleague from Portugal will express out her milk at home, take the milk out in the bottle, not in ice pack or warmer bag, then give to her baby when baby is hungry. So the milk is at room temp. Her baby is ok with it leh. But when we see it, we felt a bit weird lah, cos we always have the idea that milk should be given warm. So up to how ur baby likes his milk, I guess. But I thought it's 2 to 3 hours for room temp?

Yoyosan, went to causeway point, saw a stall selling lots of nuts at basement. Bought 200g of walnut, wah, expensive leh! Cos me $7 for that small pack.

On days that baby is fussy with feeding, I'll feed at shorter intervals, like every 2 hours, if her intake is low. I'll even try patting her to sleep on my chest first, then try to shove my nipple into her mouth when she is drowsy, something like dream feeding.

Anybody been to the new JCube yet?

Yoyosan: Ouh how come bb angry at letdown?

For us, we go on schedule. Times up means drink. I no need to be on "standby", baby no need to fuss for food.

Mummies, actually whats the benefits of feed on demands ah? Baby will drink more izzi?

Tamgerine: I didnt store in ice pack. Just put in one of the compartment of our diaper bag. Usually will consume within 2hours. And 6hours is too long le, i think by then the enzymes gone liao.

Ejunko, does your baby get hungry before the scheduled feeding time? Guess feed on demand means give baby what she needs? Esp if we nurse directly, we won't know how much they eat so just feed when they're hungry.

Btw how was your boy after his jabs? Was he cranky or lose appetite?

Yes once in awhile he does - if previous feed too lil, then he will wants milk earlier. But even if he ask for milk 30-40mins earlier, he will still doze off at the same time. Say 10am eat, 11am sleep. If he drinks at 9.30am, he still sleeps at 11am. +/- abit lah.

Oh, cranky like mad! I swear i heard him scream "farrrrkkk" alot of times yesterday lol. But appetite still same.

Benefits of feed on demand are it let baby decides when she wants to eat and when she is full. If bottle feed, we tend to coax baby to finish up the bottle, so she can't decide when to stop feeding. Read from somewhere one lah. Don't think it makes baby grow faster leh, mine now still so small.

Her birth weight 2.3kg, now 5.6kg, puts on 3.3kg.

I can hear my girl call "mama" when crying. Maybe she's learning the "m" sound. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mine was born 2.9kg. At 9 weeks he doubled to 5.8 already! Now at abt 18 weeks, he's 7kg. So the weight gain was the most in the first 2 mth.

Wah, seems like most of the boys are almost hitting 7kg or more than 7kg!

Yuet sim, I think she's only trying out the "m" sounds la. And she only makes that sound when crying. If only she will call "papa" when crying, that will be better! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Yi Chin: Oh i see, but i thought baby who bottle feed also can decide for themselves when they wanna stop? Mine always push the teats out when full, then turn face sideway and zzzz

WAH WAH WAH everyone's baby growing well! I need to catch up man!