(2011/12) Dec 2011

Ohhhh and mummies! For babies who fuss alot and having difficulties falling asleep by themselves, go get the Sleep Sheep from Cloud B. Its magic~~~

Yoyosan and Ejunko, I choose the "easy way out", latch and sleep. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

EASY works for my #2 during maternity leave, but by the time she goes infant care, the teachers won't follow any routine that parents set. So I'm a bit hack-care this time.

I think for the book, the author wants to train babies to stick to a routine and being able to fall asleep on his or her own, that's why latching to sleep is definitely a no-no. Cos that is mummy helping baby to fall asleep.

What is Sleep Sheep?

Oh! But how about bottlefeed to sleep?? Is that consider as us helping baby to fall asleep too?? Omg this is so cheem. No wonder my boy always doze off after feeds. Like *snap fingers* and zzzz.

OH its a plush sheep that have white noise! Comes with 4 diff sounds - mama's heartbeat (my dog makes the exact same sound when vomitting), ocean (my boy's fav, sleep in 10sec!), rain (not bad, can calm my boy), whale...ok this one is abit funny coz it sounds toad talking underwater (guuwapp guuwapp)

http://www.sleepsheepandfriends.com/

My boy weighs 6.8 kg with length at 63 cm.

Ejunko, any other things to help fussy baby gets to sleep faster cos I have one and he is also a light sleeper? I was just complaining to my pd that my boy doesn't seem to have enough sleep .

Mummies, which infant care centre did you send your baby to? How long ago did you make your reservation?

Snowyotaru: Ouh how many hours your baby sleeps per day? Does he gets at least 45mins of nap after every feed? Still wakes up for night feeds?

Makes baby feel secure! So long as babies are not over-stimulated they should fall asleep very fast in a secured environment. But diff babies feel differently.

Mine loves it dark, so i'll draw the blinds. Then i'll shhh&pat him to let him knows im there. But now i have Sleep Sheep - no shhhh requires! Lol.

Also, because mine has slight reflux, so to prevent heartburn, i let him lie at least 15-45degree inclined.

Oh and make sure the temperature is right too. Some babies wanna be kept warm, some like it cool like mine.

Ohoh and massages! It sooth babies, so i'll massage him 3-4times a day.

Ohohoh best is set a routine, he'll auto sleep at the correct timing when he gets used to it.

Hope it works for yours too!

Ejunko, bottle feeding to sleep, according to the book, is also called 'prop dependency', ie using a prop to help baby to fall asleep. It's same like bf to sleep or rocking and holding and walking baby to sleep. But I think ur boy very good already, can sleep on his own in cot. No worries la!

Snowyotaru, I'm putting in Cherie hearts at cck. Paid my deposit in nov last year, not because they are full house, but because my MIL suddenly brought up the idea that she wanted to quit her job to take care of baby. So I quickly made deposit and told her I already pay $, no need her help. Why I don't want her help is another long story..... Cut story short, she is not a suitable caregiver and I think IFC can do a better job than her.

Yi Chin: Haha, i can empathasize with you on the suitable caregiver part. I had mega headache on the caregiver role. Luckily things sort of worked out now. =P

Yi chin, u so cute. Some people wan also dun hv family's help. Yet urs u quick quick put deposit. But yes, it also depends on caregiver.

Mommies, help. Do u all have strong letdown? Everytime once letdown happens, my gal refused to latch, and gets sprayed all over her face. She just turned her head away. Must coax v v long then drink a little then dun wan. What should I do? I lie back while she latch? I press my nipple during letdown to lessen flow? Or wat can I do to help her?

girltradester, lucky u got a good maid! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

yoyosan, I get that when my breasts are really full. When she was younger, she'll even choked during the let down. So if I know my breasts are very full, I'll express some out before latching her. That way, she gets more hindmilk also. Then I mix the foremilk with my older girls' milk.

Yi chin, mine gets choked even now. But to pump out before feed, won't we eventually keep telling the breasts that bb drinks so much n in return the breasts produce more and the cycle goes round n round? For you, do u express after she latches? If u do, won't breasts just keep producing more n they'll not get to the hind milk easily?

But yea, the best part is our older kids get the liquid gold too! ;)

Ejunko, thanks for your sharing. My prince can sleep about 10 or 12 hrs only in a day, inclusive of v short naps. This usually happened when he couldnt find his right position of sleep or he wanted to be a koala baby. V fussy... Did you purchase the plush sheep online? I am keen to get one to try on my prince.

Yi Chin, I have been to cck Cherie hearts to take a tour. It didn't meet my expectations....Have you sent your baby there already?

Yi Chin and Yoyosan, yar I also have the some prob. Sometimes my breasts are so full at night and baby cannot finish the milk on one breast and also won't latch on the second breast cos full alr. Then I very lazy to pump after that cos I just want to go back to slp. My breasts almost burst after that... Haha.

Ejunko, my fren's son started to drink milk while lying on bed after 1 month of age. But I thk have to watch of ur boy can drink while lying down or not, have to ensure he dun choke.

Btw anyone interested to start a spree on the sleep sheep recommended by ejunko? If have, I wish to join! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] my boy dun have big prob falling asleep but he will 'eh eh eh' in the middle of the nite, then have to pat him or carry him to make him go back to slp.

If latch lying down do we need to burp baby? After start wk I have been getting more lazy i alway latch lying down and end up fall asleep together with my baby and I didn't burp him not sure will it cause any problem?

Btw can check with u all wat breast pump isgood and battery operated? I have been using manual pump and now going back wk I will hide inside toilet to pump therefore I need find a milk pump tat does not required power socket? And will buying from oversea be cheaper ? Please advise me. Thanks.

Snowyotaru, cherie hearts better than my previous infant care: learning vision! Will be putting my baby there in may.

SQin, my gal also can't finish both sides at night, cos she'll KO very quickly. So before I sleep, I put the breast pump next to my bed, during night feed, I'll latch one side and pump the other. After that can sleep better, cos no more engorgement.

Sleep sheep must buy online? The white noise app works more on me than my baby. I listen till I sleepy already but baby still didn't sleep!

Jas, after night feeds, baby KO, I also KO. So mostly didn't burp.

Yoyosan, I'm still overproducing bm. But not as much as 1st month. 1st month I can freeze up to 4 extra packets of ebm per day, now only 1 per day. I think because baby drinking more and supply has decreased. But I'm still continuing pumping and latching cos will be going back to work in may, so need to stock up as bm supply will definitely drop when I go back to work.

Mix the extra milk with ur older girl's milk lor. Like my #2 takes 180ml of milk, so I'll give 150ml of ebm plus 30ml water, then add in the usual scoops of milk powder. My older ones only take fresh ebm cos they don't like the metallic taste of the defrosted ebm.

Yi chin, when u mix ebm and fm, u treat the ebm as water and still add in the required amt of fm powder for the volume? I din noe that, I always tot the vol of ebm is not counted.

Yi chin, I did. My older gal is having ebm w fm. I was stocking up but then decide save on milk bag, so din stock up liao. Oh....my bb dunno and dun wan bottle. Same like urs, tho urs still take 60ml. She cries n vomit sign so I told my sis dun push, try again tmr. Do u try each feed till she takes or once a day? I din dare push too hard, scare she phobia then worse. So if like taht, my ebm can't use on her also.

SQin, we mix ebm n fm is for our older kids, not bb. Eh, if we dun take in ebm vol, then for a 180ml feed to an older kid, won't she be taking alot then?

SQin, for older kids ok, cos their digestive system stronger. My #2 very skinny, I also want to fatten her up. Baby better don't double dose with emb plus milk powder, later become sumo wrestler. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Yoyosan, I did cold turkey on her for 24hr, ie only give bottle, no latching. After that she improved a little bit. Now I'm giving 2 bottles per day, but she drinks the most 80ml. Sometimes only 50ml. So the next feed will be shorter interval, like 2 or 2.5hr. She'll still cry before drinking from bottle. Then at the feed after the 2 bottles, the moment she sees me lift up my nursing bra, she'll laugh/ smile and latch on happily. Very fussy eater!

Yi chin, so u pump out for those 2 feeds la? I was thinking do I really need intro bottle since I sahm? Guess will be easier when I go fm or intro water next time? Or when they older, they really dun wan bottle? Any frens dun give bottle till the kids old enough then use cup?

Yoyosan, yup, I pump twice in the day for those 2 bottle feeds. And also the tandem pumping during night feeds cos she only drinks 1 side at night then KO.

I think when they are older, they'll eventually take the bottle. I guess if intro earlier, it puts more responsibility on the father to feed the baby. If not everytime the baby cries, my husband will auto pass the baby to me. Now I can say, "the milk is in the bottle, u feed her!"

Sometimes I thk direct latch better.. Cos expressing milk is tiring with all the washing etc. I pump 5 times a day now and latch if bb wake up at nite. And now try to train him to slp thru, so he also take only 1 breast if latch then the other breast super full. Thk I will express 4 times only when I return to work so supply will sure drop... No choice.

I express 3 times in the day, night time abt after 7pm will latch. Bb also take 1 breast at one time, but im lazy to go and pump out the other side!

Yi chin, yup I was thinking that once they older, ie more than a yr old, if I put orange juice in the milk bottle, see if they wan it or not. Hahaha. Ya, intro bottle is so mom can get some time off and dad some bonding time.

SQin, girltradester, yes, A lot of time needed n washing. I pumped exclusively for my #1 previously so got phobia. But now still got to pump cos bb can't finish, then pain.

Yi chin, ur bb so cute. See u after the two bottle feeds, eyes light up. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] she loves latching!

Heh, i thought pumping is more convenient leh. Because after 6pm i officially hand baby to hubby lol - I thought washing bottles is easier than handling baby hahahaha.

Anyway, Snowyotaru, i bought Sleep Sheep locally at mymiraclebaby.

SQin: If you see any spree on Sleep Sheep let me know! I need to get 1 more for my gf and also pillows. =DDD

Yi Chin: LOL i also almost doze off when the white noise is playing - my fav is rain sound. But you try lah, it may not work just like that, but i believe if combine with baby's fav sleeping pose and correct temp, baby should sleep very fast.

Previously i need to shh&pat for 20mins, now 5mins and baby snoring le! But maybe becoz im feeding him lying down, so everything combine, sleep very fast and well =)

My boy didnt poo yesterday! Thank God just now he poop and its soooo much that it leaks out of his back and legs! PHEW! Will babies have constipation often?

I also want to join in the sheep spree if there is.

For me, I pump most of the time so that I can monitor the amount of milk baby takes in. But, it's really tiring n troublesome with all the washing n sterilizing each time unless you have a helper with u. Thought latching is more convenient. The nurses at the hospital ever told me that more babies have problems switching from nipple to bottle when I wanted to find out more about nipple confusion.

Ejunko: so envious your bb can shh&pat to sleep..

I suspect my bb is teething already cos of these signs:

- v cranky these few days.

- wakes up every 2 hrs at night to feed. Previously can last 4 hrs.

- likes to lick/suck hands, will chew on teether when given, sucks hard on me.

- drinks little by bottle in the day

- watery stools

Dunno when should bring him to pd. Is it going to he useful anyway, or just get through the tough times until teeth erupts. Worried abt it cos I'm going back to work n afraid maid might lose her patience.

Ejunko, if on BM, shouldn't get constipation easily. Not pooing for few days for breastfeed baby is normal. I breastfeed my #2 till 8 months. When I started her on formula, she diarrhoea! So I had to put her on soy milk till she was 1 year old.

Snowyotaru, yup, all my 3 girls got problem switching from nipple to bottle! Same pattern one!

Girltradester, ur baby teething so early? My first 2 only teeth at 7 to 9 months. If really teething, no need to see pd. unless baby caught a bug which cause discomfort and the loose stools.

Hi Mummy,

I just started to give my 15 weeks baby EBM , as I used to just breast feed her I have no idea how much to give in 1 feed. Yesterday we went to pd she only gain 400g (5.9kg), I think I'm not feeding her enough. Is hard for me to judge whether she's full or not cause she likes to suck her fingers nowadays .

May I know how much do you give your 15weeks baby per feed? And how long should be the interval?

Hi any mummies have good confinment lady to recommend that you have used before? Please advise. Text me at 96993727. Need in July 2012. Thanks!

Yi chin, then how u break the pattern? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Shirley, I latch totally, but I think the rest of mommies feed on avg bet 100-150ml ebm n interval 3hrly, plus minus half hour.

Yoyosan, so far the most effective method is cold turkey. But must be able to tahan baby's crying for hours and not give in. Once baby starts drinking from bottle, then must continue bottle feeding for 24 hours, if not will go back to the same problem again.

Shirley, I also latch mostly. If baby good mood, she'll take 80ml, can last 2.5hr. If not good mood, will take about 50ml, then will last only 2hr. If latch, she can last 3 to 4 hours.

But I think your girl 5.9kg not bad already leh!

Girltradester: Dont be...in the early days i basically shhh 24/7 - I almost IMPLODE lol.

Anyway...its a lil early for teething leh. Any excessive droolings? If baby is well, i think no need to see PD yet. But watch for those watery stool and see if baby is cranky for other reason.

Shirley: Im giving 130-140ml 6times per day.

Baby gain 400 in a month or? I know baby needs to gain at least 20g/day during the 1st 2 mths, but from 3rd mth onwards weight gain rates will slow down. If you worry, can use this formula to gauge:

Minimum = 150 x weight(kg) / no. of feeds per day

Maximum = 200 x weight(kg) / no. of feeds per day

Just an estimation lah, baby dun always eat that amt, sometimes due to sleeping or what, may eat alil less or more. So long baby is happy can le. =)

Thanks for the reply. Today I try to give her 120ml 7 times per day. She get easily distracted by other things around need to put in some effort to get her drink even 120ml. Plus I find it quite difficult to pump so much milk. At night I'll latch on, day time I'll try bottle feed her reason being I'm going back to work next week need to let her get use to bottle.

Going into 4 month how can I increase my milk supply?

ejunko,

really envy ur lil haoran's routine. u trained him on the EASY method since newborn? wonder if it is too late to train my lil one on this method. btw, r u a sahm?

Shirley,

U can try eating fenugreek, and pump every 3 hourly, it's a demand and supply thingy. the more u pump, the more ur brain will think that u need more milk n hence will produce more,

going back to work in 2 wks time.. don't know how long my moo moo career can last..any mummies back to work already??? so did milk supply decrease?? how often do you pump in office?? how to wash the parts??

Yichin,

leaving tmr, coming back on sunday. hehee..

Yi chin, poseidon,

I'm back to work since 7 march. milk supply didn't decrease. I pump twice in office (11am and 3pm), and 4 times at home. (reach home pump at 7pm, then 1030pm. after that at 2 to 3am after her feed and 645am before work. and the cycle continues.)

I still wake up once or twice a night to feed her. Surprisingly my body kinda used to it. don't feel like a zombie at work.

I sleep by 11 every night and wake up at 645 in the morning.. so far still manageable.. phew!

i washed the parts using normal dishwashing liquid provided in office and sterilise by pouring hot water over parts and bottles. so far so good.

@snowy stretchmarks cannot be removed but it will lighten. i have tonnes of it and kinda get used to it.

Hey mommies, im back to work and yes for me my supply drop. kinda sad but i keep pump to see what i can. at times i can pump 140 at times 50 nia. hence i try not to miss a pump and kip pumping. i wash the parts by soap and i do have a mini steriliser at work to use.

My girl feeds rather lesser this few weeks (2 weeks in fact). rather cranky like girltradester's bb. any mommies also same?

Curry: Oh i started around mid Feb - got tired of feed on demand. Nope its nv too late, try try! Dont be envy, for the 1st 2weeks i literally shhhhhh till my veins all come out. Lol.

Yup sahm. =D

Ejunko, I was sharing w my sis abt ur bb's routine. She was amazed,haha, n we envy u. Hee. Talk about EASY, does ur bb wake halfway bet napping n goes eh-eh-eh? Or sleep thru till its times up?

yoyosan: lol dun be, come try the routine! eh...normally he sleep through and starts to move abit around 1.5hrs later. unless being disturb lah - when my dog barks or when my dad farts lol.

OH or when he wanna farts...sometimes he has gas build up and will be alil uncomfy, so will wake early. but no eh eh eh leh...yours will?

curry, supply didn't drop, that's good! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] looks like you'll be able to continue bf for quite a while!

shirley, yup, latching and pumping more is the best strategy. If going back to work soon, then be prepared that supply will drop. If ur boss is agreeable, can try taking leave either on fridays or mondays, so that u can have 3 days straight at home to latch baby to build up supply.

bunny, didn't notice any drop in feeds in my girl, but she is stretching longer between feeds.