(2011/12) Dec 2011

Wonderland,

Maybe u can prepare the bm for each feed on separate bottles and bring to the nanny everyday. That's what my fren did. Prepare 6-8 bottles of milk, so when baby is due for feed, just change to teat and warm up. I thk quite fast alr... I thinking of doing this when I return to work. Yes, my bb still on full bm. But dunnoe how long I can endure cos I always have engorgement, waste a lot of time massaging. I pump 5-6hrly, too lazy to pump 3-4hrly... Then pump more, supply come in more right.. I dun want leh

sqin, i wish too but that would be very trouble for nanny.

Does anyone come menses during breastfeed? mine come yesterday and the flow was so heavy. i heard when breastfeed there should be no menses right?

Yuet sim: what kind of sling are u using? I'm using the ring type. Quite easy leh. Hard to explain in words, but basically u just have to pull the end at the ring downwards after putting baby in the cradle position. The ring will be at the baby's leg side. Then can use the excess cloth to cover your baby's face if necessary. U can look up videos on YouTube. The key is practice makes perfect! Keep doing it at home till u're confident of doing it outdoors! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Bunny, u buying the tub and float? Then we can gate crash ur place. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] When my older girl was 2 - 3 months old, one of the smh mothers used to hold baby play dates at her place and we'll take turn to put baby to swim in her tub.Each baby tahan the most 15min in the water. But she did say very tiring to fill up the tub with water. Think she used more than 20 pails of warm water to fill up her tub. And she had to carry the water from toilet to living room, where the tub was placed. Go outside less hassle, cos they prepare everything for u.

SQin, husband also no luck. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] in fact, baby drinks more from bottle when I'm feeding compared to him!

If u intend to bf longer, have to continue regular pumping to maintain supply.

Nidal, if baby diarrhoea, better to continue bf, cos BM easier to digest than fm.

Curry, what do u do with the excess milk? I bought a chest freezer to store the excess BM. Now freezer going to be full and frozen ebm also can't be kept too long. May soon be throwing away the older milk.

Wonderland, u must be very fertile! My menses usually come back after 6 months when I bf. if menses come during bf, means can get pregnant again. Better start contraception. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Bunny: The amt of vomit varies..sometimes its fresh milk flowing out, sometimes curd, sometimes just bubbly saliva. But i guess i'll live with it. Like nowadays he sometimes feed on one side only. Then i wun force him lo.

Even when feed ebm he also can vomit.

On sleeping in the day, I just bought a manual yaolan yesterday. Yet to use it. I managed to coax baby to sleep this morning! *happy*

I also bought bolsters, 2 more types of pacifiers and the yaolan. Anything to make him sleep in the day!

Hi Curry! 120-160 every 3hrly is a good amount! Ya i can only pump at 4-5hrs, so that can do some chores or play with bb. If every 3hrly, i'll go dingdong~ lol

Wonderland: Could it be bb nap too long and is awaken by hunger thus cry? Usually how long your bb naps?

How about standby milk 15mins earlier and keep it in warmer? Or wake bb up before he gets hungry? Or pump and put it in a warmer for the next feed?

Breastmilk contains all the goodies our LO needs especially at such a vulnerable age...if have to give up for the convenience of a nanny, i think its really a waste leh~

Yi Chin: 300g in a week is alot liao, you've done a great job. Jiayou!

Yes lets go together! I think PS and harbor front have and they are nearer for us right? Bunny wanna organise playdates? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Wonderland,

Me! I had my menses in mid jan.. Was surprised to see red too. Told my gynae n she said a small % of women hv menses very early even though bf.. So don't worry, we r normal..

agree w SQin too.. Don't give up on bm.. We burn abt 500 calories by producing milk!

Yi chin,

Apparently I gave my milk to my sis kids.. Hahaa.. I think u hv to throw e older milk soon bah.. Btw, how much u pump out each time n how much does ur lil one drinks?

ejunko: he's a hot temper bb. cannot tahan his cry,very jialat one. cry for sleep, cry for milk and poo poo also cry...

most of the time is 3 hours one feed but sometimes 2 hours already cried for milk. i tried to stand by milk b4 but he sleep until 4 hours then i have to discard the milk.

curry : haha...i thought i'm the only one...

Yi Chin,

the frozen bm can keep 3-6 months. why u so fast throw away? my freezer also full with my ebm, think to give my bb after i stop pumping.

day time : nanny (formula)

night time : emb

So envy mamas who have so much frozen bm!

wonderland: Ouh...mine also sometimes sleep till 4hrs, then i'll discard and warm a new bottle.

Yi Chin: Dont throw the milk. Let your bb indulge in milk bath! =D

Curry, I latch her 2 hourly now, after that then pump out the excess if breasts still feel full. So everyday can freeze 2 to 3 packets of excess ebm about 120ml each packet. Don't know how much exactly she is drinking but hope she can drink more so I no need to pump. If I add the excess ebm to my older kids' milk, then won't be freezing so much. But they only drink the fresh ebm, they don't take the frozen ones because of the metallic taste.

Wonderland, read that the 3 - 6 months storage means that frozen ebm will retain its nutritional values up to 3 months, then the values will drop after 3 months and ebm will spoil after 6 months. So the December stocks will be losing nutritional values soon.

Just google on alternative uses of BM. Some websites suggested using ebm in cooking or adding to coffee. Hmmm... Wonder how it will taste if bm is used to make curry? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I'm not game enough to use bm to make teh-C.

SQin and ejunko, will the baby be sticky after the milk bath? Cos bm very sweet. So many ants are coming to my kitchen already.

SQin, ejunko, Yi chin,

I also think will be sticky if bb was bathed in bm. Think hv to rinse bb after that. I read that it's good to soak our hands n feet in bm.. Hahaa! Then after that rinse away..

I'll be gg shanghai to visit hubby next month for a few days, will pump n discard.. Maybe I'll use e bm to soak my hands n feet.. LOL!!!

Yi Chin: Duno leh, what my gf did was to add some milk to bb's tub of warm water and bath bb...nv see her rinse off leh. Her bb skin super soft! But smell abit weird lah......

Maybe later i can try on my hands/feet and see how~~

I put a pack of milk into the bathtub with bath gel, nvr rinse bb after that.. Eh thk no ants come lar. Actually my hubby and me also tried using the milk to bath, but got wash off with shower gel after that.. The smell of frozen ebm stinks. So I dun keep many ebm in the freezer.. Plus my boy is a big eater so now not much excess milk to keep too.

Gripe water:

i tried giving that to my bb, gave me the vomit look. So i diluted it with water. For mummies who are tbf, how do you feed gripe water or ridwind? I tried using syringe cos haven't intro bottle yet.

6in1:

if bb takes 6in1 jab, means we can skip the 1mo hepB jab right? does fever comes the next day? and how high the temp? bb ok to take paracetamol using syringe?

Sling:

@Tangerine - wow. u r an expert in sarong sling? the one with the ring. i bought but dunno how to use. Sitting there gathering dust now, v wasted. where u stay? i wan learn from you.. heehee.

And i tried the pupsik pouch... dunno why but baby seems v hard to put in. maybe i still fat tummy bah. sigh. Anyone out there, after the jamu massage, tummy still stay? That's me lor! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Yoyosan 6 in 1 jab my baby just took last sat. Pd said fever 38 plus on the same day for 1 or 2 days. Gave fever med and syringe to feed. MAny babies don't get fever. Mine we fed once fever med at night. No fever.

yoyosan: I give bb gripe water via syringe, same for medicine.

Yup can skip the 1st mth hepB. Diff baby react differently, mine has fever 37.8 during day2 night. But gone down on day 3. If you worry, can feed bb with paracetamol immediately after injection and monitor.

Or you can wait and see how it goes. This is a harmless fever lah but bb still can experience bodyache and headache.

Any mommies going for upcoming baby fair??

I've the following to let go:

- BN Playskool busy balls patterns & colours $15

- BN Pigeon breastmilk storage bottles (3pcs) $10

- BN Pigeon S sized teat (standard neck) $2.50

- BN Pigeon M sized teat (wide neck) $3.00

- BN Nuk Anti colic wide neck teat 1 0-6m $5

- Tiny Love Musical Mobile $65

- 2 tins of NAN 2 400g (exp Oct'12) $10 each

- 2 tins of Similac 400g (exp May'12) $10 each6g

- 2 btl Gerber puffs (strawberry apple and peach, exp Sep'12) $7

- Avent twin electronic breast pump full set $350

- Avent refill 10 cups (240ml) $18

Kindly PM me if keen/ for pics, thanks! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@girltrader my girl also lidat vomit a lil milk. i guess normal de.

yes.. i be gg for both the bb fair this month. i need stack up cheap diapers if they have sale there.. and look look see see for good buys. am still undecided over the home mini swimming thingy.

pouch- i have the pupsilk pouch too. bb screams when i put her in. -_- sigh. waiting for her to go bigger i try put her in via different poses.

@Yuet sim, @ejunko: thanks for info. Am bringing bb next wk for jab. Do u jab bb earlier than two months or exactly?

Sigh, me having slight food poisoning now. Diarrhoea n churning tummy. Bm also seem to decrease.

yoyosan: Ours was done a couple of days earlier. Ouh...take care ah, dont worry about BM now, when your body is less stress the amount will resume.

Hey mamas!

Check with you guys, does any one of your bb sleep with air-con on during the day?

My dad gets super pekcek to see his grandson sweats even abit bit also cannot, saying that we shouldnt let his temp raise up this way. And insist us letting my bb sleep in aircon during the day.

BUT...i have ppl telling me its OK to let bb sweat (duno what water retention thingy), but not ok to let bb too cold....

So...hot or cold?

But the thing is...my bb really doze off the moment air-con is on...duno if its because of the white noise or cooling temp...any of your bb also like that?

Hey mamas!

Check with you guys, does any one of your bb sleep with air-con on during the day?

My dad gets super pekcek to see his grandson sweats even abit bit also cannot, say if too hot can lead to fever and stuff. And insist us letting my bb sleep in aircon if weather is too hot.

BUT...i have ppl telling me its OK to let bb sweat (duno what water retention thingy), but not ok to let bb too cold....

So...hot or cold?

But the thing is...my bb really doze off the moment air-con is on...duno if its because of the white noise or cooling temp...any of your bb also like that?

Yoyosan, I feed gripe water with the small plastic cup that dr gives to take syrup medicine. Sometimes also use syringe. Drink more isotonic water and don't get dehydrated! U can try smecta powder for the diarrhoea, it doesn't get absorb into the body, so safe for bf. can buy from any pharmacy, I prefer to mix with ribena before drinking.

Cool curry! Going overseas! Envy leh! Not taking baby along?

SQin and ejunko, I'll start adding ebm to baby's bath water after the 3 months shelf time then. Will get smooth skin? Anyone tried using ebm to wash own face? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ejunko, whichever baby is comfortable with lor. My baby likes to sleep while latching or sleeping on my shoulders, so I cannot tahan if too hot. Will either on the fan or air con on non windy days. Baby also sleeps better when temperature is comfortable.

@ejunko yes.. my bb loves aircon. lol. sleep longer with aircon. day time if too hot i on aircon throw her at sarong & do my things.

but i do give her a lil blanket whenever i on aircon.

Today very hot leh..

Hi mummies, u guys got encounter this b4. Usually my bb will drink every 3.5 to 3 hrs for 120ml, but today 2 hrs only he cry for milk liao, izzit normal.... how come ar

Yi chin,

Yup.. So long didn't go holiday liao.. Not bringing baby.. I scared I can't handle her in e plane. Esp e pressure when taking off n landing. Wanna spend some er ren shi w hubby too.. =)

Ejunko,

Agree w Yi chin, whichever bb is comfy with. After we gave birth, bb also sleep day n night in hospital w aircon. Of course don't let bb catch a cold.

Lay leng,

Maybe ur bb is having growth spurts. It's normal.. Just let him drink on demand bah..

Thanks all! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Sigh i also wanna go holiday...Any mamas bring bb travel before? Will giving bb pacifier really helps to relieve the ear pressure? Is a 5hr flight too long for our bb to handle now?

Or can we bring bb to beach location...is the sun too harsh for our bb now?

Paisei ah, today many qns lol

Yoyosan: I'm no expert in slings lah! Mine was a hand me down so I just tried. Looked at some YouTube videos then trial and error myself. My baby seems to like being inside so I like to use it rather than the stroller. Plusq he latches on so often, being in a sling is so much easier. Just unhook the nursing bra and he gets his milk!

Lay Leng: Think it's normal. Mine even worse, everyday different timings. Just feed on demand. Heard they take a few months to establish a routine.

Ejunko: guess the idea of giving paci during take off and landing is to get baby to swallow. That'll help relieve pressure in the ears? Or get them to latch on, or give them the bottle. They prob work the same way. I may travel in late June. By then baby will be almost 7 months, so shd be more "hardy"?

Lay leng, I also guess it may be growth spurt.

I only brought kids for holiday after they can walk and eat solids. So I have to wait 1 year for my holidays. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Tangerine, 7 months is a good age, can just bring packet rice cereal. After 9 months, some people even bring slow cooker to cook porridge for baby!

Ejunko, can bring baby to sentosa! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] hee hee, got beach and some nice hotels. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I haven't even been to universal studio yet.

Yi Chin: So how did your kids respond to the pressure in flights?

Lol i also haven been to universal studio leh.

So its ok "suntan" bb abitbit? BUT my figure now looks like a mutated hippopotamus....he can tan i cant tan...FML.

Ejunko - I just brough my daughter on an 1.5 hr flight to Msia when ahe is abt 2mth and came bk again on flight abt 3mth. Read abt drink water and suck pacifier from forum. But she seem alright with or without sucking or drinking. Cos during the take off from Sg, as we waited too long abt 30min, she fall asleep cant let her suck or drink. But she sleep through without problem. Aft 30min on board then she is awake then I offered her ebm then she play for a while then is time for us to land already. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mummies, anyone using Pigeon multi-function steriliser? I want to try using the bottle warmer function but i lost the instruction manual and dunno how much water to add for the warming up function. Can anyone advise?

As for travelling, i cant even imagine bringing baby out to go shopping nearby for more than 3,4 hours. And must have another person with me and bring lots of barang barang. My baby still drinks average 2 hours.

Nap:

@Bunny, @Yi Chin: bb dun really like yaolan. shake shake the most last half hour, then cry to come out liao. Only the first time i used, she slept for 2hrs. After that, no more liao.

@Tangerine: ur bb still sleep in sling? Mine sleep in arms, put down then wake up liao. Aren't u tired? Is ur bb getting better at naps?

@Bubbles: i tried ur suggestion. No work. she let me pat pat, but when she want to really zzz, she starts screaming for carry. pat bum, hold legs and hands also no use.

Talk about Universal Studio, i think it's a good getaway from Sg..ie, i feel i'm in another country's theme park. haha. Brought my older gal there b4 giving birth, she enjoyed it a lot. Was thinking of making a staycation there. Older gal can play, and if bb needs a nap, can hop back to the hotels that's linked to the theme park.

but think only la, hb not free one...

hi mummies, any idea about whether it is ok to use pillow or bolster for 2 month old baby? Currently not using either, baby sleeps on folded up nappy cloth to catch any milk spit ups.

Holiday:

Was thinking of driving up to KL to visit my parents for a few days when baby is 3 months plus. As for a fly away holiday, will wait till he is older.

Swimming:

Can only bring to swimming pool when baby is 6 months?

no air con for my ds.. anyway me and hub dont have the habit of sleeping in aircon room.. only fan..

both side parents warn us abt letting ds sleep in air con room..say it is bad for his breathing coz air con very dry...*shrug*

i also carry and pat ds bum to coax him to sleep..with a pacificer in his mouth..the time needed for him to sleep decreases significantly..haa

me opposite as u all. my bb prefer sarong then my pat. she prefer my mil pat though, can zzz in her arms if she rock/ pat her to zzz. maybe i no skills..

think i still not experienced enuff to bring my bb travelling overseas... i will freak out i guess.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

y nowadays bb hard to sleep in day time... my bb also hv tis pro, dun like to sleep cot or bed, like to sleep in rocker... haiz... v hard to please him =( Went to 6 in 1 jab tis morning, bb 6.6kg w ht of 59.5cm, doctor also say big bb, then i ask her whether overweight anot, but she nv reply me, sia.... 120ml per feed izzit quite alot ma?

Curry: Sigh...the numbers are depressing lah....perhaps 10more kg? Fuwahhhh~ *pinch fats*

Christine_tioh: Thanks for the info! =D

Girltradester: Im using that, but i cant rem exact amt leh, i always put 130ml-150ml.

Mummies -

How many hours do your babies sleep in the day? Mine after 7am's feed can sleep for 4hours then subsequent feed will be sleeping around 1.30-2hours. Normal??

my bb will nap ard 1/2 hrs then ard 2pm then sleep 4 to 3.5 hrs... after that at night abt 8 plus for last feed then K.O till 12 am plus

Yoyosan: If not for the yaolan, me or the maid got to carry him horizontally and force in the pacifier to make him sleep. But after putting him in the cot, he would wake up after a while. And the vicious cycle continues until feeding time.

I think my bb is getting used to yaolan. He slept a good 2.5 hrs this morning, afternoon on and off slept abt 1+ each. Now KO in the yaolan again. Now im getting concerned abt his reliance on yaolan & pacifier to fall asleep. Having said that, he certainly looks like a happier baby today.

He also feeds less now. About 90ml only every 2.5 to 3 hrs. Big surprise for me.

ejunko: i called up Pigeon. The person said to put 300ml of water for the bottle warming function wor..

Im also not sleeping in air-con now, even though baby sleeps in the same room as the maid. Because im doing direct latch in the night, so the maid will bring in baby when he's hungry. I also wake up frequently to check on the baby.

But it's getting quite hot in the night sometimes...Hope by the time it's really very very hot, the baby will sleep better and can then sleep with me

my bb before that can sleep in yaolan through 2-3 hours. since yesterday my bb naptime very short less than 1/2 hour wake up already. keep crying and dun want to sleep in yaolan. keep turning here and there until he vomits... today i tried again to let him sleep in yaolan same thing happen again...sigh... i gonna insane already...