(2011/12) Dec 2011

Bunny: my bb also like that...1st 2 days quite lethargic...feed halfway doze off somemore. 3rd dayback to normal.

yuet_sim: I'll put chilled ebm in a cooler bag. Also bring FM just in case. Normally by the time bb fuss for milk the ebm already not chilled lol. Then i'll heat it with hot water that i brought along.

liling2109: Hungry wise, i'll check if he has root reflex.

Sleep wise, i'll stroke his eyebrows with my pinky and see if he is tired (eyelid drop and soon doze off) or overstimulated.

I'll also check if he is gassy but thats during diaper changing time, and i change wayy too often before he fuss.

Dont know how to check if bb is boring, but if he is seeking attention he will normally laugh when we talk to him. Then i'll play with him loh lol.

Every bb is unique, soon you'll figure out what he wants. =)

Nice to know all of u here!

I am new here too, gave birth my son on 2 Dec @ TMC...

had the 6-in-1 jab & Rotovirus on Tuesday and my bb weight is 5.9kg.

i am also 100% EMB and now start to mix with formula as March will take care by baby sitter.

Seems like all bb want to be carried.. Mine too! He is so cranky these 2 days after taking 6 in 1. Slight fever.

Bb din poo for 3 days.. Pass lots of gas n it's v smelly.

yah same same. mine is pass gas and diarrhea very smelly after the jab/ rotavirus.

cranky too. today is 3rd day after jab.. hopefully she be back to usual self.. past days she been eating real little...

mine the other way round. drinks a lot... before is 3-4 hours once but these 2 days 2 hours already cried for milk liao...

bb also didn't poo poo for 2 days.

I've deliver my baby girl on 13Dec, currently breast feeding exclusively. Since last week I realize my baby start to refuse bottle. My in-laws are going to help taking care of her after my 4 months maternerty leave. I'd like to know when should I start introduce bottle to my little one?

hi wonderland & shirley! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

my little gal din poo for a couple of days too... pd says normal... as long as not more than 6 days, its fine... finally last nite she pooed and tis morning too! OMG, e whole diaper is FULL of poo..... SUPER STINKY!

shirley, u can consider to start intro bottles to ur bb gal now.... even though she may keep refusing but u have to kip trying otherwise it will be tough when ur inlaws take over.... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

mummies, do u feed ur babies with plain water? How often do u feed them?

bubbles_c: My confinement lady and mil think that babies should be fed water esp when they get hiccups. I lived with it until the end of my confinement. Then my mum came over to help me, she respected my belief that exclusively breastfed babies do not need water. I also consulted my pd before, she said if i really want to feed water, can give like 20-30ml a day (as a rough guide). As my baby vomits almost after every feed, i think there is no need to give him water when his little tummy is already so bloated. But i would when he starts taking solid food.

Hi wonderland and shirley!

bubbles_c: I only feed 5-10ml water max on days i give FM incase bb heaty...otherwise nope.

PD said bb tummy so tiny, if we let them drink plain water and fill up their tummy, then no more space for milk le...means no nutrients loh...

Once grandma took over the bottle and force feed my bb at least 20ml! That was less than an hour after we fed him...grandma said bb thirsty must drink water...sigh my poor dude kept puking afterwards. ='(

Yar lar.. Old folks always say must give water and they kept saying baby thirsty.. Dunnoe how they tell leh.. Haha! Now I always bring a bottle of water when I go my in laws' place for 'show'.. Cos my FIL kept nagging at us.

I didn't give any water. Scared baby drink water, later stomach take lesser amt of milk.

Shirley, I introduced bottle after 1 month, when baby more efficient at latching. I'm giving her 1 bottle of ebm per day. Rest of the time latch. If start too late, baby may refused bottle. My 2 elder girls went on hunger strike for more than 12 hours each when I intro the bottle after 4 months! Was terrible! They were hungry, but refused to drink from bottle and would cry themselves to sleep even when I put bottle in the mouth!

yeah mummies.... thanks for sharing.... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

my mom has been nagging me tat babies nid water.... kip asking me to standby a bottle of plain water so tat she can feed to baby as and when.... its so frustrating even when i told her tat pd says babies on BM dun really nid water at tis stage... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

so i restrict to about max max 30ml per day..... and i make it a point to allow my mom to feed baby water only in between feeds, not before feed..... cos i realize they get full wif the water and drink lesser BM.... as ejunko says, water makes them full but no nutrients so its not really a gd thing.....

wonderland:

i used to give my bb gripe water (5ml) wif a syringe once a day after bath, and rid wind in her milk during her feeds 3-4 times a day as she has bad colic but after seeing the PD early Feb, he told me rid wind is enough and tat gripe water is actually an overdose (5ml gripe water per time as compare to 0.5ml rid wind per time).... so i haven been feeding baby wif gripe water this 1 week.....

Has any mummy hear tat gripe water can help to remove the white stains on babies' tongues? i try using a wet gauze to clean her tongue but seems difficult as she refuse to stick out her tongue or open her mouth big enough for me to put my finger in...

Hi mummies I don't feed baby water either though he is on BM and FM.

Bubbles : I Try to clean baby's tongue once a day and like yrs can't get the whole tongue. But I think it's ok.

Just went for 6 in 1 and rotavirus today. Will c whether baby had symptoms like the rest did.

Also feeding Dentinox anti colic in milk 3 times daily as he has a lot of gas and keeps passing out through his bottom.

Hi. My gal's born on 23Dec.

would like to join you mummies to share info here. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Water- my mil will feed when she hiccup. For me i dun feed water, only once a while i feed her water when i feel her mouth is dry which is like 3-4 times only till now.

Gas- i use ridwind lately. good leh, she burp easily now unlike last time where i can take ages to burp her.

BB tongue- i wash her gums and tongue every morning using the hanky. if still have white stain on her tongue i leave it. i rather spend more time cleaning her ears. her ears veri dirty...

What's the difference between giving gripe water and rid wind? Which one more effective? Which one taste better?

My baby very funny. I've been giving her 1 bottle of ebm per day to train her to drink from bottle since 1 month old. I noticed that she's been drinking lesser and lesser from the bottle each day and yesterday, she totally refused to drink from the bottle and screamed her head off. When I gave her the breast, she drank so quickly!

Should I continue the 1 bottle per day and tahan her crying or should I start the cold turkey now at 2 months? Or postpone the cold turkey till closer to going to work and just let her latch without the bottle? I only started the cold turkey at 3 to 4 months for my older girls and it was a terrible experience!

Hi yoyosan! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Thank u mummies for ur info sharing! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

As i couldn't reach her tongue i oso stop cleaning for a while.... But i realise e white patch seems to get lesser... Not sure if its due to e gripe water tat i've been feeding her...

Bunny:

Y is ur bb ears so dirty?

It used to b hard to get my bb to burp... Even when using ridwind.. But recently i change her bottle, it has been easier to burp her. She has been passing lots more gas now... Guess its due to e ruyi oil! Thumbs up!

Yijing:

Haha.. I cant tell u which taste better cos i din try them myself... ;) but I tink ridwind has a bit vanilla taste & gripe water has some peppermint taste...For e bottle feeding, i think u shld try to feed her more times to let her get used to it.

Hi yoyosan!

bubbles_c: Could it be because you feed bb water so tongue cleaner? Coz drinking water can rinse their mouth too.

liling2109: Did your bb just had the 6 in 1 injection? If yes its normal to pass green poo. Or you can check this site - http://similac.com/feeding-nutrition/diaper-decoder

Yi Chin: Dont know whats the difference leh, but if can avoid then best dont give too often lah, cause these are so sweet baby might reject milk next time.

Bottle feeding wise, i'd say carry on with it. The later you start, the more they are used to mommy's and the more the reject.

How about letting someone else feed her with bottle?

I was told by another mummy that greenish poo in breastfed babies means too much foremilk.

I also cant clean my bb's tongue well. I just let it pass..

I don't intend to feed my bb water until he starts taking solids..which is like after 6 months i guess. Bb still vomits about every feed.

Tongue cleaning: the lactation consultant says tongue is self cleaning, once a day enough. I try my best to clean, if can ok, if can't, I try again tmr. As long it's not too thick.

Nap: anyone's baby v hard to fall asleep on their own, or a v light sleeper? Mine sleep in arms but when put in cot or sarong, wake up, cry and want carry, and the cycle of carrying to sleep begins again. I am so tired. Anyone same experience?

Hi mommies!

My boy was born on 5 Dec at Mt A, so will be exactly 10 weeks tomorrow. At 9 weeks he weighed 5.8kg, which was double his birth weight. I do latch-on 100%, and he seems to be a big eater! He has no routine so i feed on demand. Day time he'll eat maybe every 1.5 to 2hr, sometimes just 1hr. Each session can last anything from 10min to 40min. Then at night from 8 plus, he'll latch on almost continuously till he's satisfied and falls asleep, which is around 10-11pm. Occasionally when he's still not satisfied and my supply is drained already, we supplement with formula. I'm always worried that he's eating too much! He doesn't vomit though there'll be some spit ups, so pd said he's not over eating. Hope I'm not raising him to be an obese kid! :-/

@yoyo my bb light sleeper and for her sarong will do le. sarong works well, ur bb no like sarong?

@tangerine: waa i salute u. u full time mommy? if not gg back to work u be quite tiring.

i trying to stretch my bb her feed as long as possible..

@bubbles: duno. i dig her ears and realised beri dirty. nowadays i dig/ wash/ wipe her ears once every 2-3 days. i use ridwind + ruyi oil for her. easier to burp than b4. lol.

@yijing my ridwind i put in her milk & feed her. or at times i just feed her direct. she ok with the taste and will drink it. 0.5ml onli..

@bunny: I'll be taking 6 mth no pay leave after my maternity leave ends, so yah, will continue bf till at least 9 mth. It is tiring, though I think I'm more or less used to it now. In the first mth, there were times I just broke down from bf exhaustion! These days, at least baby is sleeping abt 4, sometimes 5hr if I'm lucky, after his last feed. So I get a bit more sleep at night!

@Yoyosan: During daytime I also have prob putting him down to nap on his own. Always wants to be carried. Or I'll put him in my sling and bring him downstairs, and he'll sleep very well. But once I come back into the house, he'll automatically wake up!

So ridwind and gripe water have the same function of reducing wind in tummy? Either one is fine? Cos I've been giving gripe water, never tried ridwind before.

Yoyosan, now I call my electric 摇篮 my part time maid. I turn on the power, baby can lay inside and shake shake shake, then I can go pump milk or eat lunch or do laundry. But I tried not to use too much, if not next time hard to wean off.

Lay leng, I also read about the too much foremilk can cause greenish poo. Are u nursing long enough at each breast?

Tangerine, must be very tiring for u!

Hi tangerine! Admire u on 100% latching.... I used to do tat during e 1st mth but bb jus cant last for 2-3 hrs... Sometimes less than an hr wil cry for milk again.... N i wil start to feel pain in my breasts if i kip latching even if i alternate them... N bb likes to fall asleep on my breasts... So jus cant figure out if she is stil drinking or simply treating my breast as her soother.... In e end i decide to jus feed her ebm........ Easier for bb easier for mi too... But jus hate all e washing & sterilising!!!

Ejunko:

Hmm.. No idea if water helps to rinse & clear e white stains but as long as e white stains clears i m happy.

Hmm.. My bb din pass green poo after e 6-in-1 jab.....

Girltradester:

Ur bb stil vomitting? Reduce feed may help? Or drinking too fast? Consider changing teat?

Yoyosan:

Try letting bb zzz on their side supported by bolsters? I somerimes hold my bb hands n tell her to go zzzz n slowly her eyes wil close..... I lightly pat her beanbag (placed on her chest) too... After a few mins i wil quietly walk away n bb jus zzzzz.... Mayb ur bb nid assurance... Try zzzing wif her on ur bed but not carrying her?

Bunny:

U r digging ur bb ears oredi? I wont dare to do it...... Only cleaning e outer side of e ear when i bathe her.... Now cleaning her nose is oredi a big challenge to mi.....

Yijing:

Since u hv been giving gripe water... Try it wif ruyi oil.. If it helps ur bb to pass more gas or burps more often then i guess u can stick wif gripe water....

Hi Tangerine!

yoyosan: Mine too. He'll wakes up when we put him on cot. So instead of carrying him to slp, i pat him to sleep on his cot. Then instead of patting, i let him try to sooth himself to sleep. Now he loves his cot...except nom-nom and masak time lol.

bubbles_c: Mine did leh and wahrao the poo smell like toxic~ PD said Rotavirus is the culprit.

My bb starts to stick his tongue out like this =P

Continuously like playing...even after we fed him...is it normal?

Any idea when can we bring bb for swimming?

I had my girl on 7 dec, TMC.

My girl vomitted 3 times a week during e CNY week. Brought her to PD n was diagnosed w reflux. PD prescribed dentinox, something like rid wind. Was advised to let bb sit up for half hour after each feed. Very tiring esp during night feeds. I'll tou lan, prop her up only 15mins then leave her in her rocker while I pump. After pumping then I'll put her bk to bed. She had since stopped vomitting.

Bubbles c,

Me too had e same prob when latch direct, that's y chose to pump exclusively now. When go out, I'll bring along my pump n look for nursing room when time is up.

@bubbles- ya, i dig outside onli but quite dirty her ears duno y. her nose i no dig, i let it come out when she sneeze or when its near to coming out then i dig out.

@ejunko- my bb also stick her tongue. i think normal leh.

@girltrader- ur bb is spit out a little milk or vomit as in like big scale milk out? i think spit out milk after her feed is quite ok? my bb spit out a little milk approx 70% of the time.

my bb also has green poo after the jab. and smelliest poo ever too. lol.

ejunko:

maybe my bb only took the 6-in-1 jab but not the rotavirus jab.... tats y she onli kena fever on and off but not diarrhea....

hi curry!

yes i heard tat its no good to lie baby down immediately after feed... shld lean them against our tummy or chest and let them sit up for a while... for night time, i wil stil hold my bb up like hugging her... glad to know ur girl has stop vomitting... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

u bring ur pump when u go out? electric pump or manual pump? wat happen if u dun get a power switch to use ur pump? i mean sometimes its really hard to find nursing room wif power sockets... i even tot of pumping in my car, but i wont be able to use electric pump....

u are using cooler bag wif ice pack to store ur ebm? hmm.. a stupid qns... how long can u store ur ebm outside using cooler bag before u head home?

bunny:

i only dig out her nose shit when she is having difficulty breathing.... cos she has small nostrils.... and her nose shit can be really big.... so i always have to monitor...

There's a nasal spray given by my pd, after spraying, massage e area btw cheeks n nostrils, then e pee sai will all come out. Hahaa..

Bubbles,

Won't u fall asleep while hugging her? Hahaa..

Yes, I brought it w me when I go out.. Mine's an electric pump, I'm using medela pump in style. There's an additional adapter where u can use batteries. So I'll use e batteries adapter if there r no power sockets. I've tried pumping in car while hubby is driving by using a nursing cover. Saves lots of time. Just hate e washing n sterilising. Hahaa!

Yup, I'm using cooler bag w ice pack. I read that we can keep EBM in cooler bag for up to 8 hours. What I usually do is to give e freshly pumped milk to my girl (coz can tahan 4 hours in room temp) then e excess keep in e cooler bag. so usually can tahan e whole day.

Initially I felt a bit guilty giving up direct latching.. But after reading that quite a number of u do exclusive pumping, felt much better! =)

The thing is I never quite got the hang of pumping. Tried before but couldn't get much milk out. Then there's the hassle of washing and sterilising like u all said, and defrosting or warming up milk, etc. I also love the convenience of nursing when I'm out! Just pop baby in my sling and I can nurse him anywhere, even while shopping! Don't even have to look for nursing room. Night feeds also very easy. That's why I've stuck with direct latch all this while.

Tangerine,

Very peifu pp like u who can latch direct. Coz it really saves LOTS of mafan! N direct latch increases bonding too.. Too bad I can't.. =(

U keep it up!

Tangerine: Thumbs up! The milk that our bb drink direct from latch on is the freshest, you've done great!

Unlike you, i am too clumsy le, i have no idea what to do with another leaking side, sian with the mess, i express. Pfft.

Hello ejunko!

U mentioned u pump ur milk every 4-5hours.. Will u feel discomfort in ur breasts? I can't stretch so long, will feel like my breasts gonna burst.. Hahaa!!

All,

My baby is a night owl! Sleeps all day n wakes up at 10pm, sometimes 2am n stays very active.. Anybody experience this?

Went to visit PD again, baby now at 4.6kg at 9 weeks. Put on 300g in 1 week but that is with 2 hourly feeds. So tiring to fatten baby up. But PD said better do so quickly b4 she goes into infantcare. PD also recommended to continue with gripe water and ruyi oil to help with passing gas.

My baby also sticking tongue out. I thought she is playing, cos she'll stick her tongue out after I stuck mine out. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

For bottle feeding, now must see her mood. If she's happy, she'll take 60ml, if not, only 30ml, sometimes still screamed her head off when I stick the bottle into her mouth. End up, still have to latch her. But I'm still trying out with 2 bottles of ebm per day now.

Sigh... If bottle feed, takes time to pump and sterilize. If direct latch, baby refuses bottle, and mummy cannot go out alone and leave baby with daddy or grandma. They are fussy creatures!

Curry, u must have a lot of milk! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I try to give baby more activity time in the day and evening, so she doesn't stay active at night.

Tangerine : good job! i wish to latch on but i cant...my milk flow is too fast, my bb always get chocked so i pump out and feed by bottle.

before that i pumped out every 3-4 hours, now i pump out 6-8 hours as trying to stop the breastmilk before go back to work. at first, the engorgement so miserable but no choice...these 2 days the demand seem decreased.

Yi Chin, u can ask KY to feed ur baby with bottle, maybe not so much resistance from ur baby?

My baby is now having 6 feeds per day. 5 feeds on ebm and 1 feed by latching at nite. Baby is still cranky.. Gg crazy!

Tangerine, I think mine is underweight.

Ejunko, if u thinking about the baby swimming with neck float, I think now can start already. If swimming in swimming pool, maybe after 6 months when they can sit up firmly.

For baby swimming with neck float, where u intending to go? Can go together? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] more fun with more babies.

sqin : yes, my supply is gd. Mar onward, bb will take care by nanny so i have to stop the breastmilk and start formula.

my bb will cried badly when i warm up the milk, so heartpain so decided to stop lo.

how about u? full bm too?

Yi chin,

Each time I pump approx 120ml in total. Sometimes can go up to 160ml. Bb only drinks 80ml every 2 hours.. My bb is petite too, 4.8kg on week 9.

Wonderland,

It's such a waste that u stop feeding bb bm.. If u scared bb cry while warming up milk, u can always give e latest milk, can store up till 4 hours in room temp.

Tangerine thumbs up on bf 100%. I'm doing bf and fm. MOst times latch on sometimes when out then give fm if can't find nursing room. Have nOt got the hang of using sling. Somehow can't pull ends when baby is in. Can give tips on nursing in sling?

Baby went for 6 in 1 and rotavirus last sat. He still has not pooped. Usually poops once in 5 to 7 days. Anyone else experience the same?

@wonderland u can latch her while warming up the EBM. thats what i do when my bb screams her head off.

@nidal yes.. can. my bb diarhhea i still feed her bm. cause of diarrhea is due to the rotavirus right i suppose? if not maybe u want discuss with ur PD? BTW BM bb shit more frequent and so call more 'watery' than FM bb.

@yichin is this better (can use to swim at home) or bring my bb to the sessions better?

http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.314937841881132.69563.136281856413399&type=1#!/photo.php?fbid=328232533884996&set=a.314937841881132.69563.136281856413399&type=3&theater

my bb appetite / feed vs hours etc all got haywired after the jab. sian. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]