(2011/12) Dec 2011

Hi Enivi, I gave birth at Mt A on 14th too, wonder if we bump onto each other that day lol.

Whoa your boy drinks alot.

I took Greenlife Fenugreek and it did increased my supply but made me smell like curry...so i stopped. Anyone wants can pm me to arrange for collection, i only took a few pills so balance alot.

Did you let your boy latch on? I feel that latching increased my supply more than supplements.

Btw any mummies staying at west side?

So many babies born on 14 dec. mine was an unexpected emergency c-section though. That's why baby so small.

Envini, how come u went back to work so fast? My BM supply always dropped when I started work for my first 2 kids. I took fenugreek then, 3 pills, 3 times a day. Already stock up my fenugreek supply for this time when I go back to work. My gynae gave me domperidone to boost BM when I go back to work. He said try for 1 week, but nothing beats latching on. It's a prescribed drug.

Ejunko, I staying in Bukit panjang.

how to prevent baby from sleeping just one side ?

mine always turn towards her right, i bought the pillow to prevent flat head but doesn't help - cos she always push her head towards right.

how ? any tips?

how do you prevent your baby from biting your nipple? have stopped latching for half a month thinking of doing that again for once a day to increase my bm.

For those who are still considering what kind of insurance to get for your newborn, i believe the first one should be the hospitalisation plan. As a mother of three, there is this plan called myshield, underwritten by Aviva, which provide free hospitalisation plan for your child if both you and your spouse are covered under this plan.

Premiums are deducted from medisave and i thought it's quite beneficial for all parents since it will be given free for your child (up to a max of 4 children).

For more information, please do PM me. I would also like to be upfront here. Yes, I am an insurance agent but as a mother of three, this plan can really help u save a fair bit over the long run.

If any mummies are considering getting a whole life plan(with cash value) for your darlings, with just a mere $2 a day, we can provide a $150K coverage for your child. This is one of the cheapest in the market too. Do PM me if you want more information. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Sorry to intrude. I have a can of unopened, brand new Nan Pro 1 milk powder to let go at $30. Letting go as baby is now 100% on breastmilk. Self collect at Telok Blangah Way. Please email me at [email protected]

Oh y is 14th a hot date? I was hoping for 13th thou - 13/12/11 lol

Enivi: Can share how much did you pay for the 6-in-1 jab?

Alt: I was told by the LC from Mt A, that a good latch shall not feel the biting. Baby's mouth should be wide open and the nipple should be at the back of the mouth etc. But baby may bite when he/she lost interest or if he/she feels the nipple is slipping away. Plus, if your baby has been bottle-feed, his suction power may decrease a lil (bottle make it easier to suck), so you shall not feel any discomfort now.

Yi Chin: Thats so near, im staying at CCK. We can have playdates next time =)

Alt, try putting baby on side-lying when asleep, then put small pillows at the back to prevent rolling back, and small pillow at the tummy to prevent rolling forward? But when they cry, they can move into any position. Mine can kick off her blanket, shift down from her pillow and move in clockwise or anti-clockwise position when she is crying.

When my baby bite me at the breast, I use my 2 fingers to gently snap her at the corner of her mouth, (not painful one) and tell her sternly "no, cannot bite!" works leh. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] The last time when my elder girl had her first tooth and bite me during bf, it was so painful that I reflexly smacked her on the cheek. She cried a bit, then stopped biting already.

Ejunko, sure! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] are u near CCK MRT or Yew Tee?

Wow.. So many 174th dec babies! My bb born on 6 Dec.

He is 8th week now.. I'm bringing him for 6 in 1 jab on 7th Feb.

Enivi: how long can we keep ebm without putting in fridge?

Yi Chin: LOL @ your "smacking techniques". Oh im near CCK mrt, infact beside southview lrt. Wanted to go BBP Diaso, but raining now...zzzz...

Ya many 14th Dec babies...next time when bb older can organize a photoshoot together =D

my boy was born on 28th Dec. Due to unforseen complications, i had to stop breastfeeding when he was only 3 weeks [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]. Any one has any advice on how to increase formula milk. He is currently 5 weeks +.

Ejunko, are u near south view pri school? That school is so popular!

Nidal, where are u going for the jab? Gp or pd or polyclinic?

Envini, I remember that the rotavirus is like only a few ml of medicine and so expensive. Last time I happened to feed my daughter b4 the medication administration and she spit out her milk and some of the med after walking out of the dr room! So 心痛 about the wasted medicine!

Shirley, try pumping every 3 hourly, drink more water, get mum to cook papaya and fish soup for u, take fenugreek. Very hard work, 加油!

nidal, don't worry mine is one day after yours. 6 dec ;)

ejunko & yijing, thanks for the tip !

yijing, i tried to put pillow etc and she kicked everything all over.... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

i see also dunno to laugh or be angry..

am new here. ds born in Dec too! ;)

hi shirley 11 mummy,

why do u want to increase formula milk? pd says to prevent overfeeding bbs as welll... as long as bb is putting on weight, having wet nappies etc, shd be fine? ;)

Raining day today.. Feels so sleepy..

Yi chin: I'm gg to pd for the jabs. My first child is seeing this doc so stick to him for the 2nd one. Jabs r expensive nowadays.

Shirley: there r several ways- papaya fish soup, fenugreek, scared tea. Have to try which one works for u. For me, I take black bean soup (can get from herbal soup, tell them it's to increase breastmilk n they will know). Try to massage your breast (like squeezeing milk out manually) when pumping, I feel that it can stimulate milk ss.

Enivi: I feel stress warming ebm. My bb cry very loud for his milk n my mum will scold me for taking so long to warm up the milk. There r a few times when I estimate his feeding time n warm up milk in advance, he will stretch his sleep n I have to throw away the milk cos need to finish within 1 hr of warming right? Hard to please everyone.

Alt, your bb so cute! Can kick so hard! My bb don't really kick. He will wave his hand in the air. If he's crying, it's like fighting with him when carrying him. Sometimes I'm scared of dropping him.

Yi Chin: Ya i heard, but why so popular ah? Anyway no leh, i stay the opp side keke.

Hi Andi, welcome!

Shirley: Do you want to try Fenugreek? I can give my bottle to you, only took a few pills now dont know what to do with the balance.

Oh and i heard Nursing Mother's Milk Tea works too.

Nidal: Do you have a milk/food warmer? Its quite convenient and fast. Try to pacify your bb while warming the milk?

I dont hv a warmer.. Tempted to get one but not sure how long will ss last.

Any mummies have spotting 3 wks after lochia ends? I'm hv it. Not sure if it's normal.

Hello, I stay in sengkang. Anyone nearby? And

how do you guys cope alone taking care of bb? I need another person ard so I can do my daily chores.

Enivi: wow, 100ml an hr is indeed a lot! So you have lots of stoted ebm to feed your bb since you only pump every 6 hrs? Prob you want to try pumping every 3 hrs instead to up supply. Just for like 15 mins on a double pump should help!

Hi mummies, my boy was born on 22dec, am new to this tread. Have been joining the Jan 2012 tread cos original edd was in Jan.

Hi nidal, I have a brand new advent warmer if u are keen. Bought it but din open at all cos my SIL lend me hers. Wanted to sell but no time to post yet cos so occupied with taking care of bb..

Hello SQin! U migrated here too? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I find the developmental stage of the babies in this thread more is more similar here. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Nidal, I got leave ebm in the warmer for 2 hours, cos baby drink only a bit, so I put back in warmer, then burp her, then try to feed again half hour later. So the whole process took 2hrs. So far baby ok leh. Don't throw away the ebm so fast lah, it's precious human gold! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

When baby is older, u can still use the warmer to warm up porridge. I will cook 2 portion of porridge, feed 1 in afternoon, then keep the other in fridge, then use warmer to warm up for baby's dinner. Have been using the same warmer for 3 kids now. Value for $.

I'm still having spotting once in a while. Using panty liner, not pad anymore.

Ejunko, maybe PSLE results good? U within 1km, next time got higher chance of getting kids in there.

Girltradester, housework only do the essential lor, like laundry and washing bottles. I Get husband to vacuum and mop the floor once a week on weekends only.

Andi, ur baby also of very good weight!

Hi mummies, my son was born on 17 dec, wt 3.15kg. rite now my boy drink ard 900 ml per day. Currently tk care of my son alone but quite stressful cos he keep on crying even after feeding. Carry him also crying. haiz....

girltradester - im staying in sk too. Im staying in rivervale dr, hw abt u

Hi Liling!

Yi Chin: Whoa pri sch is still far ahead lol

Guess im the only paranoid mom here. After warming the chilled ebm, i only keep it for an hour max...cause i wont wanna drink anything that has been left for an hour untouched...i thought my bb shouldn't either. KS lah =P

Anyone's bb starts to grunt? Mine does and i cant tell whats making him uncomfy...sian...

Hi mummies, during day time where your bb sleep at? My bb will sleep at rocker during day time, try to let him sleep baby cot, but he dun like, he will only sleep baby cot during night time.

My baby prefers to sleep on my king size bed in the day. She can sleep longer if I put her there. Maybe because the mattress is more comfy than her cot. But at night, I'll put her back in her cot.

My baby prefers to sleep on my bed in the day. She can sleep longer if I put her there. Maybe because the mattress is more comfy than her cot. But at night, I'll put her back in her cot.

Hi mummies, am new to this forum. My son was born on 10 Dec at KKH. He is now about 6 kg. Usually latch on then top up with about 60 ml of formula. He sometimes cries during feeding and throws up milk about 1 hr after though we try to burp him.

Hi yuet sim, my bb sometimes same when he is windy and feeling unconfortable. i personally find 'fei zhai shui' or Gripe Water rather useful... u might wanna try?

or Ruyi oil for tummy?

Hi Yuet Sim!

How long did you latch each time? How come must top up with 60ml? Could he be overfed thus he throws up?

verieying: me too find gripe water quite useful for gassy babies.

Ejunko: latch on both sides between 20 to 30 min. But he still take 60 ml formula most times. Sometimes he act up don't want to latch. He is rather gassy, been giving him Dentinox recommended by pd.

Verieying: have tried the oil too.

Yuet sim, how much does he throws up? Is it spit-out like 1-2 mouthful or like vomit?

Try frequent and smaller feeds?

SQin: will keep that in mind.. let u know if Im getting the warmer as I intend to monitor ss first..

Yuet sim: My bb throw up(merlion type) 1-2 hrs after feeding and cries a lot. Went to pd and was diagnose with reflux. Pd mention to cut down on milk intake and prescribe him medicine. He is better now... you may want to consider bringing him to doc if bb continues to vomit..

Gripe water seems popular with mummies here.. my mum has been telling me to give gripe water.. Im hestitating as not too sure what is the content.. will consider giving since feedback is good..

Yuet_sim: how about giving ebm to see the actual intake? Gassy wise...he could be drinking too much and/or too fast. Oh and did you eat any gassy-causing food?

Nidal: I only give bb gripe water when he is gassy...but if im not wrong bb with reflux are not advisable to give gripe water because there is ginger and peppermint in its content which might cause discomfort to bb with reflux ...you might want to check with your PD first.

Yi Chin: I think so! Here is the few i know...

Cabbage, broccoli, cauliflower, brussels sprouts, asparagus, tomato (or tomato paste food), citrus fruits, berries, coffee/tea/caffeine products, soda...

Maybe wives tales but i KS so never eat them since day 1 lol

Thanks mummies for advice. Have tried Ebm last month, getting average of 60 ml. But if 4 hrs plus now can get about 90 ml. So thought not enough so supplement. Trying to drop formula for a few feeds see how.

Do u all have problems getting baby to nap in the day?

Day time baby sleep for shorter hours. Luckily can sleep 3 to 4 hours at night. Sometimes baby falls asleep after feeding or burping in the day, put down on bed then the eyes open big big. If she doesn't yawn, then I'll talk to her. My mum said sleep lesser in the day better, then can sleep longer at night.

Yi Chin: Ok lah consider the fact that we ate too much good food during pregnancy, now eat lesser abit loh

yuet_sim: yup bb sleeping lesser le, sometimes after feed bb only sleep for an hour then wake up seek attention le...pffft. Wanna PS also no time~

Need help from experience mummies....Anyone using mustela barrier cream?how much to apply during each diaper change? Need to apply to skin fold area near the thighs??

I find it very difficult to fully clean off the cream at skin fold area during bath time... Seem quite waterproof ley.. it is necessary to clean off all barrier cream at bath time or it is okie to just leave it alone???

Lay Leng: i stay in anchorvale drive =)

Yesh, it's getting increasing difficult to get baby to sleep in the afternoon. Like today, no amount of carrying can make him sleep. Thought he's hungry so i'll latch him and he would fall asleep soon after, sucking bit by bit. But he would wake up a few minutes after putting him on the bouncer. Nowadays we sleep with baby on our bed.

Oh, my domestic helper is here.. 1st time having a maid. She's slow in doing housework man...

poseidon_gal: yes i apply to the skin fold area near thighs too...

No idea abt mustela...but i tried Sebamed Diaper Rash cream and am using Desitin Rapid Relieve now, easy to apply and wipe off imo.

PD said apply a THICK layer, but my bb often frown at it so i apply abit only...so far bb's skin is ok (fingercrossed lah)...or maybe becoz i change diaper often too.

Any mommies using cloth diapers? Thought of switching...

Girltradester, ur maid so far ok? Can speak her language? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ejunko, I put baby on cloth nappies on days that I don't do laundry with washing machine, if not, no more bamboo poles to dry the nappies. I use the nappy liner so that the nappy don't get too stain with the motions. When using nappy, need to change baby more often cos baby doesn't feel comfortable when wet. More work also cos I hand wash the nappy. But they dry fast when I hang them out to dry.

I normally use drapolene barrier cream. Only use desitin when perineal area is red, cos desitin harder to wipe off and more expensive. If cannot totally wipe off barrier cream during normal diaper changing, I'll try to wash as much off as possible during bath time.