(2011/12) Dec 2011

Hey mummies went see gynae on thurs ahead of my schedule cos spotting again!;( really worrying as already in 15 wks but gynae says nothing i can do which is really exasperating [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] anyway on mc n prescripted hormones pills hope to an tai.. Ironically 1st tri I din tk any anti nauseus pills but it got worse in my 2nd tri so now on that as well! Haaa opposite of most pple[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]( Good news thou! Is a gal!!! Sooo thrilled cos my 1st is a boy n my ds keep saying he wanna hv a meimei[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]) pray all things turn out well for all mummies here!! Smooth pregnancy n delivery ahead!

Hi piggy, welcome! Quite a number of mummies in nov thread are under prof John tee, u may want to ask abt him over there too.

Hi stellar, I do hv sharp pain occasionally but it lasted only a couple of seconds so I thot it's prob just ligation pain. How long does yrs last?

Hi Gretel, congrats on knowing it's a bb girl!! U are the second one to know in our thread. Pls rest well so that Yr spotting will go away soon! Hmmmm, me also first tri dun really feel nauseous but second tri become worse! But I not on anti vomit pills yet.... So far still can manage.... Jiayou n congrats again!!

yallo & littlefren:

My pain quite constant, most of the time it's there. It gets worse if I make a wrong move or carry my son the wrong way. If lightly press on my lower tummy I can feel the pain as well. I've been constipated but still managed to release abit but still pain so I'm wondering if I cld hv pulled a muscle or something. Quite worrying.

Stella> mine is abdominal cramp.. Esp walking or standing too long. Sometimes even when I cross my legs. Went to scan and everytime gynae said nothing & bb is fine. As this is my first preg & I'm clueless abt such thing, it gets paranoid whenever the pain comes.. T_T

RE: Cramps

I experienced cramps on and off as my womb is tilted sideways. The womb will adjust to the correct position as my baby grows..so cramps will occur which is common for my case.

Just went to my appt this morning, my womb is adjusting but not fully to the correct position yet. Scan shows that I am at 9W1D, CRl 24.95mm. Next appt on 2 July. Morning sickness is equally bad...switching from morning to evening sickness...I can hardly eat much for dinner. I lost a total of 2.5kg approx till date. Last pregnancy I only started to gain during my 4th to 5th month. I guess I will lose more weight...From the scan, can see baby's limbs. My gynae take 12 weeks as end of first trimester. I have 3 more weeks to go...Endure! EDD is shifted to 13 Jan 2012.

My hubby just arrived yesterday, back from Korea..He bought me loads of facial masks...and few bb creams and also seaweeds. Was busy packing the masks to give away some to his cousins.

I am getting the freestyle breast pump from US. My cousin will get it for me at an offer price cos her hubby works for the singapore airforce and is stationed there for the time being so can get at the airbase at a cheaper price and tax free. I went to mothercare to show my hubby the cot I wanted to get...he acknowledged, so I will be getting it 2 weeks later, after I get my mothercare vouchers from my colleagues as my bd gift. The sales lady willing to let me keep the cot with them and delivery in Oct, but must make full payment. So I guess, I will buy during GSS to take advantage of the discount.

Stella: My cramps are the dull, stretchy type on my lower abdominal that I assume are the result of the stretching of the uterus. They aren't the same as yours, are they?

In case it's constipation, some people hv recommended prune juice which I occasionally take as well. I also take an apple (with its skin on) after some meals. I wonder if this will help you relief of your constipation?

Yallo: I find it humourous too when she had shared her experience with me when she was pregnant. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Piggy: Hello friend! We have the same EDD and I'm likely to deliver in KKH too although I'm with a different gynae. It will be nice if our actual delivery dates are the same so we can visit each other's child. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Would you prefer to deliver in 2011 or 2012?

Hi Ms Carpe Diem, I prefer to deliver in 2011 coz 2012 dragon yr baby will be very competitive. hahaha.....

Anybody here into their 11 wks and feels like 15 wks preggy? I dunno why my tummy is so bloated. My skirts and pants all can't wear liao.... I m a plus size mummy hear from my friend usually plus size ppl tummy will only bloated after 5 month. How come my tummy so obvious….

Yah, year of dragon may be super competitive year right...

I should be pregnant as the same period as you given we hv the same EDD. I'm not plus-sized though I feel the way you've described. My tummy now is super obvious and I rely currently on stretchy pants. Currently I don't look pregnant, I just look fat with a bulge at the wrong place.

Are you planning to take the OSCAR test?

I will do OSCAR test as this is recommended by dr during I was in ward. This is my 1st time pregnant I don’t know anything, since dr recommended so I take the test. The blood test already done on 6 June, NT scan is on 17 June.

missus bl & ms Carpe Diem:

My cramps are a constant dull pain with on and off sharp stabs right in the front lower abdomen. I've had the uterus stretching pain in my first pregnancy but it was nvr constantly there and this is painful wen I press lightly too...

Hi stellar, it sounds really quite bad, y dun u call up yr gynae n see what he suggests? Try not to carry yr boy anymore.

Hi piggy, I'm a plus size mummy n this is my first bb too! I am in my 15th week, but since week 8 or 9, I already started wearing all the stretchable pants n bigger tops, plus use bra extensions for comfort! My tummy sometimes very bloated but sometimes flat! The experienced mummies here told me its quite common, but sometimes, I can't help but worry too.... :p

Stella: I hv experienced sharper pain before, but only once, twice in my entire pregnancy so far, not regularly. My friends hv also not mentioned this in their conversations on their pregnancy as well.

If no one else had experienced this before in this forum, it may be reassuring to seek medical advice? Perhaps it may be a small matter, just not commonly experienced?

Piggy: I see, I hv my oscar scheduled for later...

Hi piggy, I'm also going for scan on 17 June [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] already taken blood test.

I am admitted to hospital again[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]have a heavy bleeding today..,hope bb will b fine.....[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Ling..thanks..nothing is ok when got bleeding...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]..waiting for my dr to come n do u/s for me later

littlefren & ms Carpe diem:

thanks, think will drop by kkh clinic tomorrow if the pain doesn't go away.

Wendy: I hope everything will be fine with you and bb. Rest well.

i couldn't fit into my shorts/pants/fitting dresses fm wk 8 onwards due to tummy bloating. I eat less at each meal now to reduce bloatedness and avoid a list of food/drinks that supposedly worsens it. Now wear doll dresses most of the time even though tummy not very obvious. At home i go bra-less coz it's so uncomfortable ;p

my Dr recommend oscar blood test & NT be done btw wk 11-12. And if result no gd, do CVS before wk 14. So i did all these at wk 12.

wendy, Dr done u/s for u already? hope bb is fine.. take care!

Wendy: Rest well!

Chan PL: Thanks for sharing. Think my EDD might be later than you so my OSCAR is scheduled for later. Hope things will turn out well.

Just did my u/s..bb is fine..but dr say since I am bleeding,there is a risk of placenta detaching which will lead to early mc[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] so he mentioned that I shall be having bed rest thru out cum progesterone jab every alternate days.. No more activities for me so got to stay @ e hospital again..sad..

Wendy, glad to know your bb is ok. Don't worry and listen to doctor and rest well. Your bb will be strong for you. Jia you!

Stella>> keep us posted of your scan.. Everytime I would ask my gynae abt the pain and everytime he said there is nothing wrong on the scan.. But I still couldn't help to be worry..

Wendy>> most imptly, bb is ok now. Pls hv a good rest.

Just did my nt scan and blood test (5 tubes) today. I waited and collected my nt result and is blessed to find my result as normal. For blood test, I am keeping my finger cross and hope that my doc do not call me on next week to advice on any result. Cause he mentioned no news is goody news and will see me after 3 weeks. I have experienced terrible headache today after the blood test till now, slept for 3 hrs afternoon nap

and taken 1st ever panadol prescribed by gynae, however, it is still painful now. So night night to all MTB and have a great weekend ahead.

Wendy: Glad to know that your bb is ok! Rest well.

Shasha: Sounds like blood test is quite an ordeal. Urgh, think I may need to supplement on iron... I have had been an anaemic before in my past....

Dawn - hope that you are feeling better. stay cheerful [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

shasha - i had headache after blood test (1 tube only) for the Oscar. after sleeping was much better. hope your ache is gone ..

wendy: rest well and soon you will be well and can be discharged. Smile!!!

hi all, i have not updated in a long time.been too busy with #1 and #2! i just saw dr woodworth on saturday on my edd has been changed to 30 dec.baby is doing fine.supposed to go for my oscar in 2 weeks time. we've decided not to find out the sex of the baby because we already have a boy and a girl.so our only wish for this baby is tat its healthy.

been super tired and nauseous that its scary.asked dr woodworth and he gave me some kind of medication for nausea but it makes me drowsy.so i cant really take otherwise i'll just end up sleeping all the time.

can anybody tell me if i can start drinking bird's nest now? i bought the essence from eys a few days ago. thinking of having a teaspoonful every alternate day.i wonder if this is too much!

Jus visited kkh 24 hr clinic for my cramps. Doc did a scan n bb is fine, hb clearly seen, but he cant tell me y I hv e pain. He said cld b constipation, urine infection or muscle pull. Strange since I gave them a urine sample so if urine infection shd b able to tell right? He jus gave me pills for constipation n painkillers n told me to monitor. If pain doesn't go away then go back again.

Tiny bubu, I heard from frd who consulted TCM can only start taking tonics such as birds nest after 4th month. And strictly no ginseng products. Not sure abt escence though.

Stella: Had just asked the question of you a while ago and found out your answer here. Really glad your bb's ok!

Shasha: Congrats on your good results for NT scan! Hope my results will be good similarly. May I know how you tell what are good NT scan results?

Wendy, take care and rest well. All will be fine for you. Jia you [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi I am a new mummy too, EDD date is 28 Dec 2011 , went for my 3rd check up and doctor says my Amniotic fluid is slightly less , I went to google and found out that this can cause miscarriage ... I am very worried. Does drinking more water helps ?

Hello mummies. Down with sore throat and flu. Very sian. Don't dare to take medication. The sore throat is so bad drinking water hurts.

Hui, maybe drinking more water will help. Did your gynae give advice?

Wendy, glad to know the baby is ok. Be a gd gal and stay in bed. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Everything will be ok. Jiayou!

Stella, sometimes could be the constipation. I get really bad cramps during the constipation days oso. Hope everyrhing goes well!

Gynae says today go blood test at Nuh then after 2 to 3 days result come out then will let me know hope it turns out fine , actually want to tell my friends I am pregnant but I think better hold back

wendy, glad to hear that the baby is ok. listen to doc and rest in bed. jia you [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Had a busy Saturday, rough Sunday and almost ruin this am... Glad to be away from home.

RE: Seat belt clip

Is it safe? How about adjusting the lever by the door to closer to our shoulder? I have never experience this though hb will always pull the bottom strap loose. He says "not too tight for bb". wanna laugh.

Chan, it may not be easy but let not the result affect your mood. Honestly, my test result was not favorable, 1:500 and the benchmark is 1:300. I even see that the nuchal is thicker than my first child, he was then 1:900. Somehow, we have the instinct about the child we are carrying. I hope your doctor explained to your that the result is based on 3 major factors: your age, your blood test and the OSCAR. In my case, my age is the factor that caused the result to be unfavorable.

Cloud92, all will be well for your Amnio, God be with you. Though my result was only 1:500, doctor kept telling us that there is nothing to cause worry. It's really nice (though funny since we were not worry at all) to have such reassuring doctor.

RE: Abstaining

Just carry on your usual activities, don't have to really be overly concern about it. Like what Stella said, just dont be rough. However, should the preg be on the higher risk under doc advice, then better not risk it.

When I had my #1, we abstained since the 2nd stage of the IVF, then I had blood show at turn of 2nd tri so, hubby got scared and finally, it was the C-section.. All in all, it was a whole 1.5 years..

I was told that during preg we can climax better.. So, go ahead and enjoy!

Wendy, you are in my prayer too! Perhaps it's time to reduce your work related stress.

Hui! Congrats!! Hope all will be well for you, it may not be easy, but if you could find a way to take that off your mind. whenever you have that thought, quickly command, "I am a mother and I have the authority, I command that amniotic fluid be at the correct and healthy level!!"

Ok, may be you may not be used to this. But you have to start practising. I believe every mother has been given an authority to protect our child(ren), and with that authority, we can command anything that may harm our child(ren) to leave. I practise this radically and I see result in my son. Out of the 6 kids in our play date, he is the only one who hasnt been sick since last Oct. For a child at 23 months (today), how possible is that? (of course as a Christian, I also must thank God for His divine protection)

I pray for the best in you blood test today!

KK: Thanks for sharing your OSCAR test results. Actually if benchmark is 1:300, your results of 1:500 is good right? Since it means lesser chance for your child than the benchmark? Which is good [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

You had mentioned your age is a factor. I've heard that women above 35 are considered to have higher risk, are you in that age group? Or do you belong to another age range?

Hope you don't mind all these questions. I'm going through my OSCAR test in about 2 weeks time and just want to find out more. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ms Carpe Diem, I heard from another gf her result ratio is different from Raffles hospital. She went to a M'sia hospital, her result was 1:15 (!!!!, very alarming when I heard cos I was unaware that time there is other ratio)

Generally, 1:500 means 1 in 500 chance of DS, which is very high risk cos younger women's results are in the thousands. The benchmark is a guide for the doctors to recommend Amniocentesis because the miscarriage rate thru Amniocentesis is 1:300.

My other gf's result was 1:9000 while I had mine at 1:500 when we were expecting our first kid the same time.

My result was from Raffles and hers was from TMC.

I am turning 40 this year, so doctor thinks that is the reason. Taking my result and change my age, the result will be very much more favorable.

@gretel: firstly congrats on ur baby girl! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] u'r the 2nd in the thread to know ur gender!

secondly, dont get too uptight with ur spotting ok.

i was having spotting in my early wks, and i even bleed. so for me, i totally believe in minimal walking, and rest as much as possible.

dont stress, and tk gd care ya!!

@Wendy: oh dear... pls tk gd care of urself ok! have plenty of rest, and stay positive and strong! im sure bb will b well... do come-by and chat with us if u do feel bored!

@Chan PL: me too, my bloatedness is quite bad so i'm also avoiding heavy meals thou i feel hungry all the time.. and yup, i'm on my maternity pants & loose tops now!

@OSCAR Tests...etc:

jia you to all mommies who r gg for their oscar tests or awaiting for results ok!!

btw, mummies, do you know if its ok to eat durians in 1st tri? i ate on twice occasions, and somehow, i dont feel gd, and 'let out alot of gas'.. perhaps i shuld avoid it...

Hi KK,

Oh I see, thanks for sharing the info about comparison that some results are in the range of thousands. It sounds to me like 499:500 chance of a bb without DS is pretty good too! From the brochure that KKH had given me, it seems better than the average rate for women in that age group.

Are you planning to go on to do the diagnostics tests?

Thanks Jasline for the encouragement! My friend was encouraging me to eat durians because he's strapping tall while the rest of his family are average height. He attributes this to his dad "forcing" his mom to eat durians when pregnant with him! Haha!

Seriously, I've not heard people warning against eating durians when pregnant. But it does sound like a good rule-of-thumb to not eat stuff which doesn't go well with us?

hi mummies, i've been a silent reader on this thread. my edd is 30 dec. I'm looking for confinement lady now, but as the period may cross over to CNY, the quotes are v expensive.

do u know what is a reasonable rate to accept for CL during CNY?

Hi Littlefren, may I know where u buy your maternity clothes? I go kiddy palace ytd can only get pants and T-shirt the clothes size is small. 

@hui - I quite pantang so i only told my family & colleagues abt my preg. Now me at wk12, my frds still duno.

@KK - my result is 1:248 at age 32. This is apparently the risk level of a 35yr. The normal risk level for my age is 1:468. Dr showed me the report rsult is based on all factors: NT (high at 2.6mm), nasal bone, blood, age, bb's heartbeat (slower than normal bb). 2 more days for results to be known. Praying hard & keeping fingers crossed.

@jasline - i ate durians during first 2 mths and felt very uncomfortable, bloated, want to let out gas but it's all stuck at the stomach/chest. This lasted till next morn coz i ate durian after dinner. Since then I've avoided durians [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] However i heard it's gd to eat durian from 2nd tri onwards....

@zmama: i'm having the same EDD as u.. and my current CL is charging me $2.3k (i told her previusly that my EDD is 24dec but it changes nw).. hopefully, she wont charge me extra!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

she also mention to me of 2 angbaos (1st day and last day)

@Chan P L: i tink i m having the same sympton as u.. tink i better avoid it for now thou, i really love eating them!