(2011/12) Dec 2011

my SIL recommend Regina Ford's books on babies and preg...

Can take a look at Chili Padi for confinement food caterer also...my SIL got them last time...

AC: Don't worry that your wife has no MS...she's one of the blessed few! I didn't have any MS in my 1st 2 pregnancies & no ms this time too... Can feel bloated or giddy at times but try to min motion sickness... Drag those brakes in bad traffic jam..can make you feel really sick. Btw, my sis-in-law had IVF twins with no MS too.. All the babies turn u

V well...juz count your blessings..

Thks littlefren & kimiko, though it can be ks & paranoid to some but rather be safe than sorry. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

AC>> I thought I din hv ms until I was week 6! Today seems to better.. Your wife is a lucky lady!

Hi! Haven't been catching up with the posts or a while due to busy life.. Briefly read thru what is on this page only.

RE: Crinone

I found one last one in my cupboard the other day.. Anyone want an extra?

RE: Confinement Lady

I strongly suggest taking a confinement lady/nanny. I heard too many horrid stories of having a relative (esp mom or mil) helping during confinement month. After all, you cannot tell them to help in the night even if you need. And unless they are as experienced as a confinement lady (doing it at least 10 times a year), if not, please do not subject yourself to this just to save money or they insisted.

I have too many girlfriends who did not have proper confinement due to this.

And totally agreed with CP, I already called 2 that were referred to me that sound better than mine before, they were fully booked thru'out the year. Good thing my last CL is currently doing confinement in Brisbane and probably hasnt taken anyone yet..

RE: Confinement advice

Initially, I never give much thought about mothers' advice of the "don'ts" after childbirth. I had a C-section for my #1, and couldn't go bathe in the bathroom. I felt the cleaning by the nurses wasn't clean enough so I went to the bathroom to shower when I could get down from bed that evening. The cold/ pain was felt deeply in my bone.. Something I still remember after almost 2 years! So don't be a hero.

Wendy, Congrats to your successful IVF. I can understand it has to be a great joy. My #1 was also IVF baby. It was my first attempt and a fresh cycle. I failed my FET and depleted all 5 frozen embryos in Oct last year. God is good, He gave me this #2 on my last attempt to conceive. I hope you are able to conceive naturally after this pregnancy.

kimiko..i aso felt so..confinement is impt..will be getting a maid in 1st maybe 3mths before to train her on housekeeping so that have more time with bb..I heard that not many confinement lady wan to take up jan confinement coz of CNY..headache aso..

Little fren...so difficult to go back to normal..feel so sleepy in the afternn n esp i am in sales line..drive all day long..how to lead my life back..my boss still ask me to fly to vietnam office for sales meeting..how to go in my current condition??haiz

CP..yup..everything is $$ in singapore and esp if you are preggy..long n tedious journey..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] My mum is too old to do full confinement for me plus i dont want her to be too tired too..MIL working so definately cant help too..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]c how..let hubby tink abt it..he very relax.

KK..mine is a 1st cycle IVF too..transfer 2 blastocyst but only 1 made it..stored 3..how cum the other 5 of yours doesnt make it??where did you last have yr IVF??

@wendy: i'm in similar situation as u... on my own.. so will be getting a maid in 1or2 mths earlier to get her trained...

As for CL, u can start calling them now..

it is true that not many CL want to do esp if the dates cross over to CNY (esp since next yr CNY in Jan [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] )..

i've managed to secure 1 CL (told her my EDD is 24dec previously), but now my EDD changed to 30dec, and i havent inform her yet... sigh.. hopefully she is ok with the date.. shall confirm with her next mth...

Hi kimiko, my mother will be doing for me. In the sense that she's cooking my meals, bath my bb cos we not suppose to touch water right? Hubby will be taking 2 weeks leave, so I on night shift, he on day for morning, so that I can catch some sleep. Thinking of express n latch or just express so that bb easier to care if somebody take over while I rest. Housework n things like boil herb water for bath n drinks hubby will do but I have also arranged my mum's new maid to come when I need w compensation. Dun want hubby to be overwhelmed by housework n find fatherhood frustrating too. After two weeks, see if can establish a routine... Otherwise, my mum can stay a while longer for me to rest bah...

This is what I'm thinking... Dunno whether will work! Keke! I bought a receipe book on zhuo Yue zi, has all 30 days menu for lunch n dinner planned out. Includes soup that can help reduce water retention in tummy. Thinking ask my mother follow but u know elderly sometimes bit stubborn. See how... At least my own mum, easier to manage. Actually my mil also quite chin chai, but she stay tampines, quite far to come over lah, my mother 1 km away only. ;)

Jasline..yup..everything on my own..haha..lone ranger..will get a maid in mayb oct in case not gd still can change since mine is jan 4th..

I dont know if it is the rite time to call CL coz i am only in my week 9..mayb wait till 1st trimester over..Many dun wan to do coz mine cross over CNY...I think mine is quite accurate..my dr say IVF EDD normally very accurate 1..even the U/S too..never early or late for 1 day..based on the few U/S i had previously..

Very sianz rite??no mood for anything..get tired easily n dun even feel like toking though my hubby keep talking non stop..mood swing..n he kana swing by me too..haha

Hi Wendy,

Didn't know Yr job so demanding..., ya, then I think u should go on leave.... Have Yrself more stablised first ;) if u get a maid, who is going to train Yr maid to bathe bb? Idk, actually can we bath bb ourself in first month? Sorry if my question sounds stupid ;p

Hey Wendy, if CL dun wanna do cny, can u ask whether they ok to stay for 2-3 weeks, prorate of cos, at least can help teach u n maid how to care for bb...

Hi LittleFren..

My job is damm demanding n stressing..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]perhaps this is how i lost my 1st bb..got to travel alot..indo,vietnam,philippines,china..so that is the reason why i take leave till unpaid leave till 1st trimester over..

I will get a maid to help out in housechore since i have several dogs too..at least a helper to help out..coz i think it is so difficult to do things on my own..dun intend to let the maid touch the bb yet coz dun knw their hygiene level too..u know bb v fragile..get sick easily n no medicine will b given coz too small so all depend on their immune system..

Try not to bathe BB on your own 1st..dun touch water will get rheumatism..it seems like every one in the forum have kinda confirm a CL.. except me..haha..jialek..all taken up liao..

Hmmm I also think cannot rely on maid for bb... ;) so ya, I think gd my mum can come help me bath bb. Ya, if u wanna get CL, must order soon! ;)

little fren..i think as long as CL from malaysia..they will not want to take up the job liao coz CNY to them is very big esp all their kids cum back for CNY...

Unless it is from agency lor..but scared sporean very attitude..imagine they say they have something impt to do suddenly @ home n want to go home..??i die..esp it is my 1st BB..actually i find BB very small n fragile..scard to carry..my frenx n relative give birth i dun even dare to carry...haha..

My hubby too..say so small how to carry..later break their limbs.joker he..stressful rite??hopefully own bb is different..mum instinct..haha

Past 2 days felt veri uneasy coz suddenly no more hunger pangs and nauseousness and burping. Today i resume fish oil and felt a bit queasy then felt better. guess still a bit paranoid when suddenly no symptoms.

I met up with ex colleagues for lunch in Raffles Place and was amazed a preggie was wearing a 4 inch heels inside Perfect Mum. Wah. So long since I wore heels.

Have not taken public transport for a while. Despite my 6months looking bump, no one gave up seat for me in the crowded train! Haha. If I'm still in my previous job and have to travel to work on train everyday, I think I will tell the person sitting in the reserved seat "Do you mind if I take the seat instead?" with a smile.

Wendy: I think its really good that you use a CL as your maid also has 5 dogs to take care of. Really to book now. If really cannot find one, then use the agency. Coz if no good, can ask agency to change CL (someone mentioned this earlier). Friends all highligh the importance of having good confinement else easily slip into depression with the hormonal changes, stress of bb etc. =)

Hi Wendy, I also have the same mentality. Everytime I see baby too small, I dare not carry coz they seem so fragile. Was wondering if I dare to carry my own when the time comes. Was hoping that my baby will weigh at least 3kg during birth so will be easier to carry.

I also haven't start looking for CL yet though still yet to discuss with hubby. He'll be fetching me tomorrow then I will talk to him about it. It's been a week since I last saw him, really miss him.. Haha.. But no choice had to do this coz when he works night shift, its difficult for me to sleep and get food from outside and I'll anyhow eat. Whereas with my parents around, they make sure I have enough to eat and funnily I will sleep better also.

TIE..have not see you here for quite sometime too..u get yr cl??Yup..will see how after 1st trimester..since supposed to be pan tang according to dr roland..so never get anything yet..haha..not even viewing..coz i know once i c.i will sure buy..

Any idea what is the mkt rate now Jan BB since CNY is also in Jan??

My appetite is always poor..basically just 2meals per day..eat liao still feel nausea..dun knw why..so basically never gain weight though i look like 5mths preggy too..ovary is now as big as uterus when i do my scan..so make it big n bloated too..haiz..only thing i did is buy the chicken essence coz i like to drink..haha..bot 12 boxes during EYS sale..though not so nice but just buy..coz cheap..haha..when is yr next u/s?

hi kimiko..you are not working now?? my mum aso ask me to go her house to stay @ least got ppl ard rather than staying alone @ home..but i didnt want..rather b alone..i realised whenever i am preggy,i just wan peace..dun even bother to talk too much..even my previous pregnancy..haha..dun knw why too.

I prefer to have not too big bb coz i hope to go by natural though i think quite tough for me..coz i hope to embark on my next cycle of ivf after a few mths bb is born..coz if c-section,i will have to wait for the wound to heal etc..so i am afraid my embryo stored will be wasted..

Alot of things to pondered..haiz..hope to have another brain though..haha

Hi TIE, I also dislike taking public transport esp after getting pregnant. Nobody will give up seats for us even when those young chaps sit at those reserved seats. Last time I will always stand and not sit becoz I think that I don't have to sit and let more ppl have chance to sit if they need to. Now that I need a seat, I don't get one. Sometimes I will feel so irritated I will just tell my mum loudly that next time I shall wear a sign saying that I'm pregnant and see if I get a seat. I feel so bad when I used to be the one to find seats for my mum when we take public transport and now she insist I sit down instead. Maybe should suggest to the authority to fine those young chaps who sit at reserved seats when there's nothing wrong with them. Funnily now that I'm pregnant, when I sit at reserved seats, I get stared at. Was wondering if my clothes were to loose for them to notice my bump -.-

Hi Wendy, I worked myself sick so I stop work for a long time. Finally went back to work then I start to have sleeping problem. Very problematic! So have been staying at home since then. And probably becoz of that I managed to conceive within 3mths when we decided to have baby. I totally didn't expect that coz when I was receiving treatments, those doctors and Chinese physicians say my body is too weak and may not be able to conceive so easily. Even conceive also will suffer. But *touch wood*, so far so good. I believe it's all thanks to adequate rest at home.

Oh ya! I totally forgotten about the c-sect and natural birth issues for baby. If that's the case, I still prefer natural birth like you and wouldn't mind a smaller baby.

Kimiko: Frankly the risk of amnio test is v slim.. I took an amnio test in my 2nd pregnancy..no pain but I saw that big needle after the procedure & got scared thereafter..hee..hee..

Since the Oscar test is ok & I' ll keep the baby no matter what, thinking of skipping the amnio test. But blood test sure fail 'coz anyone hit 35 will fail the test as statistics in Asia have more younger mothers.

If you're thinking of getting the maid to babysit, suggest Filippino as they're born baby-sitters. More hygienic than Indonesians. My previous Filippino maid took care of both my kids since birth so I'm clueless about how to take care of newborns. She was still single then! Planning to learn from scratch with my 3rd baby since I'm now no longer working. Hope to catchup on those baby bonding time.

Hi Littlefren, wow seems like you have everything worked out nicely. But it will be tougher on you becoz when you ask relative to help, they will not be able to help 100% and you have to do more work. You also have to find out the confinement 'rules' and to try to follow on your own which could be quite tough coz being the younger generation, we may not understand why certain things have to be done and skip them only to find out later in a painful way. I was having all these thoughts that's why I start to freak out and think I need a CL even though they cost a lot these days. I really hope this confinement will help improve my health drastically so that I can be like anybody else to work or do business.

kimiko..yup..got to make a rite decision to go for c-section or natural..coz if last min cant make it for natural birth..they charge you on emergency c-section which cost us a bomb compare to the pre arrangement type..

I think rest is very impt loh..previously i went to many chinese physicians and they say my womb very "han"..that y thruout my pregnancy now..i dun take cold drinks n stuffs..even my favourite sashimi..haiz..restricted aso..

Met a nice middle-aged lady who offered to give up her seat to me in a crowded bus last week. Guess what, the young lady standing next to me wanted to take the seat instead! But the middle aged lady was seasoned, she held up her hand to separate he from me talking aloud that the seat was meant for me. That was an inside seat with the lady seating in the outside acting as if nothing happened! Aged that nowadays hong people no longer have proper manners in public transport.

Hi CP, I think better don't go for amnio test since you are keeping the baby no matter what. I agree with you on public transport matters. Previously I was sitting beside my mum in a 2-seaters inside the train and I saw an auntie with her teenage daughter standing beside. So I let the auntie sit, end up she lets her daughter sit! I was thinking if I knew that were to happen, I rather be the one sitting there! Haix..

You may check with your gynae. I went for inducing in my 1st delivery. As the cervix stopped dilating for many hours & somehow my BP kept rising, I had to go for caesarian. As I went to ops within 10hrs of entering the delivery suite, I was charged as elective, not emergency caesarian. Charges are very different for elective caesarian.

If your gynae's skills are good, no pain leh... My 2nd caesearian was smoother & less painful than the 1st. Hopefully, my 3rd caesarian will be better! Since already being cut, I'll ask him to do the nip &tuck procedure as well..for beauty sake..hee..he..

Hi CP, how long does it take for your wound to recover from each caesarian? Really? Can gynae do nip & tuck procedure for us? How much extra to pay?

Food wise - just eat everything in moderation and exclude raw food, liver( vitamin a), unpasterised milk and cheese.

I have stop my milk intake after vomiting food out non stop for about 1 week. Starts to drink my fav coke once every few days cause I have checked that it does not really harm

my Bb.

Drinking chicken essence and bird nest once a week is what I am doing now cause I also dun want to overdose myself with tonic.

Omg, Oscar test requires 4 tube of blood. My doc has problem taking one tube of blood from me during my op testing in nov 2010. That's so scary and my OScar is scheduled on 11 June.

4 tubes of blood?!?! Omg.. I hv another blood test on that day, so total min 5 tubes for me.. *faint* think I need to eat more pu blood food b4 that.

Kimiko: My wound had bad skin allergies problem & maybe I took epidural during the inducing so took about 3 wks to recover. My 2nd recovery was faster - about 1.5 week..maybe it was elective ceasearian, I'm more seasoned + gynae more experienced..hee.. May consider doing libation since I want to stop at 3 liao. - do 3 things at 1 go..fully max the cut..ha..ha.. My good friend did this 3-in-1 procedure with my gynae..everything v smooth. Tummy not so flabby like what I had after my 2nd caesarian. I think my gynae is charging $1500 for the nip & tuck procedure.

Shasha: I prefer those staff whom I call them professional blood suckers to draw the blood for me. They're more experienced as they do nothing except draw blood everyday. Ask for their best supervisor who will be more skilled. So far, the drawing of my blood is a breeze...shows that they're good as my blood veins are v small & blood flow v slow. Try to relax & think of eating what will please you after sacrificing 4 tubes of blood.

Hi CP, thanks for sharing. If I'm having more baby(s), shall look for your gynae as my last stopping point to do the nip and tuck procedure as well [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Any mummies experience sudden decrease in amount of drinking? I used to drink like a fish till week 12 then this week suddenly I stop needing to drink a lot of water and my urine look very yellowish (sorry if you are disgusted). I was wondering if this is natural as we slowly adjust to normal?

kimiko,

i think better to drink more water... i rem my gynae last time told me if my urine starts to look like chinese tea (more thick kind like a bit brown, not those diluted pale yellow color), it means im starting to be dehydrated liao... not sure whats the color u r referring to...

Hi gbh, I still try to drink as much water as I can but not as much as when I felt the constant need to drink water. Hmm.. It's probably yellowish like lemon juice. Before that I hardly get yellow urine, usually is clear colorless urine.

Been 5 days since I dropped by. Now taking a retreat with my 2 kids n Hubby at Bintan Nirwana Resort. Is really great to b away fr the daily stress of S'pore life. Took a swim yesterday, n suprisingly, my m/s disappears...I dun feel nausea, eat alot more n felt less tired. Should come for more holidays[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Wendy,

You also travel alot, n seems to go to those 3rd world countries. Me too. I have to travel monthly to China n Indo. Already dragging to go, esp China. Somemore the place I work is not in city, so hygiene is not so clean. Plus the air is bad, n china food standard is bad...dunno how long I can

AC,

I also cannot tahan my Hubby drive n brake non stop, esp in morning. Cos it will just make my nausea worst n spoilt my whole day. Now I always get him to get out of house 15 min earlier just so he can drive slowly n smoothly.

Hi Jay, I also got 2 young kids, due to this pregnancy din plan for any trips for this school holidays. Hmmm... sounds a good getaway trip from your posting. May I know how did u chose Bintan Nirwana Resort? There are a few more choices as I went into the website and browse. To save me for comparing, I guessed u must have already compared? Thanks for any advise in advance. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@MamaAsh:

can u kindly help me to update the below:

next visit cum Oscar Scab: 24 June

EDD: 30Dec..

guess u r going for ur cruise soon? happy holidays ya!!

@kimiko:

in fact, i have began to dislike drinking water since 2 weeks ago...(indeed, my urine is more yellowish) while i ustd the importance to hydrate myself with water, but i juz simply dont feel like drinking.. i try to take more slices of fruits a day..

@Jay: enjoy ur holidays!!

Morning to all ladies,

Update. I went for my checkup last night. BB is now 9w5d. 28mm with strong heartbeat. Brought my 2 kids into room to see their didi/meimei. They are amazed with the scan and the hb sounds. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Will be doing my OSCAR scan next checkup at 24th June. Din opt for the amonic test,as it is 800 plus?

mamaahs, kindly update for me, EDD changed to 30dec and next check 24th jun. Thanks.

Hi JJJ, hw r u doing?

wah, ur 3rd kid so u muz be very experienced.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

we'r having the same EDD, and similarly my oscar scan is also on 24th June!

where will u be doing ur oscar scan?

erm, but my bb seems smaller at 2.52cm only! haha..

Hi Jasline & JJJ_Mummy,

Hi5 we got the same EDD.

My oscar test will be between 22-24 June, the nurse say will make appt for me than let me know. Than next check up will be 27 June.

Hi Jasline, I saw ur posting after I have posted. yeah! our dates are the same [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

*high 5*

Experienced? I got my mum to help out most of the time thus I still like her little girl...hmm... my hubby been complaining I buay zai for this pregnancy, behaving differently also. Eg, every night i will need his help with the kids, as eversince they aware mummy is pregnant, they are super notti, and i cant control and i also dun wish to cane and shout at them as i scare this will affect the bb. Somemore now school holidays, my gal like bo chap her holidays work unlike that time during the mar holiday, she was quite on. Food wise, i simply cannot take white rice and my last-time fav meehoon. Once I see the white rice, I got no appetite at all... simply love to eat outside packet food.

Strange loh...

yeah jas!! great, now the 3 of us can jiayou together! since our EDD the same, so our progress shuld also be more or less the same!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

so where will u b doing ur oscar scan? my gynae is at TMC, so i will be doing at TMC...

@JJJ

it's great that u've ur mom to help u! seriously, it's not easy managing 2 kids with 1 bb.. so gd that ur hb can help out.. hee..

erm, i tink every pregnancy also different that's u will diff cravings and behave differently...

for me, not much cravings juz that i dont like plain water...

Morning all!

My EDD is a day after Jasline, Jas and JJJ_Mummy's, on the 31st Dec. My OSCAR is scheduled on the 22nd June and my next gynae's appt will be on the 30th june.

My previous scan, when I was in my 8w5d showed the bb at ard 2cm.

It'sso nice to meet mummies having bbs ard the same time [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jasline,

Mine also will be at TMC.

My gynae nv give me a choice, he just pass me the form ask me go TMC scan i also nv ask him can go other hospital just follow lor.