(2011/12) Dec 2011

@Ms Carpe Diem:

great! new year eve's bb!

let's all countdown to our oscar scan..

@jas:

ok, great!

did u apply for TMC - FBI (First Born Incentive) or SBI (Subsequent Born Incentive) card?

i juz heard frm another mommy @Sporty, that we can be entitled to 10% discount for the oscar scan & detailed scan... and there are also other perks... but of coz it comes with a cost for the 2-yr mbrship... i juz applied for it last week, and awaiting for the card... perhaps u can go to their website and have a look... and see if u tink it's worthwhile... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi Jasline, forgot to mention that my gynae clinic is able to to the OSCAR scan and the amonic test. I was like wow! "Can do it here?"

keke...

hello all!

hows everyone doing?

been bz last 2 days so didnt log in!

kimiko, yeah...i also drank less water nowadays..think either too bz or i forgot! i think the urine is yellowish could be the vits n whatever extra tha we are taking also!

jay, sounds like u good hols u had! i also went for a short retreat with my 2 kids n hb to hk 2 weeks back... good tha ur ms's gone!!

jjj mummy, bintan lagoon is a nice resort for kids also...u can consider...

mama ash, u gg for cruise soon eh? have fun!!! wow 3.96kg?! thas big? natural birth?? have a fren who employed a myanmar maid, quite guai and not bad!

wahh so many edd the same day on 31 dec...u all can really "countdown" to 2012! heee

Mamash: I don't hire Indonesian maids 'coz I don't speak Malay. Language problem can be a big headache esp hearing that they're not that bright. Then hear bat the fasting mth when they've no mood/energy to work. Scare religion conflict as I attend church. Generally, Indonesia maids come from more ulu villages so that hygiene can't meet our expectations. Some of their standard practices are unacceptable here too. Often heard about Indo maids use some unorthodox methods against their employers. Of course, there're nice ones but those I know good are hired by my Indo Chinese friends so they know how choose & deal with them.

I've a friend who likes to hire Mymnar maids. They're fewer in supply. Tend to have fairer skin, can be easily mistaken as Chinese. Hv to be more selective to choose those sincerely coming to work.

Fillipino maids will want 1 sun off each mth but I think it's good for them to take a breather. They seem to be more stable emotionally compared to Indo & their culture more civilized so closer to our standards. Many stories about how bad some may be but essence is who you choose lor.. Try not to chose those that look vain lah... Sometimes may have to close 1 eye lor... Frankly, my current Filippino maid may not be as efficient as the previous 1, q hard to teach 'coz she's q old but so long don't give me major headache & not bully my kids, I'm ok in keeping her. At least, I know she won't poison or steal from us. There's no such thing as perfect maid juz like I won't be a perfect employer too..

Wish you all the best in getting a good maid. Better start looking early as now more paperwork & you need time to choose a suitable one.

Jasline and all: I actually hope my delivery can be 2 weeks earlier or so while still having enough time within me to be fully developed... then my bb has 2 more weeks of development time before starting school! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Plus, I'm concerned it being the eve of holiday and all, there may not be enough medical staff around during my delivery.

You all think?

MamaAsh: Thanks for taking the trouble to update the table! Next time you update, may I trouble you to update my BB# as #1?

ms carpe diem, usually we dun pop exactly at edd one...so mb urs could be early lor... ya rite, sometimes public hols or what, the hosp might be crowded! i had a fren who gave birth during national day...she said she was left there for awhile after she popped...before the gynae stitch her up as it was "full hse" tha nite! sounded scary!!

very hungry...whats for lunch gals?

sporty: Yah, I hope I pop earlier rather than later, then don't have to fight with the dragon kids, hee. But of course all these on the presumption that my bb is healthy. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I hope to be a Jan 2012 bb instead, but hor to fight with the dragon babies is a bit siong altho im a dragon myself. :p

Do you guys think if our bb come out in dec will lose out to the rest. Imagine, those born in Jan this year are already learning how to crawl and our's are still little bean in our tummy.

Last night I asked by gynae can delay until Jan 2012 then deliver? He said can be arrange. kekeke...

any mummies going for the motherhood fair today? remember to share some good bargain!

For us first timer, we really don't know what to buy first.

I'm intending to go to the motherhood fair tonight after work! Aiming for breast pumps, car seats and baby cots, but not sure if too early to buy these big ticket items or not. Already had a hard time finding place to store the stroller we bought last wkend!

Re maids

My aunt hired a Myanmar maid and it was a nightmare! After a while she openly declared that she was here to look for a husband and was eyeing my two cousins!!! But think it's a heng suay thing. My sister had friends who sing praises of their Myanmar maids, say they more "pure" and guai, won't talk back etc. Personally I'm less keen on Filipino maids, more pro Indo maids. Probably coz foodwise Indo cooking will be more to our tastebuds, simple Malay can get through to her etc. And also the "network" power of Filipino maids is quite smth here, afraid they will learn from other maids and start bargaining for more rights, more off days, use handphone as and when etc...

wendy - what is crinone applicator ar?

Jasline - No spotting, but doc prescribe me coz i wasn't having any MS and he is abit the KS type.

MamaAsh : Can update for me? Hospital: Mount A, Location: Serangoon Central. Thanks!

Breastpumps - I used Ameda dual pumps, it was ok until the suction wasn't as strong as it was when i first started using. So i ditched it and got an Avent electric/manual pump and later stucked with Avent manual pump coz it is good as can really empty my breasts.

@JJJ_Mummy:

erm, somehow i have also thought abt dec bb may lose out in terms of learning...

but i guess mayb its juz the initial stage..

i tink dragon bb will be so much more competitive! hee..

@Bernice:

wah serious? i m also not having any MS leh... so no MS is also a concern? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

I went for my OSCAR Test on 30/5, everything went smoothly.

This is what happened when doing the blood test with the pretty long hair nurse in Thomson Hospital.

I said : I very scare of injection.

Nurse laughed : Ya i can tell from your face.

I said : Your needle is very thick leh.(pointing to the needle with the yellow cover tube).

Nurse said : Ok, since you said so.(She immediately took a new pack of transparent injection tube with a "FINNER NEEDLE".(Tear open the pack, apply ansetiptic on my inner arm, and poke me.

Nurse said : Pain?

I said : No...(smiling at her).

She left a good impression in my heart, she such a gentle and caring nurse. Kudos to this pretty nurse!

I'm going to the motherhood fair later but I'm not sure what to get first. Is it too early to buy diapers? Coz I have space constraints, may not be able to buy big items yet.

ms carpe diem, yes of cuz...everyone prays for bb's good health!

jjj, ur #1 and #2 came out ard edd? if yes yr #3 got chance to "delay" lor

joanne, i shd be going during the weekend! u juz go n look see what u wanna buy lor

yallo, wow...what did u buy last weekend? the bb cot shd be good deal there...

bernice, peifu u can use the avent manual pumps...aching on the fingers!! hehe

hippy, congrats for the good results!

kimiko, diapers can buy later la cuz the hosp will give 1 pack also n bb will outgrow easier...also first mth maybe can use cheaper diapers as bb tends to shit every now and then...

Did anyone of you experience head spinning?

Last night, i felt as though I just sat the tea cup ride. everything in front of me is spinning round and round. The experience is so uncomfortable. Thought I so lucky no MS. Who know last night gave me this kind of experience.

This morning drove. On the way came the mild spinning.

What do u guys do everyday? currently i am on long MC at home... feeling more and more depress staying at home... feel like crying

just back from motherhood fair.

i wont say many good things. but the pigeon steriliser deal is damn good.

steriliser + warmer + 3 bottles + wipes + cleanser + brush + some other small things for $188.

OK, there is one stall giving free pot. but i felt cheated. i fill up my particulars for a free pot. Pot is good. BUT... i have a bad feeling. i think they gonna scam me big time [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

sporty, my #1 came out 1 weeks later, she no news so eventually had to induce her out and I went thru 8hrs of labour. But my #2 was 2 was 2weeks earlier and only 4hrs, with 3-4push and he was out.

Hmmm, now i cldn't recall the giving birth pain and feeling but I can clearly remember the contractions feeling. In 7+mths time, it will come again.

Actually my hubby is more in favour of Dec cos scare of the dragon rush year babies.

BUnny.... yes yes the free pot scam..... they will go up ur hse and recommend u stuff... i think its some vacumm cleaner or something... then hard sales u... heard from my friends.... if u dun let them go up they will scold u also...

b firm

joanne, be careful when u drive next time... i no head spinning, only having headache at times...sianz!

dawn, work lor...i wish i can be at home! when is ur mc till? nvm la, come in & chat here n u wun be so bored!

jjj, how old is ur #1 and #2? my #1 labour was more than 24 hrs, almost died of waiting... #2 was faster like 2 hrs...so i hope for a fast & smooth labour this time!! i think i still rem contraction pains cuz was trying to shower (one last time) before i go check into hospital, had to pause momentumly becuz of contractions...

ya dawn howw. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] the salesman aka free pot giver verified my handphone.

ya its a vacuum cleaner that kills dust mites at 2.9k.

i read a very sad T&C. 'free gift of 128, $60 cleaning service & product demo comes as a package. appt must be made within 3 mths of regd. if u are unable to make an appt within this time, the free gift must be returned to Delphine singapore p/l (must be in good condition!)

#1 is 7 and #2 is 5. ya loh ya loh, i also showered not once but twice shampoo on my hair somemore. But pushing and sweating, at the end of e process, i was so sticky already. :p

Bunny, the pigeon steriliser deal is at which booth? sound attractive to me.

I wonder should i buy the pump anot. Also dunno got milk anot. Then dunno prefer manual or auto.

Sporty: until next week, but i am going crazy already haha...

Bunny: i am not sure how leh... maybe u can search online see who else have this prob? coz when i was about to sign, my sis in law read the T&C and hold back give back the pot straight

I run an online bussiness selling baby clothing.... now i wanna close down... give me a lot streesss but where my stocks are going is a big problem, another stress.... so stress now....

YA sigh i no read when signing. my bad. all cos i cheapo [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

@joanne at the pigeon fair. super big at expo. u wont miss it. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

dawn...y need to close down? get a partner la...

i have my own side line too...but with 2 other partners...best part is i'm a guy doing a business targetted at ladies...

dawn,

din know that u have an online store? how come nvr tell us in #1 thread? what do u sell?

hmm... stressful ah? i just started my online store few mths back... selling mummies n kids stuff too... since i did so much shopping when i was preggie with #1.. so amazed at some creative n nice items that i nvr seen b4... hahaha... if mummies wanna get slings/nursing covers/breastpads etc esp for 1st time mummies... can go recce my store too...

bunny,

not sure abt delphine but i have a rainbow vacuum cleaner... they are competitor brands... so far i quite like it.. esp the mattress cleaning function which normal cleaners dun have.. but assembly of the hose/metal poles is a total chore to me! it also have a silent mode that u can use when bb is sleeping... hardly any sound... so u can vaccum at night or when bb is napping..

Hi, mamaash

my gynae is dr Peter chew at gleneagles. Next appt on 11 June. Btw, You can delete Elisha which is my original name from the data. Thanks.

Hi Joanne,

Better dun drive if u are feeling well. I puke my lunch again beside my car again. Have to rest enough before starting to drive.

jasline, joanne,

currently i only have the store on facebook. www.facebook.com/gingerbreadtown but the official site will be up somewhere in july/aug.

i will also upload more items soon...

i might do a BP too soon for some of these items... depends on my energy level now... i feel like a lobo person at home like doing nothing nowadays but yet like no time/energy... sigh...

dawn,

if u can keep ur biz will be good, esp if u wanna be a sahm, thats y i started online shop too... so that i can have a biz for myself next time n yet now can spend time with my #1 n #2 n hopefully #3 n #4! hahhaa! but if u really dun wanna do liao, i have a fren who might be keen to start a biz selling clothes too n i can ask her if can take ur stocks...

re driving, do be extra careful, that time when i was preggie with #1, i had a car accident n scared me so much... lucky no injury... but that tramatised me, not so much of the collision but more of what happened after that, that i din dare to drive for quite a while...

@gbh

ok, i on ur FB fanpage! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

awaiting for BP and many more items frm ur shop!

bunny,

re the pot, i think u can let them fix an appt with u but i think u can always refuse to buy after they demo the cleaning, just be firm lor. i dun think they can demand the pot back after u allowed them the chance to demo, can always complain if thats the case. if u dun want the hassle then tell them that u cant fix the appt n see what they says, if they want the pot back, ask them to go ur house to collect.

any mummies still a coffee drinker after preggie? i still take my daily coffee leh... feels a bit guilty but no choice... i need that energy boost esp with #1 around... gynae told me one cup a day is ok but sigh i still feel like im harming my #2... any other way to boost energy without the coffee??