(2011/12) Dec 2011

Hi babypom

I still havent decide who to see in tmc.. May i know why u choose doc benjamin? is he pro to natural delivery? If c-section, is his stiches nice? Does he has package? How do u find him?Thk u so much..

Hi gals who r fr tmc

Is the valet parking free? Or need to pay for their service? Bec if they charge and we oso hv to pay carpark charges then very expensive hor...no where else to park at tmc right?? Thk u..

Thk u thetysea for update the table.. Sorry that i hv not much info to provide yet..

tethysea - thanks for the table!

octbride - i feel the same. i remembered my tummy started to show only on 4th month during 1st preg. but this round, not even 3 mths and i can see it coming out abit already! I heard that tummy tends to show faster and is bigger for 2 and consecutive pregnancies. Reason being the tummy area had been stretched before so its easier to stretch? Dunno if this is right or just a myth?

joanne03 & tiny bubu >> no worries! update me whenever [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Joanne03 - yes he is pro natural from what I hv read from other forum. Not sure on his stitching skill for c section. He has package starting from week 12 at $600 + GST. I am comfort with him at least he do not rush through the consultation and answer questions with patience. Maybe you can fix appt with him and see if you are comfortable before deciding?

Hi babypom

Thk u.. May i know why u hv chosen him? Someone recommend? I ever heard that doc Jocelyn also gd in tmc but seems like no one here use her so far..hmm.. Confuse who to choose...

morning all!

Joanne, i m using dr joycelyn wong for this pregnancy again [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

find her very nice lady, gentle and young..that my family members dint know she is my gynae when they saw the pics i took with her when i gave birth..they tot she is my fren..her stitching heard is good...i think ok lah..no complain..(i oso quite chin chye person)

Good morning ladies!

Tethysea: hi, please help me update [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Gynae: Prof John Tee

Hospital: KKH

Next appt: 9 May

Bunny: saw your post, and it make me laugh cos I am the same. After puking, though I hate it, kinda smile as well as it gives me a sign that bb is growing LOL!! As for food, TEOCHEW PORRIDGE YUM YUM!! I love it. Goes down easily, if need to, it comes out easily too hahaha! But really, yesterday I had one of the best meal in these 2 months!

Btw, have u ladies did any routine checkup yet???

morning ladies!!! (hate waking up in the morning for work.... esp now..)

clarrisa, EDD is estimated by the size of baby?? so meaning it will change again???

tethysea, ur sis's colleague didnt know she is preg?? it reminds me of one of the shows on cable "home and health".. apparently, there r really ppl who didnt know they preg due to irregular cycles and no symptons!

kimiko, thanks... now i really wish i m not working.. esp when waking up.. argh!!

haha!! ur idea is funny... but it will be fun to have a big celebrations!! but ur relatives will be broke.. need to prepare 2 pressie... + 1 xmas pressie..

2boysmummy, no chance!! haha!! my appt was 235pm but i was there at abt 215... also, went in very quickly! she charge oscar test at $350++??must get ready the $$ liaoz... ytd, they said they will also tell me abt the package next appt... wonder how much would that be... do we have to confirm on the spot and pay??? if need to confirm on the spot den prob need to bring more $$$ le..

btw, did u see the poster at the door?? it says how much is the hospital package leh!! hubby says maybe taking 1 bedded..

cloud942, y u duwan dragon baby?? deb baby lose out?? i am a dec baby leh + pre-matured somemore.. no wonder i kuku blur blur ben ben de.. lolx!!!

jasline84, my LMP is 1st march... y u thinking of going at week 8?

tethysea, WOW!!! the table is great!!! thanks a lot for your effort!!!

bunny, u can stone or find somewhere to hide at work?? so good.. dun worry.. hope this MS will go off soon....

Octbride_78, tummy getting bigger is normal.. due to wind... i also asked my doc ytd... i was also shocked initially... so obvious like almost 3mths!!!

jac - i have no idea! I suspect maybe in the initial month? Cos when I do a calculation my EDD should be like 10th Dec...than when I see gynae, he measure this and that.. than it appears 28th Nov..its quite a difference..

bunny - you are so funny! you say you stong at some quiet corners. Now i know if i see ppl at quiet corners stonning.. means they are preggy! hahahaha

Morning all!

Actually I was quite disappointed when I first found out the baby EDD is likely to be in Dec. Coz I'm worried children born in year end would be disadvantaged, especially in their early years. I had wanted to try for Jan baby!

But now, got different problem liao. What if confinement period overlap with CNY! From what I read, the usual market rate for confinement lady is $1.8k to $2k for 28days duration. Damn ex!!! Cannot imagine the price they will mark up to over CNY faint.

clarrisa, when is ur next appt?? maybe scan again and see if there is anymore changes??

yallo, u just reminded me to check 2012 ph calendar.. didnt realised cny next year is so early, which is late jan... dun worry.. unless ur edd is late dec..if not most likely wun clash bah.. coz actual delivery usually is before EDD de..

u engaging confinement lady?? i still thinking of doing it at my own hse to save $$... if not, will prob ask my hubby's godmum coz she is 1!! but the prob is... where she sleeps??

feeling very bad now... running nose, feeling very cold and bad nausea.. something stuck in throat.. a bit hungry but dun feel like eating anything...

Hi yallo

Do agree with you some sort about having dec baby. I have one which was born earlier of the months and her learning capability is much faster than her peers. However, dun worried too much about that too. My cousin-in-law is a doc and he is born in dec too!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] hee

Hi ladies, have you all thought of C-section? hmm maybe thats the way to avoid being clash with CNY cos normally it will be earlier. However the recovery is slower.

Hi Clarissa,

Ya, edd will change.... Like mine, it was initially later than what I expected but now seems to grow faster n earlier than initial edd by few days. Hubby says maybe bb wanna give others headstart.... Keke! But my doc didn't bother to alter the edd, he still stick to initial one.... Think he not very bothered since may change again... Haha!

Hmmm, since yesterday, been hvg some weird feel in v area on n off. Like some pulling feeling..... Makes me uneasy.... Anyone w same experience?

Octbride, i tot of c-sec too! cos i heard if u give birth too many times naturaly...will affect sexual activities (cos the V abit bigger already)? Is it true for those who hv 2 kids already?

Hi Clarissa,

Ya, edd will change.... Like mine, it was initially later than what I expected but now seems to grow faster n earlier than initial edd by few days. Hubby says maybe bb wanna give others headstart.... Keke! But my doc didn't bother to alter the edd, he still stick to initial one.... Think he not very bothered since may change again... Haha!

Hmmm, since yesterday, been hvg some weird feel in v area on n off. Like some pulling feeling..... Makes me uneasy.... Anyone w same experience?

Jac: You mean you'll stay with your parents?? Initiatlly I thought of doing that too!!! I think we all prefer our own mothers to help right, instead of engaging some stranger. But my parents have a lot of misgivings about that, mainly worried about how it will appear to my in-laws. Like, if my in-laws (and their other relatives) want to visit the baby, need to go all the way to my parents' place. Very strange right??? Sigh so complicated...

Octbride78: I thought natural birth is better, coz can stay awake throughout then hear the baby's first cry and hug & kiss it immediately hee hee (like how it happens in the movies!). I'm scared of surgery! Then the father cannot be by the side too.

manunited: Really got such thing?????? I've not heard of it before! Faint..

Hihi, any gynae to recommend for me??? I am in the east area, prefer sundays open, or at night.... coz i hope hubby to come with me...

I hope I could join this thread as last night n this morning I tested with 1 Wondfo pregnancy Test n 1 Clearblue with both positive signs. Not sure is it accurate cause I calculate if I'm really preg I will be in the 3rd wk furthermore this morning have spotting. So early stage can test positive meh?

Normally when u ladies test the pregnancy kit?

yes can test very very early de... some even claim can test the next day u missed period, but i thik tooo kua chang liao.... maybe around few weeks after missed period ba...

Previous c-section, i went for epidural. That means i am still awake and the recovery is supposed be faster than GE instead. Hence still can hear bb cries and hugs and kisses.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

But natural is of course still better than C-section . I wanted to try natural this time.. but thinking it will clash with CNY, think better not. Otherwise i feel bad that my child + hubby have to stuck and couldnt go anywhere becos of me [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

To add on, the father will be on my side if i opt for c section epidural

welcome dawn!!! where do u stay at the east?? my clinic is at bedok int. the gynae got clinic at parkway east also.. both clinics not open on sunday but think her bedok clinic got night session will 8pm on certain days i think.

i got a fren who tested positive after on the 3rd or 4th day after missing her period.. so i think it depends on individual bah..

manunited, the latest EDD from gynae is 17th dec..

hello Sharon!! sometimes it can be tested positive early... maybe u might wanna confirm with a doc or wait for a few days more??

yallo, u r lucky.. i tested once when i suspect not right and once after missing period for 1 week.. but both negative! lolx!! maybe hcg not high enough..

Octbride_78, what is GE?? c section epidural?? but after the epidural effects goes off, the pain is very bad de right?? my cousin went for c-section.. can see she is in great pain after giving birth leh.. i dun think yours will clash with cny bah.. coz EDD not accurate de right? usualy will be a couple weeks before..

btw, may i know when confinement starts?? after discharge or after giving birth?

yallo, i staying with my in-laws (MIL and SIL).. but all working.. so that day me and hubby was talking.. maybe go back my place do confinement coz my mum is not working so she can take care of me.. plus comparing both home, my MIL's home always no 1 in de.. all got their own prog... but my hse diff.. most of the time got ppl at hm.. so at least got ppl to take care of me and attend to me if i need anything..

tethysea, thx for the table. maybe u can update when u free for me... current having #3 bb, EDD shd be around 13 Dec, most prob will change after i see my gynae on 9 May @ KKH, KT Tan. thx!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Octbride_78, have u check w yr gynae if can go natural for #2 since yr #1 is by c-section? cos my friend is like u, her gynae strongly suggest not, cos she scare her #1 stitch may torn during the natural birth, since lots of pushing is required.

Jac, confinement starts the moment after u gave birth! So can't shower in hospital too! :p

Yallo, i tested the next day i miss my period, & result is positive liao. guess it depends on individual. but u know if yr cycle is the norm 28 days or longer?

As for CL, i am getting one again, cos i need to rest & i love confinement food... during my #1, my MIL did for me, & she didn't expect to stay over, so the first few days was very bad for a first time mum like me, breakdown, so hb ask MIL to stay over for the confinement mth. Then comes #2, we decided to get a CL, since CL will do housework for us too, cos pai seh to ask MIL to do housework!! yes, CL rate is going up, my #2, which was in 2007 charged me $1.8k, now #3, CL charge me $2.1k, some r charging $2.2k too! As for where to sleep, i'll let CL share my bed, so hb sleep elsewhere, so that his sleep won't be disturb from the night feeds or bb cries, as he's a teacher, so need to get up @ 5:30am... tough for him...

manunited, ehm, this is my #3, first 2 bbs are thru natural, so far sexual activity ok leh, hb nvr complain of big V! hahaha... :p i heard of mummies asking the gynae to stitch more so leave a smaller V hole... maybe u can tell yr gynae tat... :p

Jac, confinement can start after giving birth, so better to start drinking longan red date tea instead of plain water. N hospital food shld b confinement style as well. TMC gives that n they hv tasty papaya fish soup which is good for breast milk supply.

Yallo, ya me didn't expect to kena a dec bb too. Tot maybe won't kena again but who knows got it haha

oh ya... my hb will call my MIL the moment we go to the delivery suite, then she prepare the longan drink & once i deliver, will have longan drink liao, no more plain water since then. KKH also have confinement food...

cloud942, me same as u, i didn't expect to be preggie again.. had wanted a dragon instead of a rabbit! hahaha...

Thk u bbpom

May i know does doc benjamin provide mc or time chit if we go for checkup?

Hi manunited

I see.. She also got package right? Thk u..

Hello ladies! It's so nice to see so many chatting here..

Jac: Haha! I figured that it's better for my relatives to be broke than I go broke :x Besides my baby will be the first 'grandchild' at my father's side so I can imagine how much Ang bao my baby will get [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Cloud, how are you feeling? Did you manage to see any doc yesterday?

Yallo, like you I also prefer my mum to help me with confinement but I'm staying with my in-laws and my parents also think that it's not nice if I go back for confinement or anything. So it's like no choice and to think that I'm not even on best of terms with my MIL, it will be quite tough.

Hi Sharon, welcome! For me, it's kinda weird. I already got some vibes that I might be pregnant even before I missed my period. When I did miss my period, I test just 1-2days after missing and I got positive results already.

Littlefren, I got some odd feelings down there last week as well. It may be the pulling that you mentioned but it also felt like got something pressing on and off down there.

Kimiko, thanks for asking [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] felt much better last evening, no more aches, guess the bed rest helps. Really gotta be careful n not 'overwork' during this period. I'll stick to seeing gynae next week, hope all will be good. For me I felt the pulling at the lower abdomen yesterday.

Actually MamaAsh is right, if get our mums or mil to do confinement, we will still need to do some chores ourselves in a way cos pai sei to ask elders to do. That's wat I faced, so in the end cannot really rest properly. Plus I was v weak then. My friend also mentioned abt this to me...

kimiko: oh dear, I feel for you when you say you're not on the best of terms with your MIL. Hopefully everything turns out well! Maybe because I haven't been married for that long (only 6mths) but yah, the feeling around my MIL is just guai4 guai4 de.

mamaAsh: Huh you mean natural birth also need to stitch??? Faint! I didn't know that!!! Wah $2.2k for a confinement lady is really really expensive [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] sigh...

cloud: So you ended up doing all the household chores by yourself still? Oh no. Coz I'm engaging a part-time helper now, those come once a week type. So actually the only household chores I'm doing now is laundry. Thinking maybe can still tahan and do that myself during confinement, so no need confinement lady? Want to discuss this with my hubby then he will be like aiyah still so far away! Why talk about it now! =/

yallo, if u really need a CL, u muz source for one now & book her liao. those good ones oredi booked!! my advise is for u to get a CL, reason being if u in confinement, u actually can't touch water, tat's the traditional way lah, so for me, i really no touch water, even for brushing & washing, i used only boiled water. & if u're intending to breastfeed, u really have no time for housework. cos for new borns, some bb will take 30mins to an hour for each feed, so can really be tiring. and if bb dont drink enuf, u may even need to pump out, so by the time u finish pumping, bb wakes up for milk again!! unless yr hb is willing to help out. cos for my 1st one, my hb tot confinement easy, juz need his mum to cook for me, but in the end really alot to do. so subsequent #2, he say get CL, now i ask him for #3 how? he say get CL of cos!! I told him abt the increase in the rate, he say ok, no prob, esp when i still have 2 toddlers to busy with...

Yes, natural also need stitching, cos gynae will cut so bb can get out, to prevent tear. juz a few stitches lah, u won't feel the pain cos u'll be immuned to the pain liao! haha...

manunited, u drink after yr 1st trimester, liang cha & barley also... not drink too much lah...

Wow mummies didn't know CL so ex if 2k+ still need give them ang bao and also the food they buy need 1k+ mah?

Really Siong. But I heard fren say also la in law or mum do hor we pai sey give them do so many things but CL will do everything for us.

Think having a good CL will be good hear horrible stories of some CL also. My hubby fren wife even fan lian with de fren who intro her de so call suppose good CL end up create lot of troubles for them.

Unfortunately I will not be able to continue the preg journey with you girls. Today went for checkup and the uterus was empty. I kinda expected it because all my symptoms completely and suddenly disappeared on Monday morning and I had a few small clots w my spotting. So am feeling very calm about it, I think because I'm already mentally prepared.

The only thing I'm pissed off about is the way the gynae treated me - as if I'm some frail young thing that cannot take the blow. Pui! Women are stronger than that!

Someone needs to take over the table from me - any volunteers? :p Give me your email so that I can send the excel file to you!

Hi tethysea,

Very sorry to hear abt Yr loss n gd to know that u are a strong gal. I went thru the same thing last Yr, had very bad spotting n when I went to doc, bb was already out that I didn't even need d n c. Cried real hard when I came hm but told myself if it's mine, it will be. Pls take good care of yourself n take care like mini confinement. Rem to avoid seafood like shelf fish, prawn sotong to avoid infection. Hope the doc gave u MC to rest. Recover well n baby dust will fall on u soon ;) take care!

I'm ok to take over if no one volunteers. ;) If I can't figure out, will call for help n pass to another person ;p

tethysea, so sorry to hear about it... yes, u need a mini confinement.. rest well & take good care so can prepare yr body for the next bb!! I can take over yr table, no prob... can send to me [email protected]

jas, agree... CL is really by luck, my friend also kenna a terrible CL for her #1 that when her #2 came, she rather have a maid than a CL! haha... but #2 was ok, but after a few recommendations to frieds & collegs, they complain she's diff fr the one i describe, so now i also dun recommend liao... the one i had booked is fr a friend also... juz hope her standard is being maintained lor... :p

the 2 angbaos no need to be very big lah, first one u can give like $20 or wat lah... the last one depends lor, if u think she's really good, then give more else another $20-$50 is enuf lah... for food, depends on wat u wanna eat lah, $1k is more then enuf lah...

Tethysea,

So sorry to hear tat.

Must take care and have a good rest.

MamaAsh,

Tats the problem my hubby fren wife also bao 2 digits to the CL when she last day den u koe wat ? The CL throw de ang bao infront of them saying at least need 3 digits.

Tethysea, take care n rest well...

Yallo, ya still hv to do certain things myself. It's basically a busy month with no sleep! Plus first bb so no much experience yet...