(2011/11) Nov 2011

aw bb,

fruit enzymes are very popular in m'sia and gaining more and more popularity in singapore. here is a link on the benefits. http://www.healthxchange.com.sg/healthyliving/ManagingChronicIllnesses/Pages/DIY-Fruit-Enzyme.aspx

but this takes a lot of dedication to do and i'm very fortunate my mom is into such things. lol! these fruit enzymes are a lot better than drinking manuka honey! my whole family found a lot of benefit in drinking this and all of us hardly fall sick. i haven't start giving my babe any, but will start in a couple of months' time. she had a lot when she was still in my tummy though and can really see the difference. so far her immunity has been very good. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

AW_BBGab

i going amnio coz my previous pregnanacy my bb got chromosomes problem.. so for the next pregnancy need to do lor.. although my hubby n my blood no problem la.. but John tee say if we wan to take can take lor.. u can try call the clinic n ask.. tt time i call almost every few days.. the nurse there is vvv nice..

lynzi,

sorry to hear about your 2 angels. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] didn't know about that..

i will be very scared to touch the dolls 'cos once got emotional attachment to it, i would wonder if i have gone mental. :p it's a fine line between obsession and mere admiration for an object.

janice,

make sure your hubby goes with you for the classes! otherwise wasted 'cos you will tend to forget a lot of things. got hubby there can help and also learn to be a hands-on father. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Awbb, for chicken essence u can double boil. Use 1 chicken, remove the skin, put 1 bowl inside n put the chicken on it without water n double boil for abt 2 hrs. Drink the essence. So far I didn't take the boil bird nest cod I've the bottled one

lynzi - thanks. i have been craving bryani but the thought of the amt of calories is turning me off!!

awbb - as a pte patient the service shld be better so dont worry too much!

dunno if it is the weather or the preg hormones but recently i keep feeling very warm and get daily headache

Starry, ok thanks. So I can sign up at tmc? If weekends my dh shd b able to go [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Little one, shd be our hormones. I feel warm n occasional headache too.

Btw anybody experience neck pain? Mine like aching causing me with giddiness

lynzi,

i myself don't have that patience to make le! but if you are really keen, popular always have a few titles solely on making fruit enzymes. it's a very colourful book with a lot of pics and step by step instructions. even tells you what fruits good for what purpose. i mix and drink all the neutral ones. except ginger, which is more heaty and supposed to be good especially during confinement.

anyway, i cannot resist them! 'cos very fragrant, sweet and tangy with a tinge of bitterness. that kind of flavor i don't know how to explain. and all fruit enzymes will have slight taste like alcohol due to the natural fruit sugars being fermented. can say it's kinda like an acquired taste. my favourite is the red dragon fruit ones. best!

janice,

yup! can sign up at tmc. got weekend classes also. if i'm not wrong, weekday classes are at amk hub, weekend at tmc itself.

little one,

i find myself getting heaty too but maybe it's due to lack of proper sleep/rest + hormones in overdrive. likely will feel even warmer during 3rd tri. hubby was freezing under covers in the room with fan + aircon at 23 degrees yet i was without covers and still hot!

Morning Mummies

Chanced upon this post and dropped by to say hi.. Into my 17th week and realised that I know nuts about pregnance and what to buy.. Abit kan cheong especially after seeing how you mummies seem so well-prepared..

For me, I have no slight idea what to get.. Will be reading around the foum for very helpful advise contributed by you gals..

Oh ya, my due date is 11 Nov.. really looking forward to it.. And alittle of my update for today.. MY BACK IS ACHING LIKE CRAZY TODAY.. ARGH...

See you gals ard!

Starry, TMC parking is terrible [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Amk hub better butt weekdays sure cannot hmmm

Rena, hee u r not alone. Me too dunno wat to prepare n wat to buy and was told not to buy bb stuff now too... Yr due date is 11/11? nice date I wish to hv 1/11/11 or 11/11/11 too but mine is 9/11/11

Starry,

sounds very cheem to make leh.

If turn mouldy then have to throw.

Maybe your mum can make n sell to us..hehe

Rena,

Awbb,

chatty nevermind as long as she does her work well.

Just ignore her chatting.

lynzi,

i also told her before that she's so good at this she should make and sell! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] anyway, JP has one little organic store just outside fairprice xtra. it sells fruit enzymes too! apparently more and more ppl are starting to find out about the benefits and buying them. but expensive, 'cos laborious and ingredients not cheap.

Finally lunch time Liao, having macdonald meal, yummy! Awbb: jus went to Chinese physician yesterday to get tonic herbs for my little one, he told me not to take pineapple n dangui.

hi lynzi, is the enfamamma sample choc flavor? ;p hee hee... a bit picky since i hate plain one. wa, i was walking by the dessert stall just now and i was also drooling after the tau suan.. too bad i was very full..

welcome rena!

Starry,

wasnt easy to get to where i am today.

Thats why i didnt join this thread till i was past my first tri.

Ooh..tell your mum, she can earn money from selling to us.

If not then bopian, i must go down jp to get the fruit enzymes.

good afternoon mummies!!

lynzi - yesh,esp after i manage to finish the subway..so happy..the rest i take bites.haha

little one - i was prescribed compression socks to wear during my hosp stay and the physiotherapist says later part of my preg i'll have to start wearing at home or sleeping to prevent blood clots.

nw juz enjoy n relax..coz when baby pop u'll b super bz to relax liao.

starry - if your mummy is selling let me know.wahahaha

Huishan: think I will lunz till tmr then call. Ya the nurses are very nice, huge diff between normal subsidized class and private.

Janice: thank u!! What type of chicken u use??? Any or some specific will be nicer??

Lynzi: normally think I m ok but then now dun knw why I find it irritating. ESP early in morn when I wake up and rushing breakfast for dh and gab, she have to chat. I just wake up lor!!!! GRRRR beware of this pregger hahaha!

Previously I went to raffles place, now they also got one branch at orchard. It's called focus pilates.

Julia: now I feel like having Mac!!!!! Hahahaha! Ok ok so I shall avoid dangui. I am going hockhua , is good right???

Rena: hi!!

Awbb,

i always use kampong chicken to make chix essence.

U going hockhua to get what?

Aabunny,

sadly they are all vanilla flavour..hee

yeah! my ASOS order arrived! thanks to the ladies who recommend the website! am very happy with my purchase [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] now am tempted to get more! ;p

Awbb: I seldom go hockhua cos feel tat they always hardsell. I always go to my regular Chinese med hall cos got pregnant after taking his herbs. I had two failed pregnacy b4 taking chinese herb.

mommies keen in buying your own raw birds nest to double-boil, oct thread got one mommy with good lobang. can go take a look. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

lynzi,

where u stay? i think can give you some to try first. i have a lot of cucumber ones at home in my fridge. thing is, must keep chilled so gotta make space in fridge.

aabunny,

my asos order haven't reach me yet le.. hope by this week will see it in the mail! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

mummies, if im not KKH patient, can i still buy obimin and fish oil from KKH? or KKH patient will have some subsidy?

awbb

haha.. ya lor.. my last pregnancy i switch half way from another hospital.. the nurse at the private clinic there super rude de lor.. was super glad i switch to KKH..

aabunny

when u order? although i mentioned it is still abit exp but i went around cc look look.. sg all sell exp also lor... so i cannot tahan.. last fri place order liao.. haha.. but dunno need wait how long.. they say will deliver b4 17 June but my bro say always late de.. T.T

Bfly: my gynae at kkh only prescribe me multi vitamin, I bought the fish oil from outside. The vitamins is foc cos it sample pack. Gg for detail scan next mon at kkh will find out for you then.

Thinking of getting bird nest leh any herbs like cordyceps.

Julia: which medical hall u go??

I m going parkway later, any medical hall to recommend there?

Re: Fruit Essence

Any organic store has those issit? How ex are they and do you just take spoonfuls like honey? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I'm not taking much to supplement my diet now aside the pills doc gave! Hmm...

Aabunny, Starry: My ASOS also hasn't arrived! Lucky you, Aabunny!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I hope my stuff arrives before I leave for Bali!! Starry, have you stuff from Book Depository arrived? I also hoping to get those before I go, then can read and relax in Bali! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Starry: Oh, sth very random. Not sure if you have the same pills as me from Dr Yam, but everytime I eat them I feel like they're candy - so brightly coloured one!!

little one - actually they say wear everyday lah,but hor..i seldom wear coz very hot.haha

it helps improve blood circulation prevent deep vein thrombosis.

but tink ltr part of 2 tri and 3rd i'll wear to sleep.

since can't have much movements.

Any mummies here go for excercise classes eg. yoga etc??? I m keen to go for excercise classes but seems like cc do not cater for preg ladies!

Julia: Thanks alot!!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I saw someone posted that obimin in KKH sells 30s $5+. I was thinking if i walk in will i be able to get it at this price.

ent29,

me too still waiting for my book depository orders! tracked online status and says dispatched. i ordered 5 books and they were dispatched over 1st, 2nd and 3rd June. think still need to wait a few more days to find them in the mail.

re: fruit enzymes

not sure if all organic food shops will have. i only know the one in JP has it. saw before. and each bottle can be like $50-$60. of 'cos cheaper if homemade! but homemade ones will have a bit of 'zha' which some ppl doesn't take.

re: doc yam

lol! yeah, like candy! he's such a nice doc, isn't he? always so cheerful. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] btw, what pills did he give you? i have the fish oils and iron pills (which i am not taking). folic acid i bought them from guardian myself.

Starry: Yeah, he's such a happy doc! And he humanises my baby (the previous one was more distant) and calls us mummy daddy. Hehe. And yup, I have the fish oil (bright blue!) and iron pills with vitamins (bright red!)...Heh. Are we still supposed to take folic acid? Oops. I stopped a long time ago! And I hope my books come soooooooooon...

re: ASOS

I placed my ASOS orders on 24 May and I got my orders in the mail on Tuesday.

So tempted to order more but gonna hold on for a while. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Starry,

im at admiralty woodlands.

My asos also not here yet.

Hopefully can reach this week so i can wear to work next week..hehe

Ent29,

book depository always tend to take some time to reach me.

Cant wait to read your Gina Ford is it?

Hehe..

ent29,

yeah, he will call me and my hubby 'mummy' and 'daddy' too. haha! at first i wasn't quite used to it, but he is a very jovial doc. will also chit chat about other things and won't rush thru the appt at all. when i had my bleeding scare, he was also very concerned and very gentle in explaining things to me. unlike my previous gynae who was very robotic and no feeling at all even when i had my spotting. everytime went to see him also feel scared of kena scolding. dr yam in comparison is like a breath of fresh air! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

re: folic acid

not sure if still need to take but i just continue. sometimes will forget. but i won't worry too much lah. i always have dinner and soups made with love at my mom's place. already very nutrient packed! last time i even had another little bag of multi-vit pills. this time round not taking those multi-vits.

speaking of soups, mommies please do try to drink more nutritious soups. those homecooked soups boiled for hours are simply the best! even if it's just good ol' ABC, corn soup, lotus root soups etc. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] before i married hubby, he was always sick. after being married, he will always have a few doses of mommy's soup every week and now hardly sick. really makes a difference!

For those who wants to join the muslin blanket/swaddle spree, I've posted the Amazon links on our FB page. It's a bit difficult for me to post each individual item out. So better to refer both the links there. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Lynzi: YAHH! That's my main concern. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Would be nice to bring a more useful book to read on my trip!

Starry: Doc mentioned the bright iron pills contain some multi-vits too...So am quite glad about that. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Lucky you, your mum sounds like an amazing amazing woman. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Awbb: the one tat I went is near parkway but close at 3pm daily.Ban choon chan medical hall Blk 81 #01-636 marine parade central spore 440081. Closed on tue and PH. Open from 830am to 3pm, sun till 12pm. Bfly: Np, get back to you next mon then.

ent29,

oh, really? thought those are purely iron pills le. and they look like those 'xiang si dou'. haha!

my mom is really amazing. learnt a lot of things esp in the kitchen from her. she's a fantastic cook. her 'lor bak' and hong zao chicken are really to die for. hee hee! jadelyn loves her food so much i really think she knows the difference who made it. she always gobbles up everything at my moms. whereas at my place during weekends, she needs some cajoling to finish up everything. pampered..