(2011/11) Nov 2011

thank you ladies! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I just went to see her in the hospital earlier this afternoon and she's doing well, heard her crying and watched her kicking away rather vigorously too! Her birth tag and tiny little heart rate monitor all kicked off by her. Feels good to see her so active! And the staff nurse told me I can start carrying and latching her anytime, as long as I've recovered from my cough.

Berrypie,

Will upload some pics once I can use my laptop. Otherwise all the pics are on my FB.

Babyzel,

Just have to be very careful now since it's like the last lap for you. At least you know what's coming and what to anticipate and prepare/prevent it. 3-4weeks to stay in hosp is very very long!! Poor thing, your friend.. I was admitted on Monday night and popped on Wednesday evening. By Thursday I was dying to go back home! Can't imagine staying a month. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Twink,

Thanks! Oh VBAC is abbreviation for vaginal birth after csect. Usually doctors don't encourage unless the gap is more than 2 yrs from last csect. So odd that NUH doctors allowed. But I'm thankful! Cos it was my dream to do that after I was told I had to undergo csect for my first baby due to her being breeched.

Simp,

Her weight was 1.32kg at birth. Very small babe. Luckily we live in an era where premature babies are well taken care of with all the high tech machines and equipment. I didn't move abt a lot leh. No one knows for sure what triggered off the early labour. Likelihood is my bad cough bad. Still feel bad about it... Sigh.. So yes, please take care of your health and watch what you do because it REALLY matters. Thanks for keeping us in your prayers! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Starry,

My gf popped last night at week 34 via c-sect.

Yup, now it is kinda like the last lap n got to take good care.

It's good news that u can start latching on once u are ready.

All of us got to really take good care of ourselves n babies n may all babies be healthy!

Shjean- I had tried the lemongrass shampoo but my scalp feel itchy.I only use head and shoulders,think i will just stick on with it.

Starry-Your bb getting stronger,good news..How you know you are giving birth,i mean the symptons? I had a whole day of terrible aching and cramp last few days.I was thinking that i cant be possible to give birth so i ignore and went to sleep.Next morning i felt better.I am having low placenta too.

Babyzel,

Wow, thats fast! But 34 weeks is also considered safe. Likely satin NICU for 2 weeks bah.

Little bb,

My mucus plug dropped out on Monday afternoon ard 4pm. I immediately knew something is not right.. So made appt to see gynae at night. He did VE on me to check dilation cos usually when dilated then the plug will come out. I was found to be 1 cm dilated. No contractions or anything, but he sent me to Mt A delivery ward to be placed in CTG for monitoring. It was found that I have some irregular contractions so I was warded for observation and placed on drip to stop contractions. To cut long story short, the drip helped initially but then contractions kept coming back. Very frequent. Like once every 2 minutes. Painful ones. That was when I knew baby couldn't wait to come out le. Only managed to delay for 2 days and popped on Wednesday.

starry,

Thanks for the explanation!Now then i know what is VBAC.hee.. great to know your baby is very active. so were you able to express ur milk for her to drink instead as now you still cannot latch her on?

Hey starrymommy, ur bb sure cant wait to see the world! Congrats & wow, thanks for sharing -- didnt know there is such a thing called mucus plug till i saw your post. So bleeding could be a symptom that the mucus plug has dropped out??

U have a great confinement and take care yah =))

Btw, I been having slight cramps that occurs like every 30 mins or so... And my tummy feels kinda funny .. Is this normal? =pp Should I be worried / alarmed?? =p Any mommy has the same feeling too?

I also keep having cramps... So i am going to take leave and stay at home yang tai...

Today will go to my gynae and ask him..

Starry-thanks for the explanation.Now i can clearly get the picture.Glad that everythings fine,phew...Rest well & may your bb be united wif u soon.

I am having terrible cramps & aching last few days esp below my tummy.i can hardly walk & will have to carry my tummy when i walk.After a nite slp,the cramps gone so didnt bother to see my gynae.

Felixp,fynn,

When I was expecting my no 1, my contractions came at week 34. It's like very bad menstrual cramps n the pain come every 15-20 mins n my back was aching a lot. The pain lasted the whole evening n I tried to ignore it by sleeping.few days later, the same pain came back n lasted the whole day. I took panadol. I didn't know it was contractions. 2 days later was due for checkup then told gynae wat happened. I was put on the ctg n contractions were mild but about 1cm dilated. I got steroid jabs for 2 days n monitored weekly n then was induced at week 37.

If the cramp doesn't last too long, I think should be ok. If the cramp persists like more than half a day better check with doc.

My cramps n pain iseveryday... On n off... My virgina there also pain... Lie down also pain... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

oic... Fynn... u oso experiencing cramps.. Can you let me know wat ur gynae says after your appointment? I am not sure if I wanna see my gynae cos other than the cramps, i feel okay and my bb has been extraordinary active today -- been feeling her kicking almost every half to 1 hr...

Hi seems like quite a few of u are experience cramps. Me start to pant when walking, stomach getting heavier and baby very active everyday.

Hello all, so busy at work. Wanna join in but don have much time on hand..

Am hearing alot of cramps from you mummies~ do rest more and be careful..

Will be praying for all of you. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

*hugs*

Gotta head back to work ler. Jia yous!

hi fynn/felix,

me also had cramps on and off for the past few weeks..many times a day at different timing. it can happen when my baby kick alot OR when i make sudden movement or for no apparent reasons.

i did ask doc before he told me not to worry as this is braxton hicks.Only if interval getting shorter,frequency increased or painful then need to check.

Mine like alot of times a day. maybe i shld start counting the no. of times. what is normal per day??

i also find my tummy getting heavier..its more difficult to walk now.

Hi gals ..

Suddenly feel that I am not only ones who get the cramp .. My hubby say I am too stress so Feel cramp.. Look like it's normal to feel so.. Anyway next month I gg to see gyn ..

Hope my bb can be heavy abit as I have vomitting on and off too..

Hi hi me too hv cramps n doc said cos our tummy is getting heavier so it's normal. My tummy do keep pulling n contracting since week 20 & recently doc told me cld be braxton hicks contraction.

My vaginal oso pain sometimes esp when baby is kicking n sharp pain at lower tummy dunno is it cause by baby moving inside. Some days my baby not very active leh n doesn't kick much. Dunno shd b worry or not

Hees... Thanks mommies!! Glad to hear we are all experiencing the same symptoms ;)) felt more reassuring now [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif])

Btw, my friend shared w me this website http://luvbabies.kimsang.com.sg/ for cheaper diapers with foc delivery for purchases above $200... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif])

Hmmm... My gynae said it's due to pressure... He gave me mc to rest lo and medication to stop the tightness at the abdominal... But the medication hv side effects lei... My hubby dun let me take unless really cannot take it...

Haiz... Stand pain, sit also pain... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] now my hubby dun even let me go NTUc... Dun let me go out...

Maybe as we progress , we tend to have problems like back acnes and cramp.. Think most of our bb will pop out in end of oct or nov.. Just bear with it as it's the final few weeks to go..

Like my case, I am hospitalize in my first trimester and second trimester.. Just hope that everything will be fine and bb can be born smoothly..

Finally its friday! Tomorrow is my gynae appointment,had been waiting for 5weeks.Really looking forward & hope to hear good news.Wondering how my bb had grown & hoping my placenta have go up abit.

Kiamkiam, why u hospitalise???

Hmm... anyone know for MOE staff, to utilise hospitalisation leave, need to really stay in hospital or not??? Or, our medical certificate can also utilise hospitalisation leave? =( So confusing..

littlebb,

your gynae advise on ur placenta on each visit? cuz i haven been advise on this before and is it important for mummies to know about the position of our placenta?

am not feeling that much of cramps now. but more of itchiness on the tummy. am trying not to scratch it. any mummies having the same experience?

Kiamkiam

A few of us also very high risk like u, got problems in early stages and later stages of pregnancy. What happened? I was also hospitalized in my 2nd trimester and i think there are other mommies here as well also hospitalized due to other reason.

Fynn

If ur mc states hospital leave instead of medical leave, it will be hospital leave utilization and would not affect ur medical leave count unless u finish the hospital leave.

Update

I went for checkup yesterday. Gynae noticed that leg is swelling already and want me to rest more and listen to my body to rest. BB is growing well and abt 1.25kg at wk 28. Placenta continues to be low and maybe touching cervix. Gynae din want to confirm my ward booking at tmc, he wants me to see the head at tmc scanning center for a 2nd review 4 weeks later on my placenta and fibroid condition to assess my suitability to deliver via csec at tmc. If not safe for me, then i have to change to kkh/nuh or hospital with full amenities. My preference to remain in tmc may not materialize since i may run into complications while delivering. It' wait and see approach nearer delivery. I wonder if i can really delivery at week 37 onwards, bb may come out earlier if bleeding occurs anytime from now till then.

NUH/ KKH

Any recommendations for senior gynae/consultant to handle high risk pregnancy mommies, please let me know. I need to standby for my case since they dun allow pte gynae in their hospital.

Cramps, Itchiness

Pauline

I have more cramps at pelvic/groin these days when i over-exerted myself whenever walking or standing too long. I think my tummy at the side is expanding so getting itchy. Now i put on more oil after shower and i need to order another bottle of oil soon.

Oh... Simp... U take care wor... Haiz... All our little rabbits want to jump out of our tummy earlier sia... Haha!!

Anyway, if my mc stated medical leave then can itbe counted towards hospitalisation leave? if not, then have to ask my gynae le...

My tummy hv a lot of stretch marks liao... All already as if can see the inside of my tummy... Those stretch lines are redish-black lo... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] despite putting alot of anti stretch mark cream, they still appears...

Pauline-My gynae will advise on my placenta each visit.For the last 3visits,my placenta was low hence may be opting for csection.

Cramps/itchness

I had been feeling cramps,aching & itchness as well.Ytd nite had heartburn.

Simp-You must rest more,hope can delay till full term.Dont worry too much,everytings will be fine.

Stretch mark

I only have blue purple stretch marks around my left breast,right breast dont have.My tummy only have a dark line from the gastric to the lower tummy.my tights alot of cellulite but no stretch mark.I only applied once before i sleep.Stretch mark creams used up every fast.

Hi all, it's finally gg to be end of the work day for me .. another 30 mins to go =p

Simp, Kiamkiam, Little bb, please take good care, have lotsa rest and all the best for you, your bunnies and delivery =pp

So far, when i visited my gynae (Dr Ang), he doesnt really say much; so i guess that everything's fine. But then my bb weighs 1.05 kg at 28 weeks -- some mommies whose bunnies are of similar weight said that their gynae advised that its underweight but Dr Ang said it's fine; he also did not said anything abt my placenta at all -- i oso didnt ask ... hmm... different gynaes have differing views bah; i try not to stress myself out by thinking too much...

Fynn, if ur mc states it's an MC, dun think can be counted towards hosp leave. Ask your gynae to re-issue the mc can?? U have exhuasted your mc issit?

Hehe! I think so...

I want to use up all my mc n hospital leavebefore I go on no-pay leave mah... I will call my sch on monday and see how... Can gynae give hospitalisation leave too??

Hey all,

Glad its the weekend, I'm exhausted.

Simp, take good care and have lots of rest!

Just went for my checkup, baby at 28 weeks is slightly less than 1kg. Must be the smallest among you guys. But Dr Tseng says baby is of average weight, err so I dun need to worry right? So glad she has moved to a head down position so can stop kicking me down there =P

Little bb

Oh, and i also have this dark line running from my belly button down to the bottom of my tummy! Couldn't resist asking, dr says such pigmentation is normal. Haiz, the hubby says my tummy look like a watermelon now.

Ok hope everyone have a great weekend and take good care!!

Itchiness

seen more mummies getting this prob. just to show me having #2 and i had terrible rashes again when expecting #1, the rashes is very itchy and spread thru out e body.

if u hv rashes, do not use normal body soap. change to those suitable for ecema like physiogel.. for me e case was terrible and i turn to chinese TCM. as this my 2nd time 'mentally' prepared bu the rashes can be terrble. gynea may pres some steriod but its very dehydrating and i can have many sleepless nite.

do rem to use rich mositurier. i use from QV or physogel.. exp thou but bo bian. that day went for my massage and brought along my QV, she uses a lot as my skin really turn dry and the cream QV gets 'suck' up fast..

Simp, I am also one of those mummies who is having low placenta. Gynae had scheduled me to go tmc to scan my placenta position this cming 21st.. If placenta is stuck to my c-sect wound, gynae will refer me to KKH..

starrymommy

congrats to the arrival of ur little one. when wld she be discharge? u are brave to go thru VBAC. had e intention to try also but after some time decided to go thru csection agaian for #2 as thinking of sterlisation as well.

cramp and leg pain

was having bad leg pain last few wks (again same symtoms as my #1) and this time worse off cos tummy bloat up so fast. we bot e osim usqueeze did help. few weeks din get leg cramp but don kw why yest suddenly exp 3 cramps in 1 nite.. maybe cos e weight is pushing down again

Simp> I also trans from Thom med to KKh becos I got chsicken pox at my week 14 of my preg..

KKh highly recom their senior consultant , dr cs tee John to take over my case.. So I enjoy my past three month plus with Dr tee as he is very experienc gyn in high risk preg.. Dr tee is very famous in kkh and he is under private gyn class in KK so he have night clinic in amk too.. Appreciate that KK cure me and take over my case when my ex gyn, AL Lim just left me and my gal to our own fate.. KKh is gd and confident to handle high risk preg unlike normal private gyn..

Felix> I am labelled as high risk preg due my chicken pox issue that I contracted during my week 14 preg.. KKh doc hospitalize me and ensure I am fully cure .. Due the chicken pox med, doc say that bb maybe affected so they need closely monitor her growth.. Even told us dun buy any bb stuff until my 5 mth detailed scan.. Lucky , the 5 mth scan show that her development are normal..

I will help everyone to pray that all of us have a healthy little rabbit

Fynn> I took both hospital leave and mc .. Cos gyn say only if I am hospitalize then they can write hl .. Up to date I have taken 9 mc and 15 hl.. Frankly speaking my comp not happy and ask me to convert a few days mc to my al.. Somemore my comp is semi govt that have the benefit of 30 mc and 60 hl per year..

I am not sure moe system .. But many boss dun understand cos many of my friends are forced to resign in private comp..

Today gynae appointment everythings great.At about week 30 my bb weighing 1.3kg.Bb head is down in a right position,placenta had went up so i can try for natural birth.Had confirmed my hospital ward too.

Hi little bb, glad to hear that you had a smooth n enjoyable appointment. Wish all the mummies here enjoy our last tri of pregnancy n of coz have our healthy n happy rabbit bbs.

Cramp

So far I had four times of leg cramp at night and during my

class they teach us to stretch and massage our leg muscle. I think it helps if we can do the exercise daily.

Itchiness

I also feel tummy itchy especially after shower n I was told not to scratch also.

Apply for maternity leave

Any mummy has submitted the maternity leave form to ur HR? Some of my friends say can submit after bb is born.

find that recently i really don hv e energy and its really tiring.. any mummies have problem walking? am going to 27wks only and my edd suppose to be in 1st week of dec...

today e lady at the returant was asking if i am going to pop i say no.. still close to 3mths away in fact..

Fion-I shopped alot even when i am pregnant,can even go for babymoon at 2nd tri.I swim and brisk walk every week.Recently i cant walked much too.i will get very tired and my tummy will start to feel aches and cramps.Went ikea this afternoon,have to immediately find a place to sit after exit.

Little bb> my hr say ask me to call back when I have give birth.. But I will be clearing my last yrs in oct as I still have abt 11 days to clear.. Hr say can apply leave if I wan to start my ml two week before my due day..

Tiredness

I will feel very tired if I stand for more than 30 min on the bus .. Walking still not that bad... Can still shop abt 2-3 hr for my last min bb shopping..

littlebb-when i have my #1 st ok can still walk almost e whole of my 1ast 2 days before my plan csection. but #2 terrible, now already no enegery to walk. yesterday nite ask my hb to help me massage and he refuse despite seeing my walking in pain last nite. this morning he can ask why i bs him and tell him #1 at least he help me massage, #2 he don even bother and always say he tire and i shld do more stretching n rest at home -.- initially was small leg tire he buy e foot massage, now the pain stretch up to upper tighs. this add on to my suffering since last few wks of rashes, sleepless nite and bad bad flu since fri eveening

Hi Fion,

me also having more problem walking esp up slopes and stairs. i need my hubby to give me a push from behind when walkin on slopes. hee..

my calves/thighs/back and spine is aching more now.i cant imagine how to cope when the baby grows somemore in the nxt 2 mths.

Little bb,

So glad ur bb is turn to the natural birth position! i am still a wk away frm my nxt appt. wonder wats my bb's position now. i have a feeling it is still breech cuz my stomach still move from side to side when she kicks.

shjean,

my company can start submit 2mths before EDD. i havent apply, think can start submission in the nxt few weeks. we must all make sure our annual leave are cleared before gg maternity leave else will be forfeited.

peony jade yam mooncake

finally got a taste of it! my hubby bought a box for me and its really nice and soft filling! not too sweet! made me feel less guilty eating them. hee..

Think can start applying your annual leave before going for maternity leave.As for me,i had just started maternity leave this month.i had cleared all my annual leave last two weeks.

Twink-my bb head had went down so bascially the strong kicks im experiencing is his legs kicking me.While i am lying down to do the scan,bb kicking me at the right side of the tummy,i told the gynae and he scan that area & there was his legs kicking me.Amazing..

fion,

thanks! it's wasn't that i am brave to go for VBAC. the doctors at NUH were great and assured me that it will be fine, considering i had csect barely 10 months ago. think they gave me courage for it. initially i thought need to do emergency csect. halfway during the pushing, i was damn scared my old csect wound would rupture! thankfully everything went smoothly and i only suffered a small natural tear down there.

mummies having 3rd tri discomforts and problems, please hang in there and ENDURE! it's the final lap for you ladies, so just hang on for the next 10 weeks or so. very fast over and soon you will be holding your precious little bundle in your arms. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

here is a photo of jazeree.. she's doing well, breathing on her own with all the lines (on hands and feet to deliver nutrients into her bloodstream) removed, except for the feeding tube in her mouth. she's a tiny, tiny babe at only 1.2kg with a lot of growing to do. hope my breastmilk will help her put on weight fast!

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5990279.jpg]

re: low placenta

there is no explanation for this. i had low placenta during 1st tri too and bled very badly, as if i had menses. thot would lose her for sure that time! but placenta managed to move high up later in 2nd tri. hope those mummies who still have low placenta problem to rest well and not over exert yourselves.

Starry, nice pic. The baby has lots of hair too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]. Hope she grow faster so she can go home soon.