(2011/10) Oct 2011

Hi rejoy,

My bb is Oso like dat. Partly I suspect we trained her to prefer the bottle Coz my confinement lady is lazy to wait for me to latch then supplement with bottle. I had to supplement with bottle Coz since start bb seems to drink little from latching n will fall aslp, so v fast get hungry again.

I feel lopsided now. One side of my breast previously engorged before now supplying only half the amt of milk compared to my other side. Is this normal? It's not engorged alrdy.

Hi cream donut and sweet snow, when I give birth, for the first 2-3 days, I breastfeed her, after that the nipples are cracked n bleed due to wrong latching n PD ordered to stopped till nipples recovered, frm then on, she is bottled feed... When nipples recovered, she no longer ve the patient to latch on...

Was very depressed at first bt now console myself that at least she is drinking breast milk oso just nt frm my breast.....

I can't keep up wif her demand so ve to supplement her wif fm... N also she tends to get hungry faster when feed her BM.

I only pump 20mins each time, thinking is tt y the 'high milk' is not in, tt y she get hungry so easily...

Cream donut: how to condition my let down, that day went to PD, she ask me if I can feel the milk flowing when Bb is sucking.... I say I can't.... Is tt normal?

Hi rejoy,

Although my ss is enough I'm thinking of supplementing bb with fm. Coz her jaundince seems to be coming back n I hear fm will help. Sigh, I Hv enough supply Oso no use, can only store in freezer until bb improve.

I pump ard 30 mins. 15min both side then I will pump 1 side at a time n use my spare hand to massage. V tiring.

Rejoy, I can't feel my milk flowing as well. I heard from my sis in law that she feel it during letdown. I'm also wondering if it's normal that I don't feel anything.

rejoy28 (rejoy28) : dun be depressed, its ok for bb to be on ebm which still has all the nutrients [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] its true bm get hungry faster, so its normal. when u say u feed bb 80ml in ur previous post, do u mean just bm or bm+fm=80ml?

i read tt latch on at least 10min so tt hindmilk is given to bb, so i tink wen u pump 20min (double pump?) shld have the hindmilk already. bt as mentioned earlier, even with hindmilk, bb gets hungry easier with bm as compared to fm. have to feed more often of abt 2hr interval.

for conditioning let down, it will have to take some time and practice, so will have to be patient with the "training" in order to see results. i.e have to be very disciplined. basically is to use cues to train your brain to react and produce a let down, and u can do so by trying to nurse in as close to the same setting and same circumstances every time, or have at least one thing that u do that's the same every time u nurse (e.g. listen to same music, smell a certain smell (baby's clothes?), drink the same drink in the same cup, etc.). If u begin routinely using a few of these let-down cues, ur body will undst that it is time to feed and let down is faster.

mrschun (mrschun) : yups, for isetan member and 2 guests. its easy to sign up as an isetan member, so u can give it a try if u are interested [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] r u can ask sm1 at the entrance if u can tag along go in with them as their guest loh.

i tink the next private sale shld b either later half of this month or next month.

MnM (mnm2009),rejoy28 (rejoy28): for me, i can feel the let-down. its like many needles suddenly poking at the breasts. some say its like an electric shock feeling. its usually more obvious for me when the time is nearing the "2hr feeding schedule", n not so much during the actual feeding.

bt dun worry, not all mums feel the let-down effect one. so its ok and normal, nothing to worry about if u dun feel it cos the milk is still coming out mah. actually better not to feel it la, its quite painful for that 10sec or so. not like its a spa/relaxing feeling anyway, haha.

MnM (mnm2009): u gave $70 for the CL that left or to the new CL?

hows ur new replacement CL? u said getting a new one on sat right?

Creamdonut, I gave $70 to the 1st one. Cos my 1st ang bao was $50 already. When we sent her off we gave her another $20. $70 is too much for her and the mess that she created.

The new one came on sat. She was so much better. She was shocked by the mess in the kitchen, fridge and bb's room. She helped us tidy up everything. Now my house is more organized. The only thing that I don't like abt her is that she doesn't like to feed bb with expressed milk and wants to give formula at night. I have 2 cups of EM in the fridge but last night she make FM for bb instead. According to her, cold EM has wind that is not good for bb. But a lot of mummies here are feeding their babies with EM. Was quite upset. In the end I got to freeze the 2 cups of EM so as not to throw them away.

have been a silent reader. Had delivered my babes in Septembe instead of October. Have been reading your post daily.

Sweetsnow,

You mentioned that your bb jaundice came back, it is probably due to the high ginger intake as you have a CL to cook for you.

My bb had the same problem. Jaundice does not seem to go away even after a month. PD called for a second blood test as he was afraid that liver was not functioning. It turned out to be breast milk jaundice. Once I cut my intake of ginger, bb's face does not appear to be yellowish anymore.

This is a very good website with lots of information on breastfeeding.

http://www.breastfeedingbasics.com/articles/jaundice-in-the-breastfed-baby

http://www.breastfeedingbasics.com/articles/increasing-your-milk-supply

Hi blackbatz,

Thank u so much for the website. 1 of the sites stated that breastmilk jaundice will go away on it's own even with continued breastfeeding. This is v consoling.

Doc did say that after the phototherapy, bb jaundice will come back a little. However if not serious, then no need to see doc again n just let bb recover on her own. Its just that you dunno how "little" of jaundice is in the safe acceptable range, that's y I'm concerned.

My house can't get any morning sun n it's been cloudy lately. I hope feeding bb fm tonight can help with the jaundice.

Bb is almost 3wks old. If like doc say, her jaundice will start dropping abt 1mth old, then I will definitely b more relieved

Hi sweetsnow

My bb also has jaundice. He was a late preterm bb so was kept in kk for phototheraphy for 3 days. This is the 2nd week and i hope his jaundice wd go away as we need to send him to clinic to check every few days like twice a week. Now hb and cl are sending bb to check on his jaundice. Today i just started pig trotters with vinegar and finer after 12 days of rest from csec. Not sure if it wd up his jaundice level. It has been up a little every time we send him to clinic to check his jaundice. He still looks red and the eyes still looks a little yellow. We did check if we need to sun him but gp says no need. Last time my girl full term has slight jaundice but was advised to do sunning in the morning. This time my bb has more serious jaundice but no need to sun. I wonder why as well.

I didn't feel the letdown for my first one but this time I can. Mainly a sharp pain in my nipples. When I am latching and there is a letdown, I can see a sudden change in my girl's sucking pattern. She also seems to bite down harder and having both sensations together is so painful that I have to clench my teeth. So feeling the let down is also no fun I tell you [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif](

I will be giving $80 to my CL in all. She is leaving on this thurs and she has another job the very next day! Now getting worried. Havent been handling baby much besides feeding and occasionally changing diapers. I just started to learn to bath baby yesterday! Hope it is not too late to get the hang of it.

sweetsnow - once jaundice reaches its peak high, the level will go down slowly ,dun worry.

i did sunbathe my son when he got jaundice, morning or evening sun for 10mins or sunlight that shine into the house, doc dun recommend cos of dehydration.

hi, usually i feed the BB full BM or FM. Now usually i feed the BB BM during the day and FM during the night so that she can sleep longer at night.

My bb is an owl, usually at night she is more alert and when she cries is non stop n it get on everybody nerve esp my PIL n hubby...

quite depressing actually, cause hubby would come and ask me what did i do to make the BB cries so badly.... haii...

MnM (mnm2009): wow, u still quite generous leh. if my CL makes me so angry I probably will not give her a second ang bao liao, hahah!

huh, so she will not give cold EBM to bb? maybe just explain to her nicely that you really want to give bb the EBM and do not mind the "wind"? if cold food have wind then we are like those primitive ppl with no fridge, want to eat chicken must kill at the backyard and cook. lol. bt ok la, u freeze now then can use it to feed at night after CL leaves. then can rest more as compared to latch on at night.

Sweetsnow (sweetsnow): can try put near window even if cloudy. cos main thing is to get UV rays, not direct sunlight. just that cloudy days lesser UV rays loh.

Simp (simp): maybe for serious case, sunlight does not really help/work anymore? my pd did ask me to sun bb, altho pd say bb slight level jaundice only. the jaundice went away in about 10 days with sunning.

leeoh (leeoh) : ya, quite pain hor? its like an alarm clock for me to remind me its close to feeding time, haha! as for learning the bb stuff, just have confidence in yourself. do slowly and correctly better than panick and do wrongly! jia you!

Libra_bb (piglit21) : best not to apply anything. if its heat rash, try to wipe bb's neck with cool boiled water in the afternoon (if you bathe bb in the morn) and once more in the evening before sunset. if its milk rash, then mus rem wipe bb's mouth n cheeks after feeding.

rejoy28 (rejoy28) : oic. rem to pump at nite so tt supply will not drop ya? my bb also more alert at nite. daytime sleep n sleep. tink they still haven got use to day/night concept. i did try to put bb near light in the day and dim lights at night, as this is what those books recommend. does bb cry after feed or like sleep halfway wake up and cry?

Sweetsnow,

I'm sure baby will be going for PD's checkup in 1 month's time. PD will be able to advise you.

After all the blood test, sunning etc. PD said that my son's breastmilk jandice will go away and no need to sun. My bb was also borned prematurely too.

Hope you find the website useful as it has a lot of information about breastfeeding.

Rejoy,

You block out their remarks. This is my third bb and hubby also asked me what I did to make baby cry so loudly when my CL left. He had forgotten that babies cry for milk every 2 hourly. In the end, I made him sleep in another room while baby and I sleep together. This way he had a good night rest and can help me with the other kids during the day.

mnm2009,

Maybe can get a warmer to heat up the BM in the room. I think if u insist on her feeding BM, there's no reason why she should not do it. Afterall, she is just a CL, not MOTHER-IN-LAW! Your insistence should not offend her.

Creamdonut, me and my hubby didn't want to make things ugly so we gave her the 2nd ang bao. Haha. Very generous huh.

Spoken to my CL. She says my bb is very impatient and will scream at the top of his voice, so can't wait to heat up the EBM. Bb will wake everyone up. She will pass me the bb to feed at night. Not sure if it's an excuse or what.

MnM (mnm2009) : hahah, ya loh. can jus give her black face, no need ang bao ;p

huh, the warmer is only like 10min right. she cant carry the baby for 10min?? another way is to let the chilled milk stand at room temp first, max 4hrs, so that when put into warmer only need 3-5min. so after one feed, u can prep for next feed by taking out the chilled milk to stand. u can also jus let the warmer keep running, just that have to pay for the electrical charges for that few hours loh.

Sweetsnow,

Not sure about polyclinic cos I go to a PD. T

MnM, warmer won't take so long. How can she pass the baby to you to feed? She should be alert to any noise made by baby. Can agar agar know baby's feeding timing what. Supposing last feed was 11 pm, at the next feed if she hears baby making noises, she should check the clock. If it's around 1 am, she should get ready to warm up the EBM liao before bb starts crying for milk.

Sweetsnow

I bring BB to polyclinic for jaundice chk too. But they jus prick BB's feet n tell u e jaundice level n has to go back every wk.. my BB also mth but jaundice level still at 183 n polyclinic consider high n say need to be below 100! Btw my BB has been hospitalized for jaundice n was under UV for 2 days hope he'll go down fast soon.

Letdown

Funny thing is tat when BB feeds on 1 side I sometimes will feel milk coming in on e other side but not one e side he's feeding! When I'm out for few hrs i'll feel e same. Not sure is this letdown?

Hi all mummmies,

Have been a silent reader since start of pregancy. Hope to join in the discussion here from today onward. I delivered my second boy on the 28th of last month.

Bubblygeekypig,

The leaking of milk from the other breast is due to stimulation from from the feeding breast. When the let down effect happens, you should feel very obvious tingling sensation and sudden harden of both breasts. You won't miss it when it comes.

Can i check with you mummies how much your bb is drinking at 12 day old.

When my ds was just 1 week old he was already drinking 90ml at 3 hourly. And now at 12 days old

he started to take in more at 120ml at every 3.5 hourly. Pd says it's ok to give more cos bb at his age is going through growth spurt.

Since pd say no problem.. i will just continue to feed..i just don't remember my elder was drinking this much last time..

Hi YA, how heavy is ur baby? I gave birth on the 25th oct. when I brought my bb for check up when she is 7 days old, the PD teach mi roughly hw to calculate the feed. Weight x 150/7 feed on average... My Bb weights at 3.5kg at 7 days so she is feeding ard 70-80ml per feed bt I am feeding her breast milk from bottle so sometimes she wld feed more as she get hungry easier.

If your PD says that it is ok, I wld think is ok cause every baby is different n unique in her or his way.

Btw, my bb puts on 400g in 5 days, at first m worried of over feeding too bt since PD says tt is ok, I can only trust in their pofessional view.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Blackbatz, hubby is already zzz in another room....

I nod he dun mean that I on purpose make bb cries but still when I heard it, it still hurts, ESP now when the hormones are haywire and feeling emo so easily... Crying over little little things is so common now...

Bt I think crying out is better than I bottom up everything inside ba... My MIL told me hubby dun like me to cry over little little things n I muz be strong... Haii.. M thinking inside my heart, I rather cry all I wan rather than I endure n break down...

Sorry for long message, I juz need to let out steam...

Bubblygeekypig,

Dun worry abt warding bb for phototherapy. It's v safe n effective. It's better than like me, at home and worrying abt bb's jaundice lvl. When my bb was discharged from phototherapy, then u realized how yellow she was previously.it was so nce to see my bb's fair skin when she was discharged.

YA,

My CL says how much bb drink Oso depends on the interval between each feed. Dunno if my bb is Hving growth spurt but she drinks only 70ml but EVERY hour!

Rejoy,

I overslept again! It's been 6hrs since my last pump instead of 3hrly. If I extend to pumping 4hourly, will it affect my supply?

CL haven't been letting me latch (due to her convenience). Will this Oso affect my ss?

MnM,

My CL kiasu (or just really lazy). She can defrost a few bottle of ebm in the afternoon for easy warming anytime. Like blackbatz said, they Shld b able to understand bb's feeding habit n plan in adv for the next feed. You can ask her warm the milk earlier n keep it in the warmer until bb asks for milk.

Eh, this is abit off topic but I realized I got nothing nice to wear for my bb shower. Prepregnancy clothes r too small n I dun wanna wear oversized pregnancy clothes. Any online sites to recommend?

Sweetsnow,

You should latch in the day. Otherwise, once CL leaves, you will find that baby does not want to latch on anymore.

http://singaporemotherhood.com/articles/2011/09/clearing-the-air-on-nipple-confusion/

It is a tough period for mummies especially when babies are crying for milk every hourly. Nearly tore my hair out and thought that I did not have enough milk supply when bb drank almost every hourly. Latch until I wanted to die and my nipples became sore.

Sweetsnow...me too..i cant fit in my old clothes..all too tight. I think i'll try to find dress...loose dress for the bb shower.

Mommies...are your nipples sensitive from the BF (latch or pump)?

My nipples are very sensitive now and i have to wear nursing pad in my bra to avoid any slight friction.

Not sure if anyone of you can explain the logic. I used to express my BM but it's never enough to meet my bb's demand. I have only abt 30-40ml of milk and have to top up with FM.

But ever since the PD says the FM is too heaty for my bb i tried to latch on directly and each time 1hr plus. And she managed to sleep her way through to the next feeding.

I don't und the logic...anyone of you can explain?

Cream donut: no demand = no supply, if you do not latch or pump, eventually there will be no milk.

Winny: according to my gynae n PD, they ask me to latch the bb as much as possible rather than pumping cause when latch on, the way Bb suck is different frm the pumping, the more bb latch on, the more milk you wld produce... Very much faster than you pump...

Hi rejoy28, really? But i would not know when is enough for her.

If i let her "push away" it takes almost an hour or more than that. So long.

How about your bb? Also so long?

Wow, some of yr babies drink a lot! Mine still averaging 50-60ml per 2-3 hourly...

Re: Clothes

actually I can already wear back my old clothes.. But mostly sleeveless n can't wear my sleeveless clothes becos of the stupid lump on my armpit... I need new clothes too!!

Re: frequency of pump

wow some of u r so hardworking. Every 2-3 hours one pump.. I guess there's no right answer to how frequent ur pumping should be as long as there's enough milk for ur baby.

Wanna ask how long did it take before clearing out the discharge? Anybody still had lochia discharge 2 weeks after delivry?

Sweetsnow

My BB alr discharge from e phototheraphy thingy but aft tat jaundice level went up agn..

Eliaw

My lochia till now 1 mth alr still got abit like those brown discharge now!

Hi bubblygeekypig & eliaw, are you nipples very sensitive now? Now when i wear my bra i must be careful too...