(2011/10) Oct 2011

I am finally at week 37 today, have been doing foot reflex, eating spicy food and prenatal massage almost daily but still no sign of labor. Every time, I go out pp comment my tummy is really huge. I also paiseh loh.... Hiaz, back and pelvic hurt a lots....

Cannot wait to pop soon. My next gynae appointment is on 10 oct, very tempted to ask him to induce ...

Hi jojobar,

I'm in my wk 36 and have told my gynae that I will induce at wk 38.. I cant take it.. So tiring.. Btw, nw my appt is every wk..

Intact my gynae told me I'm ready to give birth anytime.. I suppose it's bcos my bb is big and it's my 2nd bb..

So let count down to the day...

Hi jojo,

Same same. This is my second baby and the gynae also told me is bigger than previous. My last check up a week 36, the machine state the baby is 3,5 kg !!!but gynae assure say machine is only estimate not accurate and us usually higher than the actual.

My appointment also weekly but gynae away from 1st to 8th oct. So next appointment on 10th. If I can into labour now, gynae back up dr Ann tan will deliver for me, I know her and given her high profile credential, I will be in safe hand. But I still feel more confident with the delivery with my gynae as he had all background info....

Ya, let count down together. Where you will delivering ?

Jojobar,

Your baby so big ah? Did gynae suggest to go natural or c-sec?

My next appt at 38weeks is this say... I'm quite sure my doc will say my baby big.

I hope to deliver next week... but so far my braxton hicks seems like false alarm only.

Hi sweetsnow,

Ya loh. When I was at week 30, the machine already estimate baby at 2kg. Then at week 33 to 4, I hit 3kg already, funny thing is from week 30 to 36, I put on abt 1kg only.

My gynae is pro natural, he still think is viable to go natural at this stage with the baby position and head size. But he did mention that he will monitor and assess the situation for final recommendation when I hit nearer. So far, my baby is not engaged or lightened yet. But I think he is aiming for me to deliver at week 38 which is next week.

Hi jojobar,

When's ur edd? Mine is 24oct. Me also only put on abt 1kg for the past 3wks, and gynae ask me to watch my diet Coz he say baby big. But I get hungry super easily now, so I dunno how to maintain baby's wt gain. My doc din say anything abt inducing or c sec if bb too big. Induce will cost more? How much more?

Hi sweetsnow,

My edd is 26 oct, very close with yours. I told gynae I stop al vitamin to control bb weight, then he say the vitamin is also for me like calcium etc, so should not stop. But I only take every other day now with dha.

Though inducing is just inserting some pill into virginal to trigger labor, so should not cause too much right ? I don't know the additional cost for inducing.

Hi, sorry to interrupt. I have a brand new tin of Enfalac A+ Stage 1. Expiry date is 29 Oct 2012. I'm letting it go as my baby is on breast milk.

price: $25

interested, please pm me.

Hi Jojo,

we have the same EDD... till now i have no ideal of my BB weight at all... the doc didn tell mi and whenever i ask him, he keeps saying it is not important at this stage bt i am already in week 37...

haii...

i am also visiting the gynae on the 10th Oct.. as this is my first child, i would like her to come at her own time... bt there are times i really wonder when she would like to come out... like everybody i ve bad backpain and pelvic pain...

This afternoon will be going glen to do the admin procedure & tour. Not sure when is the gyn visit. usually, I check in to induce on 38wks after gyn visit so that I don't have to rush down for delivery. Next wk will be 38wks...or should I wait...

Rejoy - i'm in my 38weeks now and no symptoms of popping at all. though i do have the pelvic pain. these few days, the swelling in my legs also went down. so i'm in the waiting game too.

did you go for the 8th mth grow scan? i think there's usually one at this time to check the growth of the baby. However, i think ur gynae should be able to check from the machine how heavy is your little one [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i asked my gyane about inducing and she said if can let it be natural, she is pro-natural.. unless mom and baby is not doing well then induce.. she told me she will allow me to wait for 2 more weeks (up till 42nd week) if baby doesn't pop in 40th week.. but i tempted to induce coz i worry by 42nd week, baby's head and shoulders too big for natural delivery.

Hoppy,

Some old wives tale I heard is when you swelling is gone, the labour will be soon ! Not sure how true lah.

My gynae also pro natural but I cannot take it already lah. Moreover, I already started maternity leave, I don't want spend my ml waiting. I want to spend more of ml with new baby breastfeeding my new born.

My edd also 26 oct but decided to induce today. Cos been having contractions on off since last Friday and doc say I was 2cm dilated on Tuesday. Quite tired of waiting so accepted doc offer to induce.

Now abt 1hr since doc broke water bag and started drip. Not much progress yet... Really praying for fast dilation!

jojobar, is it? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] i wonder if for msyelf will it be waterbag burst or contractions. so far i only have mild lower abdomen cramps on and off, like period cramps. i do not know how contraction will feel like... my gynae told me it's the whole tummy feeling very tight and she told me impossible to miss it. so you should be in your 37th week??? will u consider inducing???

Mummyfaith, jiayou!!!! i think after a while, it will speed up! All the Best !!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi mummy faith,

Have a safe delivery, we will wait for your good news here[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif].

Can share induce process ? Cos I am also thinking of that but concern with the process.

Hello Oct mummies,

I am Sept mummy, I would like to let go my MyBestFriend breastfeeding pillow because my girl refuse to latch on. I didn't use the pillow at all, I'm willing to let go at $60 (usual price ~$80) but my dumb dumb hubby has thrown the packaging away, so please PM me if you are interested.

Hi hoppy,

Yes. I am week 37 yesterday. I will consider inducing next week at week 38. I will discuss with gynae in my next appointment which is 10/10. My gynae ever mention week 38 is safe so I am thinking on 13 oct. But let see what is my gynae recommendation on Monday [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] he might want me to wait for it naturally!

Jojobar,

The old wives tale I heard is differen. I heard if swelling gets worse means labour soon. I got no swelling til date.

Think I will ask gynae abt his views on inducing tml

Hi Sweetsnow,

Really ???? Both my prenatal massage lady and my hair dresser was telling me that. Cos i have been doing massaging constantly so i have no swelling as well. In fact, last pregnancy no swelling till i deliver ... So i can't use this old wive tale to verify on myself.....

My last checkup, the baby head not engage yet so i am not sure if gynae will recommend for induce. But no harm asking hor ...

I am already so tired ...and no point sitting at home in agony but as well deliver the baby and spend more tiem bond & BF with him.

Jojobar, my next gynae visit also 10/10. But really dun know what to expect fr inducing. I heard from some it is mire painful n labour longer. But I believe it alll depends on individuals !!

Hi hoppy,

I also read somewhere that inducing shouldbeavioded unless keeping the baby longer in the womb will be harmful to mum or baby, else gynae will not recommend generally. But I just very keen to get the labour over and done with.

Moreover, I am worry that the baby will be too big for natural delivery if I keep beyond week 38,

Hi mummies.

Good luck mummyfaith! Hope to hear good news soon!

I am coming to 39 weeks on Sunday. Hoping she will come out on 10/10 :p But I will try not to induce if possible since my girl is not too big anyway. I induced for my first one and it took me almost 24hrs to get him out. Think will not rush nature unless really have to [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Seem like we mummies are sitting around waiting ? You ladies, hoppy, leeoh, sweetsnow, rejoy, jojo all still working or already started maternity leave ?

hoppy: i cant really rem if i went for that... bt everytime i ask the weight, he didn tell mi, juz tell mi is not important at this stage.. bt as i say m already week 37 already, still not important, abit fed up though.. cause he is more concern abt my weight than BB.

mummyfaith: take care... hope to hear ur good news too.

i am still working and would be working till 39week+ unless i give birth earlier. as my company requires us to sign agreement on the start of my ML, i ve indicated as 27 starting and start taking leave on the 25th... trying to save as much ML leave and annual leave so that i can spend more time wif her when she is out...

I'm clearing annual leave now until 22 Oct then start maternity. My annual leave cannot bring forward to next yr or encash, so i rather clear 1st since im having problems in office ( problem with boss).

22 Oct is 2 days earlier than my edd of 24 Oct, so I hope bb can pop earlier then I can spend more time with her.

My new hse renov just finished today. Next wk can start moving in, so end next wk will b best time for bb to come out.

06 Oct 2011 Thursday

0900hrs: Still no dilation. Gynae clinic induce one pill. Sent home, climbed stairs, slight mensus cramping n backache. Slight brown red discharge. 

1430hrs: Half cm dilated. Saw 2 peaks on CTG graph, peaks ard 60. 2nd pill induced. Gynae say tonight admit and expected labour 07 Oct at 8am. She know I have bowels to clear from VE check. Climb stairs again. 

1800hrs: rested with bearable pains n backache. Passed some bowel. 

2300hrs: admitted, changed, shaved, given liquid to clear bowels, terribly yucky! Waiting for Gynae bad frequent contractions.

0000hrs: 1.5cm dilated only. Gynae break waterbag. Bloody water all flowing. Hate contractions n backache. Sweating. Gynae said should deliver by lunchtime.  

0100hrs: birth room #2. epi woman came, insertion fast. Much relieved can still move legs, numb numb. Shivering. Drip on hand kena poke twice.

0430hrs: very comfortable. Crotch pain. 6-7 cm dilate liao. Yoohoo!

0745hrs: full dilation. Nurse could feel head. Left side of my tummy super painful n back pain even with epi top up. Nurses guessed bb maybe face up instead which is more painful and that it's pressure from bb emerging head. Another said epi didn't flow evenly hence my left side of tummy was killing me despite epi top ups. 

0800hrs: Nearing delivery supposed to lower epi level instead of topping up. Broke down in tears! Epi machine beeped. It had finished. Shit! Gynae worry if I can push n luckily I could as still not fully numb. 

0830hrs: desperately started pushing both when contracting n when not- also unsure as left tummy just hardening, feared if epi wears off n i will suffer pain. Nurse was in charge , "breathe in-hold-PUSH!!! " hb hold other leg n my head for crunching forward, he added sound effects to my pushing too! after few sets of 3-4 pushes, bb arrives 0900hrs at 3kg, 50cm. Gynae amazed took so short. 

Hb take photo of time, bb arrival etc while i was crying from relief n happiness , bb wailing away at same time. Placenta took long to come out. Gynae took quite awhile to clear blood clots and dunno digging digging what. Stitching was quite painful but I directed my attention to bb getting weighed, measured, cleaned, wrapped. He was placed in e warmer, calm, eyes alert n looking ard. V kapo!

At this point of time, I dun wanna go thru this again. I rather get snake bite, injections etc than go thru contractions.

Throughout night, hb diarrhea trips to toilet else snored away waiting! Amazingly he nv diarrhea while helping me push! Oso only when he woke then realised TMC delivery ward sofa could be reclined. Dumb dumb!            

Congrats gilera!! Rest well and enjoy Bonding with ur little one [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Gilera: Congrats!!

Sweetsnow: Yup.. my boss is actually very nice, still tell me if i need to come to work late, is ok oso... juz manage my timing myself...

Hi mummies, I delivered last night naturally with epidural.

Here's the birth story:

10am

Gynae did ve check, 2cm and baby head still quite high. But she said it's induce-able so I accepted and was asked to admit.

10.30am

Cleared bowels at observation ward

11am

Went into labour ward and waiting for induction.

12pm

Gynae came to break water bag and started drip. Ordered lunch for me.

3pm

Only 3cm dilated n contractions still bearable. Gynae ask to increase drip dosage to bring on stronger contractions.

4.40pm

Contractions picking up strong and asked for gas.

5+pm

Screaming in pain and feel some urge to push. Nurse checked abt 4-5cm dilated only. I asked for epidural cos couldn't take it anymore.

6+pm

Epidural in place and finally can relax.

7+pm

Nurse check again and was 7-8cm dilated and prep me to get ready to push as I started having the urge to push.

8.20pm

Gynae arrived and confirm 10cm already. Pushing start with onset of every contraction.

8.48pm

Baby is out after 5-6 pushes!

Hi gilera n mummy faith,

Congratulation of the arrival of baby !

Other mummies in waiting who are still working, I kudo to you ! I was able to till I pop the last pregnancy, but this time round but my tummy is so big. It is tiring to move around in office. And I also paiseh to go in for just couple of hours only and not doing anything, so decide to start maternity leave,

Seem like most company need a formal signature to sign the start and return of maternity leave. I just finalized mine last week. Basically, I will start on 3rd oct for 8 weeks till late nov (inclusive public holiday counted) then I take some annual leave till end of nov. I go back to office for a two days training on dec, then I start my flexible 40 days maternity leave (which does not include public holiday) , it will end around late feb. In between, I will attend another week training. Then I clear this year annual leave and child care leave which will take me to mid march.

Not sure if I written above clear,but I got the above from other mummy from other thread. This is to break the 16 weeks maternity as they include public holiday and we lugi them. For the first 8 weeks, is statutory requirement so no way to work around but if you break it up then at least the last 8 weeks is equivalent to 40 working days and does not count public holiday so we don't lugi[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif].

Just to share another thing is to rem to plan and take your 6days paid statutory child care leave as well. Most company does not allow carry forward of child care as I think they will not be able to reimburse from govt,

Jojobar - me too, i also worry baby will be too big for natural delivery so i'm hoping she will pop soon!!! This morning, woke up with tummy cramp and thought it was contraction. but apparently it was not LOL! So my waiting game continues! I have started my leave officially. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Rejoy - hhmmm, maybe you could tell your gynae that it's been a while you know baby's weight and would like to know the current weight and if it will interfere with natrual delivery ? ya, i think if i were you i will feel irritated too if he don't wanna tell. coz 37 weeks already and baby considered full term! Just to share, at the end of my 37 week, my baby was 2.84 kg.

Mummyfaith and Gilera - congrats on baby's birth !!! being a first time mom, could i just ask when you ladies very painful, was it the contractions around the stomach painful or the vagina painful??!!

Jojobar,

So envious. Stupid boss "ask" me to Tk 4mths ml straight Coz say else next yr v tough to find chance to clear leave, as leave will disrupt my sales. I'm returning to work in early feb. After which I want to change job le. Cannot stand my boss.

I just saw doc. Bb 3kg now though I din put on any weight. Doc say he must use c sec to scare me Liao. Ask me to exercise more to keep bb small.

Hi winnie,

I had been medela pis user for a year and it serves me very well. I sold it away after I stop bf. Now I have invest on free style as all mummies I spoke to using freestyle, give it a thumbs up. In fact, some of them used to be pis users.

i'm going 37 weeks... tiring n sick of waiting.... my #1 and #2 both came at 38+weeks... but i really dun wish to wait till then...

backpain and pelvic pain is killing me......

hey hoppy,

during contractions for me, the pain was around the tummy area. Vaginal was painful only when gynae or midwife went in with his/her hand to check dilation and burst waterbag.

it is amazing to read so many mummies working till baby pops out.. Initially i was aiming for that too, but by week 33-34, i started to feel very tired and wanting to rest more. Couldn't give my best at work too... so i decided to take one month pre-natal leave. But before that could happen, baby decided to pop at 35+ week. I had abit of bleeding and gynae checked and said baby is ready to be out. Gynae put me on drip to induce my contractions and burst my waterbag with his hand(that was darn painful!). I was in labour from 11am and delivered at about 4am. Very blessed to have great nurses and midwives around me during the long hours.

baby was about 2.7kg when delivered, everything okay, but he went home and had jaundice.. under light for 2 nights.. now, one week later, i think he is getting yellow again.. sigh..

btw: my edd was 22oct, and i delivered on 23 sep.

mummies who are waiting for baby to pop, jia you! relax and rest more!

Hi Mommies and Mommies-to-be,

I'm at wk37 and today went for CTG and also did a bacteria test (dun know that's the professional term for that). When the gynae insert the thin cotton bud i already feel it's painful. I cannot imagine on the actual day.

And best part is my hubby and mil have been trying to persuade me not to take epidural. My hubby actually got upset when i say I would opt for it. Sigh...

Choice of Hospital

Gynae asked me to quickly decide on my choice of hospital soon since i'm already wk37 but i really have no idea if I shd choose Mt A or Glen E. Glen E seems so much more exp than Mt A. My gynae is from Glen E and the nurse say it's better to deliver at Glen E since the gynae is there.

Any mommies can share their experience?

Hi Winnie..not yet. Only Glen E.

I was sure I am opting for Mt A until the nurse from my gynae's office called me and told me her view. If i opt for Glen E and since gynae is there, then he can visit me when he's free or if I have any complications (touch wood) then he can be there for me much faster.

But if I compare the $$, then Glen E seems alot more exp than Mt A.

So I'm wondering if any mommies could share their experience with me.

winny: in terms of the package, if you are taking the 2 bedded one, actually glen E is cheaper than Mount A.. u can check the price from internet, bt if u are thinking of taking single room then mount A is cheaper....

Hoppy: m gg for my next check up on monday.. think m gg to put my foot down n ask the doc to tell mi the weight of my BB....

Hi winny,

I bought my freestyle from USA hence it is around 438 usd I think, the downside is that there is no local warranty. The cheapest I saw locally is at first few years at paragon during great singapore sales at either 599 or 699. I cannot remember leh.

As for hospital selection, I also select based pn my gynae preference. My gynae and back up gynae and pd are all based in mt e medical suite or paragon. Hence I chose mt e. During my last delivery, the gynae and pd came visiting pretty often as they are very nearby.

Hello Diana,

ooh okok...up till now, my gynae has yet to do any VE for me. I also salute those moms who can work till due date.. for me, when i'm around Week 35, i started taking cab home already... cannot imagine having to take the crowded mrt from the business district! Right now, i only feel that there is an increase in vaginal discharge lor..

Hi Winnie,

If i'm you, i will probably stay in the hospital where my gynae is located as it's really easier and more convenient for the gynae to visit you when she does her rounds etc unless you have a specific reason for other hospitals. perhaps other moms could advise more (i'm a first time mom)..

Rejoy - Ya... you have a right to know about your baby's weight. No point not telling you and making you wonder and worry. But i'm definitely sure your baby is growing well [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]!!!!