(2011/10) Oct 2011

Gilera,

I worry co's of budget. Tis means I hve to pay natural n csec fees or jus induce n csec? Also I hve no maid n no cl so if csec I worry we cannot handle if it's a csec wound. Sigh. Later I will go for long walk n maybe climb some stairs.

Pofy, dun worry... The more u worry, the more it wont dilate... U need to relax in order to dilate... Walk more, go shopping, do squatting exercise, bd... All these will help too...

Take it as it comes ba since u hv finance issues

such things only family, frens could help out to look after or hand downs

medical bill Bo bian end of day still hv to pay

Creamdonut

I started massage on day 4. There was not much heavy bleeding, I cleared most of the blood in hospital. I always bleed when baby latch on, but by now, it's not heavy either. You mean episiotomy or tear wound is it? I use cyteal anti bacterial feminine wash during my shower. On top of that 2-3x a day I use a sitz bath. It's a plastic tub to be placed on top of your toilet. Fill with water, add some salt and ice and soak my bottom for about 10mins. Doctors orders. Helps with the swelling and keeps the area clean.

Here are the safest and most natural ways to induce the labor process, danger free.

Get Intimate: You are probably not feeling like the sexiest woman ever right now, but getting intimate with your loved one could be just the trick that helps dilate your cervix. Semen hitting the cervix can result in dilation and there is some strong evidence that having an orgasm could do the same.

Nipple Stimulation: Applying heat or gently twisting the nipples can be helpful as well. Put a towel in the dryer for awhile to get it nice and hot, and then rest it over your breasts. You can also have your loved one twist and hold your nipples on a regular basis.

Movement: Get your body moving more. Get out for a walk around the neighborhood or go shopping and walk from store to store for a few hours. You could even go out for a jog if you are more in shape and were used to that type of activity prior to getting pregnant. Your goal here is to move and jiggle your body so the baby's head is pushed downward.

http://www.zimbio.com/How+to+Induce+Labor/articles/hf0qxkd6yny/How+Dilate+Cervix+Naturally+Safely

Gilera: I had contractions during the night, so woke up from sleep. Went On for abt 3hrs or so with bleeding, then the water bag burst. Was shocked so hurry went to tmc n nurse did check up for me. Was at 1.5cm then n aft my gynae came n check, was told to wait for 10cm dilation. Then epi doc came n we started waiting loh. Ard noon was wheeled to delivery suite n cont waiting. When nurse say 10cm Liao, start push, the wait for doc cm n push a bit more then deliver liao.

Tamms: My doc din ask me to do those things leh. He gave me a bottle of spray for the episotomy wound, which I spray everytime aft going toilet. I do have light blOod discharge now, bt duno is fm womb or epi wound

Am having bad aches at my buttocks and lower back. Can't bend down properly or get up fm bed normally. Is this due to e epidural injection or jus an aftereffect fm strAining the muscles during delivery?

Cream donut

Most prob due to poor posture From feeding and carrying baby. My ml came today, her tummy massage helped to clear some blood. Yay! What brand and name of spray did dr give you?

Tomorrow I will be officially at week 36 ! Finally baby is full term and can pop without been considered as preemie ....

Sleeping have been really hard hence i went for an hour Kenko foot reflex yesterday. Slept during the session and last nite, i finally go into very deep sleep. Very shiok. Today I went waxing of my lower leg, not brave eunff to do wax "down" there .....

I think i will go foot reflex tomorrow again and see what my doc gynae on Friday. As baby was already at 3.1kg at week 35, I want to pop soon else baby become very big if i only deliver in week 40. I need to go and move around more ....

Can't wait to join the MOO MOO club !

Anyone planning for the full month celebration already ?

This week is my last working week before i start my maternity leave. Today is my last day in office to clear up the admin stuff, tomorrow and Friday I will be "working from home".

Hooray ! I had officially and gotten approval for my 16 weeks maternity leave which start from 3rd oct 2011 to 22nd Jan 2012. Then I leave my childcare leave and take annual leave to extend the leave till 29th Feb 2012.

Hopefully i will pop soon [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I am selling away my breastpump.

It is a Hygeia Enjoye Bundle with the Hands-free set sold by mumsfairy.

http://www.mumsfairy.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=25&Itemid=31&productid=137

Retail price is $650, selling at only $500.

Only used 1 month, about 5 times. Condition is 9.8 / 10

This pump has many good reviews. It can be found at http://www.mumsfairy.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=15&Itemid=30

Please sms me at 92980177 if you are interested.

Tamms: ok i try to sit better when feeding [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] the brand is curico or something like tt. White bottle with red label. Is specially for episotomy one. Bt u already cleaning with two Mtds shld b dun need e spray la, haha

Devil,

Thanks. I tried to do a few half squats n took a walk. Hope it works. Will continue doing tmrw.

gilera,

Yeah. Thanks for support.

Csec

Will doc recommend or we make the decision if it's full GA or jus epidural? Can hubby be wif us if it's jus epidural ie lower half body numb? Any advice fr mummy. I dun know which imshd choose if I hve to make decision.

Librabb,

Thanks for the write up. I will dry use warm towel on nipple. Dun hve dryer at HME so it will be wet towel. Hope it helps n walk n squat more. Intercourse my hubby can't do it. Hahaha. He worries.

u r welcome, pofy

i will try all except the intercourse too..haha..

funny la..cos bb still inside..haha

went check up today, 38wks + still no sign no engagement, no dilation too....bb wt 2.9kg - 3kg.

Librabb,

Thanks. Will try. Last ve ck I was 1cm dilated n bb is engaged but now 2 weeks already he is still snug in my tummy.

We seems to be in the same boat except I m abt 1 week ahead n my bb is much heavier. 3.2kg.

yybear, I hv GD too. I still drink coconut drink.but I Usually share with my hubby..dun be too worried..if u afraid too much sugar in the drink, after drinking, take a walk..walking help to use up the sugar energy..

libra_bb: i agree with the walking part. the week before my bb came, i started a daily routine of walking at the park for abt 20min. it also makes labor faster as bb will be further down south. this walking tip is also something tt my colg taught me one, cos it worked very well for her 2 kids.

Tamms: I'm sure u r doing v well now liao [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] plus all ur blood clots r out too! M havin my massage Tom, hope everything goes well ;p

I walked an hour today. Damn slow pace.

Groin feeling sore after e walk.

Does it really help? Must walk twice a day or not?

Morning mummies! Those still waiting, jiayou the end is in sight! Those delivered, let's jiayou and do our best for our lil ones! I've also popped, it's a miracle birth [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ok my birth story [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] All on 27.09.11

2am (I think): Woke up with very bad diarrhoea n went toilet 4 times. But poo doesn't look watery so I think bb must be blocking my anus again. Went back to sleep in living room while elder boy and hb sleep in master bedroom.

5am: Woke up with lots of tightening and cramp pains that gradually extends to the whole tummy. Went to toilet but nothing came out. Leaned against the wall for support as I felt too weak from lack of sleep. Instinct tells me this could be it. Tried to sleep the pain off to no avail. Started timing contraction intervals. 5min! Decided to not wake hb up as he needs to fetch elder boy to CC. Used deep breathing techniques to manage pain. Drank Milo kosong and felt slightly better.

6am: Elder boy woke up crying for me. I tried to carry him but it was too difficult to do so for long. Hb opened the door shortly before 7am and he leapt from my arms to his. Didn't see him until evening. Continued to attempt sleep on the living room sofa and used deep breathing to manage pain.

8am: Hb came back with fishball noodles (both of us on leave supposed to visit gynae in afternoon) but I was in too much pain to eat. Went to switch on 92.4FM and felt better. Had a burning urge to call gynae clinic but interval fluctuate between 5-10min so decided against it. Don't wanna spend unnecessary money at the labour ward cos I was prepared for repeat c-section anyway. Read Wong Boh Boi book about labour and realised diarrhoea can be a symptom of labour! 3 signs of true labour: Regular contraction check, bloody show nope, waterbag burst nope. All 3 must come together according to book.

9.30am-10am: Felt some liquid coming from private area. Reached down and realised it's blood! Shouted to hb to get ready and went to toilet. More bloody show! Decided to call gynae clinic and nurse told me to straightaway go labour ward. Grabbed packed luggage, daily necessities and rushed out of home.

10.30am: Reached labour ward. Thank God for smooth traffic en-route. Nurse told me to remove all clothing, jewellery and wear a pink gown while they prepared a bed for me. Hb went to attend admission procedures. Got a drip due to gestational diabetes. Totally no food until evening thank God I ate some fishball noodles. Hooked me up to contraction monitor. Interval remains 5min. Bb heartbeat between 120-160bpm which is normal. No signs of distress. Tested blood pressure which returns normal. Did a hurting like hell VE check: 6cm! Looks like die die must give birth within 24hrs. Attending nurse didn't appear too happy about my VBAC attempt. Good thing her shift ended prematurely and another nice nurse came to attend to me. Looks like plenty of mummies in delivery at the same time!

12.30pm: Hb went out for lunch. Gynae came to labour and broke my waterbag. I asked him isn't he inducing labour by breaking waterbag. He said I'm already in labour this is not inducing cos inducing isn't allowed for VBAC. He and all the nurses kept asking me whether I wanna pain relief. But I think my pain threshold is high so declined the offer. Gynae said bb poo inside my womb. 1st sign of fetal distress.

12.30pm-2.30pm: The contraction pain intensified so greatly after waterbag burst. Had a feeling I'm not progressing well. VE check: 7cm. Worse, every time I'd contraction, bb heartbeat dropped. 2nd sign of fetal distress. Decided on either gas or epi. Hb not around he told me earlier epi cost $200 extra, within our budget.

2.30pm: Epidural administered. Slight pain upon insertion. Moderate numbness set in not soon after. Started to have severe shivering and bit of headache. Blood pressure attached to me all the way. 1 time dropped v low at 70, causing panic. Hb came back for awhile and left to pick up elder boy from CC. Catheter inserted in bladder.

2.30pm-6.41pm: Everything started going fast and furious. Contraction continued to peak to 1-2min at alarming levels but all I felt was an urge to poo. Felt totally relaxed. Epi reduced to 1ml from initial 10-11. Nurse was happy with my progress and transferred me to delivery ward. Watched tv, slept, friendly chat with nurses and listened to songs to pass time. Dilated the remaining 3cm during this period.

6.41pm: Fully dilated and bb engaged! Nurses and me called hb to witness birth to no avail and decided not to wait for him anymore cos bb poo inside me again. Gynae came and encouraged me to push whenever I felt a contraction.

6.56pm: Few strong pushes and bb was out. Felt a tremendous sense of relief! Placenta expelled in pieces and gynae removed a fair bit, leaving the rest to my womb to expel the remaining portions. Stitched me up due to a minor cut while pushing.

7pm: Hb finally arrived with elder boy (crazy traffic jam) and managed to at least witness the weigh-in. Regretted eating the fishball noodles as I vomitted quite a fair bit and no appetite for dinner until 10pm.

Me conclude that walking really helps to strengthen ourselves for pushing. Gynae said usually bb comes 30min after exerting good, strong pushes. I took just 15min. Raspberry leaf tea may well work! On 26th I drank 2 cups instead of the usual 1 and labour kicked in.

luv

congrats! wow u monitored ur timing v well n detailed [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] wow 5min interval of contractions still so calm! didnt noe tat bb poo means signs of distress.. anyway all r well n u've made it, guess u r enjoying e time now wif ur NB [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hope i can be as calm as u too haha ;p

bubblygeekypig, oh err because I'd a v disappointing 1st birth gong gong walk myself to op theatre to get cut up and everything was just in a whirl. Didn't enjoy confinement and nearly had postnatal depression. Now that God had granted me a 2nd chance, I'm gonna grab whatever opp I'd to make sure I've a satisfying exp, even tho I'm mentally prepared for a repeat c-section. Really should relax. My #2 came out so peaceful and quiet, almost like angel that he's more interested in sleeping than latching! Cos of his low birth wt only 2.5kg, I worry he starving so today 4am I allowed formula. No tbf it's ok I can always build up my supply and tbf him later

luv

ya everybody ask me to relax cos 1st bb dunno wat to expect jus go wif e flow but wat im afraid most is tat it might happen in office n waterbag burst then it'll be like wet at bottom + i wanna bath 1st b4 admitting myself into hosp haha!!

my bb will be small too, it's only 2.1kg at wk 35+ n my 2 fren who had e same gynae mentioned tat usually birth weight will be lighter than wat e gynae predicted so i still need to discount ard 500g!! faint..

but i heard to establish ur bm u need to get bb to latch on as often as possible so ur brain will send signal tat ur bb is in demand for bm n therefore produce more.. im keeping my fingers crossed tat my bm will come in asap else it'll be v demoralizing [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Luv,

Congrats! I hope to join all of u in moo moo club soon!

Gilera,

Any good news? I took a one hour walk today. Did housework. But stil no sign. Sigh. I think I leave it to doc tmrw n see wat happens. Sigh

Royal,

Thanks. My worry is I will panic if I see wat the doc n nurses are doing? Csec is it very fast over or take a long while?

I feel frustrated at work these days - bosses' problem plus work problems [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Can't wait to go on maternity leave and leave all those behind. But baby not ready to come out yet. 1.5cm dilation but no other signs of labour. She is 2.9kg at 37 weeks 4 days. Next checkup 38 weeks.

Hi bubbly, once the baby crosses 2kg, it will be alright. Not to worry. Mine is not much bigger than yours. I remembered she was about 2.1kg at 34-35 weeks also.

Sorry to interrupt. I have brand new Sophie the Giraffe teether toys to let go, please email me at:

S$28
each, will include normal local postage.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/6094805.jpg]

libra

no need, teats have hole already unless you want to make it bigger.

usually i don't go according to what is stated. mine 2 1/2 yrs old daughter using four holes type & only change from 3 to 4 holes type when she is 18mths as I only use milk bottle for milk only.

Hi. Actually i pierced the holes since he was a baby, maybe 6-8 months old? He was taking too long to suck and the teats would depress so i presume it was too slow for him.

leeoh & Devil

im keeping my fingers crossed too cos e gynae (my fren n I have e same gynae) predicted her bb is 3kg then in e end come out as 2.5kg another fren also smaller than wat gyane predicted.. but actually im more worried abt my bb's health- cos initial OSCAR scan dun look gd...

leeoh

for e past 3 mths till now im super stressed on work too... everybody's resigning n on lve n i've to cover them now covering for 2 person job too + mine v tired.. really feel like gg on ML soon too but i noe i cant pop so early..

Hi mummies-to-be!

I have For Sale: 6months preloved Medela Pump In Style Advanced (PISA) & Breastmilk Storage Bottles.

Locally bought US complete set with local power plug. See photo for included accessories. Full Set Photo Bought for S$599 on 24/02/2011. Receipt Photo Used for 6months, warranty for another 6months. Selling $380, or $390 with the storage bottles shown below. Also for sale: Medela Breastmilk Freezing & Storage Bottles. 12 x 80ml BPA-free bottles with lid. Bought for S$40, selling $20. Storage Bottles Photo

Interested parties, please leave PM or SMS @ 987 six one 872.

Thanks for viewing!

Thks everybody [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Yes latching often should stimulate more BM. But #2 can sleep for hours and there were many times I'd to literally force his mouth open after stroking his chin and nose failed to have him open his mouth. No rooting reflex either. He hated it and screamed at me to stop. Nurse said due to his small weight, he may not be interested in latch. But yday and today saw some breakthrough. He gave me some of his best sucking and drained my left breast. Right side still needs some effort. He's able to drink 40ml formula at day 1 I hope I can pump out at least this much.

Re birth weight sometimes estimate can be accurate. My last week scan at 37w5d 2461g. Birth weight at 38w5d 2551g I expected about 2.7-2.8kg. Aiya should have gone ez on diabetic diet. Now #2 and myself are eating like cows to regain our weights :p

luvagape: hahaha, good that u can finally eat normally le. jia you on the bf!! am tryin to get used to it myself also [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

today is my first day of massage, feels so good to have one hour of relax time for myself!

my massage lady says take out the binder 8hrs later wor, bt ist leave it longer the effect better?

Leeloh,

Me same. Stuck at 1.5cm for 1 week plus already. Sigh. I did more housework n walk. Let's hope it will bring on labour.

Gilera,

Don't overstrain. Take care yeah.

Creamdonut,

Envy! Happy for u that u r enjoying. I think no need overnight. Becos some pple find it uncomfortable or if bind too long might get skin itch?

Creamdonut > my doc taught me a method on the usage of binder, which is lie down flat on the bed and squeeze ur tummy (breath in) and ask your HB to help you to bind..

Ladies, I've been having stomach cramps lately. So scared I might deliver coz in laws not around no one to look after my elder one. And I'm also having the stomach pain feeling like wat luv was facing.

gilera: good job on the walking, keep it up!

pofy: wat sort of housework? try not to bend down too much or carry heavy stuff... its tight bt nt itchy loh, bt if can slim down i will tahan. hahahahah!

bbseedd: u bind at hm aft e ML left? hw many hrs u keep it on? buy ur own cream to apply?

Binder

Leave it on for as long as possible, but not overnight, it can give you a backache. I leave mine on only 5-6hrs, after that take shower. Ultimately no matter how many sessions of massage you take up, or how many hours of binder wear, the most effective form of weight loss is still a healthy diet and moderate exercise. You may lose weight in the beginning but the key is to MAINTAIN