(2011/10) Oct 2011

Skinny kids- My boy qualifies too! Now barely 25%percentile. I stop weighing him already, don't want to stress myself anymore. He hates his powder milk since baby. Now he likes Meiji too but must still coax. We feed him milk twice a day - afternoon and before he sleeps. I used to feed him an additional feed at night 3am until he was 2yo! Super tiring!! But he drinks much easier when he was half asleep and we wanted to get as much milk in him as possible. But he is ok with his vegetables so should have enuf vitamins.

I also only like Meiji milk. Wonder wat they add to thier milk so yummy!

will only drink chocolate milk

white milk only if w cereal.

Keep forgetting to take calcium tablets , heard it's most impt now in 3rd trimester ?

Is it really safe for bb to be born in wk 35 or when at least 2kg? Still seems premature to me if not born til wk40?

I have never tried their chocolate milk! Is it that good? Is it low fat or full cream?

Think below 2kg needs to stay NICU. Although consider late preterm so not as serious.

So far only saw Meiji white milk comes in low fat version. Chocolate milk only one kind. U can try small bottle first/ one serving size.

Yes Esther, men r so insensitive :p

so We must pamper ourselves [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Yes Winnie : this childcare had lots of homework (so scary), but understand from my girl's ex schoolmate's(this year P1)mum, she gone through P1 textbook and realised this CC had taught almost 1/2year what they supposed to learn at P1... it might be helpful when they go P1 as they had already learned quite a lot...

I am not as daring as you to fight with so many ppl.. :p u r really lucky [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] envy..

leeoh

milk for kids - some may don't like milk. But there is 1 thing that I feel that it might affect the amount of milk intake. Switching from milk bottle to cup. The intake will decrease. Personal feel is that it is ok to train them to use cup for other drinks but for milk I still stick to milk bottle till my boy is almost 4yrs old.

Reason is that younger kids will not drink all their milk in 1 go when using cup compare to milk bottle thus their intake decrease.

leeoh

Did your kid try pedisure from Abbott. is for picky eater. If not, maybe you can try to ask for sample from them & see whether your boy like it or not.

TGIF mummies! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

davian, i started giving meiji milk this year Feb-Mar. your boy drinks alot more milk than mine. he just makes do with 1 small bottle of the chocolate milk daily so we buy 7-8 bottles per week. he can't have more than 1 cos he always gets nosebleeds due to heatiness. he sometimes gets his soya bean milk or calcium-laden bread. i don't think he's lacking in calcium cos he hardly falls and even if he does, he can get up himself.

he doesn't like his porridge too cos he's been eating plain, watery porridge with only veggies at my PIL's place from 6-18mo. but he does love my minced pork porridge with spring onions and just a tiny bit of Bovril but i've been lazy to cook it :p so long as he's on the charts, even if 3rd percentile i think it's ok. mine's slightly above the 50th percentile but my hb kept saying he's getting chubby and overweight cos he loves noodles, alot of it. good thing he loves to run around the playground for at least 15min a day if we let him.

leeoh, there is the 1 serving size low fat chocolate milk which my elder boy likes. he hates the full cream milk. i found it tastes quite funny. the low fat milk is sweeter and more yummy but i can't drink that due to GD [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

gilera, 37-40 weeks is considered full-term and preferred length. my hb was born at 35 weeks along with his twin bro and had lots of health problems. More than 2kg seems like a good weight though i think most babies are over 3kg at birth.

Happy Friday!!!!

davian > how abt trying some pastas? Or boil soup? Mine don't really like porridge so I'll boil soup for him to go with rice..

Just to find out, do any of you feel bloated and keep burping? I'm going through that like wat I was going through during 1st tri. No appetite and feel so bloated. Feel so xin ku.

Hi winnie, my boy drinks his milk in 2 half cups. He doesn't like straws nor bottles leh. But ok lar, he can drink fast once he is coaxed [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I am giving him Pediasure already but he doesn't like very sweet milk. That's why he prefers fresh milk and soya milk.

hi luv, i will check out the chocolate [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] thanks!

Oh, my boy who is a fuzzy eater likes pasta. He likes the Prego Traditional Tomato sauce.

creamdonut,

i don have birth plan leh... will just ask for Epidural then hopefully i can relax after that. bb head down, so normal birth with epi lo i think... how bout you? what's ur bb weight at 32wks? mine is 1.7kg [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Luck,

ohhh... u are with Dr Ben too? found out lot mummies with Dr Ben. nowadays, whenever i go for appt... he's very busy with lots mummies waiting for him ya... maybe one of them is u too..

Wk 32 bb weight 1.8kg. Checkup every 2 wks.

Next week will checkup wk 34

after work no appetite for dinner Cant eat much now will end up feeling v bloated. Getting more stretcharks.

Feeling so worried w the sudden jerks n lowness feel ard pubic area. Like bb coming out? Bb wakes me up, reminds me it's lunchtime n annoys me when trying to sleep.

Hb said this morning he dreamt bb was easy to look after but in his dream bb was 3 yrs old oredi w bushy eyebrows!

yes Mini diary, i with Dr Ben.. sometimes waited very long for him... so many mummies.. my next appointment is 01sep(35wks)

mine 3rd sept next appt.

creamdonut,

did dr ben say anything? i think should be alright.. easier to have natural birth. or u planning for csect? dr ben asked me to control my diet in ice cream and cakes also even my bb only 1.7kg. he said estimated weight at birth around 3.2kg aredi!

he told me bb 1.7kg. so i think it's small and got lots allowance to continue eat ice cream and cakes. so he asked me to control abit.. eat sensibly lo.. if not, difficult to give birth he said. I told him midnight, very hungry sometimes. He told me to eat plain crackers with water... haha

Hi Ladies, I am looking for mums with 13 to 36 weeks pregnant for a short 15 mins survey in our office at Beach Centre, near Raffles Hotel on formula milk brand - Abbott, e.g. Similac or Gain IQ. Criteria : You must not reject this brand and may use this brand in future. Token: 30 bucks NTUC voucher. Kindly SMS me your Name, age, how many weeks pregnant to 97640028 ASAP.

i stopped drinking materna milk aredi... now drink Meiji skimmed milk [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Is it normal to hv pain killers after delivery so we can still function? Even for csec n natural?

Safe for bf? Usually take for how long?

Hi luv/esther,

I does cook soup for him. I used fish bones, corn, carrot, broccoli stem to boil soup and use it as a base for cooking his porridge. But he does not eat much..... Haiz my boy is less than 25 percentile. I tired pasta but he dun really like to eat.....

Thanks for sharing the beansprout pillow contact Esther! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Anyway, I thought my gynae was kidding when she told me that my bb's big. Then I see all of your bbs' weight and now I'm seriously worried. Bb just turned wk32 and he weighs 2.4kg! *faints* Expected weight if I carry to full term is about 3.9kg. And erm, I'm quite small built...

Gynae's advice is to go for c-section. But I'm still thinking of trying natural...

HI Mommies

My Twins are turning 1 in Oct. Do you guys know of any good sites I can choose a nice cake for them?

THanks in advance!

feeling so lethargic and exhausted at work [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

looking so fwd to my short leave and the start of ML.

When's everyone taking theirs? mine starts from week 38...

hello mummycoccyx,

i am tired too as i don't get a good sleep at night. with the tummy so big, its tough to flip from side to side and i cannot sleep on my back too. I try to drink coffee to keep awake, no choice.

i will be working till i pop so as to maximise my ML entitlement.

as for milk, i didn't consume those milk for pregnant ladies. worry put on alot of weight. I am already on the big size heavy/overweight part so i didn't drink. sigh

ChanPL,

Thanks for helping me to verify my ML leave calculation. Yes, i will 'lugi' 4 days. no choice because i don't want to come back to work then go back on and off. also, have not settled the infant care centre part so my plans are all messed up. sigh. quite frustrated.

tamms,

is it you who ask about the durian mooncakes?

i only at the 717 before, the rest all too expensive. frankly i find durian mooncake a waste of money. buy the durian fruit to eat is the best deal. hahaha. all those mooncake so small and so little durian but so expensive.

pofy: i am also overweight but i am still taking the milk for pregnancy .. if you are not taking milk, then do drink soya milk as you need the calcium ..

fantastar,

i also worry. my breast size no increase. my mil says its because i no drink those milk so flat as airport runway and next time when baby is out i have no milk to feed. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

i not a milk drinker. sigh. i got a can from TMC when i sign up for that FBI card, i guess i can start drinking. is it ok to start drinking now or just too late. haiz.

I'm so pissed.

A few months ago, my boss told me that gynae's mc is not acceptable if I need to go for checkups n that I should take leave instead.

Today, I went to work with fever Coz my buddy is on course so I had to help cover his duties. I only took 30mins to go see the doc next door and worked til 5pm when the team had to leave for meeting. Then I told my boss to let me go off too since I'm not well. But she ask me not to leave so early n wait a while more til the rest of the department start leaving. For wat? I dunno. But I know she is not appreciative that a sick person with mc is working for her!

pofy: no such thing as breasts are big then got milk & vice versa .. drinking of milk is to gain calcium ..

sweetsnow: gynae's mc also mc ar .. how come not recognized??

fantastar,

yeah i know. just that having that comment thrown in my face every time i meet her can be do depressing. its not as if we don't have other issues to tackle. of cos i draw my mental support from all mummies here to say otherwise and try to ignore her. she has loads of funny stuff to say. she says that breast fed babies are small in size so should formula feed. but then she look at my breast and complain say no milk. drink cold water she say will harm baby's lungs. drink hot water she say baby will have no hair. sigh. gosh am i glad i don't have her doing confinement for me. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

gilera,

i saw before at motherworks at tanglin mall have. dresses with with a breast feeding flap. cool and very pretty but not cheap. you can try it out. their tops for nursing etc are quite nice too just beyond my range. hahaha.

sweetsnow,

i thot as long as its a doc's certified medical certificate its valid unless you are appearing in court then not valid. haha. your boss is being unreasonable. sigh. i wonder why they have to be like that, especially when they are female too.

may i know if anybody has heard about babies bellies javanese massage?

are they established and reputable?

thank you for sharing.

bumbo seat.

i wanted to buy a second hand one. i saw and found a nice mummy willing to sell it to me but my hubby says no.

i know tight budget so should not be spending on unnecessary things but the seat looked so cute and i thought it would be a good alternative to a high chair since with tray i can feed baby. but he said no. sigh.

bumbo seat

I bought one for my #1 but he hates it cos' it is restrictive. I sold it eventually. But of course i heard of babies who love it [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

pofy

I love durian mooncakes, but no not me asking [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] besides I have GD so I guess no more than 1 bite, if at all....... Another challenge will come in Oct/Nov when HAIRY CRAB season comes around. Yummy!

When mil says some thing you don't like to hear, just one ear in one ear out lor... What to do? Keep a straight face. My breasts not big either, was 32B then now 34B. Size does not equate to more milk. My girl was very big and continues to be one of the tallest kids in class even though she was born in Dec. She was exclusively breastfed for 6 months. Prove to her that you can do it, don't let her words get you down. She'll keep quiet when you have your #2.

Gilera

You can try Dote, bought a dress from them, happy with it. Some of the dresses are dual function. But note that dual function dresses are prob fine to wear once you pop, but for tops, it will not fit well later.

http://www.dotestudio.com/index.html

or Mothers en Vogue?

http://www.mothersenvogue.com/x.tended.php

WANTED! We need a pretty mom-to-be to be our model for our upcoming magazine advertisement. If you are now in your last tri-semester with that unbelievable pregnancy joy and happiness glow, we would like to hear from you!

It is going to be a fun photo session with a chance to have your pregnancy moment captured in magazine. Hope to hear from ya! Kindly email us your photo to : [email protected]

Hi Ladies, I need mums to be for a short 15 mins survey in our office at Beach Centre, near Raffles Hotel by this week. You must not reject or be user of Abbott milk formula, e.g. Similac or Gain IQ for your newborn. Token : $30 NTUC voucher. Interested, kindly sms me your Name, Age and weeks of pregnancy, preference date and time to 97640028. Thanks. Sally

I have the following items for sale, do PM or SMS me if you're interested [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Brand New Pigeon Silent Electric Breast

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/5900761.html?1313507987

Brand New Pigeon Breastmilk and Babyfood Warmer

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/5910948.html?1313652751

Brand New Safety 1st Deluxe Bath Cradle

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/5900770.html?1313508093

Brand New Pigeon Nipple Care Cream

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/5900793.html?1313508184

Brand New Baby Carter, Nissen and Cerisi Rompers

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/5911009.html?1313652979

Used Medela PISA Faceplate

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/5900810.html?1313508322

Brand New Glenn Doman How Smart Is Your Baby Book

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/5905577.html?1313573838

Brand New Avent VIA Cups

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/5935880.html?1314090579

leeoh,

perhaps my baby will hate it too. so its good i didn't buy. hahaha. this is a good way to self console. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

tamms,

crab cannot eat? why? is it because its seafood?

i heard that for some mummies after give birth one full month cannot eat eggs and seafood like prawns because its considered toxic?

wah, you breastfed for 6 months? kudos to you! great effort. i won't be able to do for such a long period but yes, i intend to breastfeed. i hope my breasts treats me well and produce the necessary milk. sigh. i told myself if really cannot then i won't make my own life miserable by being down. formula milk will have to do then since i am also a formula fed baby.

i guess i am very sensitive these days. partly because tummy very big, very uncomfortable. a little thing can set me off. just like these days i always get approach by those people trying to get people to sign up to contribute to cancer kids fund or something like that. because they are always station at city hall mrt and every day i need to take the mrt home, it is without fail i am being approached (probably due to my slow walking). I always reject. i just want to reach the mrt train and go home, i doubt i can stand and listen and frankly its not that i don't have a heart to contribute but we all have our own issues like money issues too.

today i was approached again. i was shaking my head at him to tell him i am not interested but he actually called out behind me to say lady your baby coming out soon already leh.

i was quite taken aback and quite offended actually.

what does he know about my baby? who says my baby is coming out soon? just because he saw that my tummy is big he assumes i am giving birth soon? i wanted to tell him that if my baby comes out now its not safe as its considered premature and who is he to make such a deduction? furthermore, i felt that he was making the comment to make me feel bad. its as if he is implying that i might never know but i might be in need of the fund when my baby comes out and that i should not reject listening to him. pretty upset.

Elekos,

Chill. I also get agitated easily due to my heavy tunny and lack of slp. But I think we Shld still try to keep ourselves happy so that our baby will be a happy baby. Plus for me, I'm scared if I dun control my temper, I'll flare up at my unreasonable boss.

Mommies, does anyknow know if medela cooler carrier cam fit avent via cups?

Pofy

that guy must be a dickhead to pass such an intactful statement. He is out to embarass n shame u but he really is too much. Think next time u see him n he tout again, ask him y is he forcing u?

Vivocity this Jericho beauty store (opp built a bear) always got salesgal touting n pulling ppl into their store. Newspaper got write up on push cart Lebanese ppl also v pushy.

I also hate it when ppl say : ur tummy so big. u sure pop soon. I get v upset n annoyed. Like they cursing me.

pofy, ignore the insensitive man what does he know about pregnancy, especially at this late stage?

creamdonut, I don't think it's weird cos our gynaes have seen so many of such body parts anyway panties is 2nd nature to them. But personally I never wear a dress for gynae visits.

By the way you were asking about the size and price of cord spirit, I went to TMC pharmacy on Monday and they are selling it at $3 for a 50ml bottle.

Gilera,luv,

Yeah I try to put the episode behind me. Jus disturbed by the implication of his statement. Sigh. Got me tossing n turning thru the night n I didn't sleep well. Got some short bad dream on baby also. Sigh. Detest such people.

Creamdonut,

I wear dress to gynae co's it's the only thing that can fit me n a cheaper option compared to separates. Pants I can't fit in anymore n I dun want to buy new ones since we r so near to baby's birth. I wear those xxl or free size babydoll dress. Yes gynae see panties so on doc visits I wear more presentable panties. Haha. Not the tatterted or faded ones. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Baby-bellies Javanese massage

Anybody used or heard about them?

pofy,

hairy crab is supposed to be a very 'cooling' food, and during the first month, food prepared for us will be 'heaty' so to speak. After confinement it is not a problem.

I bf for about 11 months, but exclusively for 6months. Introduced solid foods at 6months plus and slowly weaned off from there.

creamdonut

you're very funny, I think your gynae has probably seen every shape, colour and style of panty that has ever existed. And on D Day, he'll be seeing a lot more than just your panty! I'm almost always in dresses. Even maternity pants are not so comfortable now.

Pofy,

Background about me - I had cerclarge done at week 14 so in terms of physical activity I'm caution in taking care of myself. I work 5 days a week but in weekend I still do light housework(it'll be tough on hubby if everything done by him) + marketing-hubby's help/cook 2 meals (so we can have healthier/balance diet).

I had bad experience on comment from people as well ...

Both of my older sis -- They comment I'm too pampered and cannot take hardship. Odd thing is they quit their job when they discovered they are pregnant due to MS while I still continue to work even with MS.

My colleague -- Comment that I'm less active compare to them previously. I remember they weren't that active themselves when they were pregnant and slept mostly on their weekends... hahahaa ... peaple can be forgetful s'times.

My swollen feet -- "Oh ..so swollen ...it's a sign you going to give birth early." Shit!!! I'm only 30 weeks pregnant ...DAMN YOU!!!

My nose -- "You're nose are certainly big + expanded hor ..." Grrgrrrrr

My tummy -- "So big ... giving birth soon?" What de??!!!! I've gained 6-7kgs as of today but tummy shape seems pointed and looks bigger.

Time and time again I'm disturbed by what people commented but I've learnt to let it go ...the health of this pregnancy is more important to us and those comments are not going to affect us from enjoying this pregnancy.

Hello Yeng,

Thanks for sharing. I know i m not the only one facing the crude/rude or inappropriate remarks. I also try to bear with it but at times, i wish i have a baseball bat to smack those people pass such remarks at me.

This morning i bought orange juice from 7-11. The cashier a lady actually pointed to my tummy and said : you due today?

i was quite taken aback actually as i don't know her and frankly, i was embarassed too. I know my tummy is big but why must she say or ask such stuff? when i didn't respond, she acutally ask again and i had to choice but to answer "no". There was a long Q behind me. i wanted to dig a hole to put my head in. sigh.

if i know i am due today, would i still come to work?

and yes, my tummy is super big but excuse me, my baby is not ready to be birthed, its too early according to my gynae. how to tell her that and tell her to shut her mouth?

sigh.

there are just all kinds of people in this world.

as for exercise, yeah, i get that too. people say i will have a hard time during labour cos i didn't exercise, including my mother in law. i told her direct, doctor say cannot exercise!

fed up that day. hahahah

but yes, you are right, baby is the most important so after i get angry, i try to cool down asap so that i don't affect baby.

jia you mummies!

tamms,

hairy crab sounds yummy. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

now i just wish for the durians. hahaha.

wed today. 2 more days and weekend!

can't wait.

appreciate some comments if possible on the babies-bellies javanese massage.

i read previously most of mummies here go for jamu or origins.

Pofy,

cool.. dun get angry over the ignorant pple.... my tummy also very big & many pple asking when i'm due....i always tell myself tummy big meaning bb is absorbing well & healthy... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] cheers...

how many weeks r u in now?