(2011/10) Oct 2011

any mummy with baby carrier? Which brand is good and how much selling in SG? any idea?

thinking to get one from Amazon... price like US$50-US$70 only. BabyBjorn brand

Okay kiki, will update ur bb gender!

creamdonut,

cannot choose sizing. the default is M-size shields which most mommies fit well into. so i suggest don't buy first. unless really feel too loose or tight (abrasion) then change.

minidiary,

i used the pupsik pouch from birth till my girl was ard 4mths old. after that she moved on to the japanese hamamuguri baby carrier. bought $10 only. if you intend to carry for very long periods, then better invest in good one like babybjorn, manduca etc.

minidiary/starry> if breastfeeding is sarong type easier? can cover also..hmm..but most of the time i see outside seems like if using sarong type its the mommy carrying. If daddy usually use the carrier like BabyBjorn kind..

rabbit bb,

yes, sarong type (like the MIM ones) slings can bf covered too, but need to adjust and gotta be quite pro. i never tried that 'cos scared later baby struggle and expose me! lol! i've seen other moms doing that though. very convenient! gd for smaller babies. older babies will move and fidget. not safe. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] dads usually use the babybjon type of carrier. pouch/sling ones look a bit odd on a man. haha!!

creamdonut,

ok updated liao! I saw Fitflop selling in US39.50. thought asking u wanna buy or not but today, the promotion is gone... I thought of getting another pair...

ginn, yeah lor... me also like tt.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

jas, can meh? they can control not to sleep so soon?

rabbit_bb, i feel tt my boobs is sore and itchy.. wahahhaa..

starry, heehee... girls are nice too wat.. :p

re dreams.. i alway cant rem when i wake up... veri rarely i will rem..

starry,

i thought of getting stroller enuf aredi, no need to carry carry so ma fan. but my hubby like wanted to carry the baby so much with those baby carrier... haha so he's looking at it. Im not sure the price good at Amazon or join those spree... and dunno which brand.

starry, haha.. poor thing la u. but u're v spontaneous lei, to let ur hb poke the needle. tell ur hb girl v 'tie xin' one.. my mil dotes on her first granddaughter more than her grandson. cause she knows how to 'sai nai'. i wonder if boys can do the same..? i dont remember my brother as a 'loveable' kid lei. hehe. always asking for spanking from my mum de.

jas, must watch/listen to more cheerful things.. might help in having better dreams..?

one or two weeks back, i heard the tix to Europe was very cheap, to travel by next apr i think. so my hb was saying, dont even think about it cause hse will be coming then. that very night, i dreamt hb and i DROVE up to Europe. We drove to HK's Nathan Road.. it looked like a long long express way, and led all the way up to Europe, where we took a bus that looked like SG's old non air-con double decker. -.-

rabbit_bb

y she scared u tell u ghost story?

rina

he cannot close eyes first, sit or lie beside me till i sleep. hehe!

fitflop

where u ladies get? my best fren ask me to get 1 so dat i can walk comfortably.

I think maybe SGD10-15 to deliver to here. This is estimation because Im using Borderlinx to ship to Sg... they based on weight or box dimensions. I wonder if Amazon can don wrap in a box... haha

Currently, I bought some GNC US, books and dvd... total weight close to 6kg and shipping charges SGD62... still trying to consolidate more purchase and deliver at one go...

re: watch/listen cheerful things..

i keep procrastinating about work, feeling sianz at work.. i wonder if my bb will grow up like that leh.... sighz...

re: fitflops

i cant wear fitflops leh.. the center band is too big piece le. my feet is quite thick and broard, i cant fit into them !! take usual size i wear its too tight, take 1 size bigger, too long. troublesome !! wonder wat other comfy n cheap shoes out there to buy.. dun wan spend on geox etc cos abit expensive..

ladies buying books from amazon, can try another alternative.. http://www.bookdepository.co.uk/. free shipping worldwide. i ordered a few cloth books for my babe already, all came fast and well-packed. prices are lower than amazon's even without the shipping costs factored in. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

jgladys,

both hubby and the gynae were horrible! i was screaming no no no! and the nurse poked her head in tell me stop screaming 'cos i was scaring patients outside. (-_-)!!!

minidiary,

sometimes stroller can be very bulky to push ard, that's why i bought the pouch. i used to pouch my girl when she was like 2-3mths old everyday, go JP for breakfast then slowly take the train to my mom's place. but once she's older like 4-5mths old, it's impossible to pouch her 'cos too big and she wanted to explore! so stroller became a better choice then. take note that certain baby carriers (esp those upright ones) require you to purchase a separate insert to accommodate baby's fragile neck and spine 'cos the cannot hold themselves upright yet till they are 4mths old. inserts can get very warm for baby and may be expensive too depending on what brand.. so have to do your research carefully before buying. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

jasmine,

i bought my fitflops at SGD75 from cottagekiddy. she's an online seller, just need to google for her and should find easily. otherwise join sprees? see a lot under spree section.

rina,

that's what i told my hubby! but he traditional mindset lah.. think he wants a boy to play rough with.

starry,

i ordered books from Book Depository too! When u get ur order? roughly how many days? i checked the order status... dispatched on 26 May.. is it registered mail? I feel so dump buy books at Konokuniya when i get to know about this website...

ok will do survey survey first. hope to get my US orders consolidated by this week liao... if not, i will just keep shopping from US/UK website.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

minidiary,

some books took less than a week to arrive, some ard 2 weeks or so. not registered mail, they are posted into the letterbox. but got tracking number so likely won't get lost bah. i also feel quite dumb to have purchased books from Popular etc. so ex in comparison lor! lol!

ya look at the discount they give 10% this month and the books price aredi cheap.. can save alot. i bought alot pregnancy book from kinokuniya tat time... waste money! now go kinokuniya, look at the book, jote down title and order from book depository...hehe

see lah, i just went book depository and bought books again!! but for my babe lah. haha! really cheap! somemore got the 10% discount for may. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

rabbit bb,

thanks for sharing. think opentrolley is good if buy more. otherwise book depository still way cheaper.. for eg the "Dear Zoo" lift the flap book, opentrolley is SGD10.87 but book depository only USD5.30, more worth the bucks.

ginn,

too early to buy baby books. wait till you pop bah. but u can get books on breastfeeding, infant care etc. one such good read is ginna ford's contented baby, which a lot of local mommies are reading.

starry> yeap, if they have free shipping I think its worth it to get from book depository. if need to add shipping then can compare both sites. opentrolley range also might not be so great compare to BD [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Before i see mommies recommend BD, i find open trolley cheaper compared to Kino..hahaha

rabbit bb,

kino is super expensive lor... very heartpain to buy books there, especially those with very low demand. the children books in kino are also darn expensive. luckily there is book depository! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

creamdonut,

go eat udders mao shan wang icecream plus one scoop of hazelnut icecream. heaven...

winter, my gal doesnt like her sophie.. She has nvr "chew" on it before.. Now she will shake it to listen to the squeaking sound only, becomes her toy liao.. But alot of infants love sophie..

I'm new here [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif], not a forum person. But I guess it's good to engage in a common ground with all the Oct EDD mummies. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi Minidiary: R you the administrator for this thread? Seems like you are updating for all mummies here.

I'm a first-time mum, expecting a baby boy. EDD 18 Oct 2011. Visiting Dr A.L.Lim at Thomson Medical.

Did my first screening OSCAR test during 12th week. Am now in my 21st week and am being scheduled to go for a 2nd screening test in 2 days time, which supposedly test for fetal abnormality. Still wondering if I should go for this 2nd screening test as some friends of mine have not even opted to go for their OSCAR test. Are these screening tests necessary?

Oh yah, by the way have you mummies started to buy new panties and bras? Have survived on bra extension (at the back) for the past few 2 months but I think my breasts are growing out of my current cup size.. Have you all started buying? Do we buy panties and bras meant for maternity or just buy normal bigger sizes? Where is a good place to buy?

re: breastpump

which is better - duo or uno pump?

re: stroller

me getting combi urban walker sportive in orange .. or rather, my colleagues are getting it for me; they do not want to be trobled on what to get for me and getting things that i do not need

re: blood test

have never like blood taken from me, although i take blood from others =p

MIL commented that my tummy is small =.= hopefully baby is growing as per expected size and weight .. gender will be unveiled this fri =D

can let me know if any of you happened to see the pregnancy journal (http://rylandpeters.com/books/index.php?section=baby)? it is being sold out at taka .. contemplating whether to buy this or scrapbook for baby ..

Karen,

Hi and welcome! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Nv heard of 2 screenings for Oscar. Could it be the detailed scan you are talking about? I bought a larger sized bra already. Really uncomfortable wearing a bra that's too tight. I often buy bras from John Little, even my nursing bras. Gd and cheap! Unless you are going BKK, can buy the Wacoal brand which is very very cheap over there. I'm wearing the low rise undies, the band just sit under the belly. High waist ones feels hot and uncomfy, plus tend to roll down. So get the normal ones that you usually wear, maybe just one size larger for more comfort? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Creamdonut,

Hee hee!! Baby likes it lah! Sweet mah..

Fantastar,

Dual pump better. Save time to pump both sides concurrently. Don't bother abt what your mil says. First baby will always have tummy that's more compact. When 3rd tri comes it will get really big! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] did u check whether amazon or book depository has the same book? Maybe cheaper to get overseas.

Gilera,

the sling u showed is like the MIM one. Dunno whether same price or not. Looks good though! Think quite popular among mummies here.

Hazel,

Hi and welcome! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Not sure abt yoga. Hope other mommies can help u out on this.

Fantastic - try book depository, lots baby journal and pregnancy journal there if I'm not wrong. Free delivery to sg and tomorrow last day for additional 10% discount.

Fantastar,

I just checked. Book depository has it, USD19.21 with 10% off and free shipping to SG! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

starrymommy: thanks; was a bit worried when she said my baby bump is small and that my SIL's is big (although I am 3 months ahead of her) .. not sure whether is she hinting anything ..

minidiary & starrymommy: thanks =D was planning on doing something for baby to 'show-off' during baby shower & for remembrance ..

Hazel,

Try wabisabi yoga at the central... You can book schedule online and choose weekday or weekends. Intend to join but I lazy travel so far...they have promo 12 classes at $350

hello Karen & Hazel....welcome and congrats! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

creamdonut> vomitting cos ate too much or the wrong thing? hope ur MS is not back to haunt you again :/

btw I wonder where is another earlier forumer Guava...hmm..

minidiary> go and buy those scrapbooking set lah..i saw at pageone in phuket got baby theme ones. SG pageone or papermarket should have..

I had go for detail scan and is a girl girl. Baby very active keep on moving till the sonographer also very difficult to check. Only third attemt then managed to check the head and lip.

creamdonut: at least you enjoy 2 weeks .. mine was only a pathetic 1 week =( anyway, have been feeling well this morning .. hopefully my MS will give me a day off today or gone for good =p

minidiary: agree with rabbit_bb; you can get those scrapbooking set .. easier for 1st-timer .. you can find the sets at urban write, made with love, etc ..

Gilera

I have the MIM think material more to cotton. very durable, use it for 3 kids still abt 16mths very good. need a little practice for positioning. like it cos if you go out alone, your hands are free.

minidiary

Ergo baby is quite a comfortable carrier, its backpack style for front and back carry. The straps are well padded so you won't feel bb's weight digging into your shoulders. I prefer these carriers to slings because of the better weight distribution on the shoulders and hips. The downside is that it is very well padded and bulky, which you may find hot to carry outdoors over a long period. For shopping no problem.

http://www.ergobabycarrier.com/

http://www.firstfewyears.com.sg/warehouse/detail.htm?ProductID=BCR-21

The price is similar to babybjorn but I like it that the baby's thighs are supported, instead of being dangled by the crotch like the Bjorn.

I have the Beco carrier, I chose it over the Ergo because I bought it for hiking with my baby so it will be cooler for the both of us. That was early last year, but now Ergo has newer and more lightweight models you can check out.

Beco has nicer prints [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] but more expensive $200+ http://www.becobabycarrier.com/

Here's another store that stocks a wide variety of carriers http://www.babyslingsandcarriers.com/ location is Square 2 at Novena area

Good morning mummies to be!

Royal, my detailed scan is tomorrow too! where will you be having yours? Are you hoping for girl or boy?

I was puking non-stop on Sunday [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Yesterday still feel indigestion and lack of appetite. Dunno if it is MS or just normal gastrics.

It's my second baby but i can only feel stronger movements since yesterday which is exactly 20 weeks, almost the same as my first one. I felt little bumps and wriggles since 18weeks but not sure if those are baby or gas haha... But my gynae said that my placenta is at the front of my tummy so baby movements and kicks might be shielded due to the placenta. Only can feel if baby kicks to the side or towards the insides [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi all my mummies-to-be, then I will just get the sophie since I intend to get the breastpump from amazon.com.

I only get nausea but no puking so that's lucky in a sense but the nausea keeps coming on and off, not sure is due to the baby or my weak stomach.

Hi mummies to be,

I am in my 20weeks as well and the nausea is coming back on and off too. Hopefully is not getting worst like 1st trimester.

creamdonut: hope you are feeling better now .. me also not working today as I took leave .. Going to have some alone time with baby =D

tamms,

thanks for ur good recommendation. I will search here and there for baby carier.. looking at those brand like babybjorn, ergo, and beco now. Maybe order from Amazon.

rabbitbb & fantastar,

ya will get the scrapbook kit... i went to papermarket, getting lesser and don have baby version one... will try other branch.

starry,

where to get Sophie? i meant the best price... order from US again? saw selling at motherworks singapore $39.90