(2011/10) Oct 2011

Redgin, if you are ok...can let your mum know..I cant hold bk and broke the news to her after 3 days im tested positive!!

thanks mums to be cum doggie lovers. i feel much better having shared and learning from all of you.

my SIL was expecting just days before i conceived. we were all so happy for her. she is in high-risk age and very "pampered - like" so some actions of hers were pretty extreme like having separated steamboat and not carrying her own bag.

she announced before her first doctor visit and even had frends over to celebrate her pregnancy over CNY. her private senior consultant at KK said her BB was st 6 week stage even when she on week 8 and said image was fuzzy. her Dr. said its common and probably will catch up on growth later. i tried to indirectly tell her to try TMC but she insisted that due her age, KK had all equipment and staff.

moreover, hers was in private sector. it was then that we shared my expecting and MIL was estactic over the 2 new BBs due. in my case however, we decided to only announce to immediate family. SIL had all the aunties hovering over her during the CNY visits.

her next scan 2 weeks later showed blurry images too thats when they were referred to TMC whom immediately saw that theres no more sac and that the BB didnt make it.

it was horrible news for us all even to have fallen on her hubby birthday. we were extremely saddened and it was this set back that i quit smoking in a blink.

i managed cut down when i learnt i was pregnant but it was difficult and tried to reason that if its meant to be , it will survive. i always felt guilty lighting up and eventually threw away ciggs after 1 puff. its great that i have totally quit and hope i wont pick it up after BB is born.

thing is now SIL is doing a confinement at MIL for her abortion and though she is not down in the dumps, i feel uneasy. i try not to mention about my pregnancy but she will always ask how dr visit went, nag not to eat this, or do that... when i share with her scan pics she pointed out hers then didnt show likewise then i feel crap. if i dun share with her about it, theres a weird tension and i worry she feels i am selfish.

when we openly talked, she wondered if her pregnant friend that went to her house could have "zhuang xi" - (clashing of happiness) or that she should nt have disclosed too early. others said that her BB was "xiao qi" (petty) to that SIL rejoiced too early.

when is really the best / safest time for announcing to family / friends / work ?

Sportyger, did you talk to your girl abt going to CC?

When my boy first went to CC, he was not sticky leh. He was quite happy. Cos before he start, we brought him down a few times. Told him he will have a lot of friends to play with when he goes to school. And he saw a lot of books & toys which are different from what we have at home, so he was alright.

Plus I eased him slowly. First week he go 9am - 12pm. Second week he go 9am - 3pm. Third week he go 8am - 4pm. Then after that was 8+am till 5+pm daily.

Then everyday talk to him to tell him school is fun, and we love him, so proud of him when he go school without crying, etc.

Now, he loves school. Will put on uniform & shoes and wait by the door :D

Gilera, they saw after first trimester then announce. For my first pregnancy, I told my parents at 8 weeks. My dad's big mouth couldn't be kept shut so everyone knew by then.

This round, I'm only gonna tell my dad at week 12. Then let his big mouth do the works.

Kwxy, my mum quite modern and relax one. She believe that if fated to be yours, will be yours. So she only tell me to rest well, don't be too tired. Ask my hubby to treat me like queen. And pamper me in whatever way she can [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

yan

my inlaws stay with us. they are nice, only not so gd term with my hubby's sis.

rabbi_bb

my hub's sis same as ur BIL.

where is the spree? can i have the link?

gilera

my #1 i never announced to colleagues, they suddenly see my tummy so big. only announced early to close friends and family members.

gilera, i feel so sorry for your SIL [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

maybe can just tell immed family members so they will be there for you.

1dog1rabbit

my inlaws also big mouth de. Actually dont want tell them, but thinking what if the foods mil cooks i cant eat. So better announce. Told them not to tell anyone. Hubby's sister still don't know yet. I know is a good news, they are happy so cant keep to themselves but for the sake of the baby hold it first right.

Jasmine, correct lor. For baby's sake, just happy in their heart but keep their mouth shut first...

My dad not pantang, so he dun care... but to me, it's like... in case anything happens, at least dun hv to face all the inquisitive questions... GWIM?

#2ontheway, she has been going for the half day cc since she was 18 months. We moved house this year and so we changed her to a new cc and converted to a full day cc. In fact she adjusted very well last week, didnt even cry on the first day. The teacher told me she is ok in school but now when we go home, she wants me to feed her, bathe and play with her constantly and doesnt allow my helper to do all these. Last time she would be fine when my helper help her with these.

So this week has been very tiring for me cos she keep sticking to me when we are home.

I'm craving for loads of food now... ahhhhhhhh!!!

My friend just posted pics of very delicious looking tauhu telok on FB.... And she also posted cuttlefish salad.... Both my fave.... sigh!!

& she also posted nasi briyani... *DROOLS*

my hubby v pantang. so we never tell our immediate families too cos their mouth v big!

I only told my colleauges cos i feel too giddy to work, need to work from home tentatively.

And a few of my best frens.

Sportyger, then I dun think is the CC... could be she sense that she gotta share her mummy very soon...

Cos my boy also sensed it and started to be a bit more sticky to me... but cos he's older, he understands when I'm busy so will play with dog/toys/daddy instead...

side track abit.. kids got 6th sense??

my #1 & #2 been asking me if i m preg, but i never answer them cos they v big mouth. will call and tell my parents!!

esp my #2.. she looked at my tummy and smiled. and she said got baby inside right?

my hubby also puzzled how come they suspect??!!

Yan, only my mum, sis, bro and 2 friends (also mummies already) know. Mum and sis guessed, so I told them. Bro knows cos he is on overseas business trip & I asked him to help me get some things (most likely his GF also know but she's also a mummy already, will know to keep quiet first).

My 2 good friends know cos they see I suddenly seem very tired & always nap.

My poor hubby dying to tell his friends but he also know that cannot say too early.

When we had #1, he was proudly bringing his preggie wife to show off to his friends lor...

gilera

my heart goes out to SIL, she must have been devastated. can always try again once she get her strength back.

for me, i would tell my parents first after confirming with gynae. then parents in law. i will only announce my preg to friends after 14 weeks, when 1st tri is over.

yup thats what they all say after 3 months then can disclose. but we only included immediate family after testing st home few days later. it was difficult to not share, how can you get help then? after i tested positive, i had no clue what to do. some on internet said that no doc will see u before 8 weeks, some said that go GP confirm your pregnancy test and do blood test but thats the same thing with urine test wat.... one clinic i called, the nurse said "why do u want to do blood test for wat " OMG she so rude, how would i know, internet told me so...

LOL - with noone to talk to without letting the news out, where to find gynae...in the end, found mine here in forumn. have since met her and so far, it was a right choice.

hmm...just wondered if i tell my boss now at 8 weeks, could he cut me some slack....

Yan, kids are smarter than we think [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] & I think they got 6th sense.

My nephew managed to guess the gender of his siblings during first tri [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jasmine, correct! My boy started to be sticky to me a few days before menses suppose to be due.

im back... eaten mee tai bak fish ball. yummy! got 6 fish balls. i also back hot dessert to eat now... hehe now wanna think what to eat for tonight, coz hubby back at 11pm [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

i dunno what by touching preggie tummy will get preggie... if i know, i will touch them... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

now my secret only my gynae and mu hubby knows. so far havent tell anyone else...

Actually iHerb shipping so cheap plus they accept local credit cards, no need to spree. Cos you add the collection/postage, equals to the discount already :p

Some more if you are first time buyer, I got discount code for US$5 off :D

minidiary

me too, only me and hb knows. but it's so hard to keep this news to myself! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] i'm still deciding whether to tell my mum or not or to wait till after gynae visit then tell.

wah.. can guess gender somemore!lets see if my kids will tell me later on when my tummy shows!

come to think of it.. i have to start all over again after 5yrs!

#1- 11yrs old

#2-6yrs old

every 5yrs i start all over. hahaahahah.. going mad liao

Yan... ok lah... at least the 2 older ones will help out [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

My sis and I, 8 years gap. Still very close [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

But warning: Your older ones will spoil your #3.

My sis is quite a brat cos whatever she wants, me and my bro will usually buy for her [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Cos we think back about ourselves at that age, what we wanted... so if not too exp, we will jsut get it for her lor... ahhahaa

sportyger, 1dog1rabbit,

My girl is getting more fussy ard me recently. She is ok with my mum though so I don't know if it's the pregnancy causing this to happen or not. Kinda tiring looking after her esp in the afternoons now. She needs constant entertainment!

Yan,

That experience sounds very scary! How can just stick the plaster over wound and don't remove? Sure itchy lor.

PRettymums & Vivi, just asking ah... when you BF tt time and make love... will you get let down during sex ah? Cos I had that problem and though my hubs say he's ok with it, I find it damn unglam cos my milk is squirt at his face when got letdown...

So.... breastfeeding was like natural birth control for me... hahahahahaha

we actually wanted 3yrs gap. But suay suay after #1, i had M/c.. so my #2 delayed.

then after #2, i ttc many yrs cannot get preg! lucky i hand itchy touch my frens tummy.. hahaha.. now preg! kekekeke

speaking abt touching pregnant woman's belly. Somehow quite true! 2 of my friends touched my belly before I gave birth last year and they are now pregnant too. So 神奇..

Tamms,

Thanks for the link. How old is your girl? Ur girl very Tong si. Where can I get the book "what's in your tummy"?

Luv,

That's what my gynae said too. Guess I shouldn't let the spotting bother me too much.

Pretty mum,

Dr prescribe me 3 times a day too but I only take 2x a day . Guess should be ok bah. I can't stand the nausea

Yan,

This is scary. I think I will faint if I see my c-sec wound.

Re: KKH

I heard they are good because they have the best and latest equipments due to they are Government hospital. The problem is they have too many medical students. Those experience ones usually will go to private sectors.

Yan,

Why must apply on boobs? Will it shink down our boobs?

Gilera,

I have a dog still with me now for 14yrs. I do agree when your tummy get bigger is best not to bend down too often. I avoid cleaning up my dog's poo as I'm afraid dog's poo has some toxin similar to cat's poo which is harmful to our fetus. My boy always bully the poor dog.

redgin,

ya trying to keep the secret. but also abit envy because my sil preggie news everyone knows.. then fil bought alot nutritrious drink for her...wherelse i do not have because no announce [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] guess i will announce after 12weeks lo... how bout u?

1dog1rabbit,

that time meet up with my preggie fren, she asks me to touch touch her tummy. i dunno got pantang or not because im trying to ttc that time...lastly i didnt touch. if not, maybe kena faster.. haha now i knw liao... if ttc #2, then i must meet all the preggie fren for drink and molest their tummy... hahaha

gilera

i also hope to tell my boss so that he dont always ask me only. But cannot cos his mouth very big. HAHA!

1dog1rabbit

my gal also super sticky. have been telling her dont knock or bang or sit on my tummy. tell her inside got baby must sayang. wah guess gender, super pro lehz. hmm! i did ask my gal didi or meimei, she sae didi wor. But also cannot totally believe her words as she is not very good in talking.

starry

i also tired of looking after her. at my own place, she always fan me. my mil have been telling her mama tired, dun disturb mama. but at my mum's place she wont disturb me, maybe got my brother to play with her. their age gap 10years.

i'm back! on half day leave today [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

minidiary: omg, we had the same ting for lunch!!! hahaha!!! i cant finish the mee tai bak tho, nowadays things eat a bit then sian/bloated liao. bt then quickly hungry agn -.-" super waste food n $$

creamdonut!!!

hahaha OMG... really? i can finish my lunch lo... very tasty because mixed with ketchup sauce.. i like sour sour... now having my dessert.. guess my MS gone aredi.

Jasmine, I asked my boy he want didi or meimei... & he replied,"I don't want another baby... I'm YOUR baby!"

Alamak... I foresee some difficulty in getting him to accept new sibling...

But when I rephrased... Do you want a didi or meimei to play with you everyday?

He replied,"I want both!"

they say that suffering a miscarriage, the damage is 3 times worse than giving birth. i suppose in my SIL case, it may be a blessing in disguise that perhaps this one was not the right one.

when your gynae issue MC to cover you during checkups, we can submit as MC to office, right. but boss was insisting if its a MC (sick on actual day and cannot work) or medical appointment (preplanned medical visit). since ours check ups are medical appointments, is he right in saying that cannot submit as MC must take annual leave?