(2011/10) Oct 2011

esther,

you are welcome. we jia you together. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

noodle,

your babes all very close gap! salute you... how did you cope with #1 and #2? mine will be exactly 1 year apart (EDD 5 days diff only), scared cannot manage. are you a SAHM?

any mummies in the west?

been having intermittent pain in my tummy since early afternn... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

dont wish to go KK to check. but now so last min where can I go? any suggestion?

mommies who are having #2 and beyond

Just want to check with you ladies to confirm when the 'crucial' scans are? There are only 2 main scans namely 12 Week OSCAR and 20 Week Detail scan right? I'm going to see my dr tomorrow for the first time at 8+ week and am thinking of requesting not to perform a scan because I want to minimise exposure to ultrasound scan.

I went through the process before (I'm expecting #2 now) but I can't really recall what is the purpose of seeing the dr at 8 weeks. Only to pee in a cup to confirm preg, detect heartbeat and confirm EDD right? Anything else?

yo mummies...gg for my nap...come in later [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

yan, what kind of pain is it? Pulling, stabbing pain? light cramping or heavy cramping? If its the latter and very painful then you should see the dr, if pulling / stabbing pains then its prob just ligament stretching and you can stay home to monitor

tamms,

i also only know about the Oscar and the Detailed Scan. no more, i think. you mean you wanna skip all the scans except these 2? seeing doc at 8 weeks is just for what you mentioned - confirm pregnancy and EDD, see heartbeat plus take folic acid only.

Yan,

ya there's one day i got stabbing and pulling pain middle of night. Pain till I cried also... then it stops after 30mins.. Hope you are alright soon.

dont know how to describe le. its pulling, cramping... on n off. occasionally stabbing pain. but mostly is cramping

then u better look for a gynae... i also dunno what's the problem. because my pain only short while... sometimes on and off and i just rest on bed.

Muffin, i called Dr poon clinic. Nurse sounds nice. but he is not in clinic! At Mt A doing C-section! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

i hate KK.. dont want go Kk check.

starrymommy

yup I was thinking of skipping the scan, maybe just see dr to confirm high HCG level and get to know her mannerisms so that I can decide if I want to switch to another dr for subsequent visits. My friend in the US is only having 2 scans at 12 and 22 weeks, so I'm questioning if its really necessary to have an ultrasound at every visit even though it is a common practice in Singapore. I am not entirely convinced that it is 100% safe. Honestly speaking and I know I'm going to sound quite bad, I'm not really excited at this point in time. Happy yes, but not exactly excited.

that's just my idea though, my hb might be so excited he'll be disappointed if he doesn't see thumper.

starry,,. me @ sengkang le. But if no choice i dont mind travelling all the way there lor. kind of wrried., dont know what pain is it. since afternn till now

Yan, my gynae at Punggol Plaza has night clinic today.

Dr Woo Bit Hwa

You gotta search online for his no cos I only got his nurse's hp no., not convenient to post here.

tamms, I also can only remember Oscar and Detailed Scan for my #1 but now I'm over 30's already, not sure if I'm also required for other test or not...

I think in your check up, other than those you mentioned, your weight will also be recorded, check your blood pressure, test the sugar level in urine.

Tamms, in this case, you can go polyclinic cos they won't scan every visit. Only detailed scan they send you to hospital.

It's common in us & aus not to scan every visit. I even know of ppl who only start seeing gynae in their last tri.

I'm getting paranoid.. I just tested again and it's positive.. But I'm having cramps now and then.. Yesterday i have spotting but after the jab, no more spotting today.

I'm puzzled.. Am I really pregnant or it's menses cramps.

My LMP is 23 Jan 2011, and my cycle is 27days.. When should I see doctor..

jojo if you tested positive, however faint the line, its still positive so congrats! Cramps are fairly common, I had cramps too at around 5 weeks. Spotting cld be due to implantation. Think you might want to schedule your first appt at around 7 weeks? Sometimes earlier than that dr may not be able to detect heartbeat.

lizy, 1dog1rabbit, starry

thanks! everyone has been asking if I've seen the dr yet its making me feel like I'm missing out on something

Jojo,

if there's no spotting, means the jab is working. Just rest [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

You can make appt for third week of March when you will be around 6-7 weeks [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hello everyone!

Just got back from my GP. She only asked me to do a urine test to confirm pregnancy, as she said it is not necessary to do the blood one. Anyway, yup, I'm really preggie! Hahahaha... until now I still wonder if I am dreaming... can you imagine?

Anyway, she said there's really no need to do so many scans. The crucial ones are 8, 20 and I cannot remember which ones already. I think it's really because we are anxious to see our bb growing healthily, that's why we choose to do scan every appointment heh.

By the way, anyone heard of Dr Wee Horng Yen from KKH? He's highly recommended by my GP. According to her, Dr Heng (my initial choice from Parkway East) is rather packed and a tad old-school. I checked other forums but very few people talked about Dr Wee, though those who mentioned him gave good comments about him. Just thought I'd like to find out from anyone here if you have had him before?

yan,

wanted to PM u but u don't accept PMs. the gynae i mentioned is John TL Lim. you can do a google to get his addy and contact nos easily. hope your pain goes away ASAP! keep us posted k?

lizy,

are there any other tests apart from these 2?

tamms,

ppl i've told abt my pregnancy are also asking when am i gonna see doc. you are not missing out lah. go so early also won't see much and costs like $100++. might as well not go unless there is bad cramps, spotting or anything out of the ordinary.. i'm also gonna take things easier this time round. don't have the luxury of sitting ard and think too much also as i have a 4 mth old girl to 'entertain'. can be darn tiring at times..

morninghugs,

CONGRATS! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] so wonderful to know that piece of good news! when are you going back to see gynae again then?

1dog1rabbit- thanks! Going to see dr woo after work!

But I feel so worried now. Hope everything turns out ok! Gosh!! Feel like crying now. So worried [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

starrymommy: Haha... actually I have been in the thread for a week or so, just that reality doesn't quite sink in until I hear it from the doctors :p Now with a test done at the clinic, yup, feel more assured already [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I haven't seen gynae yet. Still "shopping round for one"! So many things to think of e.g. Near my place or no need (near will definitely be Parkway East)? Male or female? That's why need recommendation!!!

Yan, don't worry. Dr Woo is very nice and gentle [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Try to drink more water to get full bladder so can do abdominal scan. Else he'll do vaginal scan for you [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

morninghugs,

same for me, shopping ard for gynae. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] hoping to find one near home so that i can visit at night or weekend. oh yah, how many weeks pregnant are you now? what are the symptoms you have?

jojo, relax. During my 1st pregnancy, I also tested quite early. I did the pregnancy test right after I missed my menses. Though it was positive but the line was so fade that it was hard to tell whether I was pregnant or not. But I also constantly feeling cramps every now and then. The pain felt just like menses cramps so I thot maybe menses coming. But a week later still no menses, only cramp so I got another pregnancy test kid and tried again. This time round it's much clearer. I finally convinced that I was pregnant and scheduled an apointment with my doc.

For my 2nd pregnancy, same thing happened. Cramp every now and then throughout the day but no menses. In fact it was this cramp that made me suspect I could be pregnant..

I would suggest that you rest and wait for a few more days, then test again... Else perhaps you should consider taking the Blood test to test for the level of HCG.

In the meantime, continue to monitor if you had more spotting. Once see spotting, go see doc.

starrymom: Same sentiments! Parkway East is like 2-300m away from my house, so I thought this'll make a good exercise for me whenever I have checkups. And yes, can go on weekends or evenings with least disruption to work and other commitments!

I am 6 going to 7 weeks preggie. Just nice have this week and next to shop around for a gynae! Symptoms wise... now I have queasiness sometimes, but okay I'm good, coz not to the extent of vomitting. Loss of appetite especially in the morning. Constipation (!!!!!). My eczema has flared up and I have patches on my thighs.

The main thing is the fatigue lor. I need to sleep early these days. In the midst of work break, I sneak in naps of 10 minutes to recharge.

How about you?

1dog1rabbit- thanks. I m only abt 5weeks. May not b able to see anything. Just hope the pain is nothing serious!!! So scared

Starry, apart from those two scans, I was also put through a blood test. I can't remember the name of the test ler.... It was part of the down syndrome scan package. I was told together with the blood test and the ultrasound, it will give a more accurate result.

oh I also asked to put through another test which they took my blood first then asked me to drink an awfully sweet drink, and then after a while, took my blood again to check if I had Diabetes. Coz in several check ups, there was sugar found in my urine and there were history of family members having diabetes. Thus to play safe, my doc asked me to take the test.

tamms, yes, in the U.S., ultrasound is done only twice during the entire pregnancy. At the regular visits, they only listen to the heartbeat and measure the tummy to estimate the size of the fetus.

I believe one of the reasons why they only do it twice in the U.S. is because of the cost of the scans. It costs hundreds of dollars just for a scan there. You can check with your friend for second opinion. Here, scans are less than $100.

jojo, I see a gynae when I'm about 6-8 weeks pregnant. Based on your LMP and cycle, you are about 4 weeks now. But I believe if you have spotting, you need to go see a doctor right away.

stary, haha, don't salute me... I'm a FTWM and my kids are in the care of helpers. Two kids is still manageable most of the time, except when they're seriously sick with fever/vommiting, etc. I think those are the more trying times.

morninghugs,

your symptoms are very similar to mine. i have loss of appetite, queasiness in the afternoons/evenings, constipation and also eczema! hate the eczema. so itchy! mine are on the hand/wrist area. haven't felt much fatigue though. maybe too used to it taking care of my girl whole day.

lizy,

oh yah, forgot the blood test till u mentioned it. i didn't take any sweet drink for urine test though.

noodles,

also very tiring right, to be a FTWM with 2 young kids and one more coming! did you actually plan for the close age gap?

starrymom: sigh, and my gp told me nothing very much i can do about the eczema now except keep skin moisturised... avoid certain food! But the patches will not heal just like that!!! What do you do to manage them?

morninghugs,

i use the california baby calendula cream. helps a bit. and avoiding crabs, squid, prawns etc seafood helps too. my eczema cleared when i was in 2nd tri! hope this time round will clear fast! find it very irritating... :p

Thanks for all your valuable advice..

I told myself to be patient.. But just can't control..

As I have a miscarriage previously, that why I really worry..

Ok, I will wait for another week.. Hopefully I can share my joys with all of you..

Most imortantly, I feel much positive and less worried now..

Thanks everyone of u.. :eek:)

i m back from Dr Woo! doc did a scan can see a small sac only cos v early. But i feel so relieved now cos doc said the tummy pain seem normal although it lasted the whole afternoon!its nothing serious.. no need any medication! just rest [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Yan,

glad that you're alright and release now...

ya, sometimes cramp is very normal.. i had it in 4-5weeks... now no more cramp liao. just bear with it for awhile lo.

morninghugs,

Can buy from the BP thread. Look out for a topic that states California Baby. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Orherwise Watson's also have but a lot more expensive!

wow this thread moved so fast! welcome to all the new mummies!!

jus now i jumped ard playing some games leh, now the uterus area a bit pain. scared scared!!!

Good morning everybody! Hope you have a great day today [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Tamms, there's the 3rd trimester screening at 32 weeks. My gynae usually doesn't order ultrasound either but due to my gestational diabetes, he'd to scan my placenta at every visit to make sure it's working well. #1 turns out ok in the end so I assume ultrasound isn't harmful for the unborn bb.

Jojo, continue to stay positive and soon you'll hold your baby in your arms!