(2011/10) Oct 2011

You are welcome, KWXY. :)

minidiary, Dr Ho is definitely good! No doubt about that. But I am kinda worried about the costs cos I gotta see him every week now. If its $300 each visit, I am gonnna bankrupt soon.

Dr Tan was recommended by some relatives.

Don't worry, will do some more research before deciding. :)

Yesterday morning felt giddy and nauseous when taking train to work. Menses is late for a week thus I bought pregnancy test kit and I was tested positive! I cried in office cause I never expected that!

Called hubby and he immediately came and fetch me to a gynae and I am pregnant for about 5 weeks!

Gynae said cannot see the heartbeat yet. Will have to go to him again in 2 weeks time. And if still cannot see heartbeat, its not a good sign! *cries*

Last friday felt a sharp stab at my womb there, didn't think much about it and it lasted for 3hours plus. (Had 2 glasses of wine during dinner)

Hope nothing goes wrong... *pray*

I was given Duphaston and folic acid too!

Hi esther, congrats and welcome!

Don't worry too much, its much too early to see the heartbeat. Just relax and enjoying your pregnancy! (Especially before MS sets in. :))

kwxy, minidiary,

Go pamper yourself with facials! It's ok to do 'normal' washing, squeezing blackheads etc. Think pregnant women are especially radiant due to all the hormones so end up u girls may not need to go anyway. Hee!

Esther,

Congrats! Your first baby? I'm sure u cried tears of joy. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Usually won't see heartbeat so early. Hope u get good results in 2 weeks' time! Enjoy this time and eat why you crave for (except sashimi and alcohol).

Mummies, thought waiting for another blood test result this Thursday, I still got to ask if you all still have cramps or sorebreasts now in 4-5 weeks??

I can feel that my breasts are growing and hopefully bb will stick well and grow too! If not it will be a cruel joke to me!!

Thank ladies!

I guess I didnt have the mood to work.... haha! Feels tired nowadays!

BTW, wanna check if anyone thought of doing pre-natal check-up/ testing? My cousin was born with birth defect. Should I do pre-natal test just to be sure? So sorry for so many questions. I am quite worried.

Thanks starry, hubby and me actually wanted to save more money to about 2 years later... haha! Anyway, it's a God's gift! Happy now but can't tell anyone yet... haha!

kwky,

Don't worry, your bb will stick well and grow! Eat well ya! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Tested positive recently and due to see gynae next Friday. The wait has been excruciating!!

Should be about six weeks pregnant now.

Same as prettymums and vivi, this is my third pregnancy. Very encouraging to find fellow 3rd time mothers-to-be here!

Thank you Jasmine!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

How many weeks are you now??

starry,

no radiant for me. got few pimples pop out. and i have stopped using acne gel for few weeks as I heard cannot use... it takes time to cure naturally [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] i guess radiant only starts in 2nd trimester...

welcome new mummies on board! so many new mummies, im getting confused aredi..

kwxy,

i experienced cramps during 4-5weeks. on and off one. i just bedrest only. but now, no more cramps liao. just sometimes wanna vomit and tired... plus pain nipple.

hi jojo (newnewmum) , am seeing dr poon king fu at hougang ave 1. i find him a responsible and patient doc. if you are keen i can pass u his contacts or u can google some reviews on him

happyenough,

quite costly also $300++ for every visits. if im not wrong, ur first visit costs u $450 right? my emergency visit in KKH costs me $130, then Dr Tham $220. im still okay with it because Dr Tham's package starts 12th weeks. my 2nd appt with him on 10th weeks, by then I will sign up the package.

just book appt to see gynae next sat...

like so long to wait till 5 march [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Thanks minidiary [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

My cramps also on and off...whenever i have cramps...i so scared to see red the next day!!...then i will quickly go to the toilet and chk....Thats the problem when im all alone at home....better go out walk walk...

don worry much, you on duphaston...

that's like "an tai yao" for you...

that time i didnt check HCG... positive on 30th Jan..then 1st Feb back KL aredi... a week cramp and back to SG. Im also like you so worried, then i take out my HPT again to test whether "Am I still Pregnant" hahaha... it shown no more faint line, darker line aredi... I wanted to see gynae, but all no entertain me because no spotting.

kwxy,

believe that your little bun will stick close to you and you will get to meet him/her in oct. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

re: sore boobs

i'm ard 4weeks pregnant now, but no sign of soreness at all. previous pregnancy also, soreness came slightly later at ard 8 weeks like that? cannot remember already. but girls, this is NOT a reliable indication of whether you are still pregnant or not, so please don't panic like i did the last round when my soreness went away. whole day kept pinching/squeezing my boobs in the office to see got any pain or not. sounds so sadist hor? haaha!!

re: cramps

have a little on and off. if feels really painful (like very bad period cramps) and lasts for a long time, please rush down to your gynae no matter what. drop your work and whatever meetings you have.

esther,

think it's far too early to do any pre-natal tests. the earliest test i know of is the OSCAR, for down syndrome. what birth defect was ur cousin born with? very sad to hear cases like this, but all we can do is eat well, rest well and make sure we are prompt with any gyane visit. once feel discomfort somewhere, ask or seek help straight away. i heard a friend's colleague didn't know what's normal and what's not. her baby didn't kick whole day (during 2nd/3rd tri) and didn't notice/bother and then realize too late something wrong with baby le.

minidiary,

it was WORSE for me the last round. i still remember it was CNY last year. i was already 6 weeks along and i had the worst case of allergic reaction on my face and body. red, itchy, scaly patches! still have to do visitations and that was my very first time visiting my hubby's relatives in malaysia some more. so 'diu lian' lor! hey, maybe u can put some aloe vera gel on ur pimple? or try the hazeline snow cream (put in fridge, super shiok!). worked for me! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

minidiary,

i just remembered, the california baby calendular cream is also good for pimples, rashes, mozzie bites, cuts etc. it's the "shen qi" cream at home for baby and me!

noodles,

congrats! whoa... gonna be 3rd time mommy! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] how old are your #1 and #2?

congrats esther and noodles!

Esther, don't worry about the prenatal check ups. Your gynea will advise you what and when to do those tests along the way. You should also raised your concerns to your gynea so that he/she will have better assessment for you. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] No one is borned to know everything so it's ok to ask questions here. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I remembered when I had my #1, I also asked a lot of questions. hehe...

KWXY, don't worry too much I'm sure your baby will be all right. I don't have cramps now but still having sore boobs.

oh something to share, I happened to find these videos about the growth of our little ones inside us and thot of sharing. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

http://www.babycenter.com.sg/video/pregnancy/weeks-1-to-9-pregnancy/

I'm really looking forward to see my baby in the coming appointment in march.... really wanna know how my little one is doing inside me.. haha...

Thanks starry,

colleague was telling me OSCAR scan will do good already. Not sure if its really good enough for my case. My cousin is born mentally retarded. Gynae ask me what causes it and I have no idea at all.

Lizy,

Think my next appt I will ask alot of questions and can assure myself better.

my 2nd appt is om 7 march and like you, I am feeling excited! I wanna see the heartbeat!

minidiary,

no problem! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

esther,

this kind of mentally retarded case could be 'random'. maybe it's fate, although indeed very sad for a child to be retarded. super heartbreaking for the mother too... please don't be affected by this. keep thinking also no use, right? might as well buy some magazine, books etc to read or watch "A Baby Story" on discovery home & health to boost morale. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] i love that show. super heartwarming! and i always tear when i watch the mummies lay eyes on their little ones for the very first time straight after birth. totally didn't have the opportunity to do the same for my girl as i under GA. MUST do that this time round. let's focus positively on that okay? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Esther, there are many reasons to mental retardation and without a known cause for your cousin, doctors will not be able to advise what tests to do too.

Some causes may not be genetic but due to something that happened during pregnancy/labour/infantcy.

There will be a detailed scan at 20 weeks. They will check all the organs, including the brain. If there's anything amiss, you'll know then.

Thanks starry! U reassured me with your kind words. I think I must be more positive and be in pink of health for the arrival of my little baby.

Thanks much!

Esther, the detailed scan will be at hospital using better ultrasound machine and the scan will take longer than using because they scan everything in detail. The heart, kidney, lungs, intestines, etc etc.

Usually this is when physical/organ birth defects are spotted.

KWXY

I'm in my 5th week according to my HP and baby center webbie. =D

Anyone can introduce stretch marks cream/oil? Previously someone intro the organic ones.

Hi jojo (newnewmum),

his clinic is at blk 108 hougang ave 1 #01-1259. tel: 6858 1233.

his package starts on the 12th week onwards at 700. he delivers at mah, tmc n east shore.

normal delivery is 800-1200.

do let me if u hv other quiries, if it's within wat i know [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi...

I miss my period for 3days but the feeling is same as going to come menses...

Went to bought preg kit and positive.. :D

when to see doc yesterday and done vagina scan..

Gynae said cannot see the heartbeat yet... will visit him again in 3weeks.

Normally how many months then can see heartbeat?

Joanne, normally 6 - 8 weeks then can see heartbeat. If you only missed your menses for 3days, then most likely you are only 4 weeks preggie, that's why your gynae ask you to go back 3 weeks later [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi everybody, welcome and congrats to all the new mummies! this thread is getting bigger!

hi joanne, is your cycle regular? if yes you are probably abt 4-5 weeks pregnant which is probably too early to see heartbeat. Most of the heartbeats can be seen by 6 weeks. i saw mine at 7 weeks.

Doc told me is 5week preg but i count back the last mense.. cannot be 5weeks leh.

mine is very regular... cos if 5weeks preg mean i last month 1st day of mense lor...

dunno how the doc count...

Joanne, from the day you ovulate is consider 2 weeks. So if your menses is on a regular 28 day cycle, it means that you are 4 weeks pregnant if you just missed your period.

Thanks, congrats to all new mums too!

Esther, I won't worry about getting tests done except for the standard ones. I believe there's a blood test at around 16 weeks? And some neck fold test which is actually done during the tummy scan. They just measure (on the ultrasound) the thickness of the neck. Then, there's the detailed scan at 20 weeks. It's an extended version of the normal tummy scan we do at our monthly gynae visits. None of the tests were invasive.

The thing about Down's Syndrome is that, even if your results indicate you were at high risk for it, would you still have the baby? I think for most of us, the answer is a yes.

My #1 is 2.5 years old, #2 is 14 months old.

Didn't use any oil and have minimal stretchmarks, but maybe because I have yet to return to my pre-#1 weight. Don't have any excuse for not using any oils/creams except laziness [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

For those who like to keep up with their baby's growth, there's an app on the iphone "What to Expect" (free). And you can sign up for weekly newsletters from babycenter.com.

Muffinger- where does Dr Poon king fu delivers at?

Hougang v convenient for me [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]