(2011/09) Sep 2011

Re leave

earlier on we talked abt infant care leave n ML.

can i check if i were to start my ML on the 1st Sept and take 16 weeks straight ml andi will return to work on 2 Jan 2012.

my question here is i would like check on the infant care leave - say for my instance i would like take the 6 days infant leave after my 16 weeks then that will consider 2012 infant leave . But if i wld like tap and utilise the infant leave for 2011 , can i say start my ML earlier on the 24 or 25 August and that will means i finish my ML on the 24 Dec. then i take the rest of dec as my 2011 infant leave.

Does that make sense ?

I already bought the $168 tickets for 28 Aug. Very reluctant to give up cos Ive never missed any of Jacky's concerts here. I was telling hb this is my most impt 胎教. Will hang on until then. I told my gynae I am ready to give birth ANYTIME from 29 Aug :p

kyra, if ur menes has always been regular.. then yr delivery will be plus minus 5 days from yr edd. this is usually the case. hope u can still go for Jacky 's concert. if u give birth there, ur child will be on news !

Muffin - If menses has always been irregular? This baby isnt an accident, but it certainly came as a big surprise. From young, I had irregular menses. 2 years ago, I even missed menstruation for 1 whole year. So when I visited the gynae for a pre-conception check last June, I was told it might be quite difficult. By God's grace, we conceived in Nov [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

muffin,

16 weeks ML from 1 sep means u need to get back to work on 22 Dec 11. (it is 16 calendar weeks not 4 mths). If u take ur childcare leave right after ur ML, u will need to report to work on 30 Dec 11. As for whether u can start ur ML earlier, u can only start 4 weeks before ur EDD, no earlier than that.

Best to check with ur HR cos i think different companies got different policies on ML. Some i know will make it 8 weeks straight, then the remaining 8 weeks is like a blk leave (which means dont lugi the PH). Some if u take MC during the last 4 weeks near EDD< they will consider that as ML. so very extreme. Mine is more a calculation of what a govt body calculate.

Hi Kyra, if menses not regular then the plus minus 5 wont be applicable.

Dun woory , Talk to yr bb and discuss w God [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mine too is concieve by Grace [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Din post for a while but has been a silent reader [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Asura, enjoy ur weekend getaway n happy birthday to your gal!

Mummies with spotting, hope your spotting stops soon. Rem tk more bed rest n tat means with legs up even if at home. Think women has an inclination to potter around the hse doing this n that even when on mc ;P

Re. Buying Bb stuff

1st time mummies, try to settle your impt items by 2nd tri. Impt ones like those want to hv a personal feel, touch n see type eg strollers, Bb cot, somebb clothes etc. Diff things impt to diff ppl n diff budget :p coz sometimes in 3rd tri, sometimes complications arise (touch wood for all of us!). Like I had early contractions for my #1, was hospitalized n ordered bedrest n not allowed by gynae to go shopping even after hl over. So if your impt items r settled, U'll feel less stressed [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Also some 3rd tri symptoms not that comfy too, such as heartburn, swollen feet etc, makes u very tired to go shopping. Haha aim for the mid year sale to buy n buy!

Re. Bak ku teh

Silly me, forgot likely got herbs inside. My tingkat lunch sent that as soup the other day n I finished all. Oh well [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Re. Birth plan

Whatever is decided, most impt is that both mummy n Bb r safe, n Bb is healthy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mummies opting for natural birth esp without pain relievers, do keep in mind alt plans k. I read stokes of mummies who were so focused n intended on natural without epi that subsequently when they had to do csect or take epi due to complications in the childbirth, they felt so shortchanged n upset, some had mild depression after childbirth. Not worth it coz focus shd be on smooth delivery, regardless of method n healthy Bb.

Hee I love natural for the fact that Bb get to choose their own birthday! Hee like the first thing they get to decide n I think Tat's special [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] For my #1, I wanted natural n was sonhappy after talking to Bb for weeks, he finally turned head down in my 36th week. Haha after my waterbag burst naturally at 8+, my contractions only started at 3+ but I juz can't seem to dilate. After 4hrs+, with an inducement drug given to speed up contractions, Bb heartbeat keep dropping so was rushed by gynae to emerg csect. Actually csect not too bad, I choose epi so was still conscious when Bb was born n got to hold him [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] also the bad pain is only more so on 1st 2 days but then is still taking painkillers then so bearable. Was walking by 2nd day (strongly encouraged to by gynae once we r off drip as it speeds up recovery) n after going home no longer taking painkillers on 4th day. 1st 2 weeks take note not to carry heavy things, carrying Bb best to sit down n juz dun cough/laugh/sneeze too hard. Wearing a binder helps heaps in protection n recovery too. Scar was not bad, just a small red line. Hee I guess depends on gynae's stitching. Mine's quite good, no pain during removal too. Haha overall comparison, I'll opt for csect this time too. Juz tat bb's birthday will be decided by us ;P

Ps I hate the vaginal chks by the nurses when in the delivery ward. They kept coming every 2hrs or so to chk on dilation n it hurts alot more than contractions. Even with contractions every 4-5mins, it's like bad menses cramps but the vaginal chks with their hands were like hell. Wasn't in epi then so can feel them prodding in, so violated feel n painful, ouch! Haha I was asking the head delivery nurse is the pain worst than last stage labour pain n she just smiled n said they r diff :~{ haha!

oo ok that is clearer for me , thks Asura!

i go plan and speak to my hr [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Kyle

Delivery can start from 37 weeks onwards anytime..

anyway when u r in 3rd trim, u won't like to squeeze in crowds so tired and afraid people bump into u etc.

i attended a concert during my 2nd trim and my boy is dancing in tummy throughout haaa.

Kyra, hope get to catch Jacky's concert. I thoroughly enjoyed his last one in 2008 [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] this time giving it a miss. Erhh hee actually some bbs dun like loud noises when in the womb, it frightens them. I watched transformers 2 when preg with #1, Bb kept kicking n was very unsettled until I closedmy eyes to sleep ;P

I oso wan to go to the concert was so happy he is coming again... Love it lo

Den saw the date my hb said maybe if due early den how to go ... Olso not able to go in 39 weeks mah.. Wait get too high there ... Lol get into newspaper Tml

Am not sure how big is normal ... Maybe coz me n hb r short so BB is small oso

In my 12 week 4 days.. BB only 6.1cm wor

@simbaobao - don't worry too much. At 12 weeks, my iphone app shows that the normal length is 6cm too. Your bb still exceeds that guideline. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]Anyway, I heard babies grow fastest in trimester 2, so you can look forward.

gina.. hehe actually as long as baby is health.. i dun mind having a smaller baby.. hehe if not too big.. wait very cham.. myy gf one is too big and end up her gyane told her to c-sect instead of letting her try nature..

have you mummies taken dinner?

here's mine [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] overdozed by pasta now..

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5178573.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5178574.jpg]

Hi All! I'm new here. Hope can join in the discussions.

Nick: hunny_bee

BB # 1

EDD: 12 Sep 2011

Gynea: Dr. Adrian Woodsworth

Hospital of choice: MAH

Area: Lavender

Just did a scan today... At 12w4d my BB only 5.79cm... Seems so small compared To the measurements you All get... But doc nv say anything leh.... Worried....

Got the Oscars result today too, doc nv explained Just Said normal... Guess i shd not worry too much?

gina: hehe thank thanks.. u have a good rest too yeah...

welcome stephanie & hunnybunny

hunny: i dun tink nid to worry so much now.. @ least can bump up the baby during the last trimester if doc advise.. if not, as long as doc said no worry.. dun worry too much..

my gf was told by the doc to STOP eating too much.. every appt.. she got nagged by the gyane..

i agree with sung about the fact that although we go into labour and into the delivery ward with the natural delivery mindset, sometimes its not within our control if we don't dilate, like in my case.. then end up like so cham gotta undergo c-section etc..

think most impt is to trust your gynae's judgement and decision at that critical moment. as sung said, as long as delivery is smooth and baby is healthy is what we want at the end [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Choco15 : I was thinking Abt getting the avent pump. was there a long queue this morning? May i ask what x did u reach?By the z I got there, no more hot deal for e bottles.[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

But did check with them. They ll have another one later in the year.

Thanks sung for remindin to get items early.

bunnz: i reached there quite early but went to look for food.. by the time i went up was like 10.05? and already had like 10-15 ppl in front of me.. but they mostly wanted the manual pump or the car seat or stroller so by the time it got to me actually still had one more breast pump left.. i think also coz today is weekday? but behind me after that was long long queue.

other than the "hot daily deals", there are also deals that only happen on one day of the sale.. as in different days got different things.. so i think some people went to get those.. those are not really "limited" items per day.. my guess its like till stocks run out kind? (known as "daily specials")

the bottles are a real good deal i think.. those thinking of the quinny stroller, yesterday's offer on the quinny buzz roller pink N0430 was going for $599 instead of usual price $1,198! but limited to 5 pcs only.. the next quinny one is on 12th march. the quinny buzz playground brown N1874 is going for $599 discounted from usual price of $1,198.

i have the brochure for the daily deals. will try to type day by day if mummies here are interested..

I was thinking abt the brown buzz . I went ard 12 ish. Ate lunch first. Hehe mb I ll drop in one of the mornings next week. See how . I m also considerin manual or the electric one.

bunnz: PM me if you going can.. maybe if you decide to get the manual one, please help me get the electric? hehe.. but i heard alot in front of me order the manual coz its like $39!! but the electric is 2pcs daily and the manual is 5pcs..

Simbaobao: thanks for the assurance. I've been poking fun at hubby that BB must hv taken his small genes, he's born less than 5 lbs at full term. Haha. But could also be coz i've had very bad ms and not keeping my food down as well as not taking my vits due to bad constipation....

Btw, What do you mean by bump up in the last trimester?

Ok.. Choco15 . Think px also issue. Although big discount but still a big investment for pump [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Gina: no need to fast.. hehe but hor.. eating something sweet before the scan might help to get baby in a better position... before i went.. i had mos burger.. haha bb was in super good mood during the scan...

Mean can eat more stuffs to fatten the baby.. durian or hagan daz ice cream helps alots.. a gyane taught my sis tat and warned her not to take too much @ the same time during 1st n 2nd trimester...

Thanks simbaobao. My scan is at 8am on Tue so I don't know how sweet I can eat for breakfast but will try to have smth nice. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Gina: oh dat is early.. No la doesn't have to b something really sweet.. Juz munch some sweet in the mouth will do as well...

Hunny dun worry too much abt the size. According to babycenter, week 12 Bb Is 5cm , at week 13 is ard 7 cm. I also have severe ms n bcos of ms I lost 4kg. But as long as Bb is healthy, I'm happy.

My mil is overly concern abt my ms n she always tell me to eat even vomit. How to eat when I keep vomiting ...

Igop : I puked like mad but my WT didn drop at all... I forced myself to drink alots of water when I can't swallow foods down to make sure we dun get dehyated. Even water oso puke out but still continue to drink again..

Simbaobao , I guess I lost weight cos during bad ms days, whole day only can eat half bowl of plain porridge n the porridge water. Then whatever I drink or eat I will puke out. It's really nightmare.

Hi all mummies, those having really bad ms can buy those sachet Ginger tea n drink. It helps alittle n release the air in the stomach too.

good morning....

Jennifer: hahaha i know i cannot take much ginger but so despo to cure the MS.. i bought the ginger tea.. end up... rashes like no body biz... -_-"!

Finally today step into 2nd trimester le...

wrt childcare leave..

my previous pregnancy was also in sept, but late sept.. i was due back in office in end Jan 2010.. i was asking if i could break up my ML into 2 parts (coz I had wanted to use up my CCL). my HR told me I cant utilise my CCL as I had not used up all my ML.. so im not sure if different companies have different policies.. not sure if in this new company the same policy applies.. but anyway i wun lugi the 6 days CCL, coz i already have the 6 days CCL.. hehe

SimBaoBao>> can you do a food fest and let us eat all that you cook? everytime i see the photo that you post, i feel like eating that thing.. looks too good for me to resist.. :D

hahaha in the past, i will tell u... ok.. now no no.. no more strenght to do big portion or stand in the kitchen.. esp the cleaing up kills... haha

Simbaobao last night I showed my mum your pasta pic and told her I like to eat something like that next week. Then my sisters all say yes yes they want too. Looks Yummy!

SimBaoBao>> maybe you should consider going into catering.. hehehehehehe.. for the mummies only! or hold some cooking lessons? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

sing yee>> ive been drinking honey coz i cannot stand plain water.. but not the one from yummi house, i just buy from ntuc that kind de..

muffin,

the childcare leave is given by calendar year, cannot be brought forward. Suggest you ask ur HR cos i heard some places, they only give pro-rated CC leave after every quarter. Like finish Jan to mar, then give u 1.5 days, Apr to Jun, another 1.5 days, etc/

Sin yee, I'm drinking honey from yummi house. It nv says not suitable for pregnant n they claim the ingredients are natural so I go ahead. Rem not to use metal spoon . I use chopstick to take the honey out n mix with lemon n lukewarm water.

Pinkie I hate water too! Have been trying different varieties to qench my thirst. What do u drink? I always drink ribena , juices n honey water.

igop>> i take camomile tea, ginger tea, (sometimes a cup of lipton tea), ribena and lotsa honey water.. but i do try to take some plain water, coz i dowan to be diabetic.. previous time i had gestational diabetes and im really crossing my fingers it can stay away from me this time.. but at the rate that im taking in the sweet stuffs, i tink its gg to be poking n poking at the last trimester for me.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

my gyane told me to take honey too with lemon esp when coughing.. works beta den those no power medi given for preggy ladies..

hehe catering? OH NO! i will not tink of tat in my life again.. turing hobby into biz is a big torturing...