(2011/09) Sep 2011

bisforbb : thanks for the iron info. so not every preg lady needs it i guess. mil has been mentionin abt taking iron pills plus i see ladies taking it..

hunnymummy : think it's the mummies brewing hot themselves :p..weather is so warm!

i'm just doin more reading/eating n resting today. Many good finds in the bt batok library yest! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] easy day for me today .

I found this book about water which is so interesting. was introduced to his findings some times ago

Any mummy who is bored can go google "masaru emoto"

btw who was asking which group of people is better to do cord banking earlier in the forum?

i chanced upon the article last night.

Families who plan to have one child only/mixed marriages/family history

Thanks all for the reco

i don't think I lack calcium, cos I have been taking calcium tablets since start of pregnancy. Will try out the stretching exercises and maybe re-hydrate myself once in a while with isotonice drinks.

bunnz - i guess you are right about the essential oil. I also dun think mine at home are of pure grade.

okay... going off for early lunchie. Will log in later here and also FB [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hey pommes, you should also try to allow your legs to rest on top of a pillow when you sleep. and ask your hb (or if you are flexible enough), lift your leg slightly up and pull your foot towards yourself. keep your legs straight when you do it. that should help!

sychosis - thanks for the reco. Will try it out tonight.

my lunch menu

claypot noodle... noodle too salty

with bandung ice cream... ice cream too sweet.

in the end, everything eat half and throw away.

Shall not eat ice cream anymore... so sweet [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/nono.gif]

FB

i cannot post my comment. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] can only post at the wall. Thot it was my Mac at home, office PC also the same.

ice cream is way too yummy to give up :p maybe you can try having it once in 2 weeks instead?

that's weird that you can log onto fb but can't post comments? i thought it might be firewall issues.. can u even see a box to type?

BTW MTB, anyone has enquired or know when we should go for antenatal classes?

sychosis - i have signed up for the prenatal class (childbirth education) with Mt Alvernia. But they haven't confirmed my place yet. I'm looking at weekend slot, starting in June.

I also dunno why... i can see the box. I typed my comment, then i realised i cannot post. no button to click to "post"

b.isforbaby:eek:h...metamucil:heard of it. i have benefiber but din take cos no indications for preggy.. dunno wad's it made of also.. i think coconut husks ba.. but need to double check. i scared is fibre overload like someone mentioned earlier cos i really take alot of fibre everyday de. but this morning i flush one week's worth out liao.LOL:p sorry tmi.LMAO!!

Bunnz: truE!so mad weather!my mum's in Us and she says these days they have snow there... it's supposed to have ended by now...the weather's going bonkers!!and BKK is aircon temperature..?I heard...

Ilovesashimi- mine schedule at NUH. I can do it at my Gynae clinic but not able to claim medisave, so he arrange for me to do d test at NUH.

Sychosis: For my #1, we went for prenatal class during middle-end of my 2nd tri. Cos third tri very unpredictable, so we signed up and went early [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

pooh, but so weird. hw come both of us kana the same urine bacteria? actually, i dint do urine test for my previous preg.

pommes, dont need to click button. just press enter and it should work.

thanks hunnymummy and pommes, so it sounds like end 2nd tri or 3rd tri would be the most appropriate time for hb and i to attend?

Has anyone attended the gleneagles antenatal classes before? or heard comments? since i am giving birth there, i thought i might as well do it there...

now I'm back to the cord blood qn...after a year plus... Until the days before my D-day I cannot decide what to do with it. until I finally decided to donate, but it was over the weekends and the public blood bank is closed and I gave birth on a sunday. so the cord blood is wasted[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

I plan to stop at 2 so maybe i shud bank this one..?but again, after the max years you pay to store the blood, or when the child is old enough and dun want to renew the contract, the blood will be discarded.illness may strike anytime, most of time, in the later years.Wad good does it do then?it's like buying an insurance for the years we sign for, after that, they're on their own. so we really got to gauge if it's going to be worth it. I thought about this from the begining of my first preg. til now, i still have no answer.also, there are exceptions for its uses and not confirm compatibility.so, it's a risk we dun know the statistics for.

sychosis - I checked out the Gleneagles one before.. if I didn't remember wrongly, the timing is on a weekday 6.30pm - 8.30pm and is more expensive. I think that's why I didn't opt for the gleneagles class.

---

so sleepy now after lunch [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/yawn.gif]

i also juz signed up for my antenatal class....it's by wong boi boi...over the weekends..i paid 265 ( those giving birth at thomson will cost 245)....still got free slots for the end june till early july classes...;)

have you all booked your Massage Lady already?I booked mine liao.My ML very popular wan.wan her to do prenatal for me cos i aching from head to toe she also no free slots..haiz..

hunnymummy, since the amount isn't as expensive as it used to be when it first started out, i feel it's a good investment/insurance. although we pay for 21 years, and after that, it will be handed over to our kids, i believe we can try educating them about it to get them to continue with this investment/insurance?

i understand cordlife had 2 successful cases where they used the cord blood. it's not used for every disease, but i think it's somewhere around 70 diseases? (i may be wrong with the figures..) but leukemia is definitely one of the diseases that can be treated by stem cell transplatation.

that's my 2 cents worth [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hunnymummy, when I spoke to the person from the public cord blood bank, they told me that they have a team on 24 hour standby (include weekends) to collect the blood. But you need to sign the documents before you deliver (I did not managed to sign them before I delivered so we did not donate).

Anyway, I've also been pondering about something else regarding cord blood. Cos my gynae actually pushed the cord blood back into my boy before he cut off the cord. From what I heard from other mummies whose gynaes did that too, their kids all have good immune systems and seldom fall sick (my boy included). So we are wondering if we should donate? Or should be just do the same for #2?

pommes, i think can use part of the medisave for the antenatal class if you are giving birth there (you are right?). i think they lump the sum together for the total claimable.

wah so fast book antenatal classes..almost forgot about it [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] just in a lazy mood these days. just eating n sleeping most of the time

hehe i cld get so used to this.

i havent even signed for mt alvernia card yet.

just finished remaining tub of mango ice cream. too hot already

sychosis - is it? i am not awared of it. But the weekday timing is totally off for us. I don't know if they have any weekend class.

#2 - hmm... that's something new abt the cordblood. I must check with my gynae and also my friends.

sychosis: I'm a 'victim' of parent 'purchasing insurance' for me when I was young, then once I turn 21yo, I had to bear the burden of continue paying for it. From my experience, I was very upset with my parents over it. My brother was also very pissed and did not talk to my parents for a year. Cos the premiums were considered high for a 21yo who just started work. & for my bro, he was still in NS with the miserly allowance and had to fork out more than half of it for the premiums.

As a parent, I won't want to pass this type of burden to my kid. If hubby & I made the decision to get it, we have agreed that it will be our responsibility to continue paying for it as long as it is needed. When our kid has the financial ability to pay for it and want to take over the payments cos they want the coverage, then we'll let them take over. Else, we will continue paying for it or we will stop paying for it if we feel that there's no need for it by then (maybe our kids prefer other policies & are adequately covered by then).

can I ask how to sign up for the antenatal class? just call up the hospital directly? or book through gynae? is it better to sign up for the mt a card before booking the antenatal class for better cost savings?

hunnymummy, how's your 'poo biz' today? yesterday, i took 1/2 cup of prune juice and 1 glass of prune juice this morning. was super 'smooth' and no more bleeding or pain. maybe you can try it?

can i ask what is the average rate for malay massage lady for post natal? abit lost for this and still have not search for one yet.

#2, i totally get what you mean. if you're good to continue throughout until your kid is financially stable, that sounds like a perfect plan! and i will adopt that too.

i think this is a little different as compared with insurance, cos this decision has to be made by us before the delivery whereas insurance can be bought anytime, even when the kid is old enough to buy on his/her own.

p00H, can you add me too?

Nick: Yating

EDD: 29 Sept 2011

BB#: 1

Gynae: Dr Heng Tung Lan

Hospital: Parkway East

Area: Bedok

chine: ya, dunno why we both kena.. from same clinic somemore..

pommes: u are not alone.. i also have not applied for the mt a card and book antenatal classes.. dunno hubby want to go with me or not..

Jojo: when is yours scheduled?

Re Antenatal class: For #1 - i went during mid of 2nd trim. Actually the hospital staff will advise you accordingly on when you can enrolled. I was with TMC so i went for the TMC antenatal class. That time I was so kiasu - wanted to book way in advance, they refused to take me in cos too early. My instructor was Wong Boi Boi. She is VERY popular and of course she is VERY good. The only con is that her class is always overcrowded so she cannot spend much 1:1 time with each of us. My friend went for another lady's class which is much smaller and she gets more 1:1 time where she gets to ask all qns.

PS: I really like Mrs Wong cos after i deliver, she gave me alot of encouragement esp on breastfeeding and her service is FOC. I just called her mobile and she answered everything. Of course she will also advise for us to visit the lactation consultants when in doubt but she will never sound impatience which is very impt for 1st time mummy like me.

Should attend Antenatal class at least 2month before your due date, so latest by Jul if EDD in Sep otherwise go so early also will forget

BTW does antenatal class teaches you the proper breathing techniques?

Pommes

calcium - u will need around 1200mg of calcium if i am not wrong. On top of calcium pills, still need to take in milk or calcium rich products.

U can also try to level yr feet up even during work and at home.

Also drink more water to reduce water retention.

Ilovesashimi, I like Mrs Wong too! But I delivered on Sun early morning and happen that she was on leave when I was there, so one of her lactation nurses helped me instead (didn't like her - the angmoh lactation nurse).

I went back to her cos my boy got poor latching and really enjoyed her advices and sharing. When I had blocked ducts, one of her lactation nurses helped me to clear it with massage and pumping.

This is one of the main reasons I wanna go back to TMC though their carpark situation is disgusting :p

ILS, I kena con liao, went for antenatal class in BKK and they only teach how to take care of baby, swaddling, body structure but never teach breathing exercise & open legs. no wonder I was struggling to push when i was in the labour ward for my 1st

ellysia - yup yup. Have been taking my daily calcium tablets plus drinking my milk day in and out. Already have a footstool for me in my office. Plus have always been a water tank, even before preggie... hehe

I think will stretch my leg muscles more.

-----------

BTW mummies, are you all very active in exercises now? I haven't. Feel so fat now..

Though i attend the prenatal class at TMC the other time, i didn't attended wong boi boi lessons bec all fully packed. the nurse who teaches my class isn't good. so i didn't pick up the breathing techniques well. when went to labour, breathe wrongly i think. maybe tats why dilation is so slow.

Pommes, I hardly exercise now cos work from home. I go shopping with hubby, walk a few steps only very breathless already! But will be starting my weekly swimming again next week [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ellysia, the breathing exercise is very important. When the gynae ask you to push also very important. My gynae always wait until big contraction coming then ask me to give a big PUSH~

ILS: I hope hubby can go with me too. Now he on shift.. Are the lessons fixed weekly? Or we can choose the days to attend?

p00h, from what I remember, if you miss the class, can arrange for make up lesson if there's space in the other class. But best to check with them [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

P3, I just pm u [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i forgot everything i learnt during my antenatal class. but the most impot thing i learn from Mariam Stoppard's book on Childbirth. Listen and work with your body. I managed without pain relief other than gas and air after 8cm dilation.LOL!good experience.

#2 on the way: precisely what you said is my sentiments exactly.and we did the same for our number 1. but banking it is in case if their siblings or themselves kena.at least the chances of compatibility is there. but again, cord blood is only a reset button to bring them back to the state they were when they were born. which means, if leukaemia is in your genes, you carry it in you from the start, nothing much can be done. it is used to reverse any damages caused over the years, not change the genetic makeup in your system.alot of people not clear about this. so if we look at it , how much can it do for cancer and oother genetic defects?

Niño, u r based in Thailand?

Re. Piles

Hunnymummy, pls do see doc if bleeding persists k. Got very good pile cream, apply liao, pile will retract hee as long as no hard straining next time shd be better. I also got pile during #1's time. Din even knew was piles as kena bleeding during bowels movement during confinement. Drag almost two mtgs to see GP then need to examine if internal or external piles. Hee yup abit embarrassing so best if u can find a female GP [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Re. Leg cramps

Pommes, try taking some banana too. Rem only the small ones, not the del Monte bIg ones NTUC is selling. N yup, keeing your legs warm with ling pants n socks help prevent it.

sung: i think everything stayed inside for too long and fermented until my system b uay tahan liao.. constipation become laosai.LOL!! so smooth traffic today=D will monitor lor..if persist den haiz,...i will mask myself and go see doc[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Pommes, oh yeah juz rem your earlier post too ;P Yup we get a Cd back from the detailed scan. The doc doing it, can't rem if he's a sonographer it what but he's the owner if the clinic, is silly coz he talks rubbish. As was my #1 then, I was hoping he'll let us know which part he's scanning as he does it bit he kept quiet throughout the bulk of the scanning then near the end, he let loose with his silly rubbish on why we bother to hv children nowadays, children doesn't mean guaraantee in old age, children nowadays r unfilial etc. Even tok to my Bb at one stage, telling him no need to listen to mummy, just pretend can already. Was pretty pissed with him then. Once we were out of clinic, I quickly tell Bb not to listen to uncle tailing rubbish! Din expect that during my scan ESP after being so excited abt it. Haha maybe we caught him in a bad mood day n hopefully he'll be different this time now ;P Tell me your experience after it happens since your scan's before me [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

sung - bananas help too?! I dun mind cos i luv bananas [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Have you mummies plan your maternity leave? I just checked my company's HR website. The 1st 8 weeks is compulsory, can be split into 4 weeks before delivery and 4 weeks immediately after. Then the next 8 weeks can be spreaded over 12 months.

But any annual leave, medical leave taken during maternity leave will be concurrent running. So which means I must clear 14 days of my last year leave before my due date.If not, I lugi big big :p